Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Matchplay

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I'm gonna be away for 2 weeks while this is on so I probably won't get to see a single dart! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Whitlock seeded 12th are the PDC taking the piss. World Championship finalist, PL semi finalist and second in the actual league. He deserves a higher ranking.

EDIT: Colin Lloyd is 9th and he has done nothing in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

Matches of the first round:

Lewis V Webster
    Osbourne V Jones
    King V Klaasen

should be great ones,real close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

unknown13 wrote: »
    Whitlock seeded 12th are the PDC taking the piss. World Championship finalist, PL semi finalist and second in the actual league. He deserves a higher ranking.

Rankings are based on a 2 yr money system, this is why he is ranked 12th, same as Colin Lloyd, wins alot away from the tv screens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

unknown13 wrote: »

Its all to do with rankings mate, Lloyd is ranked higher than Whitlock, but that certainly will change after the Matchplay as im sure Colin has a few quid to defend from 2 years ago and Whitlock has no money to defend!

Edit- Colin is ranked 10th in the world so how come he is seeded 9th??

Double Top wrote: »
    Matches of the first round:

Lewis V Webster
    Osbourne V Jones
    King V Klaasen

should be great ones,real close
    Barney has a really tough opener against Ovens, who gave Taylor a real scare in the Uk Open semi's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

The all Scottish clash of Anderson v Thornton will be an interesting game,this could be a close game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Barney has a really tough opener against Ovens, who gave Taylor a real scare in the Uk Open semi's.

yea that should be good and the baxter/caven should be a cracker aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Gringo180 wrote: »

Aye, how long is it since barney's last big tournament?

Ovens recently seems to be more relaxed on the tv stage...could be dangerous if he keeps it going :eek:

Devastator wrote: »
    Aye, how long is it since barney's last big tournament?

Ovens recently seems to be more relaxed on the tv stage...could be dangerous if he keeps it going :eek:
    Im in 2 minds whether to stick a sneaky few quid on Dennis to do a job on Barney, but you wouldnt know Barney could come out and blitz him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KickingKen

Alright Graham me auld pal, Denis only 2/1, with Braney at 4/11 on Skybet, not great odds, and Ovens is dodgy on tv. I would stay away from that game myself, see you in the Patriots in a few weeks hopefully :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KickingKen

that should be Barney (Braney) :D

KickingKen wrote: »
    that should be Barney (Braney) :D

check out(no pun intended) the edit button ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

going to stick a few quid on Barney myself. If he can play the way he did at the end of the PL then he will be tough to beat. should be a good tournament though

KickingKen wrote: »
    Alright Graham me auld pal, Denis only 2/1, with Braney at 4/11 on Skybet, not great odds, and Ovens is dodgy on tv. I would stay away from that game myself, see you in the Patriots in a few weeks hopefully :)
    Looking forward to it Kennyboy:D
    Sooner the better this competition starts ive no excuse to go out for gargle during the week:p

sly sports are showing the semi & final of the matchplay in 3D.....if anyone cares :p

so can anyone see past Taylor winning again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭The Bison

so can anyone see past Taylor winning again?

I think Barney will have a good week! 14/1 though, not great odds!

Mark Webster @ 66/1 is on the opposite half of the draw to Taylor and could be a dark horse to reach the final. As for someone beating Taylor his last 2 losses were against Chris Thompson and Matt Clark so if you were to go by that if he's going to get beat in Blackpool maybe Barrie Bates will catch him in the 1st round :D!! Seriously can't see anyone beating Taylor in Blackpool but I hope I'm proved wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Kento 14

i had a choice between going to this or the world grand prix and chose the grand prix... i think whitlock will face wade in the final as both are in form on the floor tourneys
    Predictions for night 1
    Priestley 10-7 Van Der Voort
    Osborne 10-6 Jones
    Barneveld 10-8 Ovens
    Caven 11- 9 Baxter

The Bison wrote: »
    I think Barney will have a good week! 14/1 though, not great odds!

Thats probably his longest odds in years!! He's available at 16s with a lot of bookies
    dartbhoy wrote: »
    Mark Webster @ 66/1 is on the opposite half of the draw to Taylor and could be a dark horse to reach the final. As for someone beating Taylor his last 2 losses were against Chris Thompson and Matt Clark so if you were to go by that if he's going to get beat in Blackpool maybe Barrie Bates will catch him in the 1st round :D!! Seriously can't see anyone beating Taylor in Blackpool but I hope I'm proved wrong!

Could be a good call! Has anyone got a breakdown of both sides of the draw? I picked out about 5 players from opposite side of draw for the world champ's and got WHitlock at 66/1! :eek: Obviously bet365 had never heard of him :p

always worth pickin a few out and putting couple of quid on each way because if they get to the final your up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 davedaly7532

how anyone can like Barney anymore is beyond me. He sulks like a ten year old and once he goes over a couple a legs behind he just gives up. Hope Ovens does a job on him

Totally agree.

