Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding venue - Markree castle Sligo

• 23-06-2010 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

I'd really appreciate feedback from anyone who has gotten married or attended a wedding in Markree castle in the last year or two.
    Thinking of having our reception here but seeing mixed reports online about the rooms.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

ikle wrote: »

I'd really appreciate feedback from anyone who has gotten married or attended a wedding in Markree castle in the last year or two.
    Thinking of having our reception here but seeing mixed reports online about the rooms.

Thanks.

We had our wedding i Markree and it was totally amazing. If you want to PM me a list of questions I will do my best to answer them. Also if you want to have a chat at after thats fine.
    The rooms are filled with fantastic old stuff and everyone loved it. We still go back a couple of time a year just for some "us" time.

Caroline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 davesneddon

I filmed a wedding there new years eve and the venue was very impressive imo. Its like a grand old castle from a century ago, the grounds are amazing. The couple got married in the actual hotel and there is a small chapel that did the job nicely. Can't speak for the rooms but the food was good as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Mac0783

***Bump***

just wondering if any had their ceremony & reception here recently, we're thinking of it for our wedding next year and would love to hear people's thoughts on it. anything you would have done differently or tweaked slightly with hindsight?

thanks a million
    Mac

Anyone at all? Any thoughts on Markree??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I was at a wedding there around New Year's about two years ago and it was the coldest venue I've ever been in in my life. Bedroom, bar, function room, common areas - everywhere was absolutely freezing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

heard from a previous poster the chef doing the tasting is not the same as doing the one doing the wedding meal. Could just be hearsay and horse****, but do ask them that if you're considering them.

Two years ago was that the time of the really bad snow? When collooney was one of the coldest places in the country? I did already ask about heating in the chapel and he assured me it would be on, but will definitely look in to it.

I heard that about the food as well and he said no all is done by chef in kitchen, the same people as who will be cooking the tasting.

We thought it was really lovely up there, just a bit far from us, so if they meet your criteria I hope you have a great wedding there!

Well we've booked it, so fingers crossed. thanks. :o

where did you get married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭taato

I had my reception there a few years ago and I really loved the venue. I know it's old, somewhat dated, maybe it could be cold but none-the-less it's lovely. If you want warm, insulated, modern, samey-samey then book one of the 'new' hotels. It's hundreds of years old and the grounds are truely spectacular and the wedding photos will look amazing. It really depends what you're 'in to'. I just hated the idea of the standard wedding food/venue/location - it was great to have the entire castle at our disposal and there was no 'outsiders' gawking around the hotel. As I said, if the modern conveniences are important to you then maybe look elsewhere.

had ours at Mount Falcon where the grounds and hotel are also somewhat unique and personal, and a bit closer to Galway too.

Mac0783

PM me if you want to know anything and I will try and answer as honestly as I can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 macbookair

Beautiful setting, I'm sure you will not have any regrets.

have you ever been at a wedding there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭TAPA2012

Also considering Markree for a winter wedding in December 2013, it looks amazing. I am also concerned about the cold time of year as many guest will be the kind who love heat! anyone know where does the band set up as its hard to make out from the online pictures. I also heard that there is a very small dance floor? Unfortunately we arent able to view the venue as were both working abroad so any advice be greatly appreciated too! 100-120 guests

the website really doesnt do the castle justice, it's much nicer in person. When we were there we spoke to the wedding co-ordinator and he said they are getting someone in over the winter to re-upholster a lot of the chairs, couches etc.. the band can either set up in the bay window (straight in front of you as you go in to that room) or they can move the couches and set up on the right.

We are hoping to have approx. 70 at wedding, but i think you will have plenty of space with 120, their max. number is 170 so am sure your wedding will fill out the place perfectly.

Can i ask where else have you looked at? Are you from Sligo? I found this website that has loads more photos of markree that might be helpful to you, will pm it to you.

