Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

was the late Katy French Ireland's sweetheart before she died?

• 20-06-2010 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭

I think she was. I think Katy was adored by all Irish people, the media loved her too and I remember people were devastated when she died. Anyone else agree she was a bit like Cheryl Cole, in the sense of the national treasure thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

got to be a wind up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    I think she was. I think Katy was adored by all Irish people, the media loved her too and I remember people were devastated when she died. Anyone else agree she was a bit like Cheryl Cole, in the sense of the national treasure thing?

To be fair to Katy, she never beat up black toilet attendants.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,184 ✭✭✭G1032

Never heard of her till she died.
    National Treasure? Don't think so.

I think telecaster is right. This has to be a wind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Skinback

Katy Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

i presumed all irish people knew who she was. She was one of Ireland's top models, very pretty and died allegedly due to a drug overdose. Ummm, why would this be a wind-up :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

The media loved her because she had no boundaries and whatever they wanted she gave it to them, be it a compromising pic or an "exclusive" about her ex or former drug habits. I'm not having a go at her, I'm just saying, the media did not love her because she was "Ireland's sweetheart". They loved her because she always filled their papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

A z-list non-entity who gained publicity by the unfortunate manner of her death........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭dezzyd

I think she was. all II think Katy was adored by rish people, the media loved her too and I remember people were devastated when she died. Anyone else agree she was a bit like Cheryl Cole, in the sense of the national treasure thing?

OP, you should take a look at the thread about her that is in after hours - think it may give you an idea about what some of the public think. Sorry to burst your bubble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

15 year olds have strange heros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Penisland

Never heard of her until she died....

Not trying to disrespect her memory but she was just another model who some people heard of who took drugs and died......happens every day of the week.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Nobody gave a toss. She was friendly with showbiz editors in newspapers so they plastered her all over the papers to try and make people think she was important to the public. In fact i remember before she died everybody was asking why the hell she was in the papers everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

mike65 wrote: »
    15 year olds have strange heros

Sadly this is true :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Irishoz

Nobody knew her until she died. I remember watching RTE (think it was the panel or something - they were making fun of her 'fame') a few weeks before she died and there was a reporter on Grafton street or somewhere asking people if they knew who Katy French was and nobody knew. Then when she died RTE news did vox-pops to gauge the reaction from people on the street and it was all 'oh she was lovely, she was a beautiful girl, it's such a shame!' - laughable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭not_xanthor

telecaster wrote: »
    got to be a wind up
    im pretty sure there was a thread like this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

national treasure? what did she do to make the nation proud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

add to that the absolute shambles that Bertie Ahern sent along his aide de camp to represent him at the funeral. :rolleyes:

She did what she did, whatever. National sweetheart??? no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

National sweetheart?
    I have my own personal sweetheart. Less mess, no sharing that way.
    Plus, I don't do cokefiend airheads.

Chris De Burgh went to the funeral and he never even met her, just because she was friends with his daughter he saw a photo opportunity and milked it:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

She was a by-product of sycophantic rags like the Sunday Independent. A vacuous drug taking self publicising fool who was persuaded that her ridiculous musings meant something by people like Barry Egan.

People need to realise that the cocaine they snort in Krystle/Lillies etc has probably been mixed by scumbag junkies and may have spent time in an AIDS riddled mule's rectum or knickers.

Sad for Katy French's family but if one impressionable kid is turned away from drugs it won't have been without merit. Tabloid rags should be castigating people like French, not eulogising. The same goes for Stephen Gately...you'd swear he'd died like Mother Theresa when in reality it was during/after a hedonistic night on one of the Balearic Islands at home with his partner and a strange man they'd met in a club.

. The same goes for Stephen Gately...you'd swear he'd died like Mother Theresa when in reality it was during/after a hedonistic night in Ibiza at home with his partner and a strange man they'd met in a club.[/QUOTE]

I think it was Majorca that Stephen Gately died? Also, it was said that he died from an heart/lung condition that had been previously undetected

dezzyd wrote: »
    . The same goes for Stephen Gately...you'd swear he'd died like Mother Theresa when in reality it was during/after a hedonistic night in Ibiza at home with his partner and a strange man they'd met in a club.

