Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longford Vs Mayo

• 26-06-2010 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭

Anybody know are RTE showing this game on the web?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

No. Just the Galway-Offaly and the Fermanagh-Monaghan match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Longford win!

Au revoir Mayo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

That was a shock alright. Fair play to Longford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

G'wan the Lofo!! excellent win. heard john o'mahoney on newstalk on friday going on about how mayo have only lost twice this year in the league final and in the first round of the championship and this was their first step back on the road to recovery. oh well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

That is certainly a surprise. Does this mean the end of John O'Mahoney's management? Probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

mayo are some useless ba$tards, messing up my accumulator. what a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

Get.....in.....there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Huge result for us, over the moon with it!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

What odds were Longford does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Mayo for Sam 2011 :pac:

Ah no, where to go from here. Its been a disastrous year...typical mayo, no real bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

John O'Mahoney just threw in the towel and has quit as Mayo manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

With Wicklow also out and Micko likely to step down, there are two phone calls the Kilkenny county board should be making if they are serious about their role of promoting Gaelic Games in their county. If they don't make those two calls they should join Micko and Johnno and hand in their resignations too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭mayfire

He should quit the Dáil too as the only the only reason he got elected in the first place was because he was the Mayo manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

His term was up in any case. Now he can concentrate on getting a junior ministry in the next government:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭pdiddy

mayfire wrote: »
    He should quit the Dáil too as the only the only reason he got elected in the first place was because he was the Mayo manager.

dont think there will be many mayo supporters voting for him,4 years and only 1 connaught title is not good enough,was hoping longford would win as it would make him leave,when things got tight this even he looked at the bench with magarity parsons and trev mortimer and he put parsons on complete rubbish good riddance to him,bring back maughan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

The usual Mayo unfortunately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

well done longford! great for the game to see the smaller less successful teams take down the bigger counties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well done Longford.

Christ I taught being Cork football supporter can be annoying but sweet jesus thank fook im not from Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

John O'Mahoney is going to be blamed left,right and centre for tonight's defeat but in truth the Mayo players have to have a serious look at themselves,they lack a serious amount of heart and committment. John O'Mahoney had to go after tonight but the new manager needs to get rid of the players who won't put in the effort,Mayo football is a lot better than the team they had representing them tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

well considering Moran was shafted after Mayo reached an all-Ireland final it's not before time.
    I wonder will Paidi be looking for the job.

well considering McGrath was shafted after Mayo reached an all-Ireland final it's not before time.
    I wonder will Paidi be looking for the job.

Paudie said in the sunday independent before the league this year (could be last year, memory is hazy) that if he had Mayo he would win an all-ireland with them.

Talk about a spoofer...he probably smells some money :rolleyes:

As for Mayo jesus this 4th All-Ireland better be worth it if it ever comes along :(

A good manager should be able to get the best out of what's at his disposal. It's quite clear he(O' Mahoney) failed to do this for whatever reason.
    If some players show no self- belief or desire, it could due to having no confident in the manager. Still i suppose if that was the case it would surely leak out.

Paudie said in the sunday independent before the league this year (could be last year, memory is hazy) that if he had Mayo he would win an all-ireland with them.

Talk about a spoofer...he probably smells some money :rolleyes:

As for Mayo jesus this 4th All-Ireland better be worth it if it ever comes along:(

yes, if the stories i heard about him are true, then he's not the guy the board should be looking for.
    if they could get the two men in charge at Monaghan at the moment i'd like that.
    was there talk of Willie-Joe being interested in the job at one stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i can only think mickie moran has a smile on his face tonight, it was disgraceful that mayo sacked him after getting the team to an A-I final, i doubt even kerry would sack a manager that got a team to the final

feel sorry for o'Mahoney, johns a nice guy and a great manager, would take him in a heartbeat for roscommon if fergie stepped down tomorrow

yes, if the stories i heard about him are true he's not the guy board should be looking for.
    if they could get the two men in charge at Monaghan at the moment i'd like that.
    was there talk of Willie-Joe being interested in the job at one stage?

Heard some story's when he was with clare, not the man Mayo need.

My money is on Maughan for the 3rd term in charge.
    Wouldn't be that bad either because i don't see anybody better who would be interested.
    We as a county hardly inspire!

just throwing this out there but wud ray dempsey be a contender

Heard some story's when he was with clare, not the man Mayo need.

Wouldn't be that bad either because i don't see anybody better who would be interested.

Would he be up for it?
    As Tom Humphries put it:" Maughan's crime was to get Mayo to several All-Ireland finals"
    I know a major criticism of him was that he couldn't react to what was going on in the pitch and make the necessary changes.
    I just can't see him being interested.
    I bet Micko would be interested, now that Wicklow are out.

pdiddy wrote: »
    just throwing this out there but wud ray dempsey be a contender

i never thought of him. he would be a good choice.

Id like to see Pauidi getting the job. If there is one thing Mayo need is heart and determination and Im sure Pauidi can give them that. I hope there is a success story for Mayo in the end of all this. One day I would love to see them win a senior All Ireland after Cork. Hope it happens for both teams.

maughans a chancer, he didn't win a single championship match with roscommon in 3 years and left the county in a complete and utter mess after 4 twenty point defeats in the league, ye would be better off bringing in tommy carr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Jesus Mayo just stumble from one disaster to the next. More crises than the English soccer team.:pac:

flahavaj wrote: »
    Jesus Mayo just stumble from one disaster to the next. More crises than the English soccer team.:pac:

ha ha ha id def take being a mayo supporter any day :)

Get a Kerry manager into the Mayo setup would be a good positive IMO.

teednab-el wrote: »

i remember the last kerry man to manage mayo, jack o shea

dont think paudi should get the job firstly he managed kerry with passion cos he played for them and loved the county plus he wud be lynched in kerry without success,dont think he'd show the same passion for mayo

Jack O'Se didn't do much for us when he was there.
    Would despise if Paudi got the job and not sure if Micko would want it or indeed if Mayo would want him.

