Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NZ Maoris V Ireland.18th June.**Mod Warning. Read OP**

• 15-06-2010 7:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Well done lads, a fair few of you have, once again, covered yourselves in glory on this thread. I'll be reviewing it once I've got the time.

danthefan, the highground, arrogance. All banned one week. The rugby forum is not a place for working out your personal dislike of each other and getting into petty spats which have bugger all to do with the game. This has been one of the worst threads on the forum for a while, a real return to the bad old days and you've all contributed handsomely.

I'm reopening the thread to allow rational discussion of yesterdays game. Keep it civil and OT.

Irish team announced

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/irish/8740521.stm

Is it just me , or is this one of the worst Irish teams in an age - to me it makes a mockery of International rugby , most of our top players should be being rested instead of being pitted against the worlds best - dont blame the players but greedy officials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Bit of an odd over-reaction thebaz, I don't see how you could take issue with this selection (outside of taking issue with the tour as a whole). Surely our top players are being rested for this one?

The team was always going to be something like this. Clearly, Jonny, Reddan and Murphy are being auditioned for a starting spot in the Australia game, while Buckle and Jennings not being named would appear to indicate that they are inked in for the test. Surprised Flannery hasn't been included, I'd have thought he needed the match to show his fitness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I dunno, this team doesn't look much worse than the one that took the field against the All Blacks - different but not worse. It will be interesting to see how Reddan gets on starting and Johnny Sexton get his chance to shine. Going to be a tough one though. You have to put your money on the Maoris and it should be a try fest. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

I think that is about as perfect a squad as he could have selected.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

remember this is a non cap game, players will not get caps as far as i know for this

i personally would have liked to see more of the 15 who played against the all blacks to play again.

Its a big chance for paddy wallace, sexton, reddan, henry and court to force their way into the 15 for the australia game

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

WHat will Hayes give off the bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

thebaz wrote: »
    Irish team announced

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/irish/8740521.stm

Is it just me , or is this one of the worst Irish teams in an age - to me it makes a mockery of International rugby , most of our top players should be being rested instead of being pitted against the worlds best - dont blame the players but greedy officials

OP you should change the title to match thread, lest we have two threads discussing one game.

Ireland team:
    G Murphy (captain); S Horgan, G Duffy, P Wallace, J Murphy; J Sexton, E Reddan; M Horan, J Fogarty, T Court, E O'Donoghue, D Tuohy, R Ruddock, N Ronan, C Henry.

Replacements: S Cronin, J Hayes, D O'Callaghan, D Wallace, P Stringer, R O'Gara, R Kearney.

Not sure what you're complaining about. This isn't international rugby per se, since it's not a test match. I'm very happy with this selection.

Buckley not involved is a good sign IMO, maybe Kidney has finally seen the light and will start him ahead of Hayes next week. On the flip side, O'Leary is gonna be there too. :(

Although this match isn't capped, does any kind of appearance in the senior team mean Ruddock cannot declare for Wales?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

Decent team, good to see Kidney is actually giving a game to up and coming and squad players, he could have went for a 'have to win one game on tour' mentality and picked the likes of BOD etc. On another note, congratulations to Geordan Murphy on earning the captaincy, he has always had a great attitude despite settling for bench spots more often than not.
    Only main talking point for me is the exclusion of Jennings, which I hope means he will be starting next week.
    Well done Kidney on picking an experimental XV, it doesn't matter if we lose if we learn something about these players and give them experience playing in the green jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭redroar1942

Would love to see Sexton and Stringer get 20 minutes together.

At last a coach who gives his whole squad a chance to audition for the next test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

Very happy with the team selection. It is funny how people were having a go at Kidney for being conservative and not giving the more inexperienced lads a game and yet when he goes and names a team like this people still get bent out of shape about it. If we lose, we lose. But at least the lads on the team will have some experience against some of the world's most physical players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Jemo wrote: »
    Only main talking point for me is the exclusion of Jennings, which I hope means he will be starting next week.

