Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork vs. Waterford Munster Senior Hurling Final 2010

• 01-07-2010 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Proudly co-hosted by myself and Orizio.

doulx2.jpg vs. 150px-Waterfordnewcrest.jpg

Date 11.07.10

Time 16.00

Venue Semple Stadium, Thurles

CORK

Confirmed team
    1. Donal Og Cusack (Cloyne)
    2. Shane O'Neill (Bishopstown)
    3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
    4. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
    5. John Gardiner (Na Piarsaigh)
    6. Ronan Curran (St. Finbarr's)
    7. Sean Og Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)
    8. Tom Kenny (Grenagh)
    9. Cathal Naughton (Newtownshandrum)
    10. Ben O'Connor (Newtownshandrum)
    11. Jerry O'Connor (Newtownshandrum)
    12. Niall McCarthy (Carrigtwohill)
    13. Kieran 'Fraggie' Murphy (Sarsfields)
    14. Aisake Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)
    15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Star Player
    John Gardiner - needs to give another rip-roaring display to get top-class ball to Aisake.
    000149a4189r.jpg

Watch out for...
    Aisake and Waterford's problem position full-back, this time filled by Lawlor. Tipp struggled tactically as Jerry O'Connor roamed and the two corner forwards pushed wide and up to the wing forward positions - it left young Maher completley isolated on Aisake with no support. However Cork's hand has been shown and no doubt Davy will have something planned.

Best Chance Of Winning
    Hope to **** Davy didn't watch the Tipp match.

WATERFORD

Probable team
    1. Clinton Hennessy (Ardmore)
    2. Eoin Murphy (Shamrocks)
    3. Liam Lawlor (Fourmilewater)
    4. Noel Connors (Passage)
    5. Tony Browne (Mount Sion)
    6. Michael 'Brick' Walsh (Stradbally)
    7. Declan Prendergast (Ardmore)
    8. Shane O'Sullivan (Ballygunner)
    9. Eoin Kelly (Passage)
    10. Seamus Prendergast (Ardmore)
    11. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
    12. Stephen Molumphy (Ballyduff Upper)
    13. John Mullane (De La Salle)
    14. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
    15. Shane Walsh (Fourmilewater)

Other possible starters: Mark O'Brien, Dan Shanahan, Richie Foley & Ken McGrath.

It's best to ignore the positions when the official team is named, because we rarely if ever line out as named. Whether Ken places instead of either Moran or Prendergast depends solely on his level of fitness, while whether Dan starts ahead of Shane Walsh depends on the kind of strategy Davy will deploy against the Cork backs.

Star Player
    John Mullane has a habit of making a name for himself in Munster finals, whether its scoring hat-tricks or getting himself sent-off. He's not exactly a favourite among the Cork supporters and how he fares against the Rebel full-back line will have a huge bearing on the game.
    john_mullane014740_display.jpg

Watch out for...
    Waterford's ability under Davy to close out the tight games when it really matters. History suggests this one could go right to the wire, but a lot has changed for both counties in the 3 years since we last met. Never the less if we're still in with a shout with 10 minutes to go our improved fitness could just be the difference.

Best Chance Of Winning
    Keep the middle third as tight and physical as possible - constant pressure on Gardiner and Kenny in particular, and get Cork over-elaborating and passing diagonally as they are wont to do when space is limited and the 'right' pass isn't obvious.

Last 5 Championship meetings
    2007 Waterford 2-17 Cork 0-20 (All-Ireland QF replay)
    2007 Waterford 3-16 Cork 3-16 (All-Ireland QF)
    2007 Waterford 5-15 Cork 3-18 (Munster SF)
    2006 Cork 1-16 Waterford 1-15 (All-Ireland SF)
    2005 Cork 1-18 Waterford 1-13 (All-Ireland QF)

Betting
    Cork 4/9
    Waterford 2/1
    Draw 10/1

Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines. This is a big one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Nice first post Daysha. Really looking forward to this. Do you think Davy'll take the risk of Lawlor at full back? I can see him putting Declan back in there. Even though it's not his best position, I think he could handle Aisake's physicality better and his experience could be of benefit in there too. If that was to happen, then I'd imagine Aidan Kearney would start at wing back if he's fit. There's no way he can start Nagle anywhere in the team after the last game IMO.

