Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caught with no car tax.

• 14-06-2010 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭

I was stopped tonite with no tax.The guards said i have to show insurance cert at station and i will have to go to court.Any way out of this?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

how long is the car out of tax?
    did the guard give you a chance to produce the car to a station with valid tax within the next 10 days or simply say you being fined for no tax and non display of tax?

imo theres no way out of it, you took the risk not paying it and you got caught, once you learn from this then all is not lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭fire_man

I only have the car a couple of weeks,he said to bring the insurance cert to a station within ten days,will i be going to court?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

fire_man wrote: »
    I was stopped tonite with no tax.The guards said i have to show insurance cert at station and i will have to go to court.Any way out of this?

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

the guards normally give you a grace period of 2-3 weeks after buying a car if you are stopped and produce a reciept for buying the car. looks like you got a member of AGS that was having a bad day - no way out of it now though. You'll be hit with a €60 fixed penalty charge for non display, in addition to the no tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

were you allowed drive on with it?? A friend of mine had her car seized when she was stopped parked at a petrol station. Mind you the tax wasn't paid for 2 years!!

Will i be going to court over this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭seanyleary

no. a fine of 60 euro and maybe back tax it. let there be no panic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

No you won't. They have better things to get people into court over!!

Sound,so i should just get it taxed tomoro and bring the insurance cert and tax and pay the fine and i should be ok?Any penalty points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

FFS, stop asking if you'll be going to court.

When did the tax on the car go out?

Sound,so i should just get it taxed tomoro and bring the insurance cert and tax and pay the fine and i should be ok?Any penalty points?

answer the following questions please,

when was the tax out/
    what did the garda say to you?

you now have to pay for tax for at least 3 months in advance plus back tax it to when ever it was out or to when you took ownership of it.

then take the tax disc and the insurance to the gard station of your choice which you told the garda at the time of the stop.

the garda can still send you a fine for no tax and non display of tax so expect a fine.

ok sorry just worried,i bought the car only few wks ago and there was no tax on it.

I bought the car in mid april and there was no tax on it,i had to do some work on the car and it was in and out of the garage so i didnt tax it.The guard didnt believe my story and said u can tell the judge.he said bring the insurance cert into station within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

That AGS member is just being what they normelly are, a pri*k, this will never see a day in court, he'd be laughed out of it if he tried, especially if you have the back tax paid and the rest of the paperwork to prove it.

MC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

seanyleary wrote: »
    no. a fine of 60 euro and maybe back tax it. let there be no panic

How do you know he wont be summonsed???
    mumof2 wrote: »
    No you won't. They have better things to get people into court over!!

Do we???
    I bought the car in mid april and there was no tax on it,i had to do some work on the car and it was in and out of the garage so i didnt tax it.The guard didnt believe my story and said u can tell the judge.he said bring the insurance cert into station within 10 days.

You are obliged to tax your vehicle before you take it to the road. While Max correctly stated Gardaí can give a grace period at their discression.....they dont have to. You can get an FCPN for €60 for non display and a summons for no tax. Your best bet is to tax the car today and take the disc, including the printout from tax office of paying the back tax, to the station you nominated when producing your insurance. You can just pray that the Garda will take pity on you .

You could also try giving him a ring and explaining it again and that you back taxing it.
    That AGS member is just being what they normelly are, a pri*k, this will never see a day in court, he'd be laughed out of it if he tried, especially if you have the back tax paid and the rest of the paperwork to prove it.

MC

Fully enough I have prosecuted people for no tax......only bought a few weeks........back tax paid......amazingly I have NEVER been laughed out of court.....and have a near perfect conviction rate.

Maybe you shouldnt advise people with ideas plucked from your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

How do you know he wont be summonsed???

Do we???

You are obliged to tax your vehicle before you take it to the road. While Max correctly stated Gardaí can give a grace period at their discression.....they dont have to. You can get an FCPN for €60 for non display and a summons for no tax. Your best bet is to tax the car today and take the disc, including the printout from tax office of paying the back tax, to the station you nominated when producing your insurance. You can just pray that the Garda will take pity on you .

You could also try giving him a ring and explaining it again and that you back taxing it.

Fully enough I have prosecuted people for no tax......only bought a few weeks........back tax paid......amazingly I have NEVER been laughed out of court.....and have a near perfect conviction rate.

Whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

kceire wrote: »
    ...the garda can still send you a fine for no tax and non display of tax so expect a fine.

...he can send it alright, but if you pay the backtax, which you can, then you shouldn't be prosecuted for no tax, as it's paid. Otherwise there's no point in backtax even existing, is there ?

Non-display is all you can be got for, then.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Really ? You prosecuted someone who had bought a car a few weeks before you stopped them. I would like to think if I was stopped and explained to a Garda that I bought the car 3 weeks ago and the change of ownership form has just arrived / has yet to arrive but I intend taxing it over the next few days / as soon as the form comes that the Garda would be reasonable enough.