Thanks so much! so in love with the place I visited once briefly. I ran in to get a voucher for a christmas present for the bf parents. There was a winter wedding taking place at the time and although I was only in the reception. I just got a good vibe! It's a pity I am away and cant view the place in person. I have also made contact with all the other wedding venues in the area such as castle dargan, cromleach lodge, sligo park and had a wee look at the radisson online. There are so many venues to choose from but with a winter wedding I fear of the weather! I'm not from lovely sligo myself but the apprentice husband is! :)

My brother got married in Castle Dargan it's a nice place. I stayed in Cromleach Lodge during the summer and it's really nice up there. Not a great road out to it, but definitely worth the drive. The one thing about there, make sure you specifiy where and which rooms you want for your guests if you book it, cause the one got looked out on a brick wall and then a car park, but the one upstairs from us (which was empty cause the door was left open) was out of this world fantastic.

it must be so hard searching when you're not living here. Are you definitely going for Sligo seeing as you're not from there?

TAPA2012 wrote: »
    Also considering Markree for a winter wedding in December 2013, it looks amazing. I am also concerned about the cold time of year as many guest will be the kind who love heat! anyone know where does the band set up as its hard to make out from the online pictures. I also heard that there is a very small dance floor? Unfortunately we arent able to view the venue as were both working abroad so any advice be greatly appreciated too! 100-120 guests

I had a Christmas wedding in Markree. PM me any questions you may have and I will answer as honest as I can!!!

Mac0783 wrote: »
    My brother got married in Castle Dargan it's a nice place. I stayed in Cromleach Lodge during the summer and it's really nice up there. Not a great road out to it, but definitely worth the drive. The one thing about there, make sure you specifiy where and which rooms you want for your guests if you book it, cause the one got looked out on a brick wall and then a car park, but the one upstairs from us (which was empty cause the door was left open) was out of this world fantastic.

it must be so hard searching when you're not living here. Are you definitely going for Sligo seeing as you're not from there?

Any opinion on picking Markree over Castle Dargan? I have read all the trip advisor reviews for Cromleach lodge but the fact the rooms aren't attached to the building just wouldn't suit us as we have a few guests with mobility issues and if it snowed it just be lethal for all guests.

We picked Sligo and we have our date set and all. I know people might think its strange that I am not getting married in my own parish. It's not the norm but I am loving the idea of been somewhere different.

I just haven't had the chance to be at any weddings/functions in the hotels. Its very hard picking a venue from over here but my partner is from Sligo and his family have been so helpful in researching all the venues for us. They have been asking all their friends in the area. We are hoping that alot of venues will meeting us over skype so we can get quotes etc.

Well...to be honest, i do! but i really think it depends on personal preference, what are you looking for? They are both lovely places, but it depends on the style you want for your day, Dargan is more modern style, bright, airy and spacious.. Markree is an old world style, with great character. Have you picked your dress and bridesmaid dresses yet, what sort of style are you going for?

Yes they are two places that are two worlds apart. I am sitting on the fence but my legs are dangling on the Markree side! :) I have no definite idea on wedding dress/bridesmaids just yet as I haven't looked at any. I have a classic dress sense so I think I will be going for a classic lace dress ... :) I think I have answered my own question! It's got to be Markree for me! Thanks for your help and also Caroline Spring who gave me excellent advice! I'm going to book! :)

TAPA2012 wrote: »
    Yes they are two places that are two worlds apart. I am sitting on the fence but my legs are dangling on the Markree side! :) I have no definite idea on wedding dress/bridesmaids just yet as I haven't looked at any. I have a classic dress sense so I think I will be going for a classic lace dress ... :) I think I have answered my own question! It's got to be Markree for me! Thanks for your help and also Caroline Spring who gave me excellent advice! I'm going to book! :)

Good pick Tapa, you will have a fantastic day.

Well i think, great pick as well!! But i'm sure i'm not biased or anything. :D
    I went for a lace dress as well!