I think he'll stick with Sully and Richie Foley in midfield. They weren't the best in the first half against Clare but I thought they both did very well in the second half and can see Davy giving them another go. I personally don't think Maurice Shanahan has done enough to warrant a place in the 15. I'd do a straight swap and put Seamus in for him. After that, I wonder is it a straight choice between Dan and Shane Walsh or would Davy consider putting Ken in at full forward. I think he could cause trouble in there and would at least put Cadogan under some pressure as he'd be competing for ball which Dan seems to have forgotten how to do.

I think it's going to be a tight one and hope it's a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

This is a good Cork team and they should take this IMO. This Waterford team has gone to the well too many times and will fall short this time. No disgrace to Waterford, it'll be a close game.

Cork by a few points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Absolutely cannot wait for this. Its going to be a cracker of a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Daysha wrote: »

Last 5 Championship meetings
    2007 Waterford 2-17 Cork 0-20 (All-Ireland QF replay)
    2007 Waterford 3-16 Cork 3-16 (All-Ireland QF)
    2007 Waterford 5-15 Cork 3-18 (Munster SF)
    2006 Cork 1-16 Waterford 1-15 (All-Ireland SF)
    2005 Cork 1-18 Waterford 1-13 (All-Ireland QF)

Daysha are you sure about that?

I thought Cork met Tipperary in the 2007 QF and lost to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

teednab-el wrote: »
    Daysha are you sure about that?

I thought Cork met Tipperary in the 2007 QF and lost to them?
    Nope thats correct.They played cork twice.I remember especially cause it was the year the GAA put the replay on the day of the kk/wex semi so anyone going to the replay had to pay the price for a semi final ticket and they had the semi played 1st on the day aswell.
    Wankbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Hoping for a classic between two teams that seem capable only of having epics. Even league matches between them tend to be brilliant.

Lawlor terrifies me at FB against O hAilpin. I'll be very annoyed if Nagle starts, especially with players the quality of Prendergast and Ringo not starting the last day.

Nope thats correct.They played cork twice.I remember especially cause it was the year the GAA put the replay on the day of the kk/wex semi so anyone going to the replay had to pay the price for a semi final ticket and they had the semi played 1st on the day aswell.
    Wankbags

I dont get it, correct me if im wrong here, they played Waterford in the Munster semi final and lost fair enough. But they definately lost to Tipperary after that in the qualifers, so that means they should have been out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

teednab-el wrote: »
    I dont get it, correct me if im wrong here, they played Waterford in the Munster semi final and lost fair enough. But they definately lost to Tipperary after that in the qualifers, so that means they should have been out?
    The qualifiers were mini-groups then.They wern't KO matches

Cheers, Ive a small memory. I was wondering but now I see. Hopefully Cork can beat Waterford by a few points and we get a crack at Kilkenny later on in the year, You cant be giving away 5 in a rows for nothing :D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I know Ill probably sound a little crazy here but...
    What if we put Prendergast on Aisake?
    I know, I know we've learned over the years Prender isnt a full back and we learned that hes a wing back. But I think I'd rather him on Aisake compared to Mark O Brien or Liam Lawlor. Because to be blunt, Aisake still hasnt got amazing skill yet, he did have a very good game against Tipperary but one game doesnt make a player. Heck Prendergast got MOTM against Clare so he should be in the same boat no?
    But back on point if Lawlor/etc was on him they'd try hurl him outta it and try be a proper full back, but with Prendergast who would match Aisakes physicality a bit more could just work on pushing him outta the game, and try have to have the 2 forget about the hurling match almost..

