Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving Theory Test - CD or Book or both?

• 28-06-2010 9:14pm
    Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭

(Sorry if this is the wrong forum to ask) EDIT: sorry, just realised there's a learning to drive forum. sorry)

think I'll finally learn to drive.
    I've seen that online you can get both the book and cd for €30.
    https://dttstore.prometric.com/product/PROD005.html

However in Eason I think you can just get the book or the CD for €17.99.

Should I just but the book and be grand with that?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Thread moved to learning to drive.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

I found the cd to be great because I could sit theory test exams.
    I had that and the rules of the road book.

Id recommend that combo.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Thread moved to learning to drive.:)

Better delete the one I put there in the meantime!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Definitely CD. You can sit practice tests, with the exact questions they use in the theory test. With the book, you won't be fully absorbing the information as you will be reading the question and instantly seeing the answer - there is no 'work' involved, therefore you won't retain it effectively.

I got the CD.

In the "book" section of the CD the answer is also inexplicitly placed right under the question so you see it straight away.
    I think I can put a postit on the computer screen.

I actually did one practice test straight away without looking at any other material and got 16/20 which isn't bad considering I've never driven a car in my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Another question regarding the theory test stuff -

I have the 3rd Edition July 08 book, is there any difference to the latest 4th edition book?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 johngraham

I think you should buy new Driving theory test book for preparation for driving test. As you are saying you have 3rd edition of Driving Theory Test Book So you will not get new elements which dsa has introduced in Theory Test

So its better to get new Driving Theory Test Book for studding Theory Test

Best of luck for your exam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I found the CD much better than the book, just do a load of practice tests and you'll be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 passtest

If you will prepare your driving test with the help of CD. Getting all question related to driving test search driving test cd on search engine and choose the best site on search engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

CD is all you need.

The practice tests on it are invaluable in regards to helping you pass the test. Just do the tests over and over again (they're a bit more stimulating than reading through the boring book) and once go over all the questions on the CD. Soon you should know all the answers to the questions and you should easily pass the test!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 mgsg27

I'd definately recommended the cd as you can do practice tests. But read through the rules of the road book too or have it nearby as it can help explain answers you don't understand on the cd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ayumi

i have rules of the road ,2007 edition would this be fine?

OP here.

Saw this thread was bumped.

I got the CD and passed with 38/40.

The sample tests on the CD are EXACTLY the same as the ones you'll be doing so I definitely recommend you go for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

ayumi wrote: »
    FFs................. tell what you do......... forget about applying for the licence until you take it seriously,do you think the Road safety authority brought out a new edition for the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

No. You are putting yourself at an immediate disadvantage

why ,it has the infromation needed and probable the same as the 2008 ed

Why did you bother asking would the 2007 edition be ok then?

No need to answer that,as i would wager you not getting the up to date version anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

Possibly it does but seeing as the March 2010 revision is on the shelves I'd personally be going for that. If I were studying something I'd make sure I'd be revising the most up to date info. That's maybe just me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Not So user Friendly:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

No, it doesn't have a lot of the questions now on the test. If you just study that book, you'll find it hard to pass.

Not So user Friendly:D
    :o Well my comment was more in frustration and disbelief than anything else.

If this poster was serious about driving ......... then the very least they can do is get an up to date rules of the road book,if not for their benefit........ then for mine and every other road user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Tara_Rxxx

I'd recommend both.
    The CD is great becasue you can sit and practise the test and it has an book section on it to look at the questions.
    but you're not always at a computer so thats why i got the book too, to have with you and for quick reference too.
    Plus ya never know as well computers can crash!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Tara_Rxxx wrote: »
    I'd recommend both.
    The CD is great becasue you can sit and practise the test and it has an book section on it to look at the questions.
    but you're not always at a computer so thats why i got the book too, to have with you and for quick reference too.
    Plus ya never know as well computers can crash!