Just wondering how you got on with Markree castle wedding co-ordinators? I am very disheartened! Its over a week and I haven't received a quote back. I find this very strange as all the other hotels I have since contacted, have given me a quote in a few hours to a day later! I am just very shocked as i am not asking for anything unsual standard meal, afters and bedrooms! They even missed a telephone meeting with me and my partner! I had to ring them to remind them! I was put on hold and then knocked off! They rang us back and they didn't have the quote ready, its now a whole week gone by! Very upset bride to be.........thought I had found the perfect venue!

to be honest i have had the same problem, when we met them the first time he was going on holidays that monday. I called during that time and spoke to the girl who also deals with weddings to book out date ad she said fine, i asked that Jeremy call me back when he came back from hols but he didnt, but fair enough he'd be busy, i have since rang twice and not yet spoken to him. But there's a wedding fair this saturday and i hope to speak to him them, we have still to nail down any specifics and pay a deposit. I don't think it's him i think it's the receptionist, when i asked about the wedding fair she hadn't a clue..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

Have you considered.... http://www.belleekcastle.com/

to be honest i have had the same problem, when we met them the first time he was going on holidays that monday. I called during that time and spoke to the girl who also deals with weddings to book out date ad she said fine, i asked that Jeremy call me back when he came back from hols but he didnt, but fair enough he'd be busy, i have since rang twice and not yet spoken to him. But there's a wedding fair this saturday and i hope to speak to him them, we have still to nail down any specifics and pay a deposit. I don't think it's him i think it's the receptionist, when i asked about the wedding fair she hadn't a clue..
    It seems were in the same boat! Its now Tuesday - 9 days waiting on a quote! lol its a joke! I refuse to chase them up again! As I was told "quotes are only done by email" lol thats if you ever get one! you can only laugh! :D honestly cant book such a badly run establishment for the big day! Id be seriously worried everyting go pear shaped!

Have you considered.... http://www.belleekcastle.com/
    Thank you! I would of considered this place only that I am getting married in winter. I was too afraid the weather be very bad! So I thought it be wise to stay within a 30 minute radius of the church. It looks like a fabulous place! did you get married here? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

I did get married in Belleek, however I also now work here, just reading the thread I thought it may be a viable option for you, it really is a wonderful building. Good luck with your search :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

I got married in Belleek. One of the reasons we picked it was because we were getting married in November and there's nothing nicer than walking into a homely atmosphere and a roaring fire on a cold day. There certainly wasn't any complaints about heating. The different colours of the leaves in the forest at that time of year added to the entrance too.

If you're looking for a castle venue I couldn't recommend it enough, from the entrance panorama after the trip through the forest, to the first time you walk into the amazing reception room. Your guests will be oohing and ahing the whole time.

I'm not sure do they still do it but we rented the whole place out for 3 days which really adds to the atmosphere. Your own private castle for you and your family and friends. We found the staff to be very obliging and friendly too. Any questions feel free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 annabella26

we had same problem while looking at markree (it was too small for ours anyway but i loved the idea of gettin photos at it as its beautiful) have to say kim in castle dargan went above and beyond call of duty when we booked ours there though ( we had provisionally booked and someone had already prov booked it) was a massive f*p up an i spent a few hours very teary eyed but she personally triple checked everything after and i do feel she will make sure there are no more hic ups

but if u have ur heart set on markree are u going to regret it yrs down the line if u book somewhere else?

we went to Markree's wedding fair on saturday and i was so impressed the place looked amazing, and everyone we brought thought it was lovely as well. still have to sit down with them and haggle out a qoute and details etc.. but we're definitely going with it. my only worry now is how much extra to ask for, not going to ask for anything off the dinner rate but want to get as much as possible included. anyone have any suggestions on what we should be looking for?

Hi also sent my researchers into Markree during the wedding fair. They thought it was nice and chatted to the staff who were pleasant. I just feel my own dealings by email and phone really highlighted how poorly organised they are.