But yea its almost half 3 so god knows what Im actually saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I should be roaring for Cork seeing as its my new home from home but i always shout for the underdog no matter who they are. So i've no problem in saying G'WAN THE DEISE! :)

In their bid to thwart Aisake, Waterford could do with watching the Cork-Limerick semi again. We placed David Breen at full back - he's a forward by nature and had never played full back before - purely because of his physical nature and size (6'6). It paid a rich dividends as he kept O'hAilpín scoreless, despite Gardiner aiming numerous balls in on top of his head. So clearly Waterford need to put a big man back there, someone who isn't going to let him catch the ball cleanly. For me the only options are Ken McGrath or Seamus Prendergast. I'd even consider putting Maurice Shanahan back there, purely because of his height. Breen for us didn't have much hurling in him but he stopped Aisake from catching any clean ball.

I didn't get to see the Clare game, how tall is this new guy Lawlor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Hopefully we'll get a classic game of hurling here because so far the hurling championship has been very disappointing. I reckon it'll be a close battle between these 2 rivals and hopefully Cork will come out on top but i reckon there might only be a point or 2 seperating the sides at the end.

There has been a very low key build up to the game in Cork in general and ticket sales seem to be slow with the Munster Council ticket van around the county again this week and tickets on public sale in Pairc Ui Rinn,that's unusual for a Munster hurling final. The recession probably has a lot to do with it. Anyway let's hope for a cracking game,hurling needs 1 badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

up the deise!!!!!!!!! cant wait to head up to the home of hurling on sunday

deise_girl wrote: »
    I know, I know we've learned over the years Prender isnt a full back and we learned that hes a wing back. But I think I'd rather him on Aisake compared to Mark O Brien or Liam Lawlor. Because to be blunt, Aisake still hasnt got amazing skill yet, he did have a very good game against Tipperary but one game doesnt make a player. Heck Prendergast got MOTM against Clare so he should be in the same boat no?
    But back on point if Lawlor/etc was on him they'd try hurl him outta it and try be a proper full back, but with Prendergast who would match Aisakes physicality a bit more could just work on pushing him outta the game, and try have to have the 2 forget about the hurling match almost..

I think we've both said practically the same thing so it can't be that crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

deise_girl wrote: »

If you look back to the Waterford v Clare thread I was calling on Prender to be playing full back for that game as it was already likely that we would be playing Cork in the final, giving him the chance to settle into the position. Lawlor or O'Brien would get a bit of a roasting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Settle in the postion , hasn't he played there for years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

hey just wondering if anyone can confirm what terrace both sets of supporters will be in on sunday?

The killinan and town end terraces..

This game will be the making or the breaking for this Cork team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

thesultan wrote: »
    Settle in the postion , hasn't he played there for years!

Yeah, at least playing him there agaist Clare would have helped.

Great stuff Kev. There really have been some belters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Good luck to Waterford on Sunday and I hope they give it hell because half my family are from there but I'd be very surprised if ye win. But ye always raise ye're game for the rebels.

Should be a great game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

whats the ticket situation for Sunday?

Is there family tickets available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

runjb wrote: »
    hey just wondering if anyone can confirm what terrace both sets of supporters will be in on sunday?

The killinan and town end terraces..
    I contacted the Munster Council and they told me that Waterford fans will be in the Killinane End terrace.
    Browney7 wrote: »
    Good luck to Waterford on Sunday and I hope they give it hell because half my family are from there but I'd be very surprised if ye win. But ye always raise ye're game for the rebels.
    I'm surprised so many people are writing off Waterford. Obviously Cork are looking good having thrashed Tipperary but I don't know why they are now being touted as 2nd best and the only team capable of beating Kilkenny. I think it will be a very close game and I am optimistic that Waterford can win. They just need to play to their best and not make stupid mistakes, and they need to have the same hunger to win as Cork.
    Lex Luthor wrote: »
    whats the ticket situation for Sunday?

