Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

YOUR BIGGEST RIVAL

• 14-06-2010 2:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Name your county and what county/counties are your rivals.

I'm from Louth and we really only have Meath as rivals.....Monaghan and Armagh are in a different province and we don't mind them doing well.

I know Cavan people have rivilary with Meath but usually it's all kept in the same province

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Waterford.

Kilkenny.

Yeah, not ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Kerry: Cork and Tyrone.

In an All Ireland Final I fear Down and no one else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Tipp naturally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Dublin: Meath

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I think KK are Cork's biggest rivals ( when you look at AI's won, otherwise tip)
    Unfortunately Kerry in football - why do they have to be in munster. I still have a strong spot for Meath - 87 and 88 left scars that 90 only barely covered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 StPatsFc

Dublin here - Kerry closely followed by Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Westmeath-Meath
    Cavan-Meath
    Dublin-Meath
    Surprised their isn't an ABM supporters club out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Cork: Kerry, Tipp and Kilkenny in that order.

However if Tipp became an ever present monkey on my back, I think it might change to the other way around. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

patmac wrote: »
    Westmeath-Meath
    Cavan-Meath
    Dublin-Meath
    Surprised their isn't an ABM supporters club out there!

Those rivalry's have declined big time since the decline in Meath football and the decline in Leinster football in general though. Had it not happened there probably would be but we love to be hated anyway, its a sign of being great :D

As a Meath man the only rival these days would be Dublin, Louth to a much lesser extent as in we love beating them but I dont mind seeing them do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Waterford: Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

its cork and nobody else comes close. im going to kerry v cork games since i was 7 or 8, its the stuff of legend.

others

dublin, but they aint beaten us in 33 years and most of the big kerry v dublin rivalry comes from an era before i was born.
    tyrone, but theres only a few years "history" there.
    mayo, cos i simply hate their fairweather fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Waterford.

In the city the rivalry is all with KK
    but in the West of the county its with Cork,
    & in other parts in the north it´s with Tipp.

we feel a little Israel sometimes .... surrounded by enemys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Cork are our biggest rivals by far and this is driven as much off the field as it is on. The Root of the Kerry/Cork gulf goes back to civil war politics when Cork were fierce freestaters and Kerry staunch anti-treatyites. In more modern times it is rooted is cross border slagging due to alot of Kerry people working in Cork and living near the border bringing them into close contact with Corkconians on a daily basis, such rivalry with Tyrone or Dublin could not exist due to Geography.

In recent times it has intensified to unreal proportions with Kerry owning this Cork team almost every time and Cork are absolutely gagging for to take the Kerry scalp on just one big occasion. Kerry have played Cork in Croke Park seven times since 2002 and the closest Cork ever came was a draw in 2008 when they got a late goal and a converted penalty.

Since 2000:

2000: Munster Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 2-15 Cork 1-13

2001: Munster Final: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Kerry 0-19 Cork 1-13

2002: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-08 Cork 0-08

2002: Munster Semi-Final Replay: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 0-15 Kerry 1-09

2002: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-07

2003: Did not meet in the championship due to Limerick beating Cork 0-16 to 0-06 in Páirc Uí Chaoimh in the first round of the Munster Championship.

2004: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-07

2005: Munster Final: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Kerry 1-11 Cork 0-11

2005: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-09

2006: Munster Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-10 Cork 0-10

2006: Munster Final Replay: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 1-12 Kerry 0-09

2006: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10

2007: Munster Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-13

2007: All-Ireland Final: Croke Park
    Kerry 3-13 Cork 1-09

2008: Munster Final: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11

2008: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 1-13 Cork 3-07

2008: All-Ireland Semi-final replay: Croke Park
    Kerry 3-14 Cork 2-13

2009: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-13 Cork 1-10

2009: Munster Semi-Final Replay: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 1-17 Kerry 0-12

2009: All-Ireland Final: Croke Park
    Kerry 0-16 Cork 1-09

2010: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-15

2010: Munster Semi-Final Replay AET: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-14

In the last ten years Kerry and Cork have met a grand total of 21 times with Kerry triumphing 12 times with 5 draws and 4 wins for Cork so it is clear where the rivalry comes from!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

I'm from Meath and we are rivals with everyone. :D

But especially Dublin. And Cork. And Mayo. And Offaly. And Kildare.

It's a tough life... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Wicklow - Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Kilkenny => Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

comeraghs wrote: »
    Waterford.

In the city the rivalry is all with KK
    but in the West of the county its with Cork,
    & in other parts in the north it´s with Tipp.

we feel a little Israel sometimes .... surrounded by enemys.
    We have the same colours on the flag too.Coinkidink if I ever heard one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

From Cork

In Football it's Kerry followed by Meath (for games in late 80's and 90's)

Hurling has be Tipp and Kilkenny. Waterford though have pushed themselves up there for games since 1999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭jj72

Mayo - - Croke Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭wicklowstar

Wicklow.. Kildare, and Dublin!!

Well everyones rival is dublin.
    Only county shouting for them yesterday was themselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Cork Footballers - Kerry

Cork Hurlers - Tipp and Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Donegal - Tyrone and Derry as neighbours and Armagh just because of the past ten years.

