Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My post is being opened and read.

• 30-06-2010 3:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭

As the title says.

My parents had a falling out with a postman (not ours) who works in our local post office. I won't go into why but he was clearly in the wrong in the whole situation. Since then his good friend, who is our postman, has treated us all a bit coldly etc., this is clearly him taking his friend's side in the argument, as he was very friendly before all that.

Pretty much since that happened, the occasional envelope comes with sellotape across the back part where you open the envelope. It has clearly been opened and read. It's happened a number of times, once to one of my bank statements (luckily it was an old account with only 50 quid in it so nothing catastrophic happened). About 2 weeks ago our postman went on holiday for a week. After he got back he knocked on the door one morning (instead of just putting the post into the box) and handed my mother an envelope which was in the same state (sellotape across the back). The date on the letter showed that it was about a week late, and it was a jury duty summons. The postman simply handed it to her and said something like "Look, I know nothing about this or why it was late" and then buggered off. Thankfully it wasn't so late as to cause any problems but it had the potential to.

Today a letter with sensitive information about my brother, from his school, was the same, it had been opened. I'm getting f*cking sick of this, but we cannot complain to the post office as this guy has been there for years and years and complaints have been made against him before, albeit for different things, and nothing happened. One person told my father complaining actually made his problem worse for him, although I don't know whether to believe that.

What should we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

tl;dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Shoot him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Call the Gardai, it's a criminal offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

No one should bother open this post and read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

How do you fall out with a post man?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Kick him in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Postal tampering is a criminal offence. Report it to the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

tl;dr

Obviously not the postman then Roman Attractive Target?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Go to his house & piss in his letter box. Let him see you doing this. If he doesn't stop, start putting faeces through the letter box. It will send a message not to fcuk with you.

But I think you should ring the Guards really. It's a serious offence especially if complaints have been made previously & ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭fairycakes

:eek: **** that call the police and get this guy fired thats a violation of privacy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Postal tampering is a criminal offence. Report it to the Gardai.

That's only if you post them a used tamperon - clean ones are ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

TheZohan wrote: »
    Call the Gardai, it's a criminal offence.
    Doesn't sound like a bad idea tbh. :o
    Fizman wrote: »
    How do you fall out with a post man?? :confused:
    He was a good friend of the family and still is to some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

OP I have the answer!!!!!!!!!

Write a letter & address it to yourself. In the letter start describing in detail what his wife/ sister/ daughter wants to do to you in the sack & how much she has enjoyed your previous sexy times. Sign the wifes/ sisters/ daughters name, seal the envelope & send it to yourself.

Sit back & enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

Definitely contact the Gardai, man. I'd be pretty pissed if someone was reading my bank statements.

Edit: And what easyeason3 said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭jordan..

make it clear to him it is very bad for his health to continue tampering with your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Your post is being opened and read.

Isn't that the idea with forums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Have a sh.ite in an envelope and post it to yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

easyeason3 wrote: »

Write a letter & address it to yourself. In the letter start describing in detail what his wife/ sister/ daughter wants to do to you in the sack & how much she has enjoyed your previous sexy times. Sign the wifes/ sisters/ daughters name, seal the envelope & send it to yourself.

Sit back & enjoy.

Do it!DO IT!

And tell us what happens.

Also,letterbomb,you want to kill him right?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Agghh the good old shíte in the envelope, works everytime.

Get a massive envelope and post yourself to yourself. Then when the nosey fúcker opens it up ya have him cornered.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Go postal on his candy ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Post yourself a nice thick white envelope. Inside have a small see through bag, clearly Labelled "Anthrax"- Medical supplies, for authorised use only. Fill this see though bag with a small amount of baby powder.
    Now...and this is the important bit.... Make a small tear in the bag as you place it in the envelope. For added fun, you can put a Helpline number on the back of the bag, in case of contact etc. Make it your number, not the cops, as you do not want to be arrested!
    Mail it to yourself, reusing the contents, with different envelopes till the letter opener bites!

Profit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Mastermind!

Forge an Irish lottery letter. State that you've won the lotto but didn't collect it and you've 30 days to call in before you recieve payment, do the lotto with those numbers and leave the ticket in your driveway so that it looks like it's been on the ground.

Have a friend, at the same time, hijack the national lottery's phoneline to greet him on the other end of the phone when he thinks he's won with your ticket.

Get him to drive to the national lotto HQ and have your friend waiting outside with a cheque of 10 million, saying congratulations! At the same time, you've known he's left his car unlocked with excitement, steal it and burn it out down the wicklow mountains!

When he realises it was all a sham and gets home in a taxi wondering wtf.. Have a post-it note sitting on his porch. "Don't open my letters again biatch".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Why don't you just use Email like a normal person, it's not like google read all your.. oh wait.

