Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Holiday Fanta

• 15-06-2010 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭

Whats with the Fanta in this country?

On holidays in places like greece and Italy you get really nice fanta, slightly flatter and not as orangey...

They ruined Fanta here when they put actual organges into it....b*stards

Can you get holiday fanta anywhere in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

giftgrub wrote: »
    On holidays in places like greece and Italy you get really nice fanta, slightly flatter and not as orangey...

Like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Holiday Fanta, brilliant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

Like this?

+1 lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

I'm the opposite, I hate english fanta. How can you call it fanta orange when it's not actually orange?

Here is a good site: http://www.cogulus.com/fanta/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Fanta is shite, Club Orange is far superior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Try an Asian market. Some sell coca cola products from outside Ireland.

The one near capel st sells mountain drew from Arabic countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Does anyone remember the really cool American black kids that toured all the Primary schools in the 80's giving out free Fanta Yo-Yos?

They would preform tricks with them and then give us Yo-Yos with Fanta Logos on 'em.

I did not dream this, it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

I 100% agree with this. All Club products are much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

You take that back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Does anyone remember the really cool American black kids that toured all the Primary schools in the 80's giving out free Fanta Yo-Yos?

They would preform tricks with them and then give us Yo-Yos with Fanta Logos on 'em.

What-Ever!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

I remember that, the chap that was in our school skulled the teacher with one :) how could I forget it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I remember when i first heard of fanta i was aprox 7 and my brother (8) went on the ferry to Ireland and came back to the UK bragging that he had fanta on the ferry, so not fare ( fanta was the new IN thing back then) couldn't care less about him going to Ireland i wanted a fanta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Thinly veiled brag about being rich enough to go on holidays, tbh.

Down with this sort of thing.

Back in my day we got an orange in our sock at Christmas and it was between 7 of us. The sock that is. The orange was between the whole road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The ordanges they use in countries like Spain are far superior to the ones we get. That's my reckoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

If it came down to Holiday Fanta or Club Orange...it'd have to be Holiday Fanta.

Club would get its ass handed to it by Holiday Fanta

I dont think they use actual oranges, thats the secret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

WindSock wrote: »
    The ordanges they use in countries like Spain are far superior to the ones we get. That's my reckoning.

That was my guess to, better quality of oranges and a fresher selection from being picked and produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭Antamojo

There's more sugar in the foreign ones, well there is in the Coke anyway.
    As if there wasn't enough sugar anyway.

Was in boots in Dundrum last night and the fanta definitely looked like holiday fanta, it's a much paler yellow!

They do cherry coke too, mmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

something very very similar happened with us, but it happened in the 90's

the kids that came to our school in the 80's gave out coca cola ones

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Godwins.
    It's a nazi drink.
    Fanta orginated when a trading ban was placed on Nazi Germany by the Allies during World War II.[1] The Coca-Cola GmbH, therefore was not able to import the syrup needed to produce Coca-Cola in Germany.[1] As a result, Max Keith, the man in charge of Coca-Cola's operations in Germany during the second World War, decided to create a new product for the German market, using only ingredients available in Germany at the time,[1] including whey and pomace – the "leftovers of leftovers", as Keith later recalled.[2] The name was the result of a brief brainstorming session, which started with Keith exhorting his team to "use their imagination" ("Fantasie" in German), to which one of his salesmen, Joe Knipp, immediately retorted "Fanta!"
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fanta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's a nazi drink.
    I fecking knew it!
    Bastids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yeah, where they black? I remember getting a load of yo-yos when some people came into the school. We robbed the box of them and sold them around town, we where all useless at doing the tricks so we used them as flailing weapons instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Obligatory Token Finches mention.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Yes!

Two of them visited us in fourth class - 1981 / 82. Started a yo-yo craze in the school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

teh farck is holiday fanta?

It a sex act. I'm surprised this thread hasn't been closed to be honest it's disgusting so it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

Ahhh no - Irish Fanta is by far superior!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Its only the King of carbonated drinks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

Can't stand the fanta in Italy, Spain, France etc..

As mentioned previously though, ye can't bait the club...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I think if someone did bring out a drink called "Holiday Fanta" that sales would skyrocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Can you not get Orangina over in Ireland any more? That has the je ne sais quoi of Holiday Fanta in spades, and it also has that distinctive bottle that makes you feel like you're drinking some rare potion.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Holiday Fanta? I heard of a Traveller Fanta once...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

griffdaddy wrote: »
    Orangina

Fake tan vagina?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

giftgrub wrote: »
    They ruined Fanta here when they put actual organges into it....b*stards

Without oranges it is not an orange drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

griffdaddy wrote: »
    Can you not get Orangina over in Ireland any more? That has the je ne sais quoi of Holiday Fanta in spades, and it also has that distinctive bottle that makes you feel like you're drinking some rare potion.

Haven't seen that anywhere in ages!
    I thought I seen it in Asda once,but no.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Explain Finches then.
    It is the Rolls Royce of fizzy, carbonated orange type drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Offy wrote: »
    I remember that, the chap that was in our school skulled the teacher with one :) how could I forget it? :D

Wonder could the teacher remember though :)

Fake tan vagina?
    Speaking of vaginas, has anyone seen the multipacks of full sized mars bars in Lidl? Doesn't it look like there's a chocolate vagina on the pack? The gushing milk splashing around it only enforces the image.

Explain Finches then.

Explained!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Not really, they all contain the same amount of sugar, more or less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

ScumLord wrote: »
    we where all useless at doing the tricks so we used them as flailing weapons instead.

I was pretty good at it now, it has to be said.

Could do the 'Walk the dog' and the 'Moonwalk' no bother :cool:

Course, if you gave me one now - I'd have no clue what to do :p

Not really, they all contain the same amount of sugar, more or less.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orangina

Orangina is a carbonated citrus beverage made from orange, lemon, and mandarin juice.

I guess there's your answer then. Fanta is just orange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

+1,000,000 here OP. Love pints of Holiday Fanta with a straw, and also the Schweppes Naranja out of cans in Spain. Yum. THe Fanta from the drinks fountains in the cinema ain't half bad either.

But overall, cans of Club Rock Shandy FTW (the circa 1994 formula)
    Explain Finches then.

I think it's p1ss tbh ... they give that and Finches Rock Shandy away free with rolls in the local Spar, and I tend to give them away myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

Must say i agree with you on that one, the uk fanta has gotten far too sugary!