Nothing like a nice friendly bunch of rivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

its cork and nobody else comes close. im going to kerry v cork games since i was 7 or 8, its the stuff of legend.

others

dublin, but they aint beaten us in 33 years and most of the big kerry v dublin rivalry comes from an era before i was born.
    tyrone, but theres only a few years "history" there.
    mayo, cos i simply hate their fairweather fans.

This is unbelievably hypocritical from a Kerry person... The most fairweather supporters are ye, about 1000 at the game yesterday yet ye are all experts before and after the game and when its coming up to September....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

glanman wrote: »
    This is unbelievably hypocritical from a Kerry person... The most fairweather supporters are ye, about 1000 at the game yesterday yet ye are all experts before and after the game and when its coming up to September....

Now now, thats not fair!!!! at least 1750;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

From Dublin.
    Every other county as the country folk dislike Dublin with a passion they don't even afford their own team.

Really it's Meath, always good games between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭deccy15

Clare

Tipp for the obvious reasons and Waterford for the amount of whingin they did in 98!! I'd say most Clare people would say the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

what i love about the meath dublin rivalry is the teams knock lumps outta each other every time but theres no running to the papers after it to have a whinge about it.have to say as a meath man the only game the nerves kick in for is the dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Dublin: Meath is the most intense one and being on the hill yesterday re-enforced that and Kerry are our other rivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Rebel Fan

Stinicker wrote: »
    Cork are our biggest rivals by far and this is driven as much off the field as it is on. The Root of the Kerry/Cork gulf goes back to civil war politics when Cork were fierce freestaters and Kerry staunch anti-treatyites. In more modern times it is rooted is cross border slagging due to alot of Kerry people working in Cork and living near the border bringing them into close contact with Corkconians on a daily basis, such rivalry with Tyrone or Dublin could not exist due to Geography.

In recent times it has intensified to unreal proportions with Kerry owning this Cork team almost every time and Cork are absolutely gagging for to take the Kerry scalp on just one big occasion. Kerry have played Cork in Croke Park seven times since 2002 and the closest Cork ever came was a draw in 2008 when they got a late goal and a converted penalty.

Since 2000:

2000: Munster Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 2-15 Cork 1-13

2001: Munster Final: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Kerry 0-19 Cork 1-13

2002: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-08 Cork 0-08

2002: Munster Semi-Final Replay: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 0-15 Kerry 1-09

2002: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-07

2003: Did not meet in the championship due to Limerick beating Cork 0-16 to 0-06 in Páirc Uí Chaoimh in the first round of the Munster Championship.

2004: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-07

2005: Munster Final: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Kerry 1-11 Cork 0-11

2005: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-09

2006: Munster Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-10 Cork 0-10

2006: Munster Final Replay: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 1-12 Kerry 0-09

2006: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10

2007: Munster Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-13

2007: All-Ireland Final: Croke Park
    Kerry 3-13 Cork 1-09

2008: Munster Final: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11

2008: All-Ireland Semi-final: Croke Park
    Kerry 1-13 Cork 3-07

2008: All-Ireland Semi-final replay: Croke Park
    Kerry 3-14 Cork 2-13

2009: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-13 Cork 1-10

2009: Munster Semi-Final Replay: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Cork 1-17 Kerry 0-12

2009: All-Ireland Final: Croke Park
    Kerry 0-16 Cork 1-09

2010: Munster Semi-Final: Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney
    Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-15

2010: Munster Semi-Final Replay AET: Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork
    Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-14

In the last ten years Kerry and Cork have met a grand total of 21 times with Kerry triumphing 12 times with 5 draws and 4 wins for Cork so it is clear where the rivalry comes from!

Jesus you must have been up all night doing that one. I'm a Cork fanatic living in Belfast and a lover of both games, but as a former city boy my first love is hurling. Biggest rivals have to be the premier, my first Munster Final was in 84 in Thurles and I remember it like it was yesterday. Munster final day in Thurles is better than an All Ireland, the atmosphere is the best I've ever witnessed and I've been to Anfield and Parkhead countless times. Nothing compares to the rivalry of Cork and Tipp but it's a friendly rivalry, never a bad word said and the banter between supporters before and after the game is magic. Kilkenny come a close second though, like Kerry in football they put us in our place more often than not. I'll always remember 04 though, 50000 Rebels in Croke Park cheering on the boys to a famous win over the Cats. In football it has to be the Kingdom, there's nothing worse than being labelled the 2nd best team in the country and for that label to be correct. I am quietly optimistic about the footballers this year though, the qualifiers will harden them as a team and hopefully we'll meet Kerry in Croker later in the summer. Sooner or later we'll give them a hiding of a lifetime and it may just be this year (PLEASE GOD!!!!!!!!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

As a Dubliner, it has to be Meath and Kerry.

To add a little twist to the thread, here's an extra question: Who would you support if your two greatest rivals were playing each other? In a Meath v Kerry game, I'd prefer Meath to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Rebel Fan

If it was Kerry V Dublin I hate to say it but it would be Kerry. They just play a brand of football that is a delight to watch.

