Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A special thanks and a recap of Windmill Lane

• 25-06-2010 8:43am
    Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

For those interested I will be posting a bit of info about our amazing day in Windmill Lane, on our blog, later today (or as soon as our drummer gives me the photos... I hope he took enough).

The blog link is:

http://theriottapes.blogspot.com/

It'll be about the band's experience, but also about WL in general and what it's like to be in a studio like that.

A quick preview: It doesn't suck.

A few quick thank yous:

First thanks to our Producer/Head Engineer for the day, our very own Damaged Trax, Barry Murphy.

For the record:

He chose our song, then talked with us about gear rental, then came to my home studio and worked with us on music/production/vocal ideas, then made a dummy version of the tune with production ideas, then came to our rehearsal and worked with us, then made further dummy versions of the his ideas, then spent an evening with the singer working on vocal harmonies, then arranged with a place to rent gear... and on and on...

There was actually a LOT more involved, but it gives you an idea... so a HUGE thanks to him, HHHHUUUUUUUUGGGGGGEEEEE!

He's gonna be announcing some details of his new situation soon and musicians, I highly highly recommend him. He's NOT a cowboy, he both knows his and gives a sh!t.

The other B.IE member that deserves a big thank you in Robin Ball. He HAND-DELIVERED hi personal Orange amp to me, and was so pro-actively helpful and generous... thanks man!

So, anyway, IMO Boards can be a huge help, if you're willing to put in the effort.

We had an amazing day and the track was sounding just crazy good when we left! I thin EVERYONE involved was excited.

(And we got to peek into the infamous Studio 2...whoa!)

So pictures and details soon on the blog.

I just wanted to very publicly say thanks to the extremely helpful Boards members, always giving advice and dealing with my babbling (^^^)... and again a huge thanks to Damaged Trax - you rock man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Wow! Extreme to props to Damaged and Robin, kudos guys. Once in a while something happens on this forum that reminds you how decent the MP crowd are. Dying to hear the finished product, sounds like a huge amount of thought went into all of this. Well done!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

thanks for the very kind words chris :)

and thanks to all of team riot tapes for putting the effort in to make it worthwhile for all involved, we only had a 1 day to do a LOT of tracking but everyone stayed focused and we got to the finish line :cool:

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

thanks for the very kind words chris :)

and thanks to all of team riot tapes for putting the effort in to make it worthwhile for all involved, we only had a 1 day to do a LOT of tracking but everyone stayed focused and we got to the finish line :cool:

Hey man, I think I left my grand piano there... Can you have a quick look around?

In allll seriousness, I can not wait to hear a mix!

MilanPan!c wrote: »
    Hey man, I think I left my grand piano there... Can you have a quick look around?

did i not pack it in the box with the 4 1176s? :D:D:D:D

I'll just call TP and ask him?

Right here brah! :D

TelePaul wrote: »
    Right here brah! :D

Heeeeeeey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Sounds like you pulled out all the stops.

When will we get to hear the result of all your efforts?

Rock

Sounds like you pulled out all the stops.

When will we get to hear the result of all your efforts?

Rock

We tried to maximise the experience, that's for def.... And really DT took the lead on making sure we were ready for what we were getting into!

But we also busted our collective backside getting ready.

Fingers crossed.

as for the final result... As soon as possible I'd say, but Barry is pretty busy, so... Not tomorrow.

We tried to maximise the experience, that's for def.... And really DT took the lead on making sure we were ready for what we were getting into!

But we also busted our collective backside getting ready.

Fingers crossed.

as for the final result... As soon as possible I'd say, but Barry is pretty busy, so... Not tomorrow.

yeah... too busy replacing the snare with the sound of a frying pan hitting hitting darren's head :D

As long as you're not using a sample of the sound of a frying pan hitting Darren's head.

:confused: huh?

I'm asuming you mic'd up darren's head and hit him with a frying pan... He'd be upset to hear you replaced the sound of his actual head with some store bought sample of someone else's head.

:D now i get ye :D

no, pure analog darren head.

i tried elaines but did some ninja kung fu move on me and then maced me. :eek:

now if only she could hold a tune... ;)
    :D now i get ye :D

no, pure analog darren head.

i tried elaines but did some ninja kung fu move on me and then maced me. :eek:

i dunno... i quite like her beatin people.. its kinda sexy in a perverse way :eek:

Ha... I'll tell her ye said that.

no need. she already beat it out of me. i have bruises.

We're also letting her book us gigs... With a vengence! It's amazing the offers you get when the singer of your band can have your car towed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Robin Ball

Really looking forward to hearing this lads.... Can only imagine how much work you guys out in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 stkio

Lads take the ass licking to PM, or maybe "blog" about it ...

If you's spend half as much time mixing it as you's do sending love letters to each other it should be a cracking single ... :rolleyes:

stkio wrote: »

If you's spend half as much time mixing it as you's do sending love letters to each other it should be a cracking single ... :rolleyes:

You're back.

jealous much? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

You are obviously someone who posts here (more) regularly under a different user name.

