Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Automatic Polo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Polo/1.4/201016197743335/advert?channel=CARS

I would like opinions on this car especially that it is automatic? Would i have to pay extra import tax, or whatever it is called,or is that usually included in price?

TIA

Volkswagen is German, the ad says Jap Import.

SCAM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

SCAM
    not a scam it is probably an error SIMI dealer with a 'scam' like that?

SIMI means shit all in the long run.

Also, in the interior pic, I can only see a tape deck and no CD player.

And another point, 0 owners on an 02 car, and without plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭hick

this would be much better buy, if your looking for an auto

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/1.6-Auto/200950196142260/advert?channel=CARS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

if you know anything about polos please tell. if not don't bother with the scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Not too sure how you have decided this is a scam.

I drive the same car at the minute. 1.4 auto. It's dog slow, terrible on motorways. It likes to guzzle petrol too.
    I haven't had much trouble, but mine has yet to hit 20000 miles(It's an 03).

if you know anything about polos please tell. if not don't bother with the scam

I'm going off the information given in the ad, so don't be getting sarky and giving out that the car isn't perfect in my eyes, ok!

Not too sure how you have decided this is a scam.

I drive the same car at the minute. 1.4 auto. It's dog slow, terrible on motorways. It likes to guzzle petrol too.
    I haven't had much trouble, but mine has yet to hit 20000 miles(It's an 03).

The Jap Import thing, no owners and it's an 02 car would lead me to think it tbh.

However the OP may have a box of tricks here and might well be buying what's essentially a new car?

Just to clear the radio/CD part, the pic is small, is it a CD player or not? Looks just like a tape deck to me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

SCAM
    Are you some kind of idiot? Volkswagen sells cars in countries other than Germany, hence how we're able to buy them here in Ireland.

It's quite clearly a Polo that's been freshly imported from Japan.

Looking through his cars, he's got a Teg Type R down as being an Automatic also?

Bad aul dealer IMO.

Tragedy wrote: »
    Are you some kind of idiot? Volkswagen sells cars in countries other than Germany, hence how we're able to buy them here in Ireland.

It's quite clearly a Polo that's been freshly imported from Japan.
    Would you go through the trouble of importing a car that's sold in the Irish market already?

Going to England, fair enough, but to Japan to buy a German car that can be bought in Ireland already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The mother has one. It's eaten 2 water temperature sensors and that's about it. Pretty bulletproof!

My 03 came with a tape deck as standard.
    Typo? I don't think anyone is suggesting it's never had an owner, a simple call to the dealer should clear it up. It's not the first polo i've seen imported from japan either.
    Anyway, as with any car, all necessary checks should be done before buying. But there's nothing in that add to suggest any foul play.

Typo? I don't think anyone is suggesting it's never had an owner, a simple call to the dealer should clear it up. It's not the first polo i've seen imported from japan either.
    Anyway, as with any car, all necessary checks should be done before buying. But there's nothing in that add to suggest any foul play.

Meh, t'is what I think is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Would you go through the trouble of importing a car that's sold in the Irish market already?

Hmmm,that happens quite alot to be fair

Hence why I said England doesn't count :D

Meh, t'is what I think is all.

Hahaha, i can't disagree with that! Tbh i'd look elsewhere too.

Going to England, fair enough, but to Japan to buy a German car that can be bought in Ireland already?
    I've seen mercs and beemers for sale over here that were imported from Japan.

I haven't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The japs have a thing for high end European motors (in LHD though according to top gear iirc) . It's a status symbol. Can't see an automatic Polo being the envy of the neighbours.

Stekelly wrote: »
    The japs have a thing for high end European motors (in LHD though according to top gear iirc) . It's a status symbol. Can't see an automatic Polo being the envy of the neighbours.
    Um I've seen early noughties CLK200, e230 and 325i's that were imported from Japan.

All RHD.

If it makes economic sense to import it, they'll import regardless of what it is.

Midnight_EG, it quite clearly says in the ad it's a japanese import, it has the japanese size rear reg plate and it has 0 owners.

What more do you need to stop being a fool and thinking it's a scam?

Um I've seen early noughties CLK200, e230 and 325i's that were imported from Japan.

All RHD.

If it makes economic sense to import it, they'll import regardless of what it is.

Midnight_EG, it quite clearly says in the ad it's a japanese import, it has the japanese size rear reg plate and it has 0 owners.

I'd like to see a reg number tbh.

And maybe a pic of a lil Japanese guy beside it with my name on a piece of paper?

Are you some kind of idiot?.

Your very touchy for an impartial person.

Maybe if more people were cautious about the cars they are buying and less trusting in those selling them there wouldnt be threads on here where people are getting stuck with lemons or finding out about dodgy pasts with the car they bought.

The ad says CD player though.

Your very touchy for an impartial person.

Maybe if more people were cautious about the cars they are buyign and less trusting in those selling them there wouldnt be threads on here where people are gettign stuff with lemons or finding out about dodgy pasts with the car they bought.
    How is calling it a scam because it's a japanese import being cautious?

How is saying it can't be a japanese import because Volkswagen are German being cautious?

I checked 8 automatic polo's from 02-03, only two were irish with full width rear reg plates and MPH clocks, the other 6 were all japanese imports with km/h clocks and square rear reg's.

