Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munich for the w/e

• 15-06-2010 1:59am
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭

howdy,

A few lads heading to Munich for the weekend. I know a few lads off here live in Munchen - so info required :)

Will probably do the Hofbrauhaus and the Augustiner Keller near Marienplatz.
    But what about night life and good pubs.
    Is Gunther Murphys still about ?
    Whats the best area/pubs to goto on the sat night with a nightclub nearby.

(all I remember from 20 years ago is walking miles to Nachtwerk !!)

any other ideas ?
    thanks

k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭moonstreet

I used to live in Munich in 2002 / 2003 so my info might be out of date but its worth a try

Hard Rock Cafe opposite Hofbrauhaus is a must, (used to work there :) )

Killans Irish Bar http://www.kiliansirishpub.com

best cocktails in Munich Cohibar City
    http://www.cohibar-city.bz.tc/photo2.html
    http://www.toytowngermany.com/munich/cohibar_city.html

abit hard to find but well worth it Molly Malones
    http://www.molly-malones.org/

Munich has its own mini nightclub village , just north of the city centre, used to be called Kunstpark Ost, Munich
    http://www.toytowngermany.com/munich/_introducing_the_kultfabrik.html

if you are really on the lash ALABAMAHALLE is an experience in its self. When I lived in Munich, it was 13 Euros on the door, then all drinks free once you were inside, open till 8am, used to be full of Irish and British, strange that!!
    http://www.alabamahalle.de/
    http://www.igougo.com/entertainment-reviews-b1557-Munich-Alabamahalle.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

karltimber wrote: »
    Is Gunther Murphys still about ?
    Gunthers is gone.

As an alternative, Kilians beside marienplatz is probably the best option for catching a gaa/ permiership match (with a gang of lads someone always is a feckin burnley fan or some such bollix and cant miss 1 game out of 38 league games or whatever).
    If ye are in munich for the world cup then skip the irish pubs. All the beergardens pretty much are showing all the games, the most impressive option so far is the Augustiner Beergarden (aka augustiner keller).
    4 Big tellys and 6000 seats, all outdoors. And augustiner beer. Sweet!
    If its raining then Löwenbraükeller as they have 2500 seats in their main beerhall showing the matches.

now......
    As for nightclubs,
    Ye probably cant go wrong with the Kultfabrik area, and the Optimolwerk( incl Alabamahalle) is right beside it.
    Theres lots of bars, and lots of clubs.
    Theres other clubs elsewhere, but if you arent 16 then the Kultfabrik area is probably the best bet.

On the other hand, cocktail bars like Sausilitos (theres one just off marienplatz and another near the uni) are where the chicks hang out for a good time. Munich chicks are a funny breed. They only seem to let their hair down at Octoberfest or their nights out at cocktail bars. For the rest of the year they are nibbling on salad and drinking water.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

When did Gunthers close down - lived there in 1990 :rolleyes:

That Augustiner keller - with the lovely Edelstoff - the one near marienplatz or to the right of the hauptbahnhof ?

Whats the best beergarden in the Englisher garden - what u-bahn stop is it at ?

Is there any need to go upto the Schwabing area for nightlife.
    (Schwabinger 7 still there - best pub ever)

K

gunthers closed down since a few years back. Just upped sticks and legged it back to ireland.

Schwabinger 7 JUST about still in existance. That half block of buildings was never rebuilt properly after the war so is destined finally to be redeveloped into swish apartments. Developer already had served notice of demolition but credit crisis intervened to save the Schwabinger 7 as the developers financing was pulled at the last minute!!

Schwabing is not the place it used to be for nightlife.
    During the day though its buzzing with cafes and proper home made icecream parlours and well worth a visit. If germany wins a game in the world cup its also the place to go to celebrate afterwards!! There was something like 60,000 on leopoldstrasse drinking cans and singing after they beat Argentina in the last world cup!! And to be fair its not much different if the italians win either!! Munich is the most northerly city in Italy after all!!

The Augustiner Keller is indeed the beergarden to the right of the Hauptbahnof.
    Since you left theres also another augustiner at the brewery itself on the left of the bahnhof just a little beyond hackerbrucke. Pints 2.40! And you wont get fresher.
    Also centrally theres a new augustiner there at the cathedral beside the Nurnberg sausage place.

The chinese tower beergarden is probably what you are looking for in the english gardens. U bahn stop is Giselastrasse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭moonstreet

just remembered another late night bar, good for a quiet late night drink
    Mara's Bar around the corner from Hard Rock Cafe and Hofbräuhaus, opposite the Police station, Hochbruckenstr. 14. Its a tiny Bavarian Bar, run by Mara, a mad elderly German woman. Depending on her mood, she may also serve you food and if you speak German,as she dosn't speak English, she might tell you stories about Munich from years ago!! Spent many a night here after work, not leaving till 6am, in time for breakfast on the go from the Muller Bakery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 RubyB82

Hi There, Could anyone suggest a pub in Munich that would be showing the Munster Match this sunday?:)

best bet would be Kilians
    http://www.kiliansirishpub.com/

they have the most tvs and the most satelite equipment which is useful when theres other rugby and premiership on at the same time, which is the case next sunday. (only 1 premiership game is currently listed on their website as being shown but they do show as much as possible)

the only other place that might show it is molly malones but you'd want to ring them to see.