I think it was Majorca that Stephen Gately died? Also, it was said that he died from an heart/lung condition that had been previously undetected[/QUOTE]

You're right...it was Majorca. The circumstances of his death were odd. Let's just leave it at that.

What's ridiculous is the reaction to his death (and Katy French's).

They both symbolise the vacuous talentless nature of a certain type of celebrity. Now you've a generation of kids who see being on X Factor or being signed up by Louis Walsh as "the dream".

IThey both symbolise the vacuous talentless nature of a certain type of celebrity. Now you've a generation of kids who see being on X Factor or being signed up by Louis Walsh as "the dream".

Too true. Looking at the OP and the post about 15yr olds having strange "hero's" - why someone would think a person who died from a drug overdose should be considered a national sweetheart is beyond me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

What?

I never even heard of her until she overdosed on cocaine. Adored by whom exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭chilloutman

load of bull**** she was just some girl who died wasnt famous wasnt anything special or anything to admire about her... ya its sad she died but its sad when anyone dies.. cant understand all the ****e about it there was no hype when my grandad died of old age at 80yrs old was there!

dlofnep wrote: »
    What?

I never even heard of her until she overdosed on cocaine. Adored by whom exactly?

By sycophants like Barry Egan and gob****es who believe the turgid rubbish published in the Sunday Independent (or "Brendan O'Connor's Informed Views on X, Y & Z" as I like to call it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

In many ways, she was Ireland's answer to Michael Jackson...

Dudess wrote: »
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

She was unheard of to the vast majority of Irish before she died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

You've got to be kidding right?! Michael Jackson was an absolute legend, a talented musician and a world-class superstar.

Katy French was just another blah model who was a druggie, took coke and then died from it. She did this to herself. I think it's ridiculous that the gardai are wasting time to get those who supplied her when they could be on the streets sorting out knife crime, robberies, tiger kidnappings, etc. They are only investigating it because she's "supposedly" famous. She was not famous, she did nothing except some modelling. If she hadn't got the coke from those two who were arrested last week, she would've gotten it elsewhere.

If that was some 20-something girl / guy from a rough part of Dublin / Limerick / wherever, you would hear nothing about it and the gardai wouldn't be investigating it either. It's just crazy. She was a druggie, she did it to herself - she was an idiot to take coke in the first place and died from it. I certainly do not agree that she was Ireland's sweetheart, I mean nobody even knew of her anyway until her death hit the headlines.

I do feel sorry for the family but at the end of the day, I have no sympathy - she took drugs and she suffered the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Personally I think she was a pretty face and a media whore. She was only famous for being in the Sunday Indo style magazine. I didn't see her picture anywhere else until she died.

The whole nation went into mourning about how "such a lovely girl" died and all these kids are like "OMG she was my loike IDOL!"

The same weekend she died two young boys in their early 20's from Waterford died of drug abuse. While Katy got pages and pages of lovely quotes from other Z list "celebs" of Ireland. These boys were left with a tiny column in the corner. What a way to be remembered. It's shocking the amount of youth deaths due to substance abuse nowadays.

This kind of thing makes me REALLY MAD. I don't think she was talented apart from sitting all demure on tables in her smalls. She always said she never did drugs of any kind. She wanted to be a role model to kids. (Funny kind of role model don't you think???)

Long story short. I don't think she was Ireland's Sweetheart before she died, and certainly won't raise to that status from being dead. If you want to dabble in dangerous drugs you deserve what you get. That case over the drug dealer is a load of crap too. It's Katy's fault that she bought those drugs. She brought all the misfortune to her family and friends herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

tinkerbell wrote: »
    You've got to be kidding right?! Michael Jackson was an absolute legend, a talented musician and a world-class superstar.
    It's called irony.

Oh and "People who dabble in drugs deserve everything they get... but I feel sorry for their families" is as hollow as fuk. Try telling their families when they're mourning their loved one "Oh I'm so sorry for your loss, but in fairness, they did ask for it by dabbling in drugs"... Except you wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

It's called irony.

Oh and "People who dabble in drugs deserve everything they get... but I feel sorry for their families" is as hollow as fuk. Try telling their families when they're mourning their loved one "Oh I'm so sorry for your loss, but in fairness, they did ask for it by dabbling in drugs"... Except you wouldn't.

