Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

09 Audi A6 Climate Control problem

• 30-06-2010 2:31pm
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi, I have a problem with the A6, and I'm wondering if anyone has experienced anything similar.

When I set the driver's side Climate control down to the coldest, it works fine......as long as the passenger side is set the same.
    If the passenger side is set to 22 for example, and the driver's side is still full cold, warmer air comes out the vents on the driver's side. Its like the passenger side settings are overriding the driver side.
    I had it in for a service in Blackwater Motors, and the mechanic reckoned you can't set full hot v full cold on each side. He said they have to be within a couple of degrees of each other. I asked him why is it them called Climate control. Cue head scratching. He said that was just the way it was. I thought about it for a while until the service manager came out with the keys. He asked was I happy with the service, and I told him that,no, I actually wasn't - that there more I thought about it, the mechanic was giving me a line in bullsh*t. He said himself it didn't sound right, so arranged to have my one picked up, brought to Fermoy for a day or two for them to test it. Loander given, and all is well. 3 days later, a call from the service dept, we'll drop yours back to you. It looked faulty to them, escalated to Audi Dublin, who had apparently then escalated to Audi GmbH, and they were waiting for an answer. That was about 2 months ago and I heard nothing nack. Rang again today, and the guy in service reckons Audi have come back and said that is normal. I get the feeling that they know its not right, but they don't know how to fix it.

A mate of mine had an Accord, now has an Insignia, another has a Merc and all 3 will go full cold on one side, and full hot on the other, without affecting the other side.

Anyone any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I think two letters a day might get it sorted for you! Or test drive another A6 and check that one!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I think two letters a day might get it sorted for you! Or test drive another A6 and check that one!

They are being ok at the moment, so I'll ask them to take a look at it again.
    Thing is, I had a new A4 out on test for 2 days, and I remember the Aircon being a bit "fidgety" on that too, but I did only have it 2 days, and it was November, so the need for cold air not so apparent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

That's definitely not normal. Otherwise it wouldn't be called Dual Zone Climate Control, it'd only be single zone! Best bet is to sample another A6 with similar spec to yours to prove to them that it's not normal.
    I reckon that you should find a 07 or early 08 one to test however, cause I was in a 09 Passat that had something a bit not right about the operation of the Dual Zone climate, where as the 07 one I was in before was perfect. Might be either a new company they're buying the climate control system and sensors from or there just riddled with faults in 09.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Why have full hot on one side and full cold on the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Why have full hot on one side and full cold on the other?

Because that's the point of having dual climate control? So you can be roasting and your honey pie can be freezing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭fm

have you tried the opposite-hot on driver side while cold on passenger?you will find out whether its the passenger side overriding the driver or the temp clashing

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

fm wrote: »
    have you tried the opposite-hot on driver side while cold on passenger?you will find out whether its the passenger side overriding the driver or the temp clashing

Yes I did. I think the passenger side still overrides the driver, AFAIR.

Blackwater just rang me, and told me that they consider it normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I go and check mine back in a minute ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's normal on every car I have driven or owned with climate control. Have to be within a few degrees of each other each side. The number of degrees varies with car model.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

gpf101 wrote: »
    It's normal on every car I have driven or owned with climate control. Have to be within a few degrees of each other each side. The number of degrees varies with car model.
    TBH this just seems logical.

It would just make no sense having full hot on one side and cold on the other.

It doesn't seen to want to do full hot and full cold on mine but will do a temp difference of maybe 10c or so.

Will check again for you tomorrow when I drive to work and car will be at a better temp than in driveway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would consider it normal too not to be able to get such an extreme of temp difference. After all, it is cooling the same cabin so it would be pretty pointless.

In relation to the dealer passing the complaint on to Audi Ireland & then to factory, Im thinking that is a heap of bull. I was fed the same line, I dutifully waited for a response from Audi factory in relation to getting undated front control arms for my audi A5. Eventually dealer comes back and says no good. Im still trying to get a copy of the decision/correspondance with audi from him but he is not coming up with it.

It doesn't seen to want to do full hot and full cold on mine but will do a temp difference of maybe 10c or so.

Will check again for you tomorrow when I drive to work and car will be at a better temp than in driveway.

That's the way any I've come across have been too.

mickdw wrote: »
    I would consider it normal too not to be able to get such an extreme of temp difference. After all, it is cooling the same cabin so it would be pretty pointless.

