Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2006 Focus ST - Advice needed

• 29-06-2010 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40

A friend of mine is in the market for an ST. Looked on carzone, cheapest seems to be around 13-14k.

Was put in touch with someone who was selling an English registered one (bought in N.I) and went to take a look at it today.

Firstly, bodywork was immaculate, bar for one scrape on behind the rear wheel low down, where it looks like someone met a high kerb. Wheels were fine, very minor kerbing, no signs of buckling or anything like that.

Underneath is much the same, looks quite clean, no obvious signs of potential problems, no rust etc.

Engine bay is very clean, been looked after, again, no obvious knocks or noises throughout the rev range. Pulls very well in every gear, gear change is extremely nice, no crunches, clutch is connecting very well.

The owner says he has it for 8 months, he lives in a rural area in the midlands and has never got any hassle from Garda or Customs so hasn't registered it.

Mileage is just over 31000miles, It's a 2006 ST-2. Owner seems genuine, and yes I know this counts for nothing, but had no hesitation on letting me have a good look around and offering me a drive, even though it was a friend who was potentially buying it.

Here's the problem: No service history. He's done some work himself, two fresh new tires, brakes pads and oil change with fully synthetic in the last few weeks, but beyond that is a guessing game.

The v5 certificate says that it had "3 previous keepers", which seems high considering it's barely 5 years old.

Any owners/enthusiasts out there offer some informed advice for specific things to look out for given the lack of a service history.

Aesthetically and mechanically it seems to be 100%, I know my way around a car but I'm not a mechanic.

Any advice would be great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

For a highly strung turbo car I would walk away from it if it hadn't got a comprehensive service history, too many expensive parts on them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

How much is he looking for the St-2?

As a comparison I bought one 2 months ago:

Irish Car
    48k miles
    1 Owner
    Full Ford Service History
    Standard Spec
    +
    Smokers Pack
    Auto Lights
    Auto Wipers
    Auto dim mirror

for €14k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,706 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Here's where it gets messy, the car is not in his name and therefore it's not his to sell, it's still registered in the name of the previous owner if your lucky or if not could be stolen. No service history on this car at this age is a no no.

Did you run a HPI check on it to see if there's anything further dodgy about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Onkle wrote: »
    For a highly strung turbo car I would walk away from it if it hadn't got a comprehensive service history, too many expensive parts on them :D
    Me too, four years is a long time with potentially no servicing. And call me paranoid, but the first thing that popped into my head was crashed/repaired. The kind of person who drives a UK regd car here for eight months without registering it is probably not above pulling another kind of stroke, IMO.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Too many negatives. Look for an Irish car or a properly imported and VRT'd one (with perhaps a better spec?) both with low miles and fsh.

Avoid orange. Very chav.

http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201025198503896

I'd prefer a 3 door, but that one looks good, although check for new tyres at that mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Is it just me or are 99% of ST's navy / blue?

Too many negatives. Look for an Irish car or a properly imported and VRT'd one (with perhaps a better spec?) both with low miles and fsh.

Avoid orange. Very chav.

http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201025198503896

I'd prefer a 3 door, but that one looks good, although check for new tyres at that mileage.

Did you not have an orange one?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Did you not have an orange one?

No Onkle, I had a blue one. A super fun car too.

Could have sworn you had an orange one, must have been another user. I agree, they are a smashing car. I've seen 2 on dyno's now and both were very impressive

Is it just me or are 99% of ST's navy / blue?

Performance Blue, same as most Honda's are Championship white, its the flagship colour as such.

I wanted one in black but when I seen it in the flesh it didnt look anywhere near as nice as the Blue, other options where white and I hate white cars, orange which is just too orange and red and my last car was red.

draffodx wrote: »
    Performance Blue, same as most Honda's are Championship white, its the flagship colour as such.

I wanted one in black but when I seen it in the flesh it didnt look anywhere near as nice as the Blue, other options where white and I hate white cars, orange which is just too orange and red and my last car was red.

But aint the Championship white in Honda's a different white to the normal 1.3 civics? The blue on the ST seems (to me) the same as the normal focus's.