^^^this. I recently passed my theory test. I went through the book, covering the answers with a sheet of paper as I did, and I highlighted any one I couldn't get. These were the ones I focused on the day before the the actual exam. I used the CD for doing random tests, but tbh it's too cumbersome to use when going through the questions for the first time. Also, it's easy to bring a book with you on the way to the exam centre or just in general when you're studying. So I'd recommend getting both. I got a special offer on the theory test site when I bought the two together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 BikingChick

You don't have to buy the CD, most libraries have several copies of it, but make sure it is the CURRENT and up-to-date edition! A current copy of the Rules of the Road is very handy also & cheap to buy. The CD is great for practice tests. Good luck!

so the latest rules of the road would be fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭ADIDriving

so the latest rules of the road would be fine?

The rules of the road would not be enough. It might help, but the real choice is between the book or CD of the theory questions.

ADIDriving wrote: »
    The rules of the road would not be enough. It might help, but the real choice is between the book or CD of the theory questions.
    i have my exam tommorw and I have the rules of the road,I have now concerns regarding the exam,I have done a mock exam on ism website and so had thought that I would be fine

The theory test is very random. Sometimes you could do it with no study and get every question right. Sometimes you could do loads of study and still not pass. Studying the sample questions would be best. You have done some study on the rules of the road. That combined with carefull reading of the questions and application of common sense will be of great help. You can do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 xxlazydogxx

hi i was just wondering if someone could help me :cool:

in the drivers theory test book do i have to study all the material in the book or is it just the 1st two sections (the green and the blue) ( or ) is it ALL the sections including the ones for motorcycles and trucks etc????????????????????????:rolleyes::rolleyes:

If you are studying for cars you can ignore the sections specific to other vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

just a helpful tip for all ye learners, go into second hand bookshops they have loads of those books, save yourselves a few euro, just have a good read of the sections you need and you will pass with flying colours, questions are common sense anyway

goat2 wrote: »
    just a helpful tip for all ye learners, go into second hand bookshops they have loads of those books, save yourselves a few euro,
    Good idea. Smarter then your average goat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i found the cd great, had it two days before my exam and got 39 out of 40.

the qustions are 95% common sense and most people would know them, so don't worry. i got 37 on my first mock test on the cd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 BikingChick

LazyDog, as stated by ADIDriving, just the section relevant to cars (if that's what your test is in). You will have to know a few questions on tractors also as your car driving licence will have automatic tractor category added. Good luck!

im having a problem doing an appointment for an exam,I get Eligibility Information section after i agree to the terms & conditions which asks for the eligibility id of the sponsors organization and the first 4 letters of last name.
    so i was wondering how do i fix it ? i have login te website before and scehudaled an exam but now its this page that comes,i tried login into the website since 27 of dec it worked but then payment didnt go through!

its annoying me :( i was prepared for the exm but when i tried doing a date i had problems with the website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Shellygoose

im having a problem doing an appointment for an exam,I get Eligibility Information section after i agree to the terms & conditions which asks for the eligibility id of the sponsors organization and the first 4 letters of last name.
    so i was wondering how do i fix it ? i have login te website before and scehudaled an exam but now its this page that comes,i tried login into the website since 27 of dec it worked but then payment didnt go through!

its annoying me :( i was prepared for the exm but when i tried doing a date i had problems with the website

Are you sure you are selecting the correct category of exam?? Eligibility numbers are only used for booking ADI exams.

Have you contacted the booking team on 1890 606 106? They will make the booking over the phone, be sure to have your PPS number and card details to hand when calling

this is what i get:
    New Appointment

Information Review-Privacy Policy Review-Eligibility Information

this where it comes asking for eligilibility id.
    I have tried calling but no one answered and i emailed telling them about the problem but thye didnt give me a solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I happend to have all the previous editions of cd's and books before I did my theory test which helped once the newer editions came in with tougher questions and more questions introduced I decided to do the theory test by then. Still waited year before starting to drive though! :/ CD is your best bet really for anyone I think you learn more and quicker but is handy to have the book as back up in case the cd gets damaged.

Is anyone scheduling the exam online, i was wondering if.you hav had problems,its asking for an eligilibity id but i dont wot this ans plez help me anyone im going crazy.i want to do it aand get it done it worked fine until last week i had went on several computrs and same thing appears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Bubblegum18

Hi
    I just started the cd today but something weird is happening I have done 16 tests but I notice that the same questions tend to come up all the time and lets say I get 7 qs wrong it comes up saying I got 34/40
    Whats going on?????:confused: