Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flatmates Smelly Socks

• 28-06-2010 2:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭

so one lad who lives with us has the smelliest socks ever. no joke. and he always takes them off an leaves them in the hall or the bathroom or the hot press. they stink up the house the smell is actually unbearable. now we have told him time and time again.. we also throw them back into his room.. its obvious we dont like it an he shouldnt be doing it anyway, i wouldnt throw my underwear or smelly socks or clothes or anything in an area that has to be used by anyone else. we then thought it would be funny to hide his smelly socks in peoples cars, and also decorated a tree outside with them. does he not get the hint that this is a big issue. would you not be embarrassed if you came home to find your smelly socks decorating a tree outside the house? hint hint like.

what will we do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

I think you need to get a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Cut off his feet with a sword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

No feet..no socks..sorted..

Damn you superbus..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Throw them out. Use the "You left them lying around after you'd been told not to, so I assumed you didn't want them" defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭JamBur

dump them, he'll quickly change his antics once you hit his pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Take away all his socks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

what will we do

jizz in his sock.
    leave it on his pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

so one lad who lives with us has the smelliest socks ever. no joke. and he always takes them off an leaves them in the hall or the bathroom or the hot press. they stink up the house the smell is actually unbearable. now we have told him time and time again.. we also throw them back into his room.. its obvious we dont like it an he shouldnt be doing it anyway, i wouldnt throw my underwear or smelly socks or clothes or anything in an area that has to be used by anyone else. we then thought it would be funny to hide his smelly socks in peoples cars, and also decorated a tree outside with them. does he not get the hint that this is a big issue. would you not be embarrassed if you came home to find your smelly socks decorating a tree outside the house? hint hint like.

what will we do

Put on your hazmat suits, take the socks outside, pour petrol on them, then burn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yep, throw them out, or burn them. In front of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

make him eat them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭i.need.a.job

we do get rid of them.. one was mysteriously burnt come to think of it.. he is low on socks.. he brings them to the cleaners once a week, so there is socks a week old stinking up the house.. people tell him this an how rotten it is but he jus doesnt care. an he just goes an buys more socks, there has also been occasions where he has takin socks belonging to me (pink socks and stripey socks) and worn them ... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

we do get rid of them.. one was mysteriously burnt come to think of it.. he is low on socks.. he brings them to the cleaners once a week, so there is socks a week old stinking up the house.. people tell him this an how rotten it is but he jus doesnt care. an he just goes an buys more socks, there has also been occasions where he has takin socks belonging to me (pink socks and stripey socks) and worn them ... :(
    Yeah then your best option is to cut off his feet, no other way to stop the smell

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

we have told him time and time again..

There's your problem right there. You told him, so he knows. He just doesn't care.

You could try telling him again, maybe he'll suddenly start caring. Or you could address the fact that he has no interest in how you guys feel about it.

Been there btw, so best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

MAKE SOCK PUPPETS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

http://cgi.ebay.ie/Gehwol-Fusskraft-Green-Sweaty-Itching-Shea-Butter-75ml-/170396755901?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_Health_Beauty_Nails_Manicure_Pedicure_CA&hash=item27ac7027bd

this stuff is brilliant. seriously. i too wrecked my flatmates head with my abnormally sweaty, smelly feet.

some...people *sniff* dont understand how much of a *sniff* handicap foot odour actually is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Yeah then your best option is to cut off his feet, no other way to stop the smell

Best keep away from the feet, and cut his feckin head off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

threaten to kick him out if he does not cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Put them in his pillow he should get the hint after a while oh and make sure you stitch it up as well so he cant take them out

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

there has also been occasions where he has takin socks belonging to me (pink socks and stripey socks) and worn them ... :(

OK wtf ?!

Why haven't you guys kicked him out yet??!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If he leaves his socks out, bin them and lock everyone elses away. If he's buying new socks every week then he should learn. Or you could always get some itching powder and fill all his clean ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

Tell him if he dosn't stop leaving them around the house you'll kick him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

My feet tend to smell.. to combat it i usually shower for 30 - 40 mins, get out dry off my feeet then i hop back in the shower for another half hour, hop out and dry off my feet again, and finally i finish off washing my feet for another 20 mins.

