Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frontline 28/06/10

• 28-06-2010 9:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭

Good show tonight, very contentious issue. Pat wasn't at his best tonight though, must be going on holidays soon.

Did I understand him right when he said that some people pulled out of the show for fear of reprisals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

omahaid wrote: »

Did I understand him right when he said that some people pulled out of the show for fear of reprisals?

You sure did and i have no doubts that it's true. Think about it Mr.A goes on telly and says a group of travellers have been intimidating him on national TV you can think of the consequences yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

You sure did and i have no doubts that it's true. Think about it Mr.A goes on telly and says a group of travellers have been intimidating him on national TV you can think of the consequences yourself.

Regrettable we can't have a discussion about an important issue such as this without threats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The traveller girl on the panel was smokin' hot!

That is all.

The one who said travellers have different DNA to settled people?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

pfft, I wasn't listening to what she was saying.

In fairness, she is the first person I have seen on the Frontline to give a shoutout to her family.

:rolleyes: Jes she gave me a good laugh when she said that. Their cultural back round is different but their DNA isn't.

I think it could have gone into further detail as to why so many people have problems with certain members of the travelling community, but if they did it would be racist!

There is many good travellers out there but as was said its up to them to sort the bad ones out even if that means reporting them to the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

ethnicity isn't determined by DNA, so I would imagine she was talking about bloodlines rather than actual DNA.

After all , we share upwards of 98 percent of our DNA with a banana tree. should we consider ourselves to be no different from them?

ethnicity isn't determined by DNA, so I would imagine she was talking about bloodlines rather than actual DNA.

Did you watch the show? The girl in question clearly said DNA not bloodline.

Others clearly stated that our DNA is the same one fellow mentioned a study around Ire, Sco, Wales from non travellers and among 12 Travellers and found no differance.

After all , we share upwards of 98 percent of our DNA with a banana tree. should we consider ourselves to be no different from them?

I dont know maybe we could discuss this part of your post on after hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Mick Daly

That is all.

You would sniff her but you wouldn't bring her home to mammy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Travellers just pulled in on the local football pitch today :mad: ... they bring nothing but trouble and should not be indulged by the state any longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Mick Daly

People used to say they should be shipped out but you can't get away with things like that anymore.

Traveller's aren't stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

Good show, with the predictable panelists/speakers: Martin Joyce (who slates the government constantly, but is happy to take a state paid and civil service graded salary) and Ian O'Doherty (who speaks a lot of sense on the telly, but comes across a bit angrier in print).

Observations:

1. The 'having our cake and eating it' (yes to rights, no to responsibilities) mentality and playing the race card trick is getting a bit tiresome.
    2. The traveller organisation representatives on the show were doing the travellers no favours (see pt.1 above)
    3. There was a conspicuous absence of someone from the government, for once, on the show
    4. Well done to the traveller girls who worked hard and broke away from tradition. Fair play.
    5. This thread has 'locked' written all over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Ian O'Doherty (who speaks a lot of sense on the telly, but comes across a bit angrier in print).

I agree Express. I didnt like him at first, but I do find myself agreeing with him when he's on RTE Television. Maybe that is just cos he takes the most populist argument. But I think his D4, sarcastic, condescending, pretentious persona lets him down at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

In fairness, she is the first person I have seen on the Frontline to give a shoutout to her family.

And if you knew the family, she's the only one to progress. The father was an absolutely lovely man, but his sons let him down badly. At least 3 of them have had lengthy terms in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

They all pull the racism thing every-time The waterford councillor was busted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Good show, with the predictable panelists/speakers: Martin Joyce (who slates the government constantly, but is happy to take a state paid and civil service graded salary) and Ian O'Doherty (who speaks a lot of sense on the telly, but comes across a bit angrier in print).

Observations:

1. The 'having our cake and eating it' (yes to rights, no to responsibilities) mentality and playing the race card trick is getting a bit tiresome.
    2. The traveller organisation representatives on the show were doing the travellers no favours (see pt.1 above)
    3. There was a conspicuous absence of someone from the government, for once, on the show
    4. Well done to the traveller girls who worked hard and broke away from tradition. Fair play.
    5. This thread has 'locked' written all over it!

I dont recall any traveller representative denying responsibility. please point it out to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The Express

I dont recall any traveller representative denying responsibility. please point it out to me.

Perhaps wrongly phrased by myself. They go on about housing lists, lack of jobs, lack of education. Fair enough; everyone is entitled to it.

But, at the same time they still want to be on the move (and therefore in most cases unavailable for work), and pull their children out of schools (and quite likely out of friendships and bonds with other children) because they're moving on elsewhere.

Surely it's their responsibility to tackle this? Or, as PK put it, should teachers chase them around the country.

I remember a couple of traveller children joined my primary school, back in the 1980's. Two brothers, great craic all together and we all got along great. Then they vanished. On the move again to god knows where.