Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Did You Start Out Club DJing?

• 12-06-2010 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭

Just curious as how you guys got started DJing in clubs and how long it took?

There's a lot of DJs out there, it kinda seems like they'll take anyone. Anytime I see a promo picture for a night in a club I only rarely see familiar names.

Did any of you do house gigs? I can't see many people wanting a DJ at a free gaff but I'd say if you had lighting or whatnot you could have a fun night. DublinDJs have a lot of nice things to say about amateur/house DJs.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

It's very much about who you know - going to gigs, meeting people, making connections, getting gigs. Every city is flooded with DJ's and plenty of them are talented, a small number of people usually control the scene so you have to get in with them. Persistence is key - enthusiasm and commitment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Got asked to do a warmup slot after plugging away at house parties and in my bedroom for a couple of years... If you're not prepared to compromise on what you play it can take a while...

As for "it kinda seems they'll take anyone" all I can say is that any night I've ever been involved in has gone to great lengths to keep lineups as fresh, as diverse and as local as possible, sometimes to the clear detriment of getting bums on seats as it were... I'd rather give someone their first gig than their hundredth, but there's still no way they're getting a shot until they're ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I got my first by playing at a house party, was playing away, and a vague friend who runs nights came up and asked me to play.

House party's are good for getting gigs actually, especially if it's the kind of party where the music is dominant. Anyone who needs a DJ that the party will automatically think of you.

Knowing people is the most important, good attitude second, good music third, and good mixing last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I've been DJing gaffs for the last short while, great way to get exposure. Do it for free so there is no onus to do a super pro job but many like to give you a few bob at the end:) I put that back into my gear.

Getting a PA and doing gaffs is a great way to prove yourself in my eyes.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

I started out about 10 years ago playing in a local pub in my town, that led on to more gigs, 21st, weddings and so on

that then led to playing the local clubs for a few years, which were just cattle marts, and the same music, week in week out.

But it soon led to me hating doing it, so gave it up, didn't play gigs for a few years till I moved to France when I got back in to it, as the clubs I was going to were playing actual club music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Been meaning to reply but I've been busy with exams. Thanks for the info guys, I wouldn't mind throwing a few gaff parties with a proper setup on a nice sunny day, could have a mate inside as a kinda chillout area in the shade with some lighter stuff (Trance) and me outside with the harder stuff (Hardstyle/Hardcore).

Only problem is nobody likes the music I play, so with the exception of 6-7 of my friends coming down I doubt many of them will be bothered making there way down to my gaff, I was thinking of going to The Vaults and telling some people as they play that music there but that's probably a really bad idea...

Probably best if I just done 1 area indoors, but I'd still have a small crowd.

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Been meaning to reply but I've been busy with exams. Thanks for the info guys, I wouldn't mind throwing a few gaff parties with a proper setup on a nice sunny day, could have a mate inside as a kinda chillout area in the shade with some lighter stuff (Trance) and me outside with the harder stuff (Hardstyle/Hardcore).

Only problem is nobody likes the music I play, so with the exception of 6-7 of my friends coming down I doubt many of them will be bothered making there way down to my gaff, I was thinking of going to The Vaults and telling some people as they play that music there but that's probably a really bad idea...

You simply cant play what you like TBH, it just doesnt work. I've tried with electro stuff:rolleyes: If you want people to listen you gotta go with mainstream, but you can get some slightly nicer remixes as long as the track is recognisable:)

Start small and build it up mate, I'd imagine Hardstyle and Hardcore gigs are pretty thin on the ground in Dublin though... Keep working at it, keep going to nights where the stuff you like gets played, stick around and say hi to the lads running the night afterwards, get your face known, hand out a few mixes here and there, if you've got the skills you'll get where you want to be eventually... And if you think only six of your mates will show up to gaff party with decks and drink and loose women and enough drugs to stun a moose then you're clearly lacking in imagination! :pac:

You simply cant play what you like TBH, it just doesnt work. I've tried with electro stuff:rolleyes: If you want people to listen you gotta go with mainstream, but you can get some slightly nicer remixes as long as the track is recognisable:)

BULL****

Seriously, if you're going to compromise on what you play you've no right to play anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Quiggers

Blag, you gotta spoof it and then walk the walk. and most clubs in ireland are comercial so forget playing minimal and tech house, lady gaga is your new best friend, just promise me you'll never play maniac 2000, be proud to say "sorry i dont have than one"

Quiggers wrote: »
    Blag, you gotta spoof it and then walk the walk. and most clubs in ireland are comercial so forget playing minimal and tech house, lady gaga is your new best friend, just promise me you'll never play maniac 2000, be proud to say "sorry i dont have than one"

Forget about playing minimal or tech house because it's not 2005, you mean?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Ah there is still plenty of tech house around. I think its a genre that has aged quite well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

jesus christ....

why the fcuk would you want to dj in a club if you are willing to play music you don't like?

