Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raheny Mid Summer 5KM 19/6/2011

• 21-06-2010 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭

Hi,Did anyone else do this race yesterday? It was a great race and a nice atmosphere afterwards. I was just wondering if the distance was spot on, my Garmin showed it as 3.01 Miles, so about .1 mile shorter.Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Did the race and got 3.05 on my Garmin... I started at the back of the field, so probably the same distance as yourself. Lovely day alright.

Clouds of fumes when running past the model cars on both laps. Still not complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭aero2k

This was fun, though it was a shame about the course being short.

It was great to see tunguska running strongly to take 5th place. Plenty of refreshments at the finish, well marshalled on a traffic free route - I'd definitely do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Really disappointed I missed this through injury - great community feel to this race - and I'll be there next year for sure.
    It's a tight course with lots of turns and sections through tree coverage - so I wouldn't rely on the Garmin measurement (says he who has his PB on this course ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭aero2k

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Really disappointed I missed this through injury - great community feel to this race - and I'll be there next year for sure.
    It's a tight course with lots of turns and sections through tree coverage - so I wouldn't rely on the Garmin measurement (says he who has his PB on this course ;))
    Fair point on the turns - I found it a challenge to maintain my momentum - and the tree coverage. Even though several Garmin had it at 3.05-3.08 miles, that's well within the quoted accuracy of those gadgets, and with the narrow paths we'd all have been hidden by the same trees.
    If it was the full distance then I also have a PB.:)
    I hope the injury clears up soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

was chatting to the club lads last night, seemed to be a great race again, especially given the weather etc. Disappointed I wasn't around.

There are some pics via the Raheny site here

Great running tunguska, glad to see the Kildare HM injury has cleared up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

christeb wrote: »
    was chatting to the club lads last night, seemed to be a great race again, especially given the weather etc. Disappointed I wasn't around.

There are some pics via the Raheny site here

Great running tunguska, glad to see the Kildare HM injury has cleared up.

Cheers dude. Yeah the Kildare nightmare is well and truly behind me now. Grand race, as said already though the constant cornering was tough. It was like formula 1 for runners. Definitely be back next year.