Is there family tickets available?
    Yeah looks like it:
    https://oss.ticketmastereurope.com/html/pack_searchtix.htmI?l=EN&CNTX=83329899138e57db7bc6004b1374758b

There will be a van going around Waterford City and County this Thursday selling tickets for anyone who needs to get them.

I'm surprised so many people are writing off Waterford. Obviously Cork are looking good having thrashed Tipperary but I don't know why they are now being touted as 2nd best and the only team capable of beating Kilkenny. I think it will be a very close game and I am optimistic that Waterford can win. They just need to play to their best and not make stupid mistakes, and they need to have the same hunger to win as Cork.

I prefer it that way and I'm pretty sure the players will too. We've been written off for years yet every year we're still knocking at the door.

flahavaj wrote: »
    I prefer it that way and I'm pretty sure the players will too. We've been written off for years yet every year we're still knocking at the door.

Yeah Waterford tend to do better when they're considered the underdogs. You can be sure there won't be anyone on the Cork team writing us off or expecting an easy game but I think what's being said in the media tends to filter through almost subconsciously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Because I think ye are vulnerable at full back. Ye made Brian Begley look good in 07 and I don't think ye have found an adequate full back since then and I think Aisake could score one or 2. I just think Cork will have too much for ye but I could be wrong

The problem at fullback with Waterford isn't just down to the individuals who play there though, its a problem with the back 6 as a whole. Our half back line has been too loose for years. I was watching Tommy Walsh closely in Croke Park the other day and the way he (and JJ) covers around the square is something few people ever comment on. Ever since KK were destroyed by Galway a few years back Cody has made the KK back an unbelieveably tight unit that defends in packs and in particular guards the square with their lives.

Its all very well saying Waterford haven't a great full back but defending the square is the collective responsibility of the entire defensive unit. No full back, no matter how good he is will be able to defend if isolated against a semi decent full forward. Putting Brick in at centre back has helped in that hes far more discilpined in his positioning than Ken ever was but we're still liable to concede 2-3 goals on any given day.

As long as we continue to ingnore this simple fact amd leak goal after goal we'll continue to end our Summers in disappointment.

The funny thing about it over the last decade is that when Cork win munster, they usually get to the All Ireland final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

I've heard that It's 35 euro for a stand ticket and 25 euro for the terrace's next Sunday, is this correct ? sounds a bit steep to me if it is right.

tippspur wrote: »
    I've heard that It's 35 euro for a stand ticket and 25 euro for the terrace's next Sunday, is this correct ? sounds a bit steep to me if it is right.

Yeah €35 for a stand ticket anyway. And I paid the €5 on top of that for the Training Fund Draw.

:eek: what about kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

25 euro for an excellent stand ticket if you have a season ticket.

I encourage everyone to get up to walsh park this evening to support our minors in the semi final replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,470 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

My Ticket cost E30 its in the open Old Stand Section 110.

Id say we will be lucky to have an attendence of 35000 at the game.

Some of the Waterford Public seem to dont give a fiddlers **** about travelling to games anymore.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    My Ticket cost E30 its in the open Old Stand Section 110.

Id say we will be lucky to have an attendence of 35000 at the game.

Some of the Waterford Public seem to dont give a fiddlers **** about travelling to games anymore.

In fairness times are really hard for a lot of people these days. Ticket prices being as high as they are would make bring a family to Thurles for the day and expense thats hard to justify if you've lost you job like so many have.

F that...€140 for a family of 4...NO CHANCE

I'll be watching from my armchair :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Waterford will have very poor support at this game on Sunday. Normally this would be a glamour tie and attract a bummer crowd but sadly not on Sunday. I have never seen a van going around the towns selling the tickets. To make matters worse the tickets that clubs have been given are truely awful. IT is on the steep side too but these people who are not going saying that the tickets are too dear , are the same people who went to Heinken Cups and internationals in Croke park at a very high cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,470 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

GAA tickets too dear ???. They are cheap compared to some other things i was at this year.