If you can't play the music you like in a club, you're not good enough to be playing there in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Zascar wrote: »
    Ah there is still plenty of tech house around. I think its a genre that has aged quite well!

I really disagree. About the aging thing that is. The past 18 months have seen the genre go from extremely bland generic sh1te to just completely redundant nonsense.

On the whole of course.

As far as popularity, I thought tech-house was dead a long time ago. Umek in tripod a few months back was absolutely empty.

Let me clarify, yes, play the music you like, but in terms of gaffs as the OP said, it will be less than a dozen people.

I'm a novice myself but I dont see how you could start off playing a specific genre to an audience. Obviously every rule has its exceptions but I think its a ladder that you've gotta climb from the bottom.

I F'n hate playing Mr Gaga and Katie Perry but I'd rather have to play a few stinkers than nothing at all.

Let me clarify, yes, play the music you like, but in terms of gaffs as the OP said, it will be less than a dozen people.

I'm a novice myself but I dont see how you could start off playing a specific genre to an audience. Obviously every rule has its exceptions but I think its a ladder that you've gotta climb from the bottom.

I F'n hate playing Mr Gaga and Katie Perry but I'd rather have to play a few stinkers than nothing at all.

Fair enough mate, I've never done a gig that wasn't either DnB or Dubstep / Hip-Hop/ UK Garage / Bassline House... I played an 80's set for a few hours at a mate's 30th because she handed me a box of old 45's before we all got stuck into the jungle (she was the one who gave me my first ever gig many moons ago and still has a pretty lethal DnB selection) but as much as I enjoy mixing I fail to see why I'd bother turning up if I have to play stuff I don't support...

I need to steal your mates:)

I've had great fun playing classic house sets at house parties where no one is into techno. There is no way I'd be playing Lady Ga Ga etc but I have found a few nice house type remixes of fairly cheesy chart type songs

Start small and build it up mate, I'd imagine Hardstyle and Hardcore gigs are pretty thin on the ground in Dublin though... Keep working at it, keep going to nights where the stuff you like gets played, stick around and say hi to the lads running the night afterwards, get your face known, hand out a few mixes here and there, if you've got the skills you'll get where you want to be eventually... And if you think only six of your mates will show up to gaff party with decks and drink and loose women and enough drugs to stun a moose then you're clearly lacking in imagination! :pac:

Yeah, I'll have a chat with the lads in charge some night. How would I go about handing out the CDs though, hand them to the lads running the night or the people in the club or both? I'll only play the music I like though, I don't want to play something I hate while doing something I like. Where's the fun in DJing if you don't like what you're playing?

I know what will get people to my party, I'll use the dirty tactic other clubs use and put the artists names on a flyer instead of the DJs that will be playing, I too will have Crystal Castles :pac:

Yeah, I'll have a chat with the lads in charge some night. How would I go about handing out the CDs though, hand them to the lads running the night or the people in the club or both? I'll only play the music I like though, I don't want to play something I hate while doing something I like. Where's the fun in DJing if you don't like what you're playing?

I know what will get people to my party, I'll use the dirty tactic other clubs use and put the artists names on a flyer instead of the DJs that will be playing, I too will have Crystal Castles :pac:

Hand them to the lads running the night - there's absolutely **** all point giving CD's to the barstaff / bouncers / toilet attendants / cloakroom chick / venue management, although if your number is on the CD (and your number and email address and a link to your facebook / soundcloud etc SHOULD be on the CD) you could give it to the cloakroom chick if she's cute and single and you want her to call you. Make sure you check if she likes hardcore first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Make sure you check if she likes hardcore first though.

Durrty :D

Hand them to the lads running the night - there's absolutely **** all point giving CD's to the barstaff / bouncers / toilet attendants / cloakroom chick / venue management, although if your number is on the CD (and your number and email address and a link to your facebook / soundcloud etc SHOULD be on the CD) you could give it to the cloakroom chick if she's cute and single and you want her to call you. Make sure you check if she likes hardcore first though.