Nope, you cant get Performance Blue on a normal Focus, only Vision Blue or a Sea Grey which can look blueish.

Never seen anything like Performance Blue on a normal Focus :D

Could have sworn you had an orange one, must have been another user. I agree, they are a smashing car. I've seen 2 on dyno's now and both were very impressive

I do have an orange MkII Escort RS2000 though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

the high owners would worry me, has it been thrashed and what now

you wud wanna see under the steering wheel, does it look like the scart looking connector has seen use, if it has its been dreamscienced, meaning its being chipped, ie bhp upped to around 260bhp. not that its a bad thing, but it wud be a sign if its been driven by an...enthuasist :D

check the alloys for cracks,, they could even be internal

check the plastic protection plate under the engine, is it in tact? or has it taken a hop from a speed bump or two

check to see does the air con work, it wud need regassing around now

the st has an ecu module in the engine, sometimes prone to breaking, they are very expensive to replace

check does the esp work, linked to the ecu and not a nice thing to replace

check does the cd player play cd's, the units in the st are a bit prone to breaking and not being able to play a cd

to be honest i wudnt be happy with no service history at all, there are too many good examples of well kept ST's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Here is a higher spec ST-3, I'm sure there is flexibility on the price given that these cars are very hard to shift in the current economic climate:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201021198134675

bazz26 wrote: »
    Here is a higher spec ST-3, I'm sure there is flexibility on the price given that these cars are very hard to shift in the current economic climate:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201021198134675

Thats great value for an ST3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Thats great value for an ST3!

Shes a nice motor!!! If a fella bought a 08 would he get the cheap tax. Im after getting rid of a yoke with colossul tax and dont want the same again..

SARASON wrote: »
    Shes a nice motor!!! If a fella bought a 08 would he get the cheap tax. Im after getting rid of a yoke with colossul tax and dont want the same again..

If it was registered before June 1st 2008 its around €1260 after is €2100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bf

its actually €1050 if registered after 1st July 08

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

So your better of in this instance buying a 07 as opposed to a 08 like a normal car....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Fallon2304

He hasn't carried out a HPI check, I've advised him it would be well worth it.

Regarding the colour, I don't think it's relevant, each to their own. If it were me, I'd want one in orange, you don't see too many around.

Regarding the non payment of VRT, while I don't condone tax evasion, I certainly wouldn't see that as any sort 'extra' reason for their to be an issue. I know several people who've brought in cars and driven them for months without any major issue (And yes, before anyone arrives in on their high horse about VRT - we all know the issues)

@BArra - Thanks for the helpful post. No cracks in wheels. Protection plate was intact and although a little dirty (normal wear) didn't seem to have any sign of impact.

The car is coming in a fair bit cheaper even after being VRT'd than many of the ones of the Irish market here. Prices do seem imflated here, there is plenty of ST's on UK owners clubs for in and around 7.5 - 8k sterling. 14k euro is a fair chunk of change considering they can be imported much cheaper.

Anything else to look out for?

The car is 2006, I was under the impression the tax would be crica 800-900euro pre July 2008?? Can someone clarify this please

bf wrote: »
    its actually €1050 if registered after 1st July 08

Seriously? Whats the Co2 emissions?
    Fallon2304 wrote: »
    The car is 2006, I was under the impression the tax would be crica 800-900euro pre July 2008?? Can someone clarify this please

its €1120 a year exactly before the changeover
    SARASON wrote: »
    So your better of in this instance buying a 07 as opposed to a 08 like a normal car....

If bf is correct then its much of a muchness, by normal car do you mean a non fun car?

EDIT: it comes in at 224g/km which does indeed put it in the €1050 bracket, I never realised that was a €1050 jump from group F (<225g/km) to group G (>225g/km) thats a ridiculous jump in a tax rate !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Fallon2304 wrote: »

Nope, it's 2522 cc so it's taxed as a 2.6 under the old system.

My 2008 Facelift ST-3 is for sale in a Dublin dealer at the moment. If you want any details, drop me a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭82dgolf

Just tell him to buy an RS he will have more fun. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

If the servicing parts used were genuine ford items and the work was done correctly, it doesn't matter who actually did it. Perhaps try contact he previous owners to find out why they sold it if you suspect that there may be some underlying reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Here's where it gets messy, the car is not in his name and therefore it's not his to sell...

