Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimbledon tennis betting

• 21-06-2010 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭

No thread up for this. I'm not a big tennis betting person, but hopefully someone will join in and help us all make a few quid out of it, since we're going to be bombed with it over the next few weeks, especially if England go home early from WC !
    Right now as an interest I'm thinking Roddick at 15/2, and Henin at 7/1, 2 small singles and a double....

Any advice, or anyone who knows their stuff and see's value in a particular match, please post !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

I'm no tennis expert but looked thru the coupon for tomorrow and a few ones look enticing.
    Nicolas Kiefer is 11/8 to beat Ferrer. Ferrer is seeded but a clay court specialist who struggles on grass. Kiefer is an old timer but has a good grass court game and a win is well within his range.
    Know absolutely nothing about their opponents but Seppi 4/5 and Isner 4/6 have massive serves and will take beating tomorrow me thinks.
    Other than that ya are talking about long accumulators to make money but after a couple of results today its risky business, worth letting the first couple of rounds go by then looking for value in the bigger clashes.
    Will try a few euro on 3 bets above as singles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXFISH1

i'm not a big tennis gambler either, just a few bets here and there;
    I agree with Isner above, not sure about Seppi as he is up against Almagro, who is primarily a clay man but is always dangerous in grand slams.

I'll probably pick two doubles from the following 4 matches, (guys in bold)not sure which way to combine them yet;

G Soeda v M Fischer 2.00 1.72
    F Gil v M Granollers 3.00 1.33
    N Mahut v J Isner 2.10 1.66
    B Kavcic v L Kubot 2.87 1.36

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭TheHopeful

I strongly fancy all these to win, will throw them in an accum:
    A Petkovic 1/2
    Querry 4/11
    Stosur 1/3
    Rezai 2/5
    Beck 1/6

Others im thinkin about are Isner and malisse 4/6 and 8/11. These are all pp prices btw, prob better out there

TheHopeful wrote: »
    I strongly fancy all these to win, will throw them in an accum:
    A Petkovic 1/2
    Querry 4/11
    Stosur 1/3
    Rezai 2/5
    Beck 1/6

Others im thinkin about are Isner and malisse 4/6 and 8/11. These are all pp prices btw, prob better out there

Yea i like most of these too, just don't trust Querry at the moment though, but he should get through with his serve. He has a tough opponent in Stakhovsky.

ghosttown wrote: »
    No thread up for this. I'm not a big tennis betting person, but hopefully someone will join in and help us all make a few quid out of it, since we're going to be bombed with it over the next few weeks, especially if England go home early from WC !
    Right now as an interest I'm thinking Roddick at 15/2, and Henin at 7/1, 2 small singles and a double....

Any advice, or anyone who knows their stuff and see's value in a particular match, please post !

Hard not to fancy Nadal for the outright. Can't see Fed go all the way this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Yeah it really looks all set for nadal the odds are pretty dire though gonna go for Jurgen Meltzer Ew no idea why so don't ask :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

was talking to a friend who knows his tennis v. well..
    advised me on the following,said he had a massive chance of winning.
    as i dont know anything about tennis im only going on his word,only did a bit of research afterwards to confirm the "tail".

JC Ferrero v X Malisse
    2010-06-22 18:00:00
    Match Betting
    X Malisse
    4/5
    €100

coughlan08 wrote: »
    as i dont know anything about tennis im only going on his word,only did a bit of research afterwards to confirm the "tail".

JC Ferrero v X Malisse
    Match Betting
    X Malisse
    4/5
    €100

Well done coughlan08 with Malisse getting the win in 5 sets.
    Unfirtunately i didnt see your tip in time and had already thrown Ferrero into a small multi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Accumulator of berdych, hewitt, v williams, roddick, clijsters, henin, kohlschreiber all playing tomorrow returns 2.36 for your euro. Not bad but there is always one match that can leave ya sweating.

Anyone else think tyler dent is value at 4/1 to beat djokovic tomorrow. Djok struggled first round and tends to struggle a bit on grass (bet by old timer malisse at queens). Dent has a massive serve and will be tough to break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MrKingsley

LOPEZ v Berankis 4/7
    MELZER v Troicki 2/5
    MONTANES v Evans 4/6
    SCHUETTLER v Istomin 5/4

Im going to be putting on one 3/4 match accumulator per day.

This is comes in at 7.5/1. I just prefer to back the more experienced players in the grandslams rather that the younger ones.

Schuettler at 5/4 is a ridiculous price in my opinion. Unless hes injured or sick but i cant find anything like that. Anyone thinking of putting on a multi match bet should put this in for the value i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭dannydfc

whos gonna win in this: Seppi, Andreas v Kamke
    write back please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

ghosttown wrote: »

I wouldnt claim to be a huge tennis expert biut i'd be looking for bigger price than 15\2 on Andy Roddick. I'd say at least 10\1 would be a fairer price.

dannydfc wrote: »
    whos gonna win in this: Seppi, Andreas v Kamke
    write back please.

