Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ivor Callely - Should he resign ..... again

• 25-06-2010 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭

Bertie gave him a chance to show he was not a corrupt politician by appointing him to the seanad.

While in the Seanad he expensed 81,000 Euro for trips to Dublin (where he stays at own home ) ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes.

He is a disgrace and the longer he is allowed continue in the position/role he holds, he brings further disrepute to the house he stands in - but once again he will get off with a slap on the wrist basically and we are back to square one. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

If the Government want to hold on to their credability , they must deal with this now .

Its unlikely he will resign of his own accord - He needs to be pushed NOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

The Guy is a muppet and his political career is well over and behind him so I doubt very much that he will offer up his resignation .What got him into this mess Greed will require him to continue collecting money from the seanad regardless of what people think of him. I dont think the comittee can do anything other than ask him to repay any over payment which he offered , and we will all move on and forget it yet again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

He along with the rest of the Seanad, is a waste of space. Also he needs to be pushed to resign, I dont think he'll do it off his own bat. He, and the rest of them, are hoping the man in the street will forget about it. Which is easy when you have a tame press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

Of course he should, but the chances of that happening are slim-to-nil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

He is another in a long list of self-serving North Dublin politicians. The man is a leech, who is less successful at proffering the Bertie style sob story.

I am no fan of Pat Rabbittee. However, I recall him recounting the sad story of his childhood and the loss of his parents at a young age. He never sought to use that as a moment to arose sympathy for him. On the other hand, Bertie often brought up his failed marriage in an attempt to arose sympathy for himself, even though he could only blame himself for failures in his private life. Callaly has sought to play the same card, citing the loss of his seat in 2007 as a catalyst for life trauma, notwithstanding the fact that the trauma was mitigated by the carrot of a free seat in the houses of the Oireachtas.

The current situation is untenable, and Callely continue to bit his thumb at the Irish public. He should resign, and leave Irish political life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

His pathetic attempt to try to defend himself was nauseating to watch. Like Willie O'Dee and John O'Donoghue, he will try until the very end to defend what is completely indefensible. Could Callely and the two men I just mentioned not man up and take responsibility for their dreadful indiscretions, I would have much more respect for them if that were the case. This sniveling, trying to hide behind the rule book tactic is beyond annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

If the Government want to hold on to their credability , they must deal with this now .

The Government have no credibility at all with the people,the man is a lying scoundrel and will continue along the political route as nothing happens to these people.
    They consider themselves an elite bunch and look at them in the Dail a bunch of clowns and they call the shots in Ireland.
    Bertie is an even bigger thief than Ivan and we all know it will be washed over,the sooner we get FF out of power permanently the better.
    Civil war politics have destroyed this country of a decent Republic,they are all related somehow.
    We need to snip this link for good and stop re-electing these idiots to power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

beagle001 wrote: »
    We need to snip this link for good and stop re-electing these idiots to power
    I'm sure we do but what's your view on Ivor Callelly and whether he should resign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭freewheeler

They have credibility? since when exactly??:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭GSF

Why arent the Gardai fraud squad investigating him yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

he has a neck like a jockeys bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Should he resign ? - yes. Will he resign ? - no.

Unlike their British counterparts, politicians resigning when they are found out is not part of the Irish political scene. They prefer to brazen it out until next week's political shannigans take over the headlines.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    he has a neck like a jockeys bollix.

Speaking of which, todays Mirror.

45200321.jpg

...now THAT to me is what I would call clear financial FRAUD!!!

...And he should be arrested for it alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Ivor Callely I believe should resign - but I dont think he will .
    He should also give the 81,000 back. ( to us the taxpayer )

He is arguing that he is technically not in breach of regulations , but morally he and everyone else knows that this action is outrageously morally corrupt.

I believe that the arrogance of this man will keep battling this one to the bitter end.

It is unbelievable that this arrogant greedy man is occupying one of the highest offices in Ireland.

If I was a member of the seanad ( or any fellow lawmaker ) I would have my face in my hands in embarrasment to be one of his colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Haughey
    Burke
    Lawlor
    Flynn X 2
    Ahern
    Callely
    etc,etc,etc

Do I detect a pattern here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭donkey balls

i just hope that the people of north central dont ever vote his son in all we need is another dynasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

raymon wrote: »
    Bertie gave him a chance to show he was not a corrupt politician by appointing him to the seanad.

While in the Seanad he expensed 81,000 Euro for trips to Dublin (where he stays at own home ) ?

Was Bertie trying to show he wasn't corrupt or Ivor wasn't corrupt?

The guy shouldn't have been appointed to the Seanad in the first place, he exemplifies the quality of people that Ahern appointed to the Seanad Eoghan Harris, Ivor, John Ellis.

Edit: Of course he should resign, but he won't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

chughes wrote: »
    Haughey
    Burke
    Lawlor
    Flynn X 2
    Ahern
    Callely
    etc,etc,etc

Yes son, you do.

All elected and re elected by an electorate who didn't give jack shidt about public proberty,but what it meant for themselves.

Don't blame those boys, blame the goons who elected them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

sounds like he might give back the 6,000 for staying overnight at his own house and hope that gets him off the hook for the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

chughes wrote: »
    Haughey
    Burke
    Lawlor
    Flynn X 2
    Ahern
    Callely
    etc,etc,etc

I dunno, you did leave out Lowry so for second I thought you were trying to implicate ff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

I dunno, you did leave out Lowry so for second I thought you were trying to implicate ff.

At least FG will never invite him back into the party, as FF have done to a certain corrupt Mayo woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Duffy7

This was doing the rounds a few days back. An old election flyer for Callely.:D

From 1992 Ivor Callely -'Nobody Does It Better'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

Its not a question of : should he resign. He should be fired,booted out with NO PENSION and then have to face fraud charges in the courts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

GSF wrote: »
    Why arent the Gardai fraud squad investigating him yet?
    Someone has to make a complaint to the Gardaí first. Any person is free to do so.

Haddockman wrote: »
    Someone has to make a complaint to the Gardaí first. Any person is free to do so.
    What forms and under what laws do I request such a complaint application?
    (genuine question)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭donkey balls

was it not a guy from roscommon that made a complaint about Ivor and his dodgy expenses to the gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Biggins wrote: »
    What forms and under what laws do I request such a complaint application?
    (genuine question)
    Walk into any Garda station and make a complaint to the member in charge. They should take your statement and that will be passed to the fraud squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

In a word........... yes!