Incorrect. The name in the V5C is not the owner - it's the 'keeper'. Logbook tells you nothing about who actually owns it, only who it's registered to you.

Consider: all cars on HP/Lease are effectively owned by the finance company. You don't see their names on the tax book, either.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

CarMan2010 wrote: »

That one is pure base spec though, it doesn't look like it has any of the optional extras.
    David09 wrote: »
    If the servicing parts used were genuine ford items and the work was done correctly, it doesn't matter who actually did it. Perhaps try contact he previous owners to find out why they sold it if you suspect that there may be some underlying reason.

I think its more the fact that there is no proof that it has been carried out at all

I wouldn't go near an ST with no service history personally.

They're not expensive cars to get serviced through the dealer network. 160 euro first years service, and 210 for the second.

That's extremely reasonable for the performance, so anyone who skimped on this, most likely didn't care for it so well.

daRobot wrote: »
    I wouldn't go near an ST with no service history personally.

They're not expensive cars to get serviced through the dealer network. 160 euro first years service, and 210 for the second.

That's extremely reasonable for the performance, so anyone who skimped on this, most likely didn't care for it so well.

Is that all??

Not so bad then, I thought it was going to be much more, although my next service is due on 58k miles so I presume its gonna be a big one?

Yup, it's pretty reasonable isn't it. I'd imagine a service for the Gti is much dearer.

I suppose it offsets the higher tax costs of the ST.

Not sure what category of service is at 58k to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Gti standard service is 119 at a vw dealer. Very cheap to service.

That puts my assumptions on a epic fail so :pac:

Very cheap for vw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭notel70

lovely car, I condidered one a few yrs ago but the tax put me off, although the prices seen to reflect this so your saving on the purchase price.

id say with the way prices of performance cars in ireland are at, importing would be more expensive, have patience and the right one will come up, you'll regret it if you dont have patience

What do ye think of the 3dr v 5dr, while a 3dr is a pain to live with I reckon the 3door is allot nicer, shape is real flowing and the rear door handles stick out to much in a 5dr

notel70 wrote: »
    ....What do ye think of the 3dr v 5dr, while a 3dr is a pain to live with I reckon the 3door is allot nicer, shape is real flowing and the rear door handles stick out to much in a 5dr

3 door is very easy to live with, even with kids in the back. Rear seat accesss is good.

They also look better and are a bit cheaper too.

draffodx, whats yours like on juice now that you've had it a few weeks

Motorway driving gets 35mpg on Average.

National roads get 28 - 30mpg.

And proper driving gets 24/25mpg

Its never gone below 24mpg on me.

Its been remapped too, got 263 bhp on the dyno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

How much to re-map these and what extras are required to get 260hp out of curiosity? Are we talking a simple upping of boost or are extras required (intercooler etc.)?

I wouldnt be too concerned about a dealer history to be honest, once it had receipts for money spent on oil, plugs and pads etc. At the end of the day the beauty of these cars are that they have the maintenance/reliability of an everyday family car with an extra bit of poke too. They wouldnt be in the same performance bracket as say an M3 which you would insist on having a full BMWSH.

cpoh1 wrote: »
    How much to re-map these and what extras are required to get 260hp out of curiosity? Are we talking a simple upping of boost or are extras required (intercooler etc.)?

I wouldnt be too concerned about a dealer history to be honest, once it had receipts for money spent on oil, plugs and pads etc. At the end of the day the beauty of these cars are that they have the maintenance/reliability of an everyday family car with an extra bit of poke too. They wouldnt be in the same performance bracket as say an M3 which you would insist on having a full BMWSH.

Mine only has a remap to get the 263 bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

a properly tuned ST can and will give a standard RS a run for its money

i had my ST serviced last week, i had to replace all brake discs, which was a disaster, but had to be done, and i also got the plugs changed.

car seems to breath a lot better, my MPG has gone up to around 26MPG, and i only do mainly short journeys