I've bet for Ovens(2/1) tonight along with Priestley(who was 60 yesterday!) at +2.5 leg handicap(4/6)

Also here are my tournament picks, all each way and all on opposite of draw from Taylor(as discussed above)
    Osbourne & Webster at 66/1
    Stompe & Newton at 80/1
    Caven at 125/1

I think Newton is due a very big tournament, I think he went fulltime at the darts not so long ago aswell so maybe consistancy will be better for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Kento 14

the man just hit his third nine darter in the three televised tournaments hes been in this year!! Ovens is really doing a job on him isnt he??????

Barney was on fire tonight:eek:! Great win for Wayne Jones also,Osborne is struggling this year. Also wins for Van Der Voort and Baxter. Hopefully Webster will do the buisness later on tonight against Lewis.

Barney was on fire tonight:eek:!

Ovens was poor. Can't take it away from him, played better and hit 9 darter but I think as soon as someone starts off with a sustained battle with him over 6-8 legs he will crumble, start shaking his head and blame diabetes(again).

He needs to change his attitude towards the game allright. He's been struggling with diabetes and then there was the story earlier this year about the threats made against his family in the Netherlands that he blamed his poor form in the Premier League for.

Why he's not playing so well IMO is him not playing the floor tournaments. There's tournaments on his doorstep in his home land yet he doesn't bother playing in them? I reckon that's why he's lacking an edge in his game at the moment and he just seems to be not bothered about darts anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Here's the Barney 9 darter anyway

http://youtu.be/7mPMFwcvV2k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭greened

Here's the Barney 9 darter anyway

http://youtu.be/7mPMFwcvV2k

Thanks. Barneys adding to his colletion of 9 darters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

I'll reserve judgement on Barney until he's pushed in a game.. felt bad for ovens because his floor form has been savage lately... Pity he couldnt of played as well aas he did in the uk open.. my phone lit up as soon as the 9 darter went in with all my mates saying barneys back.. barneys back...

Lads calm down and fair play to him for hitting the 9 darter but wait until hes pushed in a game and the we'll see how he copes.. :)

Why he's not playing so well IMO is him not playing the floor tournaments. There's tournaments on his doorstep in his home land yet he doesn't bother playing in them? I reckon that's why he's lacking an edge in his game at the moment and he just seems to be not bothered about darts anymore!

I get the impression he thinks he's too good for a lot of the players. Which is why I think he can look so relaxed and hit so superb darts against players who in his opinion are not as good as him, but then he looses the head when he comes up against a scrapper and someone who will not lie down.

This could be along same lines as what your saying, maybe he thinks he's too good to play in the players championship events? :confused: Ridiculous if true! I can understand the very top players(Taylor,Wade,Barney) not playing every single event(they don't need prize money for rankings & with premier league they could do with a rest the odd weekend, but Barney hardly competes in any! I think even Taylor commented before that its better to be playign regulary to keep competitive and to keep things flowing.

I reckon a few of tonights games could go the distance & beyond.....just hope Isner & Mahut ain't darts fans :D;)

I was thinking about this last night, is there a point in the matchplay were the referee(or official) will say enoughs enough(example the score got to 20-20, 25-25 or something)?

YAHOO!:D I'm delighted Mark Webster won tonight. All the experts (the lads in the pub!) were telling me Lewis would be too good for him but I said Webster will turn him over and I've been proved right! Another good player to come from the valleys! As for Lewis with all the talk about him will he ever make the breakthrough and win a major?

I get the impression he thinks he's too good for a lot of the players. Which is why I think he can look so relaxed and hit so superb darts against players who in his opinion are not as good as him, but then he looses the head when he comes up against a scrapper and someone who will not lie down.

This could be along same lines as what your saying, maybe he thinks he's too good to play in the players championship events? :confused: Ridiculous if true! I can understand the very top players(Taylor,Wade,Barney) not playing every single event(they don't need prize money for rankings & with premier league they could do with a rest the odd weekend, but Barney hardly competes in any! I think even Taylor commented before that its better to be playign regulary to keep competitive and to keep things flowing.

I reckon a few of tonights games could go the distance & beyond.....just hope Isner & Mahut ain't darts fans :D;)

I was thinking about this last night, is there a point in the matchplay were the referee(or official) will say enoughs enough(example the score got to 20-20, 25-25 or something)?
    As far as I know there's no rule in place to stop a game when the score is tied at a high score and the officials decide to have a sudden death leg. I remember in the early years,possibly the first World Matchplay where an American Jim Watkins won 21-19 against an English opponent which was possibly Rod Harrington.

