Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

training pup

• 17-06-2010 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

hi lads training with the setter is coming on good, recall is getting better will sit on command, just wondering do ye all train to drop to shot or do ye bother, also dummys, do ye just throw them out to retrieve or use a launcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

jap gt wrote: »
    hi lads training with the setter is coming on good, recall is getting better will sit on command, just wondering do ye all train to drop to shot or do ye bother, also dummys, do ye just throw them out to retrieve or use a launcher

for bird shooting my dogs run in ,for stalking they sit until there told find the deer.

i just throw dummys , but i use a hurl and slitter for some long retrives .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I don't train the drop - others swear by it. If you ever wanted to run a setter & springer together the drop & steadiness would have to be A1!
    If you have a setter keen on retrieving then I personally wouldn't be bothered unless you plan on trialing.
    I use my pointer as a HPR & that's how I've trained him. Not just as a pointer.
    In fact I use him as HPFR. When he locates game I position myself & any other guns & give him the command to flush, which he duely does. If he rushes into a ditch & flushes out the bird, getting him to then drop to flush is kinda contradictory. He is fully trying to catch the game when flushing so stopping him in his tracks is a nice to have for saftey & all but I like a keen retrieving dog on the bird in a flash as I shoot rough wet country & often get runners. It takes a serious dog to track a runner over drains & wet country. All above is my preference & suits me.

If I wanted to put in a springer or flush myself then it would be nice to have him steady the whole time & release him on command but not what i am after.

As regards launchers - gimmicks is all they are.
    2 euro cap gun & throw it. Tie a rope & ball to the dummy & you'll throw it plenty far. The majority of birds you shoot will drop within shottie range so anything over that is grand for training purposes & all but overkill if you ask me.

I've shot pheasants that have glided half a field then dropped.
    Because the dog hasn't dropped to shot he's on them regardless & I don't stand where i shot, I'm off after em.

As for Sliotars - be careful with them I've seen dogs get hard mouths from them. Softer dummy's are better IMO but if not affected then with a hurl are great way to exercise a hound ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

yea i know a few lads that use cap guns, only a few with launchers, she seems willing enough to retrieve as it is, i must get a few light dummys for her,

thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 thepin

Hi lads.my springer is almost 7 months now.when out in field for a walk he likes to take off so he seems interested in the hunt.but when it comes to retrive he wont come back to me he will walk around or pass me out and drop dummy.as for walking on the lead he drags me of my feet....but will work on some of the tips posted...question 7months now how tall and heavey should be,,,has had a dose of the trots this last week nd is on medicne dog food from vet...found a few ticks would that put him of form........can u explain shot to drop...as its my first dog...cheers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

thepin wrote: »
    Hi lads.my springer is almost 7 months now.when out in field for a walk he likes to take off so he seems interested in the hunt.but when it comes to retrive he wont come back to me he will walk around or pass me out and drop dummy.as for walking on the lead he drags me of my feet....but will work on some of the tips posted...question 7months now how tall and heavey should be,,,has had a dose of the trots this last week nd is on medicne dog food from vet...found a few ticks would that put him of form........can u explain shot to drop...as its my first dog...cheers...

The best thing you could do now is get yourself and your dog off to puppy obedience classes and get the dog under control. If your out keep your dog on the lead and don't let him have the opportunity to leave you standing there calling his name, gives him bad habits. Keep your walks short 10 minutes down the road and back.

It only takes 10min a night to train a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

yea i know a few lads that use cap guns, only a few with launchers, she seems willing enough to retrieve as it is, i must get a few light dummys for her,

thanks lads

not sure why your talking about launchers, they are used when training the pup to point and keep his distance. a live bird usually a pigeon is placed inside and hopefully the dog will point it but if he gets too close or roads without command the launcher is released flushing the bird quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jimbrowning

after the dog has flushed game, it wil try catch the bird and run after it. if its trained to drop to shot, it wil stop when the gun is shot. you need to get yourself a book on training and working that type of dog. very usefull!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

I train them steady to shot and release on command.
    I train them that way but as they get older and more seasoned I relax the regiment and let them go at the shot. If most of your shooting is with a group then train steady to shot, too many variables, I would sooner loose a bird than have a shot up dog.