It took two weeks to get a quote!! eventually it arrived and yes alas we thought! unfortunately it wasn't what we had asked for! I suppose I should clarify just what we asked for incase your thinking all sorts, most hotels quoted us for this in a few hours. We asked for a quote on a set meal of 5 courses with no choices, a pre-eve meal and bedrooms on the night of the wedding and a few nights for us honeymooners, oh and also the stairs to have candles and ivy. To make it even more confusing it was a different person who replied to our email with a quote on just a choiced meal not what we had asked for and no other prices at all. After two weeks its a bit of a joke! So now I am super confused as to who is the wedding co-ordinator? Three ppl only adds to confusion and hence why they are so unorganised. Also to make matters worse is that the staff knew us and what we had asked for and were saying to my investigators that we must send the accommodation on to us BUT they dont have prices for next year yet, sorry to tell them that 2013 is only a few weeks away lol :) Highlighting yet again that Markree are not organised!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭grainuaile

I'd love a bit of help from anyone who has been married in Markree recently. I had a quick look around today by myself as the wedding co-ordinator was off, and Im wondering if anyone can enlighten me as to where the dancing etc takes place? is it in the room with the bay window? and if thats the case it would seem the dancefloor is totally separate from the bar. Has that proven difficult? I do have an appointment with Simon on saturday but i have a bee in my bonnet now and can't seem to find any pictures or reviews online to enlighten me on this point!
    Gráinne

You're right that's where the dancefloor is, i was a bit worried about the bar being seperate but i hope because they're so close it won't be an issue. I haven't met with Simon, we met with Jeremy, would love to hear how you get on, because while they are very nice they don't haggle, it's very hard to get anything out of them. When are you planning on getting married?

oh god i just worry everyone will stay in the bar and not bother dancing, also it looks a bit small, we were hoping to have some evening invites along with the full 170 capacity for the meal ... such a shame as i am totally in love with the rest of it, the dining room is just unreal. exactly what i always wanted. we've seen a few places, Belleek, Mt Falcon & Kilronan - my fella is totally sold on kilronan and I was too until i went to Markree with my sister this morning! he'll be home at the wknd so we have an appt to meet Jeremy (i had misread my emails, simon is the receptionist!)
    We're hoping for roughly this time next year but nothing definite - what about you?
    PS thanks for the link, great pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 AJS22

Hi Mac & Grainne,

We are having our wedding in Markree in December 2013, I think we will have about 140 guests. Our list is at 180 and we will have the inevitable falloff of hopefully about 40.

The communication with Markree is almost impossible and you have to stay pretty calm as it can get super frustrating. I reckon that once you have the information you require and put your deposit down that they will definitely come through on the day - just getting to that stage is trying to say the least.

We were looking for our package to include Mulled Wine and Prosecco for the drinks reception which they seem completely opposed to doing. I really had to work hard to get it and they said that now they will do the mulled wine for additional €4 per person but I got this reallyu long winded email about how it would be a waste of wine etc etc, which kinda just annoys me. I just want to know how much and that's it.

There not a place for haggling whatsoever. If your happy to go with any of the packages without amendments it should be plane sailing but they have a funny way of pricing extras or amendments which doesn't really make sense.

Did you girls get quotes for B&B for guests? If so, can you let me know what they quoted you?

Having said all the above I think the place is amazing and Jeremy is a really great guy and very obliging. I think that on the day they will pull it out of the bag because that type of service is what "they do" and do it well from what I have seen and heard but the admin end and organisation is just not their forte. I get the impression that the staff are trained very well in hospitality but marketing and sales is lacking in basic infrastructure.

We looked at Kilronan as well, it is amazing but cause we're having a small wedding they wanted to put us in the bar downstiars and i felt it was a bit dingy plus they want €1000 for hall for the civil ceremony, outrageous!!

+1 on the dining room that's what sold it to us, and i love that the dancefloor is seperate from dining room i always hate the lull during the change over from dinner to dancing at other weddings.

I think cause you're having such a big crowd there'll be people everywhere so you won't have a problem with the bar being seperate from dancefloor.

