Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wondering

• 15-06-2010 4:53pm

I was wondering....i was down in the town where i live to day...i went to a... coffee shop for a quick coffee as i was paying someone came in with a cv his English wasn't great but he was doing ok....id say he was Spanish but i couldnt be sure of that anyway the manage said to him iv had about 150 cv in the past week so theres no possibility of any work at the moment.

now to what i was wondering why would anyone Latvian/polish/Spanish or what ever come to a county( Ireland ) that thy must know is going through a recession and has huge unemployment and further more its the summer and your going to competing with all the students for a job!!

another thing i was in London a while ago and you still see signs in restaurant windows looking for staff so why wouldnt they go somewhere there is still some work... especially if your main reason for working it to improve your English. ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

mariaalice wrote: »
    I was wondering....i was down in the town where i live to day...i went to a... coffee shop for a quick coffee as i was paying someone came in with a cv his English wasn't great but he was doing ok....id say he was Spanish but i couldnt be sure of that anyway the manage said to him iv had about 150 cv in the past week so theres no possibility of any work at the moment.

now to what i was wondering why would anyone Latvian/polish/Spanish or what ever come to a county( Ireland ) that thy must know is going through a recession and has huge unemployment and further more its the summer and your going to competing with all the students for a job!!

another thing i was in London a while ago and you still see signs in restaurant windows looking for staff so why would they go somewhere there is still some work... especially if your main reason for working it to improve your English. ?

Where else can you talk to joe on liveline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

another thing i was in London a while ago and you still see signs in restaurant windows looking for staff so why wouldnt they go somewhere there is still some work... especially if your main reason for working it to improve your English. ?

to annoy us on the bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Pot. Kettle. Black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Everywhere in Europe is in a recession so don't see how they would fare any better in London especiallu if their English is poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Maybe he's here for reasons other than to just look for work (because of partner, family, studying, had job here but lost it, etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I hope that chap doesn't get a job until his English improves, I hate trying to explain what I want to staff with poor English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Er, maybe he was here y'know before the recession started?

And I presume you meant country not county?

He was about 19 so thats why i think he was here trying to improve his English and was hoping to get a job to keep himself...by the way he looked very upset when the manage told him about the 150cv he had got thats why i noticed him i felt a bit sorry for him to be honest

yes i meant country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

He would want to get a grip on himself and read about the state of the country before he comes here, he has no chance of getting a Job here so he might as well go home, Harsh but True.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭lost in my own head

all the same fair play to him for trying, I've noticed that some people especially those who come here with people they know make absolutely no attempt to learn any English at all, and what's even makes it worse is that they think it's k. I mean if you're here just purely out of respect try and pick up at least a few words, so you can at least try and have a conversation with those people who have welcomed you into their country, And such great bunch ye all are. :P. I love the Irish;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Me fail English? Thats unpossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't talk to any foreigners, in case their English is poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

phasers wrote: »
    I hope that chap doesn't get a job until his English improves, I hate trying to explain what I want to staff with poor English.

Don't worry he wont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Poor guy is at least trying to get a job.

We interviewed 10 guys in work for a java programmer position last week. One guy was offered the job, accepted it and was due to start this Monday. He sent the hiring manager an email the Friday before to say he accepted another job.

Seems that if you have the right skills & experience, you can still pick and choose jobs.