Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed trap made my day

• 18-06-2010 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭

I was Driving from the N3 to Trim yesterday, I was cruising along towards Kiltale, I noticed a honda steaming up behind me, then tailgated me for a mile or two, couldn’t pass with traffic and bends.
    Approaching Kiltale I slowed to the indicated 60kph then 50kph ( I always double check my speed here as very often the guards have speed traps in the village).
    This sends honda man into a rage, lights flashing, horn blowing etc.
    The road straightens out into the village and honda man overtakes me on a solid white line and rolls down the tinted passenger window to give me the finger, then accelerates into village only to be met by a Guard with a speed gun on the other side of the village. He pulled him in.
    I had to be careful for the next few miles because I was finding it hard to drive with the laughing.
    Who says there’s never a guard when you need one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Shame on you.

The poor fella has a right to go fast in his souped up skangermobile.

Its unreasonable of you to expect him not to go fast as his car probably runs better at speed. Laws do not apply to him and the guard probably let him off.

Terrible

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I had the exact same thing about 6 years ago in Dundrum in Dublin. Scooby up my chuff I doing 30 in a 30 which he didn't like. He then flashes sounds horn over takes on a painted island gives me the finger, then ****s himself as a Garda walks out in front of him points at him and points to the side of the road. Oh how we laughed in the car.(No offense to scooby owners just this one).

Only on Tuesday did all my Christmas's come at once. I had an idiot in a van jump a red light when I had a green and try turn in front of me as I was turning and a jeep beside me going straight on he had to slam on the brakes and swerve to avoid me and the jeep. I went around the corner really really wanted to stop and give a piece of my mind but low and behold coming around the corner was a Garda car. I beeped them and asked politely would they have a word with the driver behind me as he had jumped a red and nearly hit two cars. Now knowing that they hadn't seen anything and they could only have a word I was happy, I only wanted yer man to have a brown trousers moment and not get in real trouble over it. Last I saw was the Garda with his arm out the window having a quiet word with the driver.

This particular junction is notorious for red light jumpers that have caused serious serious accidents. I have seen to many to list here. This is the only reason I said anything to the Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Nice one op. Love them stories. As your man on killnaskully says He tells this one great.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Thats great news to hear another plonker in a chav mobile civic got stopped and done for acting the maggot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

OP, I love your story! I often travel that road, I was actually driving through Batterstown recently when a car started tailgating me and tried to overtake me but couldn't as there was traffic coming the opposite direction. When he finally overtook, he rolled down his window and made a fist at me - despite still being in the 50kph zone with me travelling at exactly 50kph! Ooh, how I'd love to have seen a Garda then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭saltandpepper10

mondeo wrote: »
    Thats great news to hear another plonker in a chav mobile civic got stopped and done for acting the maggot.
    80 euro and 2 points is hardly a life changing experiance now is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

Did he imply it was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Maybe not but it might make him abit wiser. But I'd say by his driving attitude he probably has a few points already.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Would have been more fun had you stopped as well, said to the gardai the idiot was tailgating, flashing lights etc when you obeyed the limits and that yes you were willing to go to court :)

Fun times for him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I don't know if the cop would have seen him overtake, but he was definitely way over 50kph,
    I'm sure there were plenty of bonus points to be won if the Guard went through the Nct, tax, tyres,lights etc.

Points make prizes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Poetic Justice in motion :D