The next manager will come within the county, simply because no one else of note would touch the mayo management job.

The All-Ireland seems further away than ever...there is something wrong with the mindset of mayo players, do not think its as much to do with a lack of talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Id like to see Pauidi getting the job. If there is one thing Mayo need is heart and determination and Im sure Pauidi can give them that. I hope there is a success story for Mayo in the end of all this. One day I would love to see them win a senior All Ireland after Cork. Hope it happens for both teams.

I have heard the same stories of Paidi's exploits in Clare that Western Zulu referred to.Wouldnt let him out of the Dingle Peninsula :) Micko just might be tempted if he leaves Wickla, but then theres the risk that he may be considered a bit of a mercenary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭barongreen

What odds were Longford does anyone know?

7/2 on pp i had a look earlier today, longford have gotten back a lot of players that were out over the past year some quality guys like barden, kavanagh and keenan. I then changed my mine as i thought it was too short... :rolleyes:

Jack O Shea is only one manager though, Micko and Paudi have been successful All Ireland managers and have managed and won All Irelands. Im sure they both would love to help Mayo win their 4th All Ireland with the lack of success they have had over the years/decades. These managers may have won with Kerry but their dreams and ambitions dont end there. They would like to add more success to their names. Mayo have some nice footballers but the Mayo teams of the past have been always lacking something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Would he be up for it?
    I bet Micko would be interested, now that Wicklow are out.
    Micko will take the Limerick job when Mickey Ned's term is up at the end of this season. Logistics wise, its a no-brainer for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

No one does mediocrity on the football pitch quiet like Mayo. The team has been and continues to be an embarresment to the county for literally decades now. Can see the likes of Tipperary, Wicklow winning a football All-Ireland before Mayo what with their now world famous "loser" mentality:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

Lets not go down the Gombeen route please. Dont know the answer... but this animal is not Paudies' type

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Birdnuts wrote: »
    No one does mediocrity on the football pitch quiet like Mayo. The team has been and continues to be an embarresment to the county for literally decades now. Can see the likes of Tipperary, Wicklow winning a football All-Ireland before Mayo what with their now world famous "loser" mentality:rolleyes:

From a Kildare fan thats not saying much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

looking at the players in mayo they seem to think theyve made it been county players and have big heads on them.it doesnt matter who goes in there to manage them the whole mindset needs changing

rpurfield wrote: »
    looking at the players in mayo they seem to think theyve made it been county players and have big heads on them.it doesnt matter who goes in there to manage them the whole mindset needs changing

I don't think that is the case...mayo are perceived as a joke of a football team. Its not as if they have made a county team in which there is a tradition of winning all-irelands.

The problem i think that as soon as something goes wrong in a game 9 times out of 10 mayo players seem to just drop the head and think they are destined to lose.

Birdnuts wrote: »

now thats very very unfair, most counties in ireland (outside cork, kerry, galway, meath, armagh and tyrone and perhaps dublin) would kill for the amount of success mayo footballers have enjoyed over the past 21 years in terms of A-I finals appearances, connaught titles, minor titles, u-21, club championships, league titles.

the problem in mayo is they think too highly of themselves, this is a belief held not only by the fans in the county but also by the players themselves. nobody has a right to win all-irelands not even kerry, winning all-irelands is done through sheer hard work, talent, desire and a good amount of luck too (e.g galway should have been beat by roscommon in tuam in 1998 only for a terrible referring decision in the last seconds of that game)

i think most younger mayo fans and watching public don't remember the lack of success mayo endured prior to the last 25 years, they went 12 years (1969 to 1981) without a single connaught victory e.g

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Was at the game, was like a repeat of the Sligo match. Mayo took the lead at the start, just did enough to remain ahead at half time, gradually lost confidence as Longford put over some nice points, then the goal almost killed them They did manage to keep within sight of a draw but Donal Vaghn missed a sitter at the end and Longford answered with the winning point.

I thought Keith Higgins' sending off was very harsh, a straight red for dissent but Mayo should never have been in trouble at that stage.

O'Mahoney's tenure has been disappointing alright but he simply wasn't getting the players to play for him, time for something new.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well done Longford, we can keep our euros in our pocket this year.

From the highs of going to Tyrone and Kerry and winning in the league to what has to be one our worst championship performances.

JOM came into the Mayo job for one reason and it was wasn't to win us an AI.
    In saying that the players would want to grow "a pair" and honour the jersey, too many of them went hiding.

Best of luck to Longford in the qualifiers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

As a Mayo man this was the worst defeat i've experienced in a long time. At least in the finals against Kerry we were beat out of the gate. Yesterday was depressing.

You can't help but look back at the shafting of Mickey Moran and think why was it done. We have taken a massive step backwards now. As for JOM's successor, Ray Dempsey has been mentioned here and I think it's a good shout.

Fair play to Longford, I had them written off but they played for their jersey and best of luck to them in the next round.

This Longford team nearly beat Kerry last year so its not that bad as it sounds for Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

it's also the team that finished just above kilkenny and london in the league. the mood in the longford camp was very poor during the league, glen ryan obviously did something good in the past few weeks.
    there were some players in the squad that'd prefer to stay at home and watch soccer on sundays than play for longford. they weren't playing yesterday though. shows some cahones from ryan to drop a talented footballer because of a crap attitude, leading to real team building.