In fact I have had that conversation about 4 time in the last two years and all 4 of the Gardai have been reasonable despite one of them being the cockiest, t0sser I have ever encountered.

Presumably the folk you prosecuted were not polite, respectful members of the public but rude t0sser types ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭CaraFawn

Hum, do you really need to have the certificate of registration to your own name before you can tax the car?
    I doubt it, the form in question to tax the car does not ask anything about the certificate of ownership.
    And when you register a car for the first time, they give you a form anyway, even though you do not have the cert yet, you can still tax your car.
    Not trying to be smart here, but for me, "no cert, I can't tax my car", is just an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That AGS member is just being what they normelly are, a pri*k

I've been in many situations like where I taxed my car online but had not yet received the actual tax disc. Out of NCT but with a test coming up. In those situations I always print out proof of having paid the tax, etc.

Any time I have been stopped on a road block, the Garda stopping me has been observant and professional (spotting the car being out of tax or test) and letting me go seeing my "evidence" of having paid the tax or having arranged for the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

galwaytt wrote: »
    Otherwise there's no point in backtax even existing, is there ?

In that case theres no point in the fine existing if back taxing it means you dont get it.

back taxing should be the minimum requirement when caught, not a substitute for a penalty.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Really ? You prosecuted someone who had bought a car a few weeks before you stopped them. I would like to think if I was stopped and explained to a Garda that I bought the car 3 weeks ago and the change of ownership form has just arrived / has yet to arrive but I intend taxing it over the next few days / as soon as the form comes that the Garda would be reasonable enough.

The OP bought the car in mid April, "A few weeks ago" is him being very generous to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Presumably the folk you prosecuted were not polite, respectful members of the public but rude t0sser types ?

Cookie for you my friend;). Nail on head
    unkel wrote: »

I've been in many situations like where I taxed my car online but had not yet received the actual tax disc. Out of NCT but with a test coming up. In those situations I always print out proof of having paid the tax, etc.

Any time I have been stopped on a road block, the Garda stopping me has been observant and professional (spotting the car being out of tax or test) and letting me go seeing my "evidence" of having paid the tax or having arranged for the test

That'll cover you alright and while you can still get an FCPN no Garda will.....unles you fall into the bracket set out by RoverJames....which im pretty sure you dont!!

unkel wrote: »

Indeed, I was stopped in my old W124 last summer in Galway, unmarked chaps pulled me over on a dual carraigeway after observing me parked on footpath. No tax (change of onwership form hadn't arrived), no NCT (had failed it 2 days previous, had fail report on me) and no insurance disc (had a screenshot of the policy transfer though). The Garda didn't have an issue once I explained the situation and but for whatever reason took a dislike to me. He asked me had I come to their attention before, no say 1, "do I look familiar Garda" ;). The joys of having the face of an angel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

The joys of having a face like a slapped arse:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

MC
    Ah no. Have you been to court lately, there is a LOT of people up for no tax. Its up to how the guard wants to play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭BollickyBill

If you only bought the car recently then you should only be liable for tax from the date you bought it. My advice to you is to have it taxed to cover the time when you were stopped and have all your documents and receipts with you when you go to court. Be nice and mannerly to the judge and it will stand to you. Best of luck.
    Regards, BB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

MC
    Whatever

MunsterCycling, you obviously have a bee in your bonnet about the Gardai. Please don't post in this thread again unless you have something constructive and very relevant to say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

No excuse tbh.

Mid April is 2 months ago, not a few weeks. You would have had to pay back tax anyway so why wait?

CaraFawn wrote: »
    Hum, do you really need to have the certificate of registration to your own name before you can tax the car?

If the ownership has not been transferred to your name they won't allow you tax the car in your name. Also if the car was not taxed for 4 or 5 months before you bought it you would need the change of ownership form to enable you to tax it from date of purchase.

So, answer is Yes you do :)

No doubt once the change is on the system a cashier may let you tax it but if your details don;t match what the system says than no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Indeed, I was stopped in my old W124 last summer in Galway, unmarked chaps pulled me over on a dual carraigeway after observing me parked on footpath. No tax (change of onwership form hadn't arrived), no NCT (had failed it 2 days previous, had fail report on me) and no insurance disc (had a screenshot of the policy transfer though). The Garda didn't have an issue once I explained the situation and but for whatever reason took a dislike to me. He asked me had I come to their attention before, no say 1, "do I look familiar Garda" ;). The joys of having the face of an angel :)

Now, I don't want to nitpick, but you nothing displayed, and wondered why the Gardi took a dislike to you?

