Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police Officer Haymaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

I didnt watch the video but Officer Haymaker has a funny name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Watch it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

gee... the main problem with this is, I dont know why the officer was trying to arrest her. She's obviously being a bollix and not letting him hand cuff her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I'd say he was on a right hard on there after grinding up behind for 2 minutes pretending he couldnt arrest her.

Snaky antics altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

hah the amount of cameras being pulled out,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Hi! I'm in Seattle too.

And while i'm no big fan of the Seattle cops, in that instance i dont think he was out of line. I mean he could have reached for his taser and zapped her which would have hurt considerably more, but he couldnt spare the hand because she wouldnt keep still.

What was she thinking? Its that cycle of Cop Vs Civilian and the resisting arrest catch22 but at some point common sense has to take over when you're actively wrestling with a police officer. Its very rarely going to end without you being subdued and probably getting hurt somehow so make it easy and comply.

storys here, http://www.komonews.com/news/local/96353934.html
    According to Seattle police, the incident began when an officer spotted a man jaywalking in the 3100 block of Martin Luther King, Jr. Way S. at approximately 3:10 p.m. The man was some 15 feet away from a pedestrian overpass, police said.

The officer was talking to the man when he saw four young women jaywalk across the same street at the same spot. The officer asked the women to step over to his patrol car, but the women were being "verbally antagonistic toward the officer," according to officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Whats the issue?

He was being attacked by 2 people so he hit one a dig. Doesnt bother me that it was a woman.

If she was big and bold enough to attacke a police officer doing his job shes big enough for a dig. Doubt it did her any harm.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Hi! I'm in Seattle too.

And while i'm no big fan of the Seattle cops, in that instance i dont think he was out of line. I mean he could have reached for his taser and zapped her which would have hurt considerably more, but he couldnt spare the hand because she wouldnt keep still.

What was she thinking? Its that cycle of Cop Vs Civilian and the resisting arrest catch22 but at some point common sense has to take over when you're actively wrestling with a police officer. Its very rarely going to end without you getting hurt somehow.

it seems excessive for a jaywalking stop?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Pwn3d

AlcoholicA wrote: »
    She grabbed and pushed him thats assault of a police officer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The womans behaviour semed very excessive for jaywalking. If she had doen what she was told it wouldnt have happened,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

In fairness, she got off lightly. If it was a fella who tried to interfere with a lawful arrest he'd have gotten the baton, at best, and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

They got aggressive according to all the articles when he went to question them. Im sure in the beginning his plan wasn't to arrest the girl but she obviously said something out of line. It was enough for the Cop to then arrest her. Frankly if I was him and another person joined in while the other was resisting arrest I would also done what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Ouch!

Bit over the top imo.

And he is a weak ass b!tch too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

She's only making it worse in a way,if it was only for jaywalking and she got in the car no bother they probably would've let her out the same day,but then she was resisting arrest so she's going to get in more trouble now.

Totally.

However he wasnt fighting with her because she jaywalked right? There was something that escalated it from a routine stop to a brawl and that will be what they charge her with.

And jaywalking is one of those completely inexplicable offenses. I was once stopped in seattle for it but the cop let me off when he heard my accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

That was a fairly tame punch tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Teutorix wrote: »
    Pwn3d

lolrofllmaopmsl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Benny Lava wrote: »
    Thoughts?
    Are you serious?

Three words : "Are you serious??" :D

EDIT: aww too slow!

Oh and can one of our resident americans explain why the feck its a crime to cross the street?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Generalissimo

He needs to go back to the academy and retake the handcuffing class; you'd swear he only had the one arm the length of time it took him to get them on :rolleyes:

Just to put it in context...

Seattle Police are constantly screwing up. Numerous news stories of unsuccessful police actions. They crash their cars all the time. We have regular seiges of suspects who turn out not to be present.

They exist to document crimes committed rather than solve anything I think.

Oh and can one of our resident americans explain why the feck its a crime to cross the street?

I'm a resident in America but not an american...

So no, I cant explain it...

We have regular seiges of suspects who turn out not to be present.
    How in the name of jesus? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

That particular section is a traffic blackspot in Seattle. People are regularly knocked down jaywalking.
    And please, no one suggest that the cars should slow down. It's a heavy commuter road and for pedestrians there's mandated times and locations to crossover. It really isn't that hard to do.
    One reason Irish traffic is so woeful compared to some of the better managed American cities is because the cops crack down hard on traffic violations like jaywalking, driving too slow (!) on motorways etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

JWe have regular seiges of suspects who turn out not to be present.

That is fuppin' priceless. Held up outside some house for hours negotiating with nobody to come out before sending in the SWAT team to an empty place. I thought our lot were lacking in the intelligent quotient :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

How completely useless is this cop, he needs to get himself into a gym and/or learn how to cuff someone properly. Also woman deserved a smack.

How in the name of jesus? :confused:

Over reaction to tip offs. Maybe? I can think of two instances in the last few years where we've had full on sieges. House surrounded, snipers on roof tops, Cops with bullhorns, news crews on the preiphery etc etc.

And then the commando storming of the house only to find...nothing...

SeaFields wrote: »
    That is fuppin' priceless. Held up outside some house for hours negotiating with nobody to come out before sending in the SWAT team to an empty place. I thought our lot were lacking in the intelligent quotient :D
    Actually the CAB are among the most efficient law enforcement taskforces in europe, the dont take any old eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Benny Lava wrote: »
    This video was recorded in my home city of Seattle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9w9AfptGGQ&feature=player_embedded#!

Thoughts?
    Let me first just say I defend the Public's Right to Video tape police officers in the line of duty.

Having said that this video is far from conclusive of anything. It comes in very late to what appears to be a routine stop; We dont even see or understand why the police, or the women are there. What were they doing that a police officer pulled them over, basically.

