Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ladbrokes .

• 14-06-2010 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭

I very recently had a bet with Ladbrokes ,the race was a 3 mile chase .the race had just started[gone 20yards walking pace] no problem getting bet on with others behind also getting on .The horse won at 5/1 so i went to collect 300e she returned my 50e stake.I was told i was 8 seconds late so i had a no bet.I then told everybody behind me who backed a horse in that race to collect their stake even though the backed a loser,they had a no bet.EVERYBODY was refused their stake return.So if you back a winner after the off [4 seconds] you will not get paid.this is a new policy at the scum that is Ladbrokes.they will keep your losing stake although its a no bet.PLEASE LET EVERYBODY KNOW THIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

thats quite a common issue - you should mention it on the gambling forum !....yawn !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

PCPhoto wrote: »
    thats quite a common issue - you should mention it on the gambling forum !....yawn !

Far from a common issue in fairness.

It is a grey area when placing bets. Most places publicise no bets after the off however if the race is going off there is the normal charge of punters running to the counter to place their bets. never ever in my experience of being in a betting shop if the guys bets after the off had lost would they ever try to claim their stake back. I'd actually try and bring this up with head office but from my dealings with Laddies they are a shower of pr1cks.
    I actually think this is why PP have brought in the betting in running facility in their shops and it gives everyone a chance to get there bets on.

Ladbrokes >>>> Pr1cks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

OP are you saying that they took other bets after yours too?
    if so thery didnt tell them that they were due their money back, so for anyone who they took a bet off after the off, they could only break even or lose
    it's akin to stealing imo, pity the gardai would never involve themselves in this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'd ring head office and keep ringing til I get someone's throat in my hands. That's double crossing. Don't pay them if it wins but for the reason they won't give you your money,they don't give back the losers for some reason? *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,237 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Not a huge fan of Lads but I dont really believe the OP tbh. Unless they have changed their policy very recently they usually take bets for a bit after the off. They then flash up 'No more bets' on their screens same as PP. Would it be possible that a horse unseated/refused to start etc at the off? What was day and time of race? As regards people behind you, Ive never really seen more than two people trying to put bets on after the off at the same time unless its a planned 'attack' on the bookie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭ComplyOrDie

Something similar happened me when in paddy powers. I was in a que waiting to put on a €5 double backstage 6/5 and shayakan (spelled wrong) 14/1 and when my time came to be served they took my double, backstages race was off when i place my bet. then about 45 seconds later the chap from behind the counter came out and told me that he was sorry but my dbl would be reverted to a single as the race was off. I said fair enough as they still had about 12f to go. It turned out that backstage was only second and shayakan won at 14/1. so i had a €5 win on at 14/1 wahoooooooooooo.

But if i was told after a race that my bet was canceled i would go mad. Ladbrokes would want to up their game if they want to keep their customers. I find their staff unfriendly (only my opinion of the shop i have gone into) i find paddy powers and boylesports customers service is much better. Just my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭westlife2010

Ladbrokes are the worst run, untrained idiots in the betting world. The trading people have to be the biggest dopes of them all. If I told you the idiotic stuff they have come back to me about you would laugh (or cry). I fully believe the OP and have seen similar stuff happen in their shops. If anybody bet AFTER you, backed a loser, and was refused their money back (while you wr told that your bet was void even though it was put on BEFORE their bets) then, if they are regulars, you should get them to object to the bookies licence. This bookies (and others) treat customers like 2nd rate citizens and it’s not getting any better. The only thing these bookies hate more than anything is negative publicity. They don’t give a damn about the ordinary punter. What other service industry would treat their customers with condescending tones and ignorance...... NONE, cause they would not be in business for long. Just sit back and listen to the day to day treatment of clients and compare it, to say, walking into a supermarket or retail store...... It is PR that would only be tolerated in an industry supported by addiction.