Not claiming to be a tennis expert but i follow as much of it as i can. Id go with seppi in that one. 4/7 seems quite a nice price actually. Kamke has only won one match this year. Think this is only his 2nd tournament of the year and hes more of a doubles player as well i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

JC Ferrero v X Malisse
    Match Betting
    X Malisse
    4/5
    €100

Nice one mate, I do a bit of tennis betting myself and liked the look of that one aswell only had a few bob on it though, feel free to post up anymore tips !

Actually concerning tennis betting are there any decent websites for tips ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Actually concerning tennis betting are there any decent websites for tips ?

Not really for tipping but a great site to see injuries, history on different surfaces, head to head and money ratings - http://tennis.matchstat.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Mahut v Isner

Nearly going now 7 hours,officially the longest tennis match in history

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

digme wrote: »
    Mahut v Isner

Nearly going now 7 hours,officially the longest tennis match in history

Just shows you the physical demands these players endure.

Fittest sportsmen imo.

They're not the fittest,but they are pretty bloody fit.

digme wrote: »
    They're not the fittest,but they are pretty bloody fit.

Based on personal opinion, they are in my eyes.

The energy expended doing the stuff they do is far superior to any other sport. 7 bloody hours of tennis, can you imagine how hard that must be?

Just waiting on Hanescu for a bit of dosh so here's hoping.

Ultra runners run 150 mile races,nothing compares to that.
    Lets not go down that road,haha.
    This match is insane, I can't understand how they can still even serve,truly breathtaking to watch,surely the bigger man will tire soon?

Paddy Power seem to have suspended their live play tennis, was just about to bet on mahut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

JC Ferrero v X Malisse
    Match Betting
    X Malisse
    4/5
    €100

thanks for the comments lads.

ya hes definately my friend now anyway.;)

if i hear anything else will let ya know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

This Isner Mahut match is getting ridiculous, nine hours!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Spot_the_Dog

Verance wrote: »
    This Isner Mahut match is getting ridiculous, nine hours!!!!

Yeah this is insane....Isner is completely out on his feet but his serve is just so good that is almost impossible to break.

If Mahut goes out this is stupid. Clearly the better tennis player.

Him wanting to stop?
    The crowd sings "we want more".
    Game suspended.

Is there a way of finding out what prices players were which already won/played today?
    Petrova, V.Williams,Jankovic,Hewitt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

dannydfc wrote: »
    Is there a way of finding out what prices players were which already won/played today?
    Petrova, V.Williams,Jankovic,Hewitt.

Go to the results section of the website of whoever you had the bet with. The pre match price is usually beside the selections there.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Go to the results section of the website of whoever you had the bet with. The pre match price is usually beside the selections there.
    Thanks.
    Anyone got any tips for 2moz?

i'm also going with Seppi to beat Kamke at 1.57
    and also like Belluci to beat Fischer at 1.66

Staying away from wimbledon today i think. Had a look through the coupon there and nothing really strikes me. Might get some betting in running action on the murray match if he goes down a set though

After banging on about what good value schuettler was yesterday of course he was the only one to lose in my accumulator.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

I can't let Nadal pass today at 4/6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lmao_Man

If Nadal doesn't win today,does that mean he is classed as a "runner up" ?

If so,
    It's 10/3 for him to be a runner up and at 4/6 to win today either way you win.

Can anyone tell me if this is right as I don't know much about tennis tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

Lmao_Man wrote: »
    If Nadal doesn't win today,does that mean he is classed as a "runner up" ?

If so,
    It's 10/3 for him to be a runner up and at 4/6 to win today either way you win.

Can anyone tell me if this is right as I don't know much about tennis tbh.

I presume runner up means losing in the final!

Yeah I suppose lol.

The way i saw it on the site made it look different.

So is this the quarter finals ?

Yeah I suppose lol.

The way i saw it on the site made it look different.

So is this the quarter finals ?

Yeah Quarter finals.

Murray First Set 6-3 @ 4/1

Seems overly generous may take it up.

celtic723 wrote: »
    Murray First Set 6-3 @ 4/1

Seems overly generous may take it up.

Fingers crossed he'll be serving first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

ive backed tsonge to score more aces then murray @ evs. murrays first serve wasnt great against Querrey

And also just done paddypower powerplay, nadal and murray to win @ 11/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭ALTESSE12

just over 2/1 ..Fed, Nadal , Murray and Novak...come on boys:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

dotsflan wrote: »
    ive backed tsonge to score more aces then murray @ evs. murrays first serve wasnt great against Querrey

And also just done paddypower powerplay, nadal and murray to win @ 11/10
    That's a great bet, where's the evens??

Right I think I'm just going to do €15 nadal to win the game today then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

fed to get beaten in the semis

5/1

get it on:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

folks what do you think of the

Murray and Nadal both to win @ 11/10

gone for over 3.5 sets fed v berdie at 1.70

Headshot wrote: »
    folks what do you think of the

Murray and Nadal both to win @ 11/10
    Nadal can lose on grass to soderling quite easily.I'd be more inclined to go for over 3.5 sets

Went with nadal and Murray to win 11/10.

Could someone please post here what happens :p don't think I'll be able to watch the games :(

Went with nadal and Murray to win 11/10.

Could someone please post here what happens :p don't think I'll be able to watch the games :(

http://www.wimbledon.org/en_GB/index.html

yes berdie broke roger :)