I was at the Munster vs Leinster Magners League Game in April- E35

I was at a concert in the o2 in May- E55

I was a concert in Vicar Street last Week- E42

Going to Iron Maiden in the o2 on the 30th July E65
    Guns N Roses in the o2 1st Sep E70

So really GAA ticket prices are not that bad in fairness compared to other things.

Take it a person going to the pub to watch the game. They will buy a few pints, dinner etc and it would end up costing the same as the price of a ticket to the match.

Id love if the game is a classic and then people who didnt go will say Ah i should of went to the game.

Before anyone says it, I know people are out of work and have bills to pay. its just my opinion on this.

F that...€140 for a family of 4...NO CHANCE

I'll be watching from my armchair :mad:
    2 adults + 2 children is only €70 (adults €30 each, children €5 each).

https://oss.ticketmastereurope.com/html/pack_searchtix.htmI?l=EN&CNTX=cb78bbbc52ac3de10a78cc68344d9fcf

2 adults + 2 children is only €70 (adults €30 each, children €5 each).

https://oss.ticketmastereurope.com/html/pack_searchtix.htmI?l=EN&CNTX=cb78bbbc52ac3de10a78cc68344d9fcf

which stand?

That's for the uncovered stand, the covered stand is €35 per adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Rebel Fan

Town End Terrace tickets are 20 euro, not bad in fairness. I don't think many Cork fans will mind as it's been a few years since we've been in a Munster Final. I've said before on previous posts that Thurles on Munster Final day is better than Croker on All Ireland day, the atmosphere is fantastic. I'm a Corkman living in Belfast and I'll be making the long trip to Tipp on Sunday, wouldn't miss it for the world. Have been to all the Cork and Waterford games over the last ten years and they've all been classics, here's hoping for more of the same on Sunday and hopefully us to sneak it by a point or two, UP THE REBELS!!!!!!!!!!!!

That's for the uncovered stand, the covered stand is €35 per adult.

and is it still a fiver for the kids on the covered stand?

Ticketmaster has none for sale...????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

No available tickets from Ticketmaster or the GAA cause they haven't come back from the Munster Council.

The same old story, no tickets during the week and then on Saturday night, 4 people ring you saying they have tickets to offload for the halfway line.

I've no problem with clubs having first call on tickets (they deserve that right) but lots of people support their county who don't get their tickets from a club.

The Season Ticket idea is a good way round this but the GAA might offer tickets to a number of matches and not just you're own county's games as another way of giving supporters a better deal for attending matches.

and is it still a fiver for the kids on the covered stand?

Ticketmaster has none for sale...????
    Yes. I think the fiver per child accompanied by an adult applies to all the Championship games, regardless of whether they are terrace or stand tickets.

There are no tickets available on Ticketmaster now but if you contact Munster GAA on 061 493060 or email them via http://munster.gaa.ie/contact they will be able to confirm ticket prices and if they will be available at Semple Stadium on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

The fiver per accompanied child tickets are only available for the stand ( usually just one of them ) and not terraces to the best of my knowledge .

tatoo wrote: »
    The fiver per accompanied child tickets are only available for the stand ( usually just one of them ) and not terraces to the best of my knowledge .

it was like that last time I was there...they eben let my youngest in for free..:D

gonna be touch & go to get back for the WC final...hopefully there's no extra time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

The Cork team has been named which I've edited into the OP. No surprises really, Fraggie is fit enough so he starts at corner forward.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Is Cussen injured or just not selected?

I thought he was good in the half forward line in the league final...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

adrian522 wrote: »
    Is Cussen injured or just not selected?

I thought he was good in the half forward line in the league final...

Not selected. Didn't start the last two games either