In relation to the dealer passing the complaint on to Audi Ireland & then to factory, Im thinking that is a heap of bull. I was fed the same line, I dutifully waited for a response from Audi factory in relation to getting undated front control arms for my audi A5. Eventually dealer comes back and says no good. Im still trying to get a copy of the decision/correspondance with audi from him but he is not coming up with it.

When I spoke to them again, they just said "Audi Dublin said......". So much for going to the Organ Grinder.....

Anyway, as it happens, I like the car cold when I'm driving, even in the middle of winter. The missus likes it warm. According to Audi, its then her way or the highway. I can't see how THAT is right.

Maybe I should make this clearer - This is not only when both extremes are used. If I have it at 18-19, and the same on the passenger, everything is as it should be.If I put the passenger up to 22-23, then the drivers side warms up.
    If I have it warm on both sides, leave the passenger as is, and drop the driver side down to the lowest, the temp never changes on the driver side.........Until the passenger side is adjusted. It just doesn't seem right as Climate control. We have AirCon in the other car, and everyone gets the same temperature regardless. This might as well be the same.

Dual zone is a gimmick anyway in my opinion. Ive got single zone climate control & being honest, comparing this to a dual zone passat system, there is little difference. In fact the passat usually ends with both zones locked together as its just fiddly having the 2 temps shown different and not quite getting the true temps you would expect.
    I assume you havent got yours locked together. If you had, both temp displays would move from either dial.

Having said all that, I have a feeling that in something like an S class merc, you would be able to get as hot & cold as you wished side by side. Probably just cheapness on Audis behalf.
    You say passenger side seems to be dominant, could be a carry over from the left hand drive versions where they might be giving majority of control to driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I read this thread and went off to the gym. On the way back I tested the dual zone on mine in the carpark and there is a massive difference between the two sides.

I set the driver side to 16*C, passenger to 32*C and ramped up the fan speed. Driver side is freezing and the passenger side is nice and warm. If they could manage that on a 10 year old car, they can do it on a new Audi.

I wouldn't be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Tried it in my x1 and the difference between the two sides was massive. With regards to Blackwater they are nice to deal with but when there is a prob they have no interest in sorting good luck!!

I certainty won't be dealing with them again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Squegee

I tested an Accord last week with dual control and tested exactly for this.
    Her indoors likes it a lot warmer than myself and it's an important criterium..
    It worked perfectly imo.

Thanks for the replies, lads. I certainly doesn't seem right, and I will be taking another run at Blackwater next week.

Tried it twice today, and it seems to be working as it should. Bloody cars......:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

whiterebel wrote: »
    Tried it twice today, and it seems to be working as it should. Bloody cars......:confused:

So its working properly???. The boys in blackwater are well able to talk the talk.. I find newmarket motors fantastic in the service department. No bull****.

I got at least an 8c difference in mine when I tried it on the long trip.

You have to remember that these systems use internal and external temps when they work. So it might cut out the air system if you want warm air if it thinks that the sunlight will be enough to warm up the car.

Standard spec is "Automatic air conditioning with sun sensor"
    Climate control, optimum air quality and a pleasant temperature in the interior.

With automatic air conditioning, regulation of the interior temperature takes into account the position of the sun. The advantage: the temperature in the vehicle interior always remains at the desired level, especially as the airflow is suitably distributed and adjusted. Other benefits:

Clean air at all times: an additional air quality sensor detects whether there is a high concentration of pollutants in the outside air. Harmful substances and pollen are also detected. The automatic air conditioning then switches to air recirculation mode and also filters the air.
    Indirect ventilation makes for a pleasant all-round climate.
    Sun sensor control adjusts the climate inside the vehicle according to the solar radiation entering the interior, thus ensuring the right temperature.

http://www.audi.com/com/brand/en/tools/advice/glossary/automatic_air_conditioning.browser.html

You have to remember that these systems use internal and external temps when they work. So it might cut out the air system if you want warm air if it thinks that the sunlight will be enough to warm up the car.

http://www.audi.com/com/brand/en/tools/advice/glossary/automatic_air_conditioning.browser.html

A bit confusing, Auto AirCon, Climate control etc. Anyway, Had it full cold on my side yesterday and day before, and very, very warm on passenger. Did it properly the other way around too, so it does seem that all is well, however that happened.
    Wouldn't have been any sun around when I was doing this first time, but I will keep it in mind for winter, where it may be a faulty sensor affecting things.

I think you hit the nail on the head here. Friday, Saturday, Sunday the climate control worked perfectly, today driving to Fermoy acting up again. The difference today? It's cloudy, as it was during the winter when the problem was at it's worst.