I think I read somewhere (possibly the IT) that he took a knock to his ankle but should be ok by the Aus game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I'm confused.
    What was your point OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

d'Oracle wrote: »
    I'm confused.
    What was your point OP?

my point is that i think it is a very weak team - the midfield, backrow - in fact the whole pack - the Maoris i believe will destroy that team - i just find this whole tour ridiculous

Oh and just another think that's a bit OT:

Last week against NZ it was amazing to see the number of people on boards who claimed they were turning off the match after the 1st 20-30 mins. We all knew we didn't stand a good chance of winning but the people who turned off just because Ireland were losing, I have no respect for. You support your team, whether your winning 6 Nations Grand Slams or getting your ass handed to you by the All Blacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

that team was to be expected. kidney said himself that there was no point asking a fella to travel half way round the world and not give him a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

my point is that i think it is a very weak team - the midfield, backrow - in fact the whole pack - the Maoris i believe will destroy that team - i just find this whole tour ridiculous

You do realise that the Maoris aren't exactly world beaters themselves....don't you?.

I mean, nobody puts out a full strength side against what is essentially a NZ thirds (or seconds depending on if the Junior All Blacks are playing) squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭nosco

most of our top players should be being rested instead of being pitted against the worlds best - dont blame the players but greedy officials

I think this is the confusing line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Wow! Good luck Ruddock! What a dream opportunity for him!

And big congratulations to Murphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Well why not wait until the Maori team has been announced before your predictions? I didn't see their game at the weekend but there aren't many All Blacks in the side, and only one is a tight five forward. They've some great outside backs though.

As for the tour. Do you really want Ireland to play no international rugby other than the Six Nations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Is this being televised/streamed anywhere?

Its on Sky sports 1 on friday morning ko at 8.30 am. I imagine there'll be a few links available on the day of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

It's on Sky Sports 1 NZ so maybe there'll be a stream going.

• I am absolutely ****ing delighted with that selection.

Gives a lot of players a chance to hold their hands up and demand first team inclusions. Realistically, after last week's performance, there's 10/11 places that could be put under pressure from a good game.

Good work Kidney.

(Don't mind if we get hamered, want to see how certain elements of the team play together - far more important imo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

on a side not, ruddock is some tank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

i dont like ruddock starting this game, playing AIL and under 20 is nowere near the level needed for this match,

although i wish him all the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,742 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

As for the tour. Do you really want Ireland to play no international rugby other than the Six Nations?

well i seam to be alone here thinking the senior players are knackered - they looked on their final legs during the end of the Magners -the seson now seams to start in August and end in June - that seams madness certainly to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Good chance to see a couple of players, Murphy and Reddan in particular should be playing for starts against Australia. You have to look beyond this game, if guys go well are they going to come into the frame or is DK going to go back to his favourites by default? TOL by rights should be nowhere near the team for the Aus game for example, so if Reddan plays well will he be rewarded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

some_dose wrote: »

Last week against NZ it was amazing to see the number of people on boards who claimed they were turning off the match after the 1st 20-30 mins. We all knew we didn't stand a good chance of winning but the people who turned off just because Ireland were losing, I have no respect for. You support your team, whether your winning 6 Nations Grand Slams or getting your ass handed to you by the All Blacks.

Don't take this as some sort of munster bias but it seems a very dublin thing to do, either in rugby,football or soccer that I've seen. I've stayed at soccer matches and my team losing 5-0, the very best thing for a team is encouragement, nothing worse than on a hiding to nothing and people losing faith in ya. I'd never leave the team I'm supporting down like that.
    Very happy with the team selection. It is funny how people were having a go at Kidney for being conservative and not giving the more inexperienced lads a game and yet when he goes and names a team like this people still get bent out of shape about it. If we lose, we lose. But at least the lads on the team will have some experience against some of the world's most physical players

I'm delighted with the selection, I think there's been an overeaction to kidneys selection policy, I think he has a bit more freedom in Munster when to pull players etc, but he's done well in blooding new players and trying to move forward. Slowly slowly catchy monkey..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

well i seam to be alone here thinking the senior players are knackered - they looked on their final legs during the end of the Magners -the seson now seams to start in August and end in June - that seams madness certainly to me

If you think players play too many games the solution is to make the club season shorter, though given that the Magners League had 10 teams in it this season, I don't see how this is really feasible. Though our players don't play in all that many ML games anyway.

What you're advocating is to scrap all international rugby bar the Six Nations and World Cup.

Irish internationals never start in August. This season they started at the very end of September/start of October, I think the 30-0 game might have been the first game for many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

outwest wrote: »
    i dont like ruddock starting this game, playing AIL and under 20 is nowere near the level needed for this match,

although i wish him all the best

I agree that it's not ideal, but there is literally no one else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I agree that it's not ideal, but there is literally no one else.

