Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

butcherin deer

• 28-06-2010 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭

I was wonderin DO I HAVE to hang a deer for a few days before I butcher it or is it ok to skin it and chop it up on the same day, I know it should be left for a while and its prob easier to work with but I don't have anywhere to hang it this year, got a steel shed built and its like an oven. So until I get a cold room can I do it all in the one go.

cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

shank1 wrote: »
    I was wonderin DO I HAVE to hang a deer for a few days before I butcher it or is it ok to skin it and chop it up on the same day, I know it should be left for a while and its prob easier to work with but I don't have anywhere to hang it this year, got a steel shed built and its like an oven. So until I get a cold room can I do it all in the one go.

cheers.

Look in the buy and sell, get an old fridge out of a shop for coke bottles etc, tall Fridge.
    My father got me one for my birthday a few years ago, he paid a tenner for it

I skin and leave hang 3-6 days depending on weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Ask around and see if anyone has a coldroom they would let you hang it in.

Or if you have a decent enough sized fridge at home you could break the deer, mince the forequarter and ribs for burgers, sausages etc, then just split the loin and legs and leave them in your fridge for a few days. They won't take up a lot of room like this.

If you have access to a vacuum packer you could keep them in your fridge for weeks.
    Of course, this will all depend on the size and sex of the deer you have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭cbrjohnthou

Would you believe I gave away 2 of them last year:mad:

I don't have a problem with hanging them in a mates house, he has a massive cold room but he is a good distance to travel to collect the deer.

I am only wondering if I 'HAD' to would it make much, if any, difference to the texture or the flavour, or would it be hard to butcher properly so fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Would you believe I gave away 2 of them last year:mad:

I don't have a problem with hanging them in a mates house, he has a massive cold room but he is a good distance to travel to collect th to hand it a day ore deer.

I am only wondering if I 'HAD' to would it make much, if any, difference to the texture or the flavour, or would it be hard to butcher properly so fresh.

If the meat is too fresh it is difficult to cut properly, you need need to hang it a day or to for the meat to tighten up. If too fresh it is not nice to eat, thats more a preference

With a sharp knife and a bone saw you won't have any problem breaking the animal while its fresh. If you refrigerate it for a few days after you break it then it will be firmer and you will get nicer chops/ steaks out of the loin and the meat will be less strong in taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭bang2

cheers.

There's no problem with skinning and butchering them fresh if thats what you want, or if you have no refrigeration. If you like mild deer flavour, and if your stewing or mincing it it wont make much of a difference.

I hang ours for 2-3 weeks in the skin , less weight loss with the skin on. It takes longer to skin but the meat is so tender it's unbelievable.
    So if your looking for tender tasty venison steaks from the straps or delicious roast joints, invest in the fridge.
    keep an eye out on commercial auctions , stainless steel fridges going V cheap at the moment

lots of patience involved in the stalking, add a little after the kill.it's worth it.

IMHO from years of butchering and Cooking.

Bang2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

bang2 wrote: »
    There's no problem with skinning and butchering them fresh if thats what you want, or if you have no refrigeration. If you like mild deer flavour, and if your stewing or mincing it it wont make much of a difference.

I hang ours for 2-3 weeks in the skin , less weight loss with the skin on. It takes longer to skin but the meat is so tender it's unbelievable.
    So if your looking for tender tasty venison steaks from the straps or delicious roast joints, invest in the fridge.
    keep an eye out on commercial auctions , stainless steel fridges going V cheap at the moment

lots of patience involved in the stalking, add a little after the kill.it's worth it.

Bang2

2-3 weeks :eek: .thats not tender man , its called rotten.

jwshooter wrote: »

mouthwatering, next time your doing a cook up in Waterford you'll have come over.

Bang2

Thanks Bang, good info there, I will get a cold room but I was just lookin for a way out until I get a good one. I don't want to be chawin on an old boot so I'd prefer to let it hang for a while, maybe not that long though:D:D:D

cheers

:D:D:D:D!

mouthwatering, next time your doing a cook up in Waterford you'll have come over.

I know some beef farmers/butchers lazy age their steak 21 days for ultimate tenderness.