Three of them had the same stereo headunit as this car, and all three listed the car as having a cd player.

So.
    How is any of the "OMG IT CANT BE A JAP IMPORT ITS A SCAM" being cautious rather than deliberately stupid?

I'm also not being defensive, I'm being offensive because midnight_eg's posts are literally painful to read.

How is calling it a scam because it's a japanese import being cautious?

How is saying it can't be a japanese import because Volkswagen are German being cautious?

I checked 8 automatic polo's from 02-03, only two were irish with full width rear reg plates and MPH clocks, the other 6 were all japanese imports with km/h clocks and square rear reg's.

Three of them had the same stereo headunit as this car, and all three listed the car as having a cd player.

So.
    How is any of the "OMG IT CANT BE A JAP IMPORT ITS A SCAM" being cautious rather than deliberately stupid?

I'm also not being defensive, I'm being offensive because midnight_eg's posts are literally painful to read.

Was there a need to mention me? The poster you are replying to didn't mention me, and so I don't think you needed to mention me. If you have a problem with my posts, stop posting off-topic and PM me. I'll then speak with you rationally and without obvious name-calling and mockery. Pleasure :pac:

Thats not really a plus point for the dealers. They should not be claimign it has a cd player if it's a tape player.

The ad says CD player though.

Ah i missed that bit.

Lads this thread has gone mental over nothing really. Deep breaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭hick

I'd like to see a reg number tbh.

And maybe a pic of a lil Japanese guy beside it with my name on a piece of paper?

You won't see a reg cos it's not been registered over here yet it will be registered to the first person that buys it, Dealers take Jap imports all the time, they're brought in by the boat load by importers and sold at auction to the trade and public.

Get over it, it's a jap import, there are a lot of them over here, and as for your earlier comment on SIMI, it means you actually have recourse if something does go wrong, if they garage wont deal with it, they will deal with the dispute, I've used them before to good effect, I assume your comment comes bcked up too?

OP we had a Polo it was a great little car, only thing was it's a bit light for long journeys, see my earlier post with a link to a golf, much more solid.
    What's the criteria for the car your after at any rate

hick wrote: »
    You won't see a reg cos it's not been registered over here yet it will be registered to the first person that buys it, Dealers take Jap imports all the time, they're brought in by the boat load by importers and sold at auction to the trade and public.
    8 years without registration though?
    Get over it, it's a jap import, there are a lot of them over here, and as for your earlier comment on SIMI, it means you actually have recourse if something does go wrong, if they garage wont deal with it, they will deal with the dispute, I've used them before to good effect, I assume your comment comes bcked up too?
    From what I've read in the paper, and on here, not much comes from SIMI when asked of them.
    OP we had a Polo it was a great little car, only thing was it's a bit light for long journeys, see my earlier post with a link to a golf, much more solid.
    What's the criteria for the car your after at any rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

€5500 for an 8 year old Polo automatic or not is crazy money imo. Here is one that is 2 years younger for a grand more and even that seems a bit pricy to me:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201022198230582

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

... as for your earlier comment on SIMI, it means you actually have recourse if something does go wrong, if they garage wont deal with it, they will deal with the dispute,

SIMI are there to protect their members (IE the DEALERS, not the customers), and will be of little use in a buyer dispute.

EDIT: as midnight EG said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Their is quite a good few Japanese imported European cars here, mainly VW Golf's and Mercedes C-Classes.

8 years without registration though?

facepalm-face-palm-facepalm-demotiv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭evanSpiddal

Having a look at the interior pic, it looks like a Mini disc player, which i think was very popular in Japan, there might be a cd changer in the boot, justifying the claim that it has a cd player

^ What?

It says 0 owners and it has no plates on it. All of the dealers other cars have plates on it, so why would this one not? That makes me think it's unregistered, and the car is an 02, therefore it hasn't been registered since 02?

Now, your argument?

Having a look at the interior pic, it looks like a Mini disc player, which i think was very popular in Japan, there might be a cd changer in the boot, justifying the claim that it has a cd player

Under the deck player is a hole for the double din, which holds the CD player.

It was registered in Japan, between 2002 and now, and it had Jap plates there, obviously.

All used cars that come from Japan to here (or anywhere) have the plates removed in Japan. Furthermore, when a car is imported second hand here, and registered, you become the first owner on record here, it doesn't include any of the previous owners from abroad.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    It was registered in Japan, between 2002 and now, and it had Jap plates there, obviously.

All used cars that come from Japan to here (or anywhere) have the plates removed in Japan. Furthermore, when a car is imported second hand here, and registered, you become the first owner on record here, it doesn't include any of the previous owners from abroad.
    God bless your patience ;)

Max_Damage wrote: »

Everyone learns something every day, thank you.
    God bless your patience ;)

As I said, PM if you have a problem, no need for sly jabs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭remotesensor

There are a large amount of auto VW hatchbacks on the road that are jap imports. In fact I recently was searching for 1.6 Golfs and many of them were Japanese automatics, so you should not let that deter you.

€5,500 seems like a ridiculous price for an 02. Keep searching I reckon.

^ You're welcome ;)

I don't mean to go off-topic, but I noticed he's selling a Jap import Hyundai. I had no idea they sold Korean cars in Japan!