Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where does one complain about low flying aircraft.

• 13-06-2010 08:52PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭

Its now 9.48 pm on a sunday night . Kids trying to sleep.

There has been a blue and white helicopter hovering low and circling Sallins all day and is still there. Low enough for me to see the people inside.

He lands and takes of in the area alot.

The noise is making the plates rattle in my house. I live in a large estate.

The residents are out on the street right now giving out.

Does one call the Garda with such matters.??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

Assuming it wasn't the Garda heli itself :o you can lodge a complaint directly with the IAA here

They will require the reg so see if you can get see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

What time does VFR close at? any idea of what type it is? if you can see the people you will easily see the reg EI-??? or G-???? etc etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

I would have thought VFR finished with sundown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

i googled the garda helicopter image.

It was them.

guess thats that then.

they disappeared soon after my post. Maybe they have board.ie in the cockpit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

pclancy wrote: »

Normally does paul :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Clearly as it was the Garda they had a damm good reason to be there. Can't understand why you never saw them before. Many is the time, living in Dublin for them to be hovering over my bloody house at some ungodly hour. But, I knew they were chasing someone nasty so didn't mind too much.

Be grateful they are there.

Funny thing though, my brother met them at the Dublin Airport once. He said 'So you are the ones hovering overing my house all night'. They said: 'LOL, they all say that!'.

The only helicopters that operate at night are the Air Corps and the Air Corps operated Garda choppers. Don't complain they have a good reason to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

They said LOL? Weirdos..... :p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

xflyer wrote: »
    Clearly as it was the Garda they had a damm good reason to be there. Can't understand why you never saw them before. Many is the time, living in Dublin for them to be hovering over my bloody house at some ungodly hour. But, I knew they were chasing someone nasty so didn't mind too much.

Be grateful they are there.

Funny thing though, my brother met them at the Dublin Airport once. He said 'So you are the ones hovering overing my house all night'. They said: 'LOL, they all say that!'.

The only helicopters that operate at night are the Air Corps and the Air Corps operated Garda choppers. Don't complain they have a good reason to be there.

I certainly will complain. And did. This was all day. Not just for the hours towards dusk . On a Sunday. No way is that acceptable behavior.

They cant be doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I certainly will complain. And did. This was all day. Not just for the hours towards dusk . On a Sunday. No way is that acceptable behavior.

They cant be doing that.

[sarcasm]Yep, cos the bad guys that the Garda Copter would be watching are all in their Mammy's having Sunday dinner after going to Mass.

And why do the Gardai and Ambulances and Fire Engines INSIST in driving with those blue lights flashing and making all that noise... How dare they disturb me. [/sarcasm]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

pclancy wrote: »

VFR ends at 30 minutes after the official sunset time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

They cant be doing that.

NIMBY !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Wonder would he complain if they were after thugs that had looted his home I doubt it very much, thank God they are up there he must have little else to do or does not like our boys in blue. they have a very good reason to be there they were not doing jollys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭yaeger

gsxr1.... Seriously cop yourself on.. Complain about the garda helicopter !
    Do you ever look at tv or see people in real life who just do the most stoopid things ever and makes you go what a complete " ______ "...
    Today my friend your that person. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

They cant be doing that.
    Well then in all seriousness, ring the Air Corps as they operate the thing. That or Garda headquarters. No doubt they will explain their unacceptable behaviour to you.

You should be glad it wasn't the earlier model, which was a lot noisier. Many is the time I was woken in the early hours of the morning as it hovered overhead flicking it's searchlight to and fro. I never thought to complain as I knew it had a good reason to be there.

Other than that I suggest you get over it. Whatever the reason it was there. It won't be back soon unless you live in a big city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

yaeger wrote: »
    gsxr1.... Seriously cop yourself on.. Complain about the garda helicopter !
    Do you ever look at tv or see people in real life who just do the most stoopid things ever and makes you go what a complete " ______ "...
    Today my friend your that person. :rolleyes:

Bit harsh? We've all been kept awake by the chopper and cursed it at one stage or another, and if it was nearby for an entire day of course people would be annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Well then in all seriousness, ring the Air Corps as they operate the thing. That or Garda headquarters. No doubt they will explain their unacceptable behaviour to you.

You should be glad it wasn't the earlier model, which was a lot noisier. Many is the time I was woken in the early hours of the morning as it hovered overhead flicking it's searchlight to and fro. I never thought to complain as I knew it had a good reason to be there.