It would really f*** things up if the first match went on to something like that.....would they cut the night short so that players wouldn't be playing until 2am....and probably more importantly punters can get home :D

Actually, thinking about it there is probably some health n safety thing that the venue has to be clear by a certain time or something :confused:

ROLL ON MONDAY NIGHT'S ACTION!

I'm liking the correct score bets in the matchplay, especially the "Any other score" option which seems to vary between 17/2 and 11/1. I picked 3 matches last night to try this on and touched for all 3.

Only put quid on both players in 3 matches so £6 staked. If you get 1 result right your up a little, any others are a bonus! Last night I done this bet on Stompe/Hamilton, Webster/Lewis & Taburn/Newton.

Tonight I'm doing the same in the night's last 2 games
    Thornton(11/1) vs Anderson (17/2)
    King (8/1) vs Klassen (10/1)

I think the other 2 games will finish in normal time

As far as I know there's no rule in place to stop a game when the score is tied at a high score and the officials decide to have a sudden death leg. I remember in the early years,possibly the first World Matchplay where an American Jim Watkins won 21-19 against an English opponent which was possibly Rod Harrington.

Going back to the debate about long matches at the Matchplay regarding Jim Watkins,it was 1994 where he defeated Keith Deller 18-16 in a 2nd round match which was originally best of 17 legs. He lost to Rod Harrington in the quarter final.

Great win for Painter tonight beating Lloyd 11-9 after been down 2-8! Walsh v Dudbridge gone to tiebreak also currently 10-10.

Walsh wins 12-10. Dudbridge missed 4 darts at doubles to level it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

if anybody has a corals account, their offering co stompe to get more 180s then mark webster @ 9/2!!!!!:eek: its clearly as mistake as most other bookies are offering 1/3. but is well worth a chance, worst case, theyll void the bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭villabren

True. Worth a shot at that price. Although Webster played well the other night. Good to see Beaton still playing well. Second year in a row he's done a job on a much fancied opponent in the first round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Nicholson wasn't at the races at all. Beaton was playing well despite momentary lapses, cannot see him getting past Taylor. Fair play to Barrie Bates for giving him a game. If the double 18 was hit to go 6-5 up it would of been quite interesting.
    Looking forward to see how Gary Anderson does in the next round against Klaasen.

Haven't seen Klaasen throw that well since he won the Lakeside. It'll be interesting to see if he reproduces it or if it was just a flash in the pan. Taylor did have a few uncharacteristic stray darts but should still have enough for Beaton. Good as he was, Nicholson was very poor. He's quite a frustrating player. Can throw a stinker when he's expected to win

dotsflan wrote: »
    if anybody has a corals account, their offering co stompe to get more 180s then mark webster @ 9/2!!!!!:eek: its clearly as mistake as most other bookies are offering 1/3. but is well worth a chance, worst case, theyll void the bet

Paddy Power have Webster at 10/3 for the most 180's. He's hardly that bad on the 180's is he? If I had the money to, I'd lump on them both at the big prices. Knowing my luck they'd probably both throw the same amount
    :D:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Just part of the sport someone has to break at some point!!

102376578.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF87892102A727B1636DE2E6A2AFFC42DC41BBCBEA348332ABDD230767B9A92C9E9B7850

Great win for Painter tonight beating Lloyd 11-9 after been down 2-8! Walsh v Dudbridge gone to tiebreak also currently 10-10.

What a comeback from Painter! Im sure whoever had the £30k on Painter to win must have felt like shooting himself at 8-2 :D

oddschecker showing corals as 1/3 aswell. If its mistake and they realise they will just void the bet.
    Mr Moon wrote: »
    Just part of the sport someone has to break at some point!!

like in wimbledon after about 3 days?

ROUND 2 STARTS TONIGHT!

Jones - Baxter
    Stompe - Webster
    VDV - Wade
    Tabern - Barney

Could be another couple of long matches tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Have a 5er on Stompe to beat Webster.

Play up Stompe, Stompe play up!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

I absolutely love the matchplay, my favouritre tournament, always remember when I was a wee lad on holiday in Blackpool and we went to the matchplay, absolutely brilliant, the likes of Shane Burgess and Bob Anderson were on the bill.

I love the way the crowd are much more respectful than any other tournament.

I also ****in love Ronnie Baxter, probably my favourite player of all time, absolute gentleman and has been at the top end for years now

Didn't play the best there :( Altho Jones threw some very good darts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

10-5 to Stompe here.

Webster won the last 2 legs but has been absolutely woeful.To think he beat fitton,adams and whitlock not too long ago to win the lakeside.

All academic. webster beat him 3-2 on the 180's. Stan James were giving 6/1 on him to throw the most. Pity he got going so late. Always thought that could've been a close match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

good to see barney playing well again ,he looks happy .