Thanks for the tips, I'll be sure to make up some CDs someday and will include my SoundCloud and other contact info. If I get a job I'll finally get around to buying a hardware controller so I can practice a lot more, maybe by the end of the summer I'll have some good stuff to present to people.
    Jev/N wrote: »
    Durrty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

if your willing to compromise just to get a gig then your in it for all the wrong reasons tbf, the music you like comes first, id rather spend 5 years doing up mixes in my bedroom full of tracks i like, were i know a few people will download them and enjoy them then play music im not really into in a packed club, its not enjoyable, i've done it once or twice in the past, never again, i didnt enjoy myself and if you don't enjoy yourself playing out then there's no point.

I just like the vibe and the act of getting the crowd going. Also, I'm experimenting with ways of making the stuff my own, so I'm not just slaving away, I have fun, the crowd do too, win win. If you are willing to spend 5 years building up like that, fine, I'm far too impatient for that. Life is for living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

sell out

brianc27 wrote: »
    if your willing to compromise just to get a gig then your in it for all the wrong reasons tbf, the music you like comes first, id rather spend 5 years doing up mixes in my bedroom full of tracks i like, were i know a few people will download them and enjoy them then play music im not really into in a packed club, its not enjoyable, i've done it once or twice in the past, never again, i didnt enjoy myself and if you don't enjoy yourself playing out then there's no point.

Yeah, I'm happy doing mixes in my bedroom because people enjoy them and I've gotten decent feedback and a good few downloads. I'd love to play in a club, but I'll only play the music I like. If I was offered residency in a club but had to play something other than what I play I wouldn't take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

Playing music you don't particularly like isn't selling out. If you have to play a few chart music orientated nights to get some experience it would be no bother. I started out doing all birthdays and the likes moved onto clubs doing dancey chart stuff and ended up with a residency with a buddy playing deep house.

I get a buzz from playing to any crowd even if its not deep house or trance or garage or whatever im feeling.

(i reckon you'd be hard pushed to find an irish club that would be playing hardstyle bro!)

HoggyRS wrote: »
    Playing music you don't particularly like isn't selling out. If you have to play a few chart music orientated nights to get some experience it would be no bother. I started out doing all birthdays and the likes moved onto clubs doing dancey chart stuff and ended up with a residency with a buddy playing deep house.

I get a buzz from playing to any crowd even if its not deep house or trance or garage or whatever im feeling.

(i reckon you'd be hard pushed to find an irish club that would be playing hardstyle bro!)

The only club I know that plays it in Dublin is The Vaults, but like I said I don't know how often they play it as their website just says hardcore dance on Fridays, but they usually have an event on every now and then which is hardstyle. I have to say though, fair play to them for not being indie/electro like every other club.

Anyone know if it's easy to get a warm up gig or something? I can't really do anything other than simple beat mixing as I don't know the CDJ1000/DJM800 effects and wouldn't really chance using them much as a beginner. Would be good and it's unlikely I'd steal the show from anyone :P

If I get to do a few warm up gigs I'll be extremely happy. My goal is to get a CDJ400/DJM400 setup in my house, but playing in a club would be brilliant too :)

The only club I know that plays it in Dublin is The Vaults, but like I said I don't know how often they play it as their website just says hardcore dance on Fridays, but they usually have an event on every now and then which is hardstyle. I have to say though, fair play to them for not being indie/electro like every other club.

Anyone know if it's easy to get a warm up gig or something? I can't really do anything other than simple beat mixing as I don't know the CDJ1000/DJM800 effects and wouldn't really chance using them much as a beginner. Would be good and it's unlikely I'd steal the show from anyone :P

If I get to do a few warm up gigs I'll be extremely happy. My goal is to get a CDJ400/DJM400 setup in my house, but playing in a club would be brilliant too :)
    The DJM800 fx are pretty easy to use unless you wanna go all Halliwell on it, which might take some practice. Beatmatching is more important than arseing about with FX!

It's basically just the Colour FX I'd be using, don't think I'd be doing anything too complex but because I've never even used the DJM800, I wouldn't risk messing around with them too much if I got the chance to play at a gig.

Though the beatmatching/beatmixing will be fine, I've never used the CDJ1000/DJM800 but looks easy to use, the first time I used the CDJ400/DJM400 I was off instantly without fault though was lost at what music was playing in the shop lol.

I'm thinking about renting the CDJ1000/DJM800 if I get some money, wouldn't mind messing around with it for a few days.

It's basically just the Colour FX I'd be using, don't think I'd be doing anything too complex but because I've never even used the DJM800, I wouldn't risk messing around with them too much if I got the chance to play at a gig.