No one sensible would, because doing that would be crass, ignorant and hurtful.
    That doesn't make it 'hollow as fuk' to think that someone who shovelled coke up their nose till their heart gave out only had themselves to blame, while still feeling sorry for their grieving relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You posted this on Digitalspy as well, weird.... Anyway no, she was not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Hmmmm. I smell a rat. I wonder will all our quotes turn up in some rag next week.

Anyway do you know what. I thought of something she did that hopefully she will be remembered for and will be an example for young people everywhere:

Kids, don't do drugs. They kill. Even if you are young, pretty and blonde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,184 ✭✭✭G1032

i presumed all irish people knew who she was. :confused:

Believe it or not but all of Ireland doesn't give a damn about the Dublin social scene and all of Ireland doesn't read the Sunday Indo - ( i've been told that that is where her pics where mostly published)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Believe it or not but all of Ireland doesn't give a damn about the Dublin social scene and all of Ireland doesn't read the Sunday Indo - ( i've been told that that is where her pics where mostly published)

I read the Sunday Indo when I lived at home. It was the only paper I waited for impatiently on a Sunday! :D The style magazine was where all her "classy photo shoots" were. But other people like Courtney Love, Glenda Gilson and Rosanna Davidson graced the cover so it basically doesn't count for a great amount!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

"Ireland's sweetheart"?? Hilarious.

The media didn't care for her too much, and apart from her family/friends I don't remember there being much devastation at all.

In fact, I only had a little idea of who she was til she died.

I didn't know she could sing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Didn't have a clue who she was until she died, dont think i was missing out on very much.

Melion wrote: »
    Didn't have a clue who she was until she died, dont think i was missing out on very much.
    you said it.

Does anyone else here think the OP sounds a bit off. I mean, come on like, "national treasure" WTF did that come from? How could someone genuinely think this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

a sweetheart? didn't know who she was. a sweetheart because she posed? nothing more important in the news that day? poor excuse for an idol, however this is many young girls' aspiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭flan59

What was the difference between her and any other coke sniffer, nobody out side of a chosen few knew her or cared about her. Papers will print anything to fill and sell them so in the end of the day she was really another little know druggie. Its a pity the gardai are wasting time prosecuting people who they think are responsible for supplying her with the coke, she had the money and could afford the habit unlike a lot of other people who take drugs. As with a large amount of the Dublin scene, people outside Dublin have little or no interest in it.

ummm, sorry i just presumed she was coz in the newspapers at the time of her death, the media said how Ireland had lost a national treasure and that irish people were praying for her recovery. I just presumed.... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

ummm, sorry i just presumed she was coz in the newspapers at the time of her death, the media said how Ireland had lost a national treasure and that irish people were praying for her recovery. I just presumed.... :confused:
    Don't sweat it.
    You seem like the type that has to remind themselves to breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Come on! Seriously!

I know you are young and all but I remember you posted something like this before in a thread about Cheryl Cole saying something along the lines of Katy French being your sweetheart like they way CC is the media's sweetheart/darling in the UK.

Why would a model who took drugs be yours or anyone's sweetheart?

Seriously. Think carefully about who or why someone is your idol/hero/sweetheart/darling. Is this someone you should be seriously aspiring to be like?

amdublin wrote: »
    Come on! Seriously!

Seriously. Think carefully about who or why someone is your idol/hero/sweetheart/darling. Is this someone you should be seriously aspiring to be like?
    Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You must be getting your info from the wrong media, or mixing her up with someone else.

I didn't have a feckin clue who she was, until she showed up on the Tubridy show with the gombeen son of gombeen Jackie Healy-Rae, and I only caught a glimpse of that programme when I was flicking through the channels.

A week later, she was dead.

The only national treasure that Ireland lost was the money spirited away by Fianna Fail and their banking and property developing chums.

I NEVER said I idolised her. I didn't? Why would I? Yeah, she was pretty,seemed nice, but as the poster above said, she did drugs, which isn't a very inspirational thing to do to say the least. I merely said that I thought Irish people adored Katy French, due to the media hyping her up and the public being devastated by her death. Well, that's according to the tabloids, but after reading people's opinions on here, that's definitely not the case.