Other than that I suggest you get over it. Whatever the reason it was there. It won't be back soon unless you live in a big city.

Tone it down a little no need for the aggressiveness of the post.
    lads keep it to a discussion not aggressive posts toward a poster if you want to attack something attack a post not a poster.
    consider it a warning to all as i dont want t issue bans in here but will if needs be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

My understanding is that as the Garda helicopter is flown by Air Corps pilots and from an Air Corps base the irish Aviation Authority have absolutely zero jurisdiction over it's operation so any complaints should be addressed to Dept of Defence ?

have to say though that they are protecting everyone so I would never complain about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

They cant be doing that.

2ba100.jpg

My understanding is that the Aer Corps and AGS are exempt normaly passenger flight rules.

Something like CHC who operate the 6 IrCG Rescue helicopters......they run on passenger flight rules (dont understand them nor will I pretend to) unless they get a call......then they can do what they bloody like and with good cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Its now 9.48 pm on a sunday night . Kids trying to sleep.

There has been a blue and white helicopter hovering low and circling Sallins all day and is still there. Low enough for me to see the people inside.

He lands and takes of in the area alot.

The noise is making the plates rattle in my house. I live in a large estate.

The residents are out on the street right now giving out.

Does one call the Garda with such matters.??

PM me if you want the direct phone number for the Garda Air Support Unit (it isn't listed on garda.ie or military.ie so I won't post it publicly). I don't know what mission they were on but if they were about for an extended period of time then I would guess that they were after either a missing (someone in the canal or Liffey maybe?) or wanted person. Either way, they weren't there for no reason. I know a couple of the pilots, if I am talking to them I'll try and find out what was going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

The only helicopters that operate at night are the Air Corps and the Air Corps operated Garda choppers.

Dont forget the fine men and women of the Irish Coast Guard.

Absurdum wrote: »
    I know a couple of the pilots, if I am talking to them I'll try and find out what was going on.

No offence but for OPSEC i doubt they will tell you what they were at.

delancey42 wrote: »
    My understanding is that as the Garda helicopter is flown by Air Corps pilots and from an Air Corps base the irish Aviation Authority have absolutely zero jurisdiction over it's operation so any complaints should be addressed to Dept of Defence ?

Indeed, Based at Baldonnel. Flown by Air Corps with Gardai on board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Shanair

andy_g wrote: »
    Normally does paul :)

Sunset plus 1/2 hour in Summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,439 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Steyr wrote: »
    Indeed, Based at Baldonnel. Flown by Air Corps with Gardai on board.

Don't I know it, they seem to fly over my home in Lucan (about a mile or so away from Baldonnel) on many of their missions outbound and inbound :)

Their helicopter does seem to be particularly loud, or maybe it's because they're flying lower than most other helicopters? Anyone any more information what kinda helicopter it is? Anyway whenever I see it, I'm glad it is out there trying to fight crime.

And that said, the helicopter traffic over my home (also only about 2 miles from Weston) is only a fraction of what it used to be a few years ago. I guess many of our so called tycoons sold or mothballed their private helicopters :rolleyes:

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Chiron

Dont forget the fine men and women of the Irish Coast Guard.

Or anybody that flys special vfr within a control zone or ifr outside of a control zone.

unkel wrote: »
    Anyone any more information what kinda helicopter it is?

Garda ASU* operate the EC135 T2's and the Air Corps operate the EC135 P2.

The "T2" AND "P2" refers to the type of engine fitted to that variant of the EC135,

The Serial numbers for the Gardai EC135 T2's are:

"272" MSN / CN: 0478
    "256" MSN / CN: 0149

*Garda ASU = GASU = Garda Air Support Unit, Flown by Air Corps Personnel with Gardai onboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭jmkennedyie

Perhaps Gardai were searching canal, railway etc. for this kid. Seems he went missing end May http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0531/delaneyr.html but spotted Newbridge Sunday evening http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0616/missing.html.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

No offence but for OPSEC i doubt they will tell you what they were at.

well that depends on who's asking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Mr CJ

They cant be doing that.

Now anyone attempting to go missing or have a major incident must not do so on a Sunday as it may require several rescue/garda helicopter flights and this is not "acceptable behaviour" :rolleyes:

There is always one!!

Mr CJ wrote: »

There is always one!!

Unfortunately in Ireland we are plagued with hundreds of them..why do we need this, why do we have that yak yak yak..Idiots

Ok I think this thread has served its purpose.