Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running shoea

• 23-06-2010 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what type of running shoes do the athletes on boards wear. What are the factors that athletes consider when buying shoes ie price, brand , support etc. And finally what are the best running shoes in terms of value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

No correct answer, there is only the best shoe for the individual. We all have different shaped feet, run different types of events, weight different amounts, and have our own personal preferences.

Best thing to do is to run to a recommended running shop (rather than a clothes-shop with loud music and Celtic jerseys (I'm an old-fart!) and get fitted (along with Gait analysis) with the most suitable pair of running shoes. Tell them your budget and they'll try and match the selection to what you can afford.
    Runways (Parnell Street), amphibian King (Bray) and to a lesser extent Elverys are typically mentioned frequently and are based in the Dublin area. Outside of Dublin, best to look for recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I like to go somewhere the sales people are knowlegable and throw myself on their mercy.

I have three current pairs all with extra insoles for more support. Two pairs of Nike's and one pair of waterproof saloman's. I try to rotate them so i'm not running in the same pair twice in a row.

Each pair was around 100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A number of factors that have already been mentioned, foot strike pattern and what kind of support you might need.

I got a pair of Asics GT2150s for $90 recently. Lightweight and good enough for the amount of running I do. Go to an expert!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Ye folk have taken up the question wrong, I was asking the boards in general the shoes they wear and what were the reasons behind you the athlete buying them. How often do you the athlete change their shoes ie when they are worn out or if they feel they have met the adequate mileage for a pair of shoes. Not every athlete may want to share this information due to their highly secretive training methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

You also asked which shoes are 'the best', and as everyone is saying, there isn't a single type of shoe that's best. People wear lots of different shoes (and sometimes wear different shoes whether they're running a mile race or a 20 mile long run)

I rotate between Asics Gel Stratus 3, and Mizuno Wave Inspire 6. I got the Asics in Jan/Feb, I'll be replacing them over the summer. The usual advice is to replace after 6 months/500 miles, sooner if you're heavier, wearing them on consecutive days, putting them in the washing machine, etc, etc.

I think there's a picture thread from a few months back, something about "your inner SloggerJogger" with photos of peoples' shoe collections...

here you go
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055838513

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Oh, well then, it's a completely different answer. In that case, the best are Mizuno Waverider 13s in a size 10 (red and silver). Throw them away after 500 miles on the road, and another 100 miles on the grass (I'm about 12 stone). They're the best because they're light (for a training shoe) and cost me less than €90 from Wiggle (with a free cap thrown in).

Don't listen to anybody else. They're either mistaken, or complete liars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭plodder

Asics Kayano 16's - were recommended by a Physio, due to good cushioning and my very slight over-pronation. I'd aim to change them every 500 miles or thereabouts. Are they good value? They're certainly not cheap ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Asics GT2140/2150 - Best shoe ever. Someday every other shoe manufacture will make a shoe like these:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

plodder wrote: »
    Asics Kayano 16's - were recommended by a Physio, due to good cushioning and my very slight over-pronation. I'd aim to change them every 500 miles or thereabouts. Are they good value? They're certainly not cheap ...

I only ever got 300-350 miles out of my 14s and 15s :eek:

Answer to the shoe question right now is "ask me in a few weeks"! Just switched from my last pair of Kayano 15's to Brooks Adrenalines and Nike Lunarglides, and am just trying to get used to the change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭plodder

I only ever got 300-350 miles out of my 14s and 15s :eek:

Answer to the shoe question right now is "ask me in a few weeks"! Just switched from my last pair of Kayano 15's to Brooks Adrenalines and Nike Lunarglides, and am just trying to get used to the change!
    Yeah. I must double-check that. I'm on the heavy side, so by rights, I shouldn't be using them for that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

plodder wrote: »
    I'm on the heavy side, so by rights, I shouldn't be using them for that long.
    They might be alright, but I'm just pretty destructive when it comes to shoes! My first ever pair of running shoes only lasted me 170 miles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭big mce

New balance 1224, the only runner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Lunarglides are the dogs cojones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

gerard65 wrote: »
    Asics GT2140/2150 - Best shoe ever. Someday every other shoe manufacture will make a shoe like these:D

I went to Amphibian King a couple of weeks ago and these are the shoes I ended up with, although he gave me a choice of 3 brands in total to try on, these felt the most comfortable. They also felt like they best took care of the over pronation that I seem to have. I hope I've got that right, it's where the feet/leg roll inwards too much. I can never remember which term describes which condition.

I think thats right. I'm the same. Good insoles are important too. (or othotics as they're now called).

InTheTrees wrote: »
    I think thats right. I'm the same. Good insoles are important too. (or othotics as they're now called).

Those orthotics seem very expensive, €300+ ?? :eek:

for me, a neutral runner, 5"11 and just under 12 stone, used to run Mizuno but changed to saucony progrid jazz 13 a while ago and it's the perfect combo of sufficient support in a light shoe - has taken 30 seconds off my minutes per mile figure. everybody's different of course as people have been stressing here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Depending on the runner these can be money well spent. I have gone pretty much injury free since i got them year ago despite upping my mileage to over double what i used to again this is a personal story and is individual but i wouldnt knock them just because of the price as they can be a great investment ( as was the case in my situation) Saved money in the long run in comparison to physio bills saved

Its possible to spend a lot. And if you haev serious issues then its probably good to. But I use superfeet (about $45, also available in europe) and they've worked really well for my pronating(sp?). The achilles is fine now, and the shin splints are gone.

http://www.superfeet.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sd2002

Would I be right in saying that 2150s are quite similar to Kayanos only with less cushioning?

I've ran in Kayano's before so thinking transition to 2150s might be the way to go.

I know a physio guy who makes orthotics. He said I needed them but I never went ahead and got them. I'm wondering should I just bite the bullet and get them.

BTW: I'm injured again. Overdone it last weekend with doing C25K on Saturday morning, then a 5.5 mile walk later in the day, then a 7.5 mile walk on Sunday, then a break then C25K again on Tuesday. And they're with my runners that I had done with gait analysis. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I know a physio guy who makes orthotics. He said I needed them

Perhaps a second opinion?

Sorry I meant who takes a print of them off your feet and sends them off and gets them made. He doesn't make them himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Everyone is different.

I got mine and they were 350 ( but my health insurance paid half ). They transformed my running since i got them. I could do 6m and nothing the for 3 or 4 days with lower leg pain. I did 13m on wen evening and went out and did 3 yesterday with no problems !!

Now i am 16 stone so there is a lot of weight on my feet but the insoles have been amazing FOR ME

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

sd2002 wrote: »
    Would I be right in saying that 2150s are quite similar to Kayanos only with less cushioning?

I've ran in Kayano's before so thinking transition to 2150s might be the way to go.
    Yep. Their both a support shoe but the 2150's are lighter with slightly less cushioning and more responsive. You will find the 2150's less boxy. Cheaper as well. I want from the kayanos to 2140's with no problems. I've about 450 miles clocked up on them and their still fine. I weigh about 12.5 stone so 450 miles is good going for a shoe.