Furthermore, despite the all present Never-Hit-a-Girl mantra that even the Cameraman seemed to have intervened upon, that woman still went and not only shoved and for all purposes assaulted and officer but also obstructed him from his duty: What the **** did she think might happen? Your Status as a Woman doesnt give you free reign to push around a Uniformed Police Officer - much less Anybody Else.

Furthermore there was the woman in the white shirt who was in the conversation by the look of things, who stood by as this first woman was being detained. So obviously, other onlookers didnt object to the situation. After the Officer has to punch the woman, notice the other Guy (boyfriend?) pulls one of the women off the officer.

Oh and btw, wasnt ripping off the other girls damn shirt. Why are you struggling with a cop? Dont resist arrest: Resolve the situation at the Station with an Attorney Present. FFS.

I'd be surprised if the NAACP got involved in this one frankly. If I only had to formulate my opinion from this one youtube clip, the officer appears to have done his job.

edit: a jaywalking stop? lol. Well, the law is the law. If a cop wants to cuff me for having a broken tail light, I can't exactly try to punch him in the face and make a break for the woods. These suspects were damned foolish to turn this into an ordeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Just to put it in context...

Seattle Police are constantly screwing up. Numerous news stories of unsuccessful police actions. They crash their cars all the time. We have regular seiges of suspects who turn out not to be present.

They exist to document crimes committed rather than solve anything I think.

That has very little to do with this video though. She was acting the idiot and was put in her place. The fact that it was originally for jay walking has nothing to do with it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I only watched 51 seconds of the clip. Mainly because I was being tolerant and I was giving him an extra 30 seconds after when I'd have just tazered the silly cow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

If you did the same thing in Ireland I'd expect the same treatment and a bit more tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

It's not a crime to cross the street,it's a crime to cross it outside of certain areas at certain times.
    I'm guessing this is for saftey reasons,due to the relative fragility of the human body in relation to a speeding automobile.

Nevore wrote: »
    That particular section is a traffic blackspot in Seattle. People are regularly knocked down jaywalking.
    And please, no one suggest that the cars should slow down. It's a heavy commuter road and for pedestrians there's mandated times and locations to crossover. It really isn't that hard to do.
    One reason Irish traffic is so woeful compared to some of the better managed American cities is because the cops crack down hard on traffic violations like jaywalking, driving too slow (!) on motorways etc.

Oh god dont start me on Seattle traffic.

You can get a Washington state drivers license by driving around the block with the "examiner" and then answering 20 multiple choice questions. Easy. Anyone can be in and out in about half an hour.

Possibly the lowest driving standards in the US. They dont use turn signals or when they do they use them incorrectly. They dont use mirrors. There is no lane disipline on the freeway.

Pedestrians have ultimate right-of-way so traffic is constantly being stopped in anticipation of someone crossing the road (not unusual to have traffic come to a stop just because someone standing by the road looks like they may be thinking of crossing). pedestrians will wander out into the road randomly without looking. And it doesnt work too well either because it seems like every day there's a hit-and-run.

In addition its one of the few paces I've lived where traffic moves 5mph below the limit. Wtf? 60mph would be considered High Speed.

Its a kind of slow motion free for all of unconscious inattentive people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

milehip1 wrote: »
    It's not a crime to cross the street,it's a crime to cross it outside of certain areas at certain times.
    I'm guessing this is for saftey reasons,due to the relative fragility of the human body in relation to a speeding automobile.
    I mean hey, its not often the Jaywalking rule requires enforcement, but sometimes it does. I for one remember being a kid who was nearly clipped down in limerick for running across a one way; the car did actually graze the tip of my shoe as i leaped across o_O he never saw me come out from between the parked vans, and I him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I felt myself having the opposite reaction to most about the video which suprised me a lot because usually after watching this kind of thing I am saying, "Fcuker deserved it". I thought robocop at the reclaim the streets thing here was a legend. I remember some of the tazering video's from the US where everyone said it was excessive force and police brutality on a woman and I was saying she deserved it, the stupid drunk bitch just wouldn't stop kicking and punching and getting up.

However in this case, while its stupid to argue too much with a police officer and although they were resisting arrest, one can understand someone thinking the cuffs going on were excessive for an act of jaywalking. The first girl was just wriggling her hands away from the officer to stop the cuffs going on and the second girl seemed to be just pushing his hands with the cuffs away from her friends hands rather than trying to push the officer over. The guy not intervening on the girls behalf I don't think was him thinking the girls were over reacting but him knowing that as a black male if he got involved on their side he would probably end up getting more than one punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

They should give her the chair

It was more the fact that they resisted arrest than anything and besides you dont see what happened before the camera started rolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

"haymaker" - Ha!.. I've thrown snots way with more force than that.

I was just about to mention that nobody has noticed it wasnt exactly a haymaker. Seen better punches in midget fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He did'nt punch her nearly hard enough tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

"Hey man you assaulted her in the face"

ahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

would it have been better if he had shot/tasered her? he could have easily pulled his gun as he was being attacked by 2 people. He should have gave her a Thump being honest, if your gona do it do it right!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

She got served....I dont have a never-hit-women policy...I have a hit-women-when-they-hit-you policy.

And to clarify, the cop hit her as hard as he needed to and thats what my policy would be too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

He should be sacked, not for being punishing her in the face, but for being so **** at his job that he can't even restrain a 17 year old girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

He should be sacked, not for being punishing her in the face, but for being so **** at his job that he can't even restrain a 17 year old girl.

You'd show him how it's done, eh?

m@cc@ wrote: »
    You'd show him how it's done, eh?
    Im sure hes great at it, it pretty easy when you sneak up on them in a dark alley