However I have only left a deer 4 days max in a fridge.

I'd prefer it that way, but I also hate rare meat so each to their own.

The bottle chiller fridge is the average joe soaps cheapest option.

Lots of liquidation stock on the market :D

I know some beef farmers/butchers lazy age their steak 21 days for ultimate tenderness.

21 days would be the minimum for beef , 28-31 dry aged , now your talking.

Bottle chiller does the job, cant argue there .

There is a great butcher in rialto, Ennis butchers ,came across them when i was looking for good meat a few years back.
    www.ennisbutchers.com has a window on he side of his cool room with labels stating how long the meat is hanging,

As you said each to their own .:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭ianoo

i can vouch for bang's methods lads ,:D:D:D,
    feckin gorgous venison steaks;)
    would'nt have the nerve to hang them that long myself do ,one bad whiff and its into the freezer with it

ian

ianoo wrote: »
    i can vouch for bang's methods lads ,:D:D:D,
    feckin gorgous venison steaks;)
    would'nt have the nerve to hang them that long myself do ,one bad whiff and its into the freezer with it

ian

I have a few french friends that eat a steak dripping blood and wipe it up with bread.
    Not my cup of tea.

Sam craic hanging phesants until they are near maggoty, or cooking snipe guts in,
    Not my cup of tea
    But there is no acciounting for taste as they say.

Venison does well on the Barbecue in steak form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

Snipes guts in is a must yes i agree but steaks dripping blood and wipe it up with bread non merci !

iwsf wrote: »
    Snipes guts in is a must yes i agree but steaks dripping blood and wipe it up with bread non merci !

snipe cooked guts in NOOOOO WAAAAAAY! Rare steak is savage but moppin up with the bread, feckin animals I tell ye:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

cheers.

no need to hang deer for any longer than you want. i have on many occasion shot a deer and within 2 hrs skinned it and cut it up and had the fillet on a nice hot pan as a treat to my self for a job well done.
    having said that i my self am looking for a fridge or cold room to store my deer for a while before freezing or eating

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    no need to hang deer for any longer than you want. i have on many occasion shot a deer and within 2 hrs skinned it and cut it up and had the fillet on a nice hot pan as a treat to my self for a job well done.
    having said that i my self am looking for a fridge or cold room to store my deer for a while before freezing or eating

Donedeal.ie!!

A Drinks chiller is ideal!

Donedeal.ie!!

A Drinks chiller is ideal!

i looked at that one you posted earlier, i know they can be got for handy money or even free so i'm biding my time to get one right.:D

I was given 2 a few years back by my bro in law, he owned a pub at the time, if you ask around in a few of your locals you might get lucky Poulo. I was an eejit to give them away but I wasn't thinking ahead when I moved house:mad:.

Paulo was born Lucky :D

i know what you mean i'v seen plenty of them changing hands over the years but there does not seem to be any around these days.
    i spoke to a buddy of mine who is a coke rep and he said they changed the collection arrangements for the old fridges, now its one northern ireland company that is responsible for them all.
    he gave me the number so i must chance a call and see if i cant pick one up.;)

Paulo was born Lucky :D

if it wasn't for bad luck i'd have no luck at all;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭ianoo

theres a lad in waterford who has them regualary,he goes around buying up old shop equipment etc ,i got one of him last year for a 100euro ,i'll pm you his no.

ian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

What is your point?:confused::confused:

Hanging anything - pheasant, deer, beef, whatever, firstly depends on two things - the environment and temperature in which it is hung. Hanging meat is a necessity to relax the fibres and allow the proteins in the meat to denature. That process i.e. time + temperature - has to be measured against the possible development of e. coli and clostridia bacteria that will develop unless conditions are correctly maintained. The duration needed depends on the age of the animal, the size of the carcass, the condition of the carcass, the surface exposure to either circulating or dormant air, etc.

Most of what you have posted has no bearing on the OP question. Why bother to post?

Hanging meat for only four days because you ‘hate rare meat’ is nonsense because rare meat is the outcome of the time and temperature it is subjected to in the cooking process. It has nothing to do with hanging. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Another good topic being sent to oblivion.:(
    P.