...well we're traditionally very slow in blooding young players so I'm glad to see this. Also the fact that he's captained teams shows a maturity which will hold him in good stead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Seriously why did we not bring more centres? Is this roughly the 30 (plus the crooked lads who would of been picked) that ll be heading to the WC cause we are seriously short on high level back up 12s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Silverado

Pity he stopped with Ruddock. Is this not an ideal opportunity to try out some new young talent like Nevin Spence and Simon Zebo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Silverado wrote: »
    Pity he stopped with Ruddock. Is this not an ideal opportunity to try out some new young talent like Nevin Spence and Simon Zebo.

None of those players have any experience at even Magners League level. I don't think it would be fair to them, or their more established team mates, to try and push their development along.

If we didn't have about 7 or 8 back row forwards unavailable for this game then Ruddock wouldn't have been considered either. He is all we have left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

To all the Irish lads on tour, and I know ye are reading. Best of luck on friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

good post, good luck to all, enjoy the game, rotura is a nice place!!!

`gavin duffy enjoy it and congrats to Murphy

None of those players have any experience at even Magners League level. I don't think it would be fair to them, or their more established team mates, to try and push their development along.

If we didn't have about 7 or 8 back row forwards unavailable for this game then Ruddock wouldn't have been considered either. He is all we have left.

Zebo played a couple of ML games for Munster towards the end of the season but is still a bit positionally nieve. Spence is too physically under developed so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

I was one of those people who 'switched off', or in my case - I walked out of the pub I was in, but not for those reasons. I can handle watching my team lose, but I wont stomach cheating and thuggery in the name of my country - which is what Heaslip and O Gara resorted to.

Heaslip I put down to a rush of blood to the head, but watching a seasoned professional such as ROG pulling the jersey off the player that had him well and truly beaten - that was disgraceful. I felt embarrassed for my country and walked out. No regrets there whatsoever. What ever happens play it fair. That's all I ask whether its my team or the opposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Spore wrote: »
    I was one of those people who 'switched off', or in my case - I walked out of the pub I was in, but not for those reasons. I can handle watching my team lose, but I wont stomach cheating and thuggery in the name of my country - which is what Heaslip and O Gara resorted to.

Heaslip I put down to a rush of blood to the head, but watching a seasoned professional such as ROG pulling the jersey off the player that had him well and truly beaten - that was disgraceful. I felt embarrassed for my country and walked out. No regrets there whatsoever. What ever happens play it fair. That's all I ask whether its my team or the opposition.

Yeah, what ROG did was much worse. :rolleyes:

To all the Irish lads on tour, and I know ye are reading. Best of luck on friday.

Exactly. Enough of the naysayers. Good luck lads and I'll be cheering ye on from me bed on Friday morning! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

is this on tv,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

SkySports1 and SkySportsHD1 - as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

If this is true then I just want to pass on one piece of advice in case BOD didn't hand on the memo.

Do not. I repeat. Do not, under any circumstances throw grass in the air after the Maoris do the Haka.

It can have serious consequences on your health and well being! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

SkySports1 and SkySportsHD1 - as far as I know.

on the red button I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

This is the most naive post I've ever read on boards. Buddy, if fans walked away from rugby every time someone didn't play "fair" the game would be dead by now.

So you stop watching a game anytine a yellow is issued or a penalty try awarded?

As they are for cheating too.

Cheating is a part of rugby. Conning the ref in the scrums, doing whatever you can get away with at the breakdown, subtle bits of obstruction, etc. These are actually skills that people make careers out of. Hell Alan Quinlan just runs around the pitch for 80 mins thinking of new ways to cheat and seeing what he can get away with (and I'm not having a go, you have to applaud him for it).

danthefan wrote: »
    Cheating is a part of rugby. Conning the ref in the scrums, doing whatever you can get away with at the breakdown, subtle bits of obstruction, etc. These are actually skills that people make careers out of. Hell Alan Quinlan just runs around the pitch for 80 mins thinking of new ways to cheat and seeing what he can get away with (and I'm not having a go, you have to applaud him for it).

Got to be frustrating to play against him.

Even one of the munster lads gave him a smack in the baa baa's game.

castie wrote: »
    Got to be frustrating to play against him.

Even one of the munster lads gave him a smack in the baa baa's game.

Horan hit him a beauty on the chin. He absolutely deserved it and was smiling aftwerwards the fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭mountain

gally74 wrote: »
    good post, good luck to all, enjoy the game, rotura is a nice place!!!

`gavin duffy enjoy it and congrats to Murphy

it may be nice, but the smell, can be awful at times.