I don't know whether you should be praised or pitied for having the foresight to create a second user ID under which to make posts like the one above. Praised because I think that you at least have the insight to realise that posts like the one above make you look ridiculous (hence the decision to not use your regular user name) Pitied because you still went ahead and posted anyway even though you know on some level that it is nothing to be proud of.

That's the kind of s**t that teenage girls do. On some level you must be a teenage girl. Considering that, I want to give you this

http://www.choochooco.com/images/products/DailyTrainingBra.jpg

You need it.

Not nice.

As my mother used to say "if you can't say anything nice, say nothing at all".

dont understand it myself :confused:

whats the point in knockin someone because they're excited bout their music? isnt that why we're here and why we do it.

if it is a member under a differant name they deserve a slap and ill gladly administer... just pm me and we can meet up for a cosy chat ;)

dont understand it myself :confused:

whats the point in knockin someone because they're excited bout their music? isnt that why we're here and why we do it.

if it is a member under a differant name they deserve a slap and ill gladly administer... just pm me and we can meet up for a cosy chat ;)

Chris got similar stuff to this a while back. His enthusiasm and exuberance was being taken up as him being cocky, when all it was as you say was excitement and joy in what he was doing.

We're a funny race.

chris? cocky? ha! :pac:

possibly one of the least cocky guys ive met.

but its typical of this country, if you do something well then god forbid you have a little self confidence or the knives come out. jealousy is a really really ****ed up thing.

chris? cocky? ha! :pac:

possibly one of the least cocky guys ive met.

but its typical of this country, if you do something well then god forbid you have a little self confidence or the knives come out. jealousy is a really really ****ed up thing.

Indeed.

Damn the begrudgers.

Anyway, what's the plan for the song, can you say? Is it the "Photograph" track?

yeah its photograph but ill leave it to chris to let any details out. its edited and a rough mix done so ill be gettin into the guts of it tomorrow. lookin forward to it. tracking thru the neve VR was awesome.

Yeah that was the standout track for me, it had a real Texas vibe to it but a lot edgier.

Looking forward to hearing the finished article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Seriously what kind of dick sets up aliases to give abuse??

I don't actually think it's a regular poster. I reckon it's someone who has been sitebanned for giving milan hassle before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

That's the kind of s**t that teenage girls do. On some level you must be a teenage girl. Considering that, I want to give you this

http://www.choochooco.com/images/products/DailyTrainingBra.jpg

You need it.

Brilliant!

Thanks everyone for the nice words, etc. (and in this case it's obv a big etc.)

I'll let everyone in here, hear the track. It will be actually released as a single, as soon as that business crap is sorted; it's endless, you know.

We're doing tons more recording with Barry an with our normal producer Tim. We're talking about releasing the single as part of an EP or a record. If it's an EP, it'll be followed closely on the heels by a record.

For the record, I think some of the other material is stronger still, it just needs to be recorded.

Thanks again folks.

jtsuited wrote: »
    Seriously what kind of dick sets up aliases to give abuse??

I don't actually think it's a regular poster. I reckon it's someone who has been sitebanned for giving milan hassle before.

I get the impression that it's not just a random poster, as the target is Riot Tapes/Chris again.

I'm sure the Mods or even the guys above them can check out who the person really is if they really want to.

I get the impression that it's not just a random poster, as the target is Riot Tapes/Chris again.

I'm sure the Mods or even the guys above them can check out who the person really is if they really want to.

I have not made any effort to report the guy... For the record, he's made two posts on Boards, both attacking me.

I'm not asking anyone to find and ban the guy. We know he has an agenda and we know the person isn't brave enough to push their agenda without hiding behind a second alias.

That's all we need to know.

IMO.

If we martyr the guy it'll only make things worse.

For the record, had he said these things to me honestly, I would've responded honestly. People say worse. In other words, if this guy wants to demask and address me publicly, that's cool, I won't demand a ban or be all hurt Nd offended.

It's cool to not like me, my music or my approach. In fact I expect everyone has people that don't like the way they post.

Ok, enough of this silliness.

Our drummer will be back tommorow and says he'll send me pics then.

As soon as I get some stuff I'm still planning on doing the write up.

Windmill Lane is awesome and we felt really priviliged to have the experience.

And we're desperate for a MIX.

I just posted a whole load of photos from WL to our Facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=9862&id=107102279324813

If that link doesn't work (who knows with FB) click here:

http://listn.to/TheRiotTapes

and then click Photos...

Wow! I just the first mix and its sounding incredible...

There a few things we're gonna tweak (nothing too big :D) and then figure exactly what we're gonna do with the thing... ;)

So, when there's a final mix that all are happy with I will post it up here for you guys to hear, but just for 24 hours or something...

So excited!

Thanks so much for the hard work DT!

So, when there's a final mix that all are happy with I will post it up here for you guys to here, but just for 24 hours or something...

That's not a huge amount of time to be hyper-critical! I'll have to work quickly! :D:D:D

TelePaul wrote: »
    That's not a huge amount of time to be hyper-critical! I'll have to work quickly! :D:D:D

I believe in you!