What is your point?:confused::confused:

Hanging anything - pheasant, deer, beef, whatever, firstly depends on two things - the environment and temperature in which it is hung. Hanging meat is a necessity to relax the fibres and allow the proteins in the meat to denature. That process i.e. time + temperature - has to be measured against the possible development of e. coli and clostridia bacteria that will develop unless conditions are correctly maintained. The duration needed depends on the age of the animal, the size of the carcass, the condition of the carcass, the surface exposure to either circulating or dormant air, etc.

Most of what you have posted has no bearing on the OP question. Why bother to post?

Hanging meat for only four days because you ‘hate rare meat’ is nonsense because rare meat is the outcome of the time and temperature it is subjected to in the cooking process. It has nothing to do with hanging. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Another good topic being sent to oblivion.:(
    P.

also,may i add the bottle cooler does not have a fan big enough to keep the meat from sweeting .

lots of fan driven cold air ,gives you best results when hanging deer or any meat .

to hang in a bottle cooler for any longer that a week you will have a build up of bacteria ,there is just not enough air moving around in it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

also,may i add the bottle cooler does not have a fan big enough to keep the meat from sweeting .

lots of fan driven cold air ,gives you best results when hanging deer or any meat .

to hang in a bottle cooler for any longer that a week you will have a build up of bacteria ,there is just not enough air moving around in it .

Sadly, no point in going there, (sweetness + desert air). Anyway, some of them know it all :rolleyes:
    P;)

You have pointed out why 4 days is plenty, as after that bacteria may form.

When we were young my dad hung animals in a shed in winter, No Fridge.

And so did many others.
    All my point was to paulo "it was a cheap easy solution for a non commercial person was a cooler".

All the deer I have put in it since I got it turned out well, before that I used the garage to hang it.(like many others before me)

As I am the only person consuming it I butcher to suit my cuircumstance.

I may in time build a cold room. Until then My fanta fridge does just fine.

Well Tac, in the winter months a well constructed North facing store room with the animal wrapped in muslin will do the job.
    The big problem with this set up is trying to seal it all up and keeping the rats out.

Hibrion wrote: »
    Well Tac, in the winter months a well constructed North facing store room with the animal wrapped in muslin will do the job.
    The big problem with this set up is trying to seal it all up and keeping the rats out.

Rats deffo are an issue.
    The shed at home was built very well so no rats got in to date.

Long time ago the grandfather would have salty hairy bacon in the larder.

They used to kill one every winter.
    We have not had pigs in years though.

Might get back into them though. :)

Was looking at getting a bigger fridge, but the electricity costs out weighed the requirements I had.

a couple of deer a year is no big deal for it.
    Washing it out is easy as it is small.
    So it suites me down to the ground.

And stores Beer in it in the Summer for Barbecue Garden Parties.

All that for €10 that my old man gave for it!
    recession Busting Value

Can't go wrong for a tenner. Definitely better than no fridge. If you ever want to upgrade keep your eye out for second hand catering fridges. The stainless steel can be had for about a hundred quid; they're about the same size as a coke fridge and usually stainless steel.
    I'm gona keep my eye out for one for next season.

Can't go wrong for a tenner. Definitely better than no fridge. If you ever want to upgrade keep your eye out for second hand catering fridges. The stainless steel can be had for about a hundred quid; they're about the same size as a coke fridge and usually stainless steel.
    I'm gona keep my eye out for one for next season.

I have to say I like the Fridge i have as you can look at the deer without opening the door.

When it looks Firm I open it and she normally is bang on.

She is aluminium inside mine, Club Orange Fridge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Pat McGroin

Just spotted this on Done deal
    Might suit one of you lads
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/kitchen/1409935

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Don't like lucozade ; )
    Would the meat from that fridge keep you working 20% longer then meat from another fridge!! : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Good vid. Pity he didn't use a saw to make chops.
    We always butcher ours from a hanging position. Might try it on a bench next time.