Fact of the matter is, you're not supposed to have a car on a public road WITHOUT tax, for whatever reason. You're not supposed to have a car on a public road with no NCT for whatever reason, and you said yourself it was a fail, and your not supposed to drive a car on a public road without insurance, but as you had your policy transfered, you were covered.

Not being on a high horse, as I've done similar, though not all at the same time, but I wouldn't be getting arsey about the Gardi stopping me, as I know I was breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

OP, you bought the car in Mid April, it's now Mid June - 2 months later, you are lucky that they did not take the car off you there and then...

galwaytt wrote: »
    ...he can send it alright, but if you pay the backtax, which you can, then you shouldn't be prosecuted for no tax, as it's paid. Otherwise there's no point in backtax even existing, is there ?

Non-display is all you can be got for, then.

the car was not taxed at the time of the offence, he can still be fined for it, back taxing it doesnt take away from the fact he was on a public road driving without tax.

Now, I don't want to nitpick, but you nothing displayed, and wondered why the Gardi took a dislike to you?

Fact of the matter is, you're not supposed to have a car on a public road WITHOUT tax, for whatever reason. You're not supposed to have a car on a public road with no NCT for whatever reason, and you said yourself it was a fail, and your not supposed to drive a car on a public road without insurance, but as you had your policy transfered, you were covered.

Not being on a high horse, as I've done similar, though not all at the same time, but I wouldn't be getting arsey about the Gardi stopping me, as I know I was breaking the law.

Who was getting arsey with him ?
    Also on the NCT fail report they specify if the car is not to be used on a public road or not before being repaired and presented for retest ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

OP, sounds like you were taking the mickey a little with regards how long you were taking to get the thing taxed. Its one thing if you were in the process of getting her taxed, but by the sounds of it you hadnt even started the process yet, and got caught nearly two months later. I would expect the Guard to have taken leniancy had it been a week or two, but any longer than that and its asking a lot.

Just to balance out the scales a little in terms of the stories of AGS, I was stopped by a young Guard in town about a week after I bought my car; I had no tax, insurance discs on the car (was waiting on insurance disc so I could tax the car), and I had stupidly left all my paperwork at home (which I only realised when I went to show it to the Guard). He wasnt impressed but after I explained myself to him and that it was a genuine mistake, even tho I had no way of proving any of my story, he let me go when he would have been well within his rights to take the car from me.

Unfortunately there are a lot of Guards in this country whos actions and attitude give the force a bad name, but from my experience they are the minority and most are pretty decent to deal with, provided of course that you deal with them in a respectful manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Since no-one has said it yet, I'll come out and say it so:

OP, I hope you get prosecuted to the full extend of the law. I've had it with chancers driving around without tax/insurance/NCT and when caught, try to find a way out of it.

There.

(Waiting for the old high horse cliché ...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Since no-one has said it yet, I'll come out and say it so:

OP, I hope you get prosecuted to the full extend of the law. I've had it with chancers driving around without tax/insurance/NCT and when caught, try to find a way out of it.

There.

(Waiting for the old high horse cliché ...)

Ah yeah but sure your only saying that because you know its safe to do so as this thread is most definitely not on the OP's side. He's an easy target really for such critiscim.
    He made a mistake, he's not evil. Put the lynching ropes away.

At the same time its tough sh!t really if your caught with an expired tax disc thats maybe 6/7 weeks out of date.
    In that case it really is at the discretion of the guard thats noticed it.

If the person in question had the cheek to be an ignorant arse about the whole thing then i'd reciprocate with a similar attitude if i was a guard. At the end of the day, if your at fault your better off keeping your mouth shut.

TBH any guards that ive ever been in contact with on the road have been sound enough. You get the odd eejit, just like people from any profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Will i be going to court over this?

Do what he said and bring your insurance cert to the station within 10 days, and while you are at it, tax the f**ing thing too and produce that, then you won't be going to court.....
    Failure to do that will result in court and they'l throw the book at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

kceire wrote: »
    the car was not taxed at the time of the offence, he can still be fined for it, back taxing it doesnt take away from the fact he was on a public road driving without tax.

If it goes to court it will make a difference to the judge though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

MC

If I were you i'd reassess how you relate to the Gardaí when stopped. I've been pulled many times for speeding over the years, and not once was I charged. They're people just like anyone else - a little decency (and contrition where appropriate) goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Anan1 wrote: »
    If I were you i'd reassess how you relate to the Gardaí when stopped. I've been pulled many times for speeding over the years, and not once was I charged. They're people just like anyone else - a little decency (and contrition where appropriate) goes a long way.

Absolutely. In my job (tech support), as Im sure as with in any job, your attitude towards your customers is dictated largely by their attitude towards you. The main difference is that in my job I dont have the power to be used at my discresion to punish people legally. I learned a long time ago that guards do, and as such it doesnt pay to get their backs up.