Though the beatmatching/beatmixing will be fine, I've never used the CDJ1000/DJM800 but looks easy to use, the first time I used the CDJ400/DJM400 I was off instantly without fault though was lost at what music was playing in the shop lol.

I'm thinking about renting the CDJ1000/DJM800 if I get some money, wouldn't mind messing around with it for a few days.

I've never used cdj400s but ive heard only good things. They seem to be great value for what you get. CDJ1000s are obscenely expensive but they are the best!

Yeah, they are pretty expensive, like most DJ equipment though. But I like how I was able to translate my skills (or lack of :P) from VirtualDJ to the CDJ400, I guess if you know the basics of mixing it's possible to use that and adjust to different equipment, though it's pretty straight forward. Obviously to use certain features you'd have to be used to it.

400s are nice, but I'd choose 800s over them any day, and obviously 1000s. The 400s are just a bit too small to be nice to use, 800s are much nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭noelo

I ve always found getting in with a pirate radio is the best way to work your way up,after all thats how more that half of all radio joc's you hear to day have done it. and all or most of the gig around the city are being run buy pirate radio stations...............it's the best way,start by tuning in and calling in,maybe send in a mix and take it from there.it worked for me many many moon s ago, hope this helps buddy.:cool: stay cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭noelo

400s are nice, but I'd choose 800s over them any day, and obviously 1000s. The 400s are just a bit too small to be nice to use, 800s are much nicer.
    The 2000's are the only way to go now days i think :cool:,and if your a software joc they are super controllers. but :eek:they dont come cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

noelo wrote: »
    I and all or most of the gig around the city are being run buy pirate radio stations...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

I'll cut it short, if you play good tunes you''ll get gig's. dont sell out for the sake of your fame. :)

I actually completely overlooked the 800s, whoops! Just had a look on Aquarius and they're only €100 dearer than the 400s, I thought they were in the region of €900 but are €700. I don't really know the 800s, other than the USB stick and MIDI support, is their anything missing on it that the 400s have? I would like the USB stick support but using CDs is cooler :D

Plus, the 800 has the better jog wheel and I prefer the lights on the Cue/Play buttons :D

The colour kinda throws me off, though I'd probably end up doing a job on it and paint it black :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Koone_20

i'm not arsed scrolling all the way up and quoting you dave sorry, but there is alot of hardcore gigs going on up in Newry and the likes! one of my mates heads up to it atleast once a month so you should check it out :). I'll stick to my drum and bass/dubstep thanks :P

Edit: The place is called Relic in Newry

Koone_20 wrote: »
    i'm not arsed scrolling all the way up and quoting you dave sorry, but there is alot of hardcore gigs going on up in Newry and the likes! one of my mates heads up to it atleast once a month so you should check it out :). I'll stick to my drum and bass/dubstep thanks :P

Edit: The place is called Relic in Newry

Cool thanks, I'll try check them out sometime. Northern Ireland has a decent scene for hardstyle/hardcore, as does Scotland and the midland England. One of the biggest event organisers in the Netherlands, Q-Dance, has hosted events up North, pretty decent ones too, midland England has a fair few events as does Scotland, which also has Masters of Hardcore going there too which I'm dreading I'm going to miss.

The thing is though I'd prefer if they were in the Republic as travel costs are high with flights and a hotel :( Atleast going to Newry isn't that bad cost wise.

I actually completely overlooked the 800s, whoops! Just had a look on Aquarius and they're only €100 dearer than the 400s, I thought they were in the region of €900 but are €700. I don't really know the 800s, other than the USB stick and MIDI support, is their anything missing on it that the 400s have? I would like the USB stick support but using CDs is cooler :D

Plus, the 800 has the better jog wheel and I prefer the lights on the Cue/Play buttons :D

The colour kinda throws me off, though I'd probably end up doing a job on it and paint it black :)

800s have quick looping functions, and the 400s don't. The jog wheels are way nicer, and USB compatibility isn't really that helpful, because you're burning CDs for normally playing on 1000s anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Viva La Cozzy

I'm finally gonna start Djin properly in public places this Summer :D
    But i don't mind what music people wanna hear because i'm pretty versatile..i'll listen to anythin really :)
    It's gonna start off pretty basic, a family friend just opened a pub recently and it's doing really well, it's starting to become the most popular one around.
    He's also in the band Bleshka, and he's gonna help me pick out my speakers and stuff, so most likely his pub will be my firt gig :D
    Hopefully i do well and i might get a few more offers in the meantime :)