Just spotted this on Done deal
    Might suit one of you lads
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/kitchen/1409935

thanks pat .

ssl wrote: »
    Good vid. Pity he didn't use a saw to make chops.
    We always butcher ours from a hanging position. Might try it on a bench next time.

There are a series of them; videos 1-3

Its handy to have a refresher course the last week of August.

I have an old PC table that I use as a bench, keyboard tray is where I leave my knives steel etc.
    I remember butchering one day the meter man came, he got some land when he saw me at the garage door and half a young stag on the table.

I really must move the meter Box :D:D

he is a rough butchering ,take about cross contamination .

its better to break the animal down when its hanging you dont get the blood off the table every where .
    the animal looks very fresh and the meat has not set ,also he did not wash the blood of his hands at any stage and distroyed the animal with it.

did you shoot that tac .

he is a rough butchering ,take about cross contamination .

its better to break the animal down when its hanging you dont get the blood off the table every where .
    the animal looks very fresh and the meat has not set ,also he did not wash the blood of his hands at any stage and distroyed the animal with it.

did you shoot that tac .

Lord No JW.
    I have a few butchers in the family so I learned most from them and a summer working in a meat factory.

I butcher mine at home, I'm no pro butcher.
    Once it fits in the oven/pan and tastes nice at the end I am happy.

I see cross contamination all the time in deli's around Ireland. It's a wonder more folk do not get sick.

I know of one place where the staff think the gloves are to keep their hands clean!

He is a bit slow and sloppy all right. It also wouldn't be the way I'd do it.
    I also have to agree with JW on the meat being a bit fresh. Not sure what your talking about with washing his hands though. If he was quicker at breaking the animal he wouldn't need to wash them except for at the beginning and end.
    In the length of time it took him to do that video he should have been able to break it and cut it into chops with time to spare.

He is a bit slow and sloppy all right. It also wouldn't be the way I'd do it.
    I also have to agree with JW on the meat being a bit fresh. Not sure what your talking about with washing his hands though. If he was quicker at breaking the animal he wouldn't need to wash them except for at the beginning and end.
    In the length of time it took him to do that video he should have been able to break it and cut it into chops with time to spare.

There are 3 videos lads!

And more than one way to skin a cat ;)

I know there are plenty of ways to do things, just wouldn't be my way of doing it. He's just giving himself a bit of hassle really. I would tend to butcher a deer more like you would expect a lamb to be done.
    May look at the other two so.

I know there are plenty of ways to do things, just wouldn't be my way of doing it. He's just giving himself a bit of hassle really. I would tend to butcher a deer more like you would expect a lamb to be done.
    May look at the other two so.

I used to butcher one way, until a mate of mine showed me the Kepak way.

I use several methods, depending on how close to the homeplace I shoot them, if less then 20 mins by car i leave all in and do a full butcher at home

Adapt and overcome as the yanks say ;)

If I understand the way your talking about correctly I think you are better off sticking to how you are doing it. It's taking less time and you are getting more out of it; at least I think so. But hey, I'm sure loads of people will disagree.

I cook a lot and i butcher a lot of various game which i also cook.

thats why i try and avoid old stags and does, unless requested to shoot them.
    Then they go to the mincer.

I get what you are saying get one way and perfect it, but I am a devil for trying new things.

I saw Jamie Olivers Doc in America where they Deep fried Steak, and i have to say looked tasty.

Next experiment :0

I ate from a Maury style oven on a few occasions and I always try different spices when cook.

Voyage of discovery, sometimes the voyage is as much fun as the destination ;)

The more stalkers I come in contact with, the more subtle differences I see, I try and pick the bits I like and Ditch the bits I don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Even just from what you'd learn cooking, that butchery looked rough. And then out of curiosity I followed one of the links to field dressing a deer. I'm no hunter, but somehow I don't think you're meant to split the pelvis with a hammer and a hatchet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I saw Jamie Olivers Doc in America where they Deep fried Steak, and i have to say looked tasty.
    Just go to any mid-level restaurant on a friday night and order your steak well done so - half the time, it'll have been cooked a few times, and dropped into the frier at least once. Yeuch. I'll stick to grilling or broiling for a decent steak I think :D