Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr Nice - 2010

• 15-06-2010 8:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭

Looking forward to this, one of my fav books.. wonder how well it will make the transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

I'm just after finishing the book myself after being badgered by friends to read it....have to agree its a brilliant book

Had no idea it was going to be made into a film.....fingers crossed it works well but I don't know if Rhys Ifans is the right man to play Howard

Though Omid Jilalli should be good as Malik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Seen this last night, thought it was brilliant.

As I was watching it, kinda wished I had read the book first, as the story seemed so interesting.

I knew little of the guy's life, other than the arrests for drug smuggling.

Great film though, very enjoyable and well told.

Ifans was excellent as Howard and he manages to convey many emotions with ease.

Of course Tubridy didn't exactly make the best of the what could have been an amzing interview, but does he ever.

Well worth the watch anyway:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Also saw this last night and wasn't too impressed with it.

I agree, Ifans was brilliant and in some ways, was born to play Marks. But the pace and editiing were very choppy and I felt there was too much time given to some scenes and not enough to others.

The IRA connection is just ridiculous and I can't imagine McCann being as stereotypically-daft-Irishman as was portrayed in the film.

It was good fun in parts, but not great overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Ifans as Marks was really let down by some awful writing. His dialogue at times was very childlike and simplistic and never conveyed the intelligent, articulate and charming Marks that the book does. Its a pity as Ifans acting was good and he looks the part.

Still enjoyed it overall and was good fun.

Edit - Just reading the previous posts. I don't know how anyone can say after reading the book or seeing interviews with him that Ifans was a good portrayal of Marks. In large part down to scripting he comes across as pretty dim and completely devoid of any charm which is the complete opposite of Marks.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭nosco

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Seen this last night, thought it was brilliant.

As I was reading it, kinda wished I had read the book first, as the story seemed so interesting.

I knew little of the guy's life, other than the arrests for drug smuggling.

Great film though, very enjoyable and well told.

Ifans was excellent as Howard and he manages to convey many emotions with ease.

Of course Tubridy didn't exactly make the best of the what could have been an amzing interview, but does he ever.

Well worth the watch anyway:

Sorry, I have to say i thought tubridy was brilliant. That clown ifans made a complete tool of himself and not sure how tubridy could have handled it any better. What a plank. I think even marks was a bit embarrassed, which says a lot!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

nosco wrote: »
    Sorry, I have to say i thought tubridy was brilliant. That clown ifans made a complete tool of himself and not sure how tubridy could have handled it any better. What a plank. I think even marks was a bit embarrassed, which says a lot!!

I haven't watched the interview yet but I'd be interested to know why you think he made a tool of himself? Was he being rude or something?

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I haven't watched the interview yet but I'd be interested to know why you think he made a tool of himself? Was he being rude or something?

Watch the interview and see what u think.

Rude. Not making any sense. Telling sh*t stories. Trying to be funny and failing every time. He was basically off his chops by the looks of it and came across as a bit of a mess. Had never seen him being interviewed before,and like him as an actor so was surprised.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I really thought this film was poor.
    It was something like 2 hours long (Of which I lasted approx 90 minutes before leaving.) There were few funny moments. It lurched around too much. Ifans just came across as lazy. He has the accent. The rest seemed phoned in. Or not really there. There was nothing to endear me to any of the characters, Ifans included. The relationships he had weren't really deeply explored beyond the odd dodgy little sex scene here or there and the occasional pass of a spliff. It just disappointed me because it took what should have been a great film from the source and made it into a middle of the road dull little pro-weed time waste.
    Wouldn't recommend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Watch the interview and see what u think.

Rude. Not making any sense. Telling sh*t stories. Trying to be funny and failing every time. He was basically off his chops by the looks of it and came across as a bit of a mess. Had never seen him being interviewed before,and like him as an actor so was surprised.

I've seen ifans being interviewed by johnathan ross while being in a similar state.
    Strange how ross was able to work with him and have a decent light hearted and funny interview.
    Tubridy pissed him off by clearly trying to have him admit to being stoned on tv.
    I'd imagine it's decent host etiquette to treat your guests with a bit of respect, which tubridy didn't.
    My opinion is that tubridy came across like a bit of a tit, especially bearing all the above in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

patch wrote: »
    I've seen ifans being interviewed by johnathan ross while being in a similar state.
    Strange how ross was able to work with him and have a decent light hearted and funny interview.
    Tubridy pissed him off by clearly trying to have him admit to being stoned on tv.
    I'd imagine it's decent host etiquette to treat your guests with a bit of respect, which tubridy didn't.
    My opinion is that tubridy came across like a bit of a tit, especially bearing all the above in mind.

Have to agree with this. It is the presenters job to make the interview interesting. J Ross was excellent because if a guests story began to fall flat, he would interject some hilarity into it.

Asking him 'Seriously, are you stoned?' on live tv was retarded of him.

The Harry Pothead story was good :)

patch wrote: »

Sorry, rubbish. Why shouldn't ivans treat tubridy with some respect. Such an unprofessional display from him.

As for the harry pothead story being funny! Fell flat on its face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Sorry, rubbish. Why shouldn't ivans treat tubridy with some respect. Such an unprofessional display from him.

I totally disagree.

Ifans was trying to have the craic and made jokes.

Yes, he was stoned or drunk, but he was in a good mood.

Jaysus, when Heather Mills was on, he gave her a tongue bath :rolleyes:

When Ifans made jokes, Tubridy clearly was annoyed.

I have noticed that about him before, he only wants to joke when he chooses to, if a guest starts joking, he doesn't know what to do.

When Ifans was jokinly coming on to him, why not joke back, why the snide remark to make Ifans look as if what he said was inappropriate?

He should never have been given the show, it's too big for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

As for the harry pothead story being funny! Fell flat on its face.

You seem to be missing the point.
    Ifans isnt being paid to be polite, tubridy is.
    I'm sure tubridy was well aware ifans was the worse for wear, a proper interviewer would have been able to adapt.