Sit back & enjoy.
    Do this no question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Sit back & enjoy.
    He'll probably know their hand-writing so write it from the POV of the postman your dad originally fell out with. The more depraved the better imho. I recommend a paragraph on scat play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Post a tinfoil hat to yourself and see if it comes back crumpled.

Oh wait, you already have one...

Sit back & enjoy.
    PaddyBomb wrote: »
    Have a sh.ite in an envelope and post it to yourself.
    phill106 wrote: »
    Post yourself a nice thick white envelope. Inside have a small see through bag, clearly Labelled "Anthrax"- Medical supplies, for authorised use only. Fill this see though bag with a small amount of baby powder.
    Now...and this is the important bit.... Make a small tear in the bag as you place it in the envelope. For added fun, you can put a Helpline number on the back of the bag, in case of contact etc. Make it your number, not the cops, as you do not want to be arrested!
    Mail it to yourself, reusing the contents, with different envelopes till the letter opener bites!

Profit!
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Why don't you just use Email like a normal person, it's not like google read all your.. oh wait.

Do this no question.
    Do all of these. Often!

Then call the cops too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Some people do just seal envelopes with tape these days for some god forsaken reason. So try get in touch with some one like your brothers school and ask them would they ever seal an envelope with tape. That should help you get to the bottom of whether or not it really is the post man. Because you don't want to rush into this situation and it turns out it's not him. Just to save yourself some dignity really. And then when it turns out it is definitely him, go with posting yourself **** about your post man being a pr1ck, or other things like that. Lol.

And THEN get his ass fired after you've gotten your personal revenge and therefore when he least expects it.

Mwahahahahahaha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Put anthrax in an envelope before posting it to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Pm your address, I'll print this thread out and post it to you.

ejmaztec wrote: »

Great idea! I like it!
    Liked it so much, i read your post, went back to the past, and posted it 10 mins ago :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Contact the police and An Post head office.

Dude is breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Rob his bike :D

cock robin wrote: »
    Rob his bike :D

ahhh dont be cocky, suggesting he should be off robbing

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

bronte wrote: »
    Contact the police and An Post head office.

Dude is breaking the law.

Breakin the law! Breakin the law! Nah nah nah nah nah nah

Sorry... It's late and I haven t had me dinner yet.

Originally posted by Bronte
    Sorry... It's late and I haven t had me dinner yet.

Late? Its only 5:05 pm!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Mail yourself anthrax, that'll sort it out quick enough

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Earth Traveller

Ask a friend to write a cheque for, say, 20 yoyos; have the amount, date and signature on the cheque but leave the name blank. Post said cheque to yourself with a note saying something like "Here's the money I owe you; I wasn't sure to put your name on it or to make it for 'cash'" Postman steals cheque, inserts his name and cashes it. Retrieve the cashed cheque from your friend's bank and you have indisputable evidence against the postman! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Do the anthrax thing, then post your mammy some letters from prison to see if the postman has opened them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

Mail yourself a mousetrap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ask a friend to write a cheque for, say, 20 yoyos; have the amount, date and signature on the cheque but leave the name blank. Post said cheque to yourself with a note saying something like "Here's the money I owe you; I wasn't sure to put your name on it or to make it for 'cash'" Postman steals cheque, inserts his name and cashes it. Retrieve the cashed cheque from your friend's bank and you have indisputable evidence against the postman! ;)

Or just writes "cash"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭theCaffers

easyeason for president

Your evil... I like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Send a letter to yourself confirming delivery of anthrax in 50 inconspicuous envelopes over the bext year and include a warning that its unsealed in the envelopes

Originally Posted by phill106

Profit!
    Send a letter to yourself confirming delivery of anthrax in 50 inconspicuous envelopes over the bext year and include a warning that its unsealed in the envelopes
    Mail yourself anthrax, that'll sort it out quick enough
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    Jeez guys, get off the anthrax bandwagon, not enough room for us all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I have heard of this happening in post offices.

Then again I've had to sellotape lots of envelopes because they were shíte and didn't stick properly.

Lemsiper wrote: »
    Mail yourself a mousetrap.
    Mail yourself and you'll get to punch the guy in person when he opens the letter. How tiny are you internet people? I'm assuming ye can fit in envelopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Look up on the internet how to make a letter bomb and post it to yourself. :pac:

People might nitpick about the legality of sending bombs through the post but the police are hardly going to suspect you are they ?

Get yourself a good lawyer just in case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

ScumLord wrote: »
    Mail yourself and you'll get to punch the guy in person when he opens the letter. How tiny are you internet people? I'm assuming ye can fit in envelopes.

9815 posts, I think you count as an internet person as well.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Did the package containing your balls never make it to you? Cos if it did you would have told him to stop opening your letters before he gets a bar across the back of the head.

9815 posts, I think you count as an internet person as well.:P
    No I'm a real boy. Everyone else on the internet is some form of pixie.