not sure why your talking about launchers, they are used when training the pup to point and keep his distance. a live bird usually a pigeon is placed inside and hopefully the dog will point it but if he gets too close or roads without command the launcher is released flushing the bird quickly

im talking about dummy launchers, they fire a dummy a fair distance, i was just wondering if people here use them

I train them steady to shot and release on command.
    I train them that way but as they get older and more seasoned I relax the regiment and let them go at the shot. If most of your shooting is with a group then train steady to shot, too many variables, I would sooner loose a bird than have a shot up dog.

the best way to steady your dog is to teach the drop. teach it by voice command in much the same way as you teach a dog to sit. the correct position is down on its belly with front legs out in front and head on the ground between them. when the time comes it's easy to introduce other signals to drop like the flush and shot. last week i was out in the fields and my dog saw a rabbit and took chase as it was the first one he has seen and i ordered him to drop. while he did not obey i followed him to where he lost the rabbit and dropped him. a few yards on another rabbit sprung and the dog dropped without command. it really is that easy once you got the command well installed on voice

sorry for digging up an old thread, my setter is showing great progress, i want to start getting her setting a bit better, she is showing signs alright, i have been told that a shot crow or pidgeon will get her started, so again any advice the dog men on here have would be great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

Hi lads.my springer is almost 7 months now.when out in field for a walk he likes to take off so he seems interested in the hunt.but when it comes to retrive he wont come back to me he will walk around or pass me out and drop dummy.

Throw your dummy.
    Encourage the dog to you
    hold out your hand (focal point for the dog to place retrieve)
    As he is almost upon you and still in his straight line mode

step towards him

Command to sit or whatever you do and take dummy from him.

Dont give him the oppertunity to circle you.

Another method is a narrow corridor, he cant get past you to circle.
    Though with this metohod you still have to mov on to the open field method as a step 2

as for walking on the lead he drags me of my feet

Walking to heel is an important training step.
    Having you dog at heel while out hunting spares his energy for hunting. and also shows others without being told(the people) that he is a properly behaved dog.

....but will work on some of the tips posted...question 7months now how tall and heavey should be

Depends on his breeding

,,,has had a dose of the trots this last week nd is on medicne dog food from vet...

found a few ticks would that put him of form

http://dogs.about.com/od/dogandpuppyhealth/a/ticksondogs.htm

........can u explain shot to drop...as its my first dog...cheers...

Drop to shot is when upon hearing a gun shot the dog stops and waits for a further command.
    Depending on what you want him to do, he will either stand, sit, lie down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

Sorry made a bit of a mess of that last post.

I hope you can read it.

sorry for digging up an old thread, my setter is showing great progress, i want to start getting her setting a bit better, she is showing signs alright, i have been told that a shot crow or pidgeon will get her started, so again any advice the dog men on here have would be great

how old is she??

6 months, shes a bit young but want to get her a bit birdy, maybe its a bit early

far too early. my pup is the same age and i've not alot done just the basics started and i'll be putting all my efforts into getting them tight for next few months. maybe come jan i'll start her on a few snipe but it's something i'll judge when the time comes and i'll not be rushing. if you rush chances are you'll ruin her and it's not worth it. hope you've not planed on having a shooting dog for this season?

not a chance on her hunting this season, hopefully next, shes miles off that, just thought showing her a bird or two would give her mpore of an interest, as you say il prob give her a run out in jan with the neighbours dog to let her see whats what.. il hold off so thanks

was talking with a few lads alot more experienced than i am and the subject got round to giving advice to fellas new to training and they agreed the most common and frustrating thing was rushing into getting there dogs on birds. they give the advice knowing full well 9 out of 10 times it won't be taken. the point is the stage your at now with your pup is the worst time cause your getting over the buzz of the pup doing as it's told and not much progress seems to be made where pup and man can get bored. if he is good on the basics i'd ease off a little and let her enjoy being a pup for a while taking her out for walks in new areas. you can give the basics one last push just before you enter the next phase of your training. best of luck with her and enjoy