Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilbeggan Monday

• 24-06-2010 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

What do ye all think of the coup pulled off on d four dave in kilbeggan on monday evening.

It was very well planned but nothing like curley's last month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It was well done, fair play to them. I wonder if they had done an on course gamble would they have collected as much. They would have got a better opening price anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

From what pieces i've read, it wasn't as much as they hoped as some of the people didn't have much English which altered some of the bookies when they handed in the money and the instructions. However a job well done.

Wasn't there something like this in Leopardstown about 3 years ago on Saturday night when about 50 people meet up in a car park in Kildare, got their instructions and travelled to various towns in the country to place the bets all at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

I"ve great admiration for those guys.Obviously had the horse LAID OUT for the race.Some people here would critize them for not SHOWING in previous races, but then they dont contribute to the training fees!!!.More power to them!!!!!.If they had tried to get money on at the course, the COWARDLY ACCOUNTANTS would"t have taken it at the prices on their boards. REMBER their rule "THE PUNTER SHALL NOT WIN "
    BRILLIANT !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Barney Curleys piece in the Racing post summed this up. It was a nice touch but why publicise it. Fools imo.
    Philip Rothwell has been pulling these strokes for years and there has never been nothing about it.
    Barney reckons he's still owed a million from his big day to.LOL...Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

But it wasn't Mr. Taylor that publicised it. It was Mark Costelloe of the Irish Field who got hold of one of the instruction notes from one of the bookmakers. If that slip hadn't been handed over the counter we wouldn't have heard anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

the problem with the touch was the runners didnt take morning price.Was a runner when at school when a horse called Kashue King won the county hurdle at Cheltenham,i think.They won a fortune then i believe around 250,000 pounds.The same guys pulled a bigger stroke a lot earlier when Santa Clause won the English derby.Good look to them and long may it continue.No mention of the killing coolmore had with Nosedas horse at royal Ascot some people are saying 3 or 4 million.