We looked at Kilronan as well, it is amazing but cause we're having a small wedding they wanted to put us in the bar downstiars and i felt it was a bit dingy plus they want €1000 for hall for the civil ceremony, outrageous!!

+1 on the dining room that's what sold it to us, and i love that the dancefloor is seperate from dining room i always hate the lull during the change over from dinner to dancing at other weddings.

I think cause you're having such a big crowd there'll be people everywhere so you won't have a problem with the bar being seperate from dancefloor.

thanks that does make me feel better re:dancefloor ... i know, couldnt get over the price of the ceremony room (palm court) in kilronan. the library is cheaper but as you say its very dull. i really want an old castle feel and i think kilronan is a bit of a sellout, i mean there are castle-y bits but your not going to be there for the wedding and the function room could be anywhere. Problem is if Himself had his way it'd be in a normal run-of-the-mill hotel like the McWilliam in Claremorris or something. So maybe kilronan will have to be our compromise!! I will lay it on thick about the price difference and hopefully that will sway him in Markree's favour!

AJS22 wrote: »

There not a place for haggling whatsoever. If your happy to go with any of the packages without amendments it should be plane sailing but they have a funny way of pricing extras or amendments which doesn't really make sense.

Did you girls get quotes for B&B for guests? If so, can you let me know what they quoted you?

Having said all the above I think the place is amazing and Jeremy is a really great guy and very obliging. I think that on the day they will pull it out of the bag because that type of service is what "they do" and do it well from what I have seen and heard but the admin end and organisation is just not their forte. I get the impression that the staff are trained very well in hospitality but marketing and sales is lacking in basic infrastructure.

I havent had any quotes yet but as soon as I do I'll let you know. Are they like Belleek in that you have to take all the rooms and if they're not used the b&g are liable for the cost?
    I am totally useless at haggling which is why I hate that it seems to be expected in usual hotel rates given, but at the same time I dont want them doing me. Maybe I'll win the lotto and I wont care :P

It is a shame if the communication isnt great though as I forsee myself having many heart attacks in the run up and would be great if the staff were more reassuring. But hey I havent booked anything yet so can worry about that later :)

I didn't guarantee them room numbers, cause like that i was worried that i'd be liable for any empty ones, but i did keep saying if you dont give a good rate everyone local will head home..

You will need to dig deep when trying to haggle with Markree, cause it ain't easy.

grainuaile wrote: »
    oh god i just worry everyone will stay in the bar and not bother dancing.

I haven't been in Markree, but one of the most disastrous weddings I was ever at was because the bar was in a separate annex.

Clontarf castle has a beautiful room which the b&g had spent extra getting decorated to their taste. About an hour from the end (when the dancefloor should have been at its fullest) I realised I was one of the only people on the dancefloor. Looked around the room and it was nearly empty. Went for a pint instead where I found about half the crowd dancing and chatting, Then went in search of the rest of the crowd and found them outside in the smoking area which is about 100m from the main room.

... went in search of the rest of the crowd and found them outside in the smoking area which is about 100m from the main room.

ah jaysis :eek: hadnt even thought about where the smoking area might be! i'll really just have to hold my horses till saturday

littleredspot, was the bar very far from the ballroom in clontarf? because in markree its not particularly far but it is definitely separate :(

No, the bar is right next door. It's exclusively for the function room. I suspect they don't want it lowering the tone of the main room ;) People were even dancing in the bar by the end of the night.

As a non smoker it never occurred to me about how important the location of the smoking area is. If it's miles away, people tend to stay for more than one, and before you know it all the craic is there. Ideally it should be directly outside the room so as people can just nip out, and at least the people that choose to stay a while are still sort of part of the event.

Markree smoking area is downstairs v far from the function room. I can't remb if it's heated or not!

Downstairs out the front?

grainuaile wrote: »
    ah jaysis :eek: hadnt even thought about where the smoking area might be! i'll really just have to hold my horses till saturday

Grainuaile, how did you get on at the weekend?

Downstairs out the front?
    yes, its a bit of a trek, alright ....