Blackwater are ordering a new sun sensor, should have it next week. Also asked them to check and see if they can turn off the sensor if they have to.
    At least i know the bloody thing works properly now.

The saga continues. Sunshine sensor didn't work. just back from 3 weeks away in a rented 207. The Climate control worked perfectly in that little yoke, at approx half the cost of the Audi :mad:

Rang Newmarket Motors who apparently cannot do any warranty work any more on Audis. Spoke to another Audi garage a long, long way from me, and rather than dragging me all the way up the country, suggested I get Blackwater to look at the Flap Motors. Blackwater will have a look at that Wednesday afternoon and see what the diagnostics makes of it. This is their last chance, next step is Audi customer Care in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Absolutely, if you dont get what you want, get onto customer care.

Drove an A6 10-C Demo yesterday, and it seems to be the same as mine. This seems to be very hit and miss as an 07 one seems to work properly. Have called Audi Customer care in Dublin and they are going to check into the history of this.

The way that demonstrates the fault most clearly is:

Have the temp set on the blue dot (14 degrees) on my side.
    Temp on passenger side red dot (30 deg) This means : Hot on passenger side, warm on mine.
    If I move temp on PASSENGER to 26 degrees, and passenger side goes cold, drivers side is freezing.
    That just cannot be right.

Its not that I want to be able to go to the absolute extremes, but I do need it cool when I'm driving. Its not such a huge hassle at the moment because I'm driving up and down the country on my own and can set it up cold on both sides, but if we're going on a journey together, she'll have to wrap up in coat, scarf etc. Its really, really bugging me now.

Right, couldn't find a specialist to have a look at the system so called into an Audi garage in Dublin. Had a chat with the service manager who, in fairness, was pretty knowledgeable. He eventually confirmed, after much browbeating, the following:

The A6 (and Q7) hasn't got a "premium" Climate Control system like the A8.
    It has one motor, which is on the passenger side, which means the passenger side dominates in the CC stakes.
    The most you can differ between passenger and driver side is approx 4 degrees, therefore it isn't climate control as normal humans understand it.
    There may be a slight problem with the way it is working because of the flap motors being out of calibration, which can be checked but does not show up on the diagnostics. This would explain why the outside vent is still pushing warm air out even when both sides are set to cold, as happened me yesterday.

In short, if you want proper Climate Control, don't buy an Audi, as they don't know what they are doing. Buy 2 x Peugeot 207's instead.:o

The new A6 will have better CC, but it is going back up €3.5K:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Thats fairly annoying. Will you trade up to the new model or stick it out. Is yours the SE model. Whats the ride like in it?

It's a bit annoying but it's hardly worth getting rid of the car for!

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Thats fairly annoying. Will you trade up to the new model or stick it out. Is yours the SE model. Whats the ride like in it?

Its the SE. No, I won't be trading up, this one will be around for 6 years at least, all going well. Bloody nuisance, but apart form that it is a great car. Ride in it is very good, great for motorway cruising.

They cannot afford to put it up 3.5k surely. That will put them out of the race?

Very much doubt its going up €3500 mate. As Mick says that will put them out of the market.

From what I have seen I don't think there is going to be an E version (136) diesel and it will just start with the 177 version instead. So that may be the €3500 difference as the the current price difference 136-168 is €3090. What it does mean for you is that YOU will have to pay more for the car but you will get much more bang from the car than you do now. What it means for me thankfully is that when I change in 2013 is that I shouldn't have to pay much more for the same size engine.

Remember that the new 177 engine is much cleaner and more fuel efficient than my 168 and is better than your 136 by a little bit but much more powerful.

Back on topic I'm not surprised that the CC has only one motor it is the basic cheapo AC model. I can live with it as my wife has similar temp requirements to me but I know you and your wife have completely different needs which is what annoys you about the CC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 tweaf1

Not so sure about that, according to UK press they're increasing the price in the UK by £3,500!

Hope they don't.

They have only released the prices for 3 liter petrol and diesel cars in the UK. Some have only gone up £400 others have gone up nearly £3000. I hope any price increase only reflects any extra stuff they are loading the cars with or they have really shot themselves in the foot in this current climate.

I'm only passing on what I was told in one of the Audi Dealerships in Dublin, I didn't even ask about price, it was volunteered by the manager. It doesn't mean sh*t to me, as I expect to be still driving this one in 5/6 years time.