Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advise for a 6 year old

• 14-06-2010 10:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭

For the last month my ADHD child has taken an out of the blue interest in classical music.

He insists that the classic radio station plays on the clock radio before bedtime. He goes to sleep with it

This has been going on for 6 weeks now. Most nights.

To further surprise us(the wife and myself), we went to my mothers house for a visit last weekend. She has a good piano.

He sat down and started to play. Not banging . but really softly playing around, testing notes. Softly calmly. Slowly. This is very odd for him with his condition. He is a basher of all things.

my sister who plays a little gave him a level one book . Basic notes and timing. He had the 10 simple tunes finished in one sitting.

We have decided to buy a little keyboard for him. Just to explore his interest.

What should we be looking out for?

any advise on how to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Hmm, sounds like he could have a genuine interest in getting good at it, or a genuine talent here? I wouldn't want to spoil the possibilities with a bad keyboard. A cheapo productions job can take all the enjoyment out of playing the piano.

Get something with weighted keys and a good-sized keyboard. Loads of toy keyboards come in 49 key versions, with a real piano at 88 keys. I have an old 73 key digital piano that does me fine. It's way out of date by today's standards, but it works. The most important thing I think is weight velocity-sensitive keys.

Would second hand be out of the question? You could get a much better piano for the same amount of money. Have a look on adverts.ie at the digital pianos? A lot of people even give acoustic pianos away for free, if you have a look at the 'free stuff' section. Maybe worth considering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've known one or two guys who have ADHD and could only fully relax and stop being hyper when around a musical instrument...both play guitar and bass to a decent level now as it happens.

If your child continues showing interest like that, getting him a small piano or keyboard would work wonders for his focus and condition:) Try to nurture it if at all possible, he could be pretty amazing at playing when older if thats the case!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Sandvich

A good digital piano would be a good idea. Especially if it can be used as an MIDI controller, you can hook it up to a computer and control all kinds of sounds.

I think it'd definitely be a positive and you have a positive attitude towards it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Quillo

My six year old has one of these to practice on at home and has been going to lessons once a week (1 hour) for six months now. She loves it. Sound quality in Grand Piano voicing with reverb is very realistic and the velocity sensitive keys are quite close to a real piano.

http://music.yamaha.com/products/specifications.html?productId=1028379&hierarchy_id=20020_20023_16277

http://www.thomann.de/ie/yamaha_psre323_set.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

The e323 is very good but I'd recommend checking it out with your son before getting one. Something as simple as the feel of the keyboard might put him off. If it works out then great, if not you can look at other options like digital pianos or a half decent second-hand piano or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

money is an issue . Im off on the sick for the last 2 months.

I am going to go for a keyboard under 100 and send him to lessons . If he shows promise I will soon upgrade.

I dont want to spend a pile of money, to find that he has no interest after a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

gsxr1 wrote: »
    my ADHD child has taken an out of the blue interest in classical music.

I suggest you read Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks, Daniel Levitin's This Is Your Brain On Music - you might be surprised. It might help to start off with the psychology of music in general.

Ancient1 wrote: »
    I suggest you read Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks, Daniel Levitin's This Is Your Brain On Music - you might be surprised. It might help to start off with the psychology of music in general.

some interesting links there.

I might get one of them. cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Sandvich

I have ADHD, and unfortunately it it interferes with my ability to learn songs and theory to the point where I just can't.

The idea of music actually helping someone with their ADHD seems very special indeed and something that should be encouraged.

Sandvich wrote: »
    I have ADHD, and unfortunately it it interferes with my ability to learn songs and theory to the point where I just can't.

The idea of music actually helping someone with their ADHD seems very special indeed and something that should be encouraged.

i know the feeling, But I was never diagnosed. My son was . After a careful year of observation by HSE people. All credit to them.

He was prescribed the famous ADHD drug im sure you have heard off it, and life has been turned around. He is now top of his class in most subjects.

When the effect of the drug wares off at 3pm his symptoms return in full. Which is OK. He is just being himself in his own home and out with his mates.

These are the times I am targeting . Its just a try out for now, but its more than just a want for him to like good music and maybe try and play it.
    It is an attempt to try and focus his attention without Ritalin . And learn calm. (What ever that is)

that has gone way off topic. Sorry. These are my particular concerns as a his ole boy, and why im on here asking advise on piano .

ye never know. . He might be good at it.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Maybe check on adverts.ie for a decent but still cheap keyboard or piano.
    Also some people give pianos away for free on the free list,you would only have to get it tuned after that so maybe keep an eye on that.