In hurling if it was Tipp v Kilkenny it would have to be Tipp, a great hurling county and as I said in previous posts Thurles is the best town in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Cork

Hurling: Kilkenny Tipperary and Waterford

Football: Kerry and Meath

Flukey wrote: »
    To add a little twist to the thread, here's an extra question: Who would you support if your two greatest rivals were playing each other? In a Meath v Kerry game, I'd prefer Meath to win.

The referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Flukey wrote: »
    As a Dubliner, it has to be Meath and Kerry.

Good question.

Tyrone v Derry it would pain me but it would have to be Tyrone. I would also rather see Stephen O'Neill win than Paddy Bradley any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Tipperary hands down for me.

Pity we wont run them close for the next 10 years :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Cork are our biggest rivals by far and this is driven as much off the field as it is on. The Root of the Kerry/Cork gulf goes back to civil war politics when Cork were fierce freestaters and Kerry staunch anti-treatyites.
    Considering Cork was probably the last bastion of anti-treatyite power, i would disagree with that statement.
    Rebel Fan wrote: »
    Nothing compares to the rivalry of Cork and Tipp but it's a friendly rivalry, never a bad word said
    Not totally friendly - my mum is great friends with a sister of a former Cork great of the 70s/80s. He loathed Tipp in his playing days and still does now. I've met him a few times and his language turns blue when they are mentioned. He said he has jerseys from all the opposition teams he faced, all except Tipp that is. I think its kind of sad, but just goes to show that sometimes there is actually an inbred hatred in certain people towards other tribes.

As for Limerick - our greatest rivals would be Tipperary, Cork, Clare, in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

. Cork were fierce freestaters

I think you need to re-do leaving cert history frankly. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Orizio wrote: »
    I think you need to re-do leaving cert history frankly. ;)

Tipperary and our main rivals would be Killkenny and Cork in no particular order though. That said we had a great and bitter rivalry with Galway in the late 80s (laochra gael on tg4 had a great show on this, in fact thats a great show full stop) and also with Clare in the mid 90s.

And I think its certainly unfair to call the rebel county free staters, however I do love the fact that the rebel nickname came from the support of a band of cork people for a pretender to the english throne during the war of the roses.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Who would Dublin see as main rivals in hurling terms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

As a Limerick man i would have to say Tipp and Clare would be my own personal rivals!!Love it when we beat them!

adrian522 wrote: »
    Who would Dublin see as main rivals in hurling terms?

Kilkenny I'd say, possibly Wexford.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Ad Deccy said, Tipp and then Waterford, before 98 it would have been Tipp and Limerick (mainly limerick), but Waterford have gone to the top of the pile, as has been said before, other teams have beaten us, they have cost us.

Football, Kilkenny, for the right to be the worst team in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Din Taylor

Exact opposite to you I'm afraid OP. Went to school in Drogheda and had to put up with you boys going on and on about 1957. In general though our biggest rivalry is with the Dubs.

enda1 wrote: »
    Kilkenny=>Tipp

Tipp=>Kilkenny

depending on what part of tipp your from you may hate...
    • Limerick in the West and in some parts of north (Nenagh, Newport, etc). same could apply to Clare and Galway.
    • Waterford down in carrick or Clonmel,
    • Offaly up north near Roscrea,
    • Ironically we dont border cork much but have an ancient rivalry with them over the years with the munster championship
    • But if your from Mullinahone, Grangemockler-Ninemilehouse, parts of Carrick, Ballingarry-The Commons, Gortnahoe, Moyne-Templetouhy well then its imperative you hate them Cats. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭tom thum

carrick swans . biggest rival carrick davins. and we whipped them a couple of sundays ago. hooray.

also, im a tipp man and i just hate waterford with a passion. i have the upmost respect for kilkenny. weird eh!!!!!!!!

tom thum wrote: »
    i have the upmost respect for kilkenny. weird eh!!!!!!!!

im starting to lose respect for you Tom Thum :D That shower hate us whahayaaa playing at at all??:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

I'm in a town that borders both Kilkenny and Waterford. I'd hate Waterford with a passion and although I have a strong dislike for the Cats, I'd respect their hurling ability. Some of their players are a joy to watch.

Cork in Thurles is also a favourite of mine. Serious banter between the fans before, during and after the game.

P.s. As Tom Thumb said, Carrick Davins would be the biggest rivals. There's not one good word I can say about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

I wonder with the Carrick lads is it that ye are used to getting beaten by KK but just haven´t got used to being beaten by The Deise (yet) and that´s what hurts :)

comeraghs wrote: »
    I wonder with the Carrick lads is it that ye are used to getting beaten by KK but just haven´t got used to being beaten by The Deise (yet) and that´s what hurts :)

at least we dont get walloped in finals by the cats. We have fantastic record vs KK over the years. they have only beaten us in 3 All Ireland finals since 1922 and on two other occasions in semis. When it comes to squeaky bum time we've been more then a match for the cats but no match for Diarmuid Kirwan :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Mayo and Wexford. I hate them both.