Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dogs being kept together.

• 25-06-2010 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever had a problem? My lads have been together for a few months no problem. We know the dominent one but its never been an issue. They have seperate bowls etc but the dominent fella eats first. They've been grand, play together etc. is evening though the dominent on went for the other fella. Cut his ear, small cut but plenty of blood. They are seperated now. Should i keep them seperated from now on? Or was it a once off? Herself threw two lumps of meat out. The top dog wanted them both she thinks, thats what sparked it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

If you keep them together they will sort any differences out between themselves and become the best of friends. Seperate them and when together again problems will arise.

Problem was just throwing food in among them. They should be fed together with same amount and you should stay while they eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Dogs have a pecking order as they are a pack animal.

The dominant one decided he wanted both pieces and the other one needed reminding of it by the looks of it

Easiest thing is to feed them seperately, even titbits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

typical woman causing trouble between pals :D:D
    sounds like the top dog was being a greedy git, id say theyd be ok but keep an eye on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

fodda wrote: »
    If you keep them together they will sort any differences out between themselves and become the best of friends. Seperate them and when together again problems will arise.

Problem was just throwing food in among them. They should be fed together with same amount and you should stay while they eat.

I feed them nuts. I do usually stay. As i said the top dog seems to eat first, so i stay making sure the other lad eats.
    Dogs have a pecking order as they are a pack animal.

The dominant one decided he wanted both pieces and the other one needed reminding of it by the looks of it

Easiest thing is to feed them seperately, even titbits

Can do bunny, i admit when they get treats ui give the dominant fella last. I thought this maybe would balance it. Maybe im wrong.
    dicky82 wrote: »
    typical woman causing trouble between pals :D:D
    sounds like the top dog was being a greedy git, id say theyd be ok but keep an eye on them.

Yea i know!!! They dont listen, dogs and women:D On her advice i have one in the shed and one in the pen. I think there will be no problems, as i think its a one off but with dogs ya never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

You should never allow the one to dominate the other at meal times. Feed them at opposite ends of the pen. They are communicating all the time with each other but you cant see it and the dominate one can actually stop the other eating. There is no way this should happen.

I feed 4 together no problem, i am top dog ....but i do give the least dominate one his first so he has chance to finish it.

Nuts are crap, dogs are meat eaters not biscuit munchers. Feed quality tinned dog meat with biscuits or fresh meat with biscuits. It can actually work out less money and the dogs will be ten times better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

fodda wrote: »
    You should never allow the one to dominate the other at meal times. Feed them at opposite ends of the pen. They are communicating all the time with each other but you cant see it and the dominate one can actually stop the other eating. There is no way this should happen.

I feed 4 together no problem, i am top dog ....but i do give the least dominate one his first so he has chance to finish it.

Nuts are crap, dogs are meat eaters not biscuit munchers. Feed quality tinned dog meat with biscuits or fresh meat with biscuits. It can actually work out less money and the dogs will be ten times better.

Yea your right i noticed that. I have to point at the least dominent ones food for him to start. Although i do feed them the same time. Il take your advice. Il feed the less dominent one first from now on thanks. They know im the
    dominent one but its next in line thats the trouble. But the other lad is a real placid hoor, no interest in the pecking order. Just the top fella likes to show it.