Solves the smeely feet problem for everyone. My flatmates never complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Burn his socks, then build a effigy of him out of socks, then burn that, then burn your bra, then listen to the voices and burn the local church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

You could get him to buy one of these - out of stock though.

Or invest in a few gas masks and wear them around the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Try this. Except in stead of using a towel put the bars of soap into his rancid socks to use as a clobbering tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Slit his throat.

Or maybe just keep throwing them away until he learns.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Move back in with your Mammy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Piss on his socks, and then freeze them. Then, once a month, put all the frozen socks into a bag, and hide them in his room. They should thaw out, and really stink his room out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

what will we do

No games, no hints. Give him a resealable plastic bag and ask him nicely if he would store his used socks in the bag until he takes them to be washed. Be serious about it, young males don't understand mixed messages and if you smile or give any signs of not being serious then he will chose to believe you do not mean it.

If you want to be really nice about it, give him a pack of Odour-Eaters (or some similar charcoal insole) also... they will help limit the smell to begin with.

If this fails, give him notice to leave the flat.

Cheers,

Z

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

AlcoholicA wrote: »
    MAKE smelly SOCK PUPPETS

fixed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Use his toothbrush to clean ur arse.

Put Laxative in his orange juice.

Steal the front tyre off his bike.

Take the handle off the inside of his door while he sleeps so he can't get out when he wakes up.

--

Now that you've completed your tasks wait a week then when he's wondering why his life sucks. Tell him it was you. Tell him he's only had a taste and if he doesn't stop leaving his socks on the floor, you'll make him regret it for the rest of his life.

Either than or kick him out will do fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Isn't this why stinkbombing peoples matresses was invented?

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

get male room mates to **** in his socks!!! give him a nice surprise when he puts them back on!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

what will we do

for a second I thought that said "smallest cócks" ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Just tell him to put a sock in it.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

2 easy steps to follow and you should have it sorted in no time.

1) Take a dump in his socks that he leaves lying around
    2) Repeat step one until he gets the point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Make your socks even smellier than his and leave them around the house, see how he likes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Scrummage

Sykk wrote: »
    Use his toothbrush to clean ur arse.

should fix him, I like the idea of putting the dirty socks in his pillow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

bake a cake for him and put the sock inside ,tell him its for enhanced flavour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭greenmachine88

if you really want a solution, something that will work, all you have to do is talk to him about it for 5-10 minutes and let him know that he is making others uncomfortable and that you and you're other housemates might even volunteer to go with him to the laundry every few days and possibly lend him some money to buy some new socks!
    It doesn't sound like that that is the only problem is he generally unhygienic? He sounds like he could be quite immature for his age and needs to learn how to perform some basic tasks like cleaning up after yourself, doesn't sound like he really cares what he does even in the presence of women, just talk to him about it if he doesn't respond then he's clearly an idiot.

he also doesnt shower very often . this has to be seen to be believed. ye are all invited down for a cup of tea and witness this ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

he also doesnt shower very often . this has to be seen to be believed. ye are all invited down for a cup of tea and witness this ha

Then there is only one recourse - soap and a sock..

Wash him with the soap and dry him off with the sock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Burn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Put the kettle on, you'd better have nice biscuits.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

3 week old "time of the month" granny panties + skid marks + his pillow..

= sweet revenge!!!

jus to update, 2 nights ago we took his socks out of the hotpress an put them into a bag an put them on the back of his door... his very own ''sock bag'' ... yesterday the socks wer back in the hotpress an the bag no where to be seen :(:(:(:(:( vexin stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Cum in them and stick them to his door.

might hide them in his car next, because he is going selling it, so when people come to look at it there is a stink rotton smell of smelly socks ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Get him a girlfriend.

Padlock the hot press and give everyone but him a key