Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He looks like a leader

• 17-06-2010 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

A bit of a non-point really, but does anybody think that Richard Bruton actually looks like somebody who can lead the country? In the Obama/Sarkozy kind of way.

http://www.richardbruton.net/

Regardless of whether he would be a decent Taoiseach, I think he'd increase the Fianna Gael vote based on looks alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

I think he looks like a smug git. I really dont get why some people seem to think he is the second coming. Maybe if Enda had just handed over the reigns I think you would be right but as it stands they just appear to be a joke of a party.

Surely this whole episode has damaged FG beyond all repair? the most damning indictment of FF and Brian Cowen that has come out was released only last week and FG are busy arguing amongst themselves. Its ludicrous that they are as incompetent an opposition as they are. FF couldnt make life any easier for them and they still are a shambles and I dont think this is all down to Enda Kenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

If I saw him on the street, I'd think he was "up himself"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He's no Barack Obama in the looks department. But when your predecessor is Brian Cowen - it would be impossible to not look good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 SabAlliance

I take aboard both points. I disagree about the fianna gael being a joke of a party though. In comparisson to the current crop in power, they look like knights in shining armour.

I also don't get how Enda Kenny is seen as a joke by the public, yet when somebody wants to oust him, it's seen as a bigger joke.

Please see current poll on breakingnews.ie for public opinion.
    Re-read my point. I said it was a non-point and regardless to whether he can lead the country.

Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

He's a quirky little nerd with no social skills. He's been a politician all his life. We need a leader who has actually worked a few days in his life and isn't Dublin centric. There's a big country out there you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

dlofnep wrote: »
    He's no Barack Obama in the looks department. But when your predecessor is Brian Cowen - it would be impossible to not look good.

to be fair there isn't too many from ireland that are :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Regardless of whether he would be a decent Taoiseach, I think he'd increase the Fianna Gael vote based on looks alone.

I couldn't give a toss whether the new Taoiseach looks like Shane McGowan, as long as he's competent, ethical and responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

SabAlliance I believe you are completely correct. I believe Richard Bruton thinks the same and thats why hes going for the leadership

It shouldn't be a reason to vote someone in but it commonly is and its what's been holding fine gael back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

A bit of a non-point really, but does anybody think that Richard Bruton actually looks like somebody who can lead the country? In the Obama/Sarkozy kind of way.

What I don't get is why we need to compare ourselves with leaders in G8 world nuclear superpowers. You do understand that Ireland, in reality, is a small 'peripheral' European country, closer in size to Denmark; Norway e.t.c. Neither men had much experience when they came to power( Obama was a 'freshman' Senator; Sarkozy, a cabinet minister for 2 years).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

[-0-] wrote: »
    He's a quirky little nerd with no social skills. He's been a politician all his life. We need a leader who has actually worked a few days in his life and isn't Dublin centric. There's a big country out there you know.

Gerry Adams it is then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

The leader of the country - and of political parties - does need to be able to relate to and connect with the people of the land, not just their own party and those in the rareified world of politics.

The problem we've had is that the best at this tended to be eejits where it comes to running the place.

I think that Kenny is a good political organiser, but he doesn't have the spark of leadership and the connection to the people. It always seems contrived when he tries to put it across.

Bruton I think sounds more naturally in control and seems to have that factor.

It's not the only deciding factor... But anyone who thinks its unimportant is blind to reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Whats looks got to with?
    Obama off topic is ugly lmao :D

Personally still have not seen one single one of them i believe to be proper leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭token56

Mary Harney

*shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Based on looks alone he appears weak, emaciated and shifty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Based on looks alone he appears weak, emaciated and shifty.
    But enough about Enda...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

KTRIC wrote: »
    Gerry Adams it is then ;)

He'll be our next president. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

If I saw him on the street, I'd think he was "up himself"
    just why?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

[-0-] wrote: »
    Richard Bruton was born in Dublin, and grew up in Dunboyne, County Meath. He is the son of Joseph and Doris Bruton. He was educated at Belvedere College, Clongowes Wood College, University College Dublin and Nuffield College, Oxford. At Oxford he graduated with a MPhil in Economics, his thesis being on the subject of Irish public debt. He is a Research Economist by profession, and after university he worked at the Economic and Social Research Institute. This was followed by two years in the tobacco company P.J. Carroll before moving on to his final private sector job at CRH
    Nice to see you know your stuff.

Also, he grew up in Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

We need a leader who has actually worked a few days in his life and isn't Dublin centric.
    Up Mayo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

bruton is a weird little man who giggles like a school girl when nervous , that said , he would have been a bigger draw ( outside fine gael core ) than enda