Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So i started a darts website/blog

• 11-06-2010 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭

Hey guys

ive been thinking about it for a long time, and over the last 2 weeks i bought a domain and have been working on getting the right setup for the site.

I thought that now its up, firstly obviously i should let you dart people know, but more over i was thinking that it might be an idea to give enthusiasts an account so that we can keep the site up to date and create a great darting reference

the site is
    http://irldarts.com/

Let me know, im still unsure on the theme, so it might yet change, but working to improve it, only a starting thing at the moment which i hope to build it into a catchall reference where people can write about their local leagues, results, winners etc, people can post exhibitions etc and it will have all the information in one handy place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Very best of luck with it. You might change the mens team result thou m8, it seems to be wrong... It was infact limerick that dublin lads beat in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

odd, got the result of this board by dartgod

Hahahahahaaa, so iv one up on old "sully" (1st time for everything):D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

Dicie wrote: »
    Hahahahahaaa, so iv one up on old "sully" (1st time for everything):D:D

There was a time when I NEVER made a mistake - - - now I just NEVER ADMIT to making mistakes !

I got the results from the Minister for Darts and posted same !

Dartgod wrote: »
    There was a time when I NEVER made a mistake - - - now I just NEVER ADMIT to making mistakes !

I got the results from the Minister for Darts and posted same !

I wud say old age, but u havent changed in all the yrs i know u... Im nbot sure if this is a bad or good thing thou.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Hey guys

ive been thinking about it for a long time, and over the last 2 weeks i bought a domain and have been working on getting the right setup for the site.

I thought that now its up, firstly obviously i should let you dart people know, but more over i was thinking that it might be an idea to give enthusiasts an account so that we can keep the site up to date and create a great darting reference

the site is
    http://irldarts.com/

Let me know, im still unsure on the theme, so it might yet change, but working to improve it, only a starting thing at the moment which i hope to build it into a catchall reference where people can write about their local leagues, results, winners etc, people can post exhibitions etc and it will have all the information in one handy place.

Best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Great to see another new Irish darts site. Best of luck with the new site.

Cheers

if anyone is interested in working with me on it, maybe write about their league or something let me know. PM me or email admin@irldarts.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Daffy501

Good man Dion , found this through a google search last night :)

What did you search for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

already better than the wexford darts site... that thing is such a mess... its a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

Cheers

if anyone is interested in working with me on it, maybe write about their league or something let me know. PM me or email admin@irldarts.com

Only one game to go in our league, I could do it next season though!

Yeah rat, most leagues are over, but the idea is to put together a calendar of events

league write up, league tables maybe, results

Tournament results

track the irish players in the PDC/BDO

all in one place, that is updated regularly

Gave it a fresher cleaner look today

Gonna start looking for writers soon and see if we cant make this a useful resource, had a suggestion of tracking a player who practices regularly and try track their improvement if they commit to practicing X amount a week using a specific regime, maybe try some different regimes and see which players improve most etc

potentially run some competitions if i can get any darts shops on board wanting to give stuff away. gonna look at loads of avenues and suggestions

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

It's looking good Dion. I would be happy to contribute in any way that I can.

Sounds good King

I can create you an account that will enable you to create news posts or pages. If we can figure a good thing for you to do then we'll set it up and make it happen.

a few people doing updates here and there will turn it into a great resource.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Sounds good to me, just give me a role and I'll happily give it a go! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

great site mate, you should start a calender too so people can advertise there events ala Carrickmans facebook page, or just link too it.

Nevermind lol, i found it silly me.

Hehe yeah there is a page with events, but i want to make it so people can submit events and i can just approve them

I'd like to get people involved covering a small section each, so that it doesnt become a burden in any way to them. I would then do the clean up if anybody misses something or the likes.

Obviously there will be attempting to cover

INDO Events
    Players Championships
    BDO (Irish players playing)
    PDC (Irish Players playing)
    Open Tournaments around Ireland (posting as news, adding to events page)
    Exhibitions (Posting as news, adding to events page)

Some of this can be streamlined by getting in contact with main exhibition organisers and tournament organisers and having them come to us. Similar with the INDO and Players championships, if they mail us stuff it can then be quickly added to the site with ease instead of having to chase it down

Then when its a top resource i can try get Irish darts shops or the UK one's to send us stuff to give away to help promote themselves etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

Sounds great mate, it'd be really good to have one resource that covers everything including indo and players champs.

Well thats the plan, probably not pheasable to do it alone, but if we get a few guys willing to write up it will be extremely useful

i can even give the likes of Dartgod and account and they can easily log in and post the results just like they would here. The more the merrior

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Daffy501

What did you search for?

Just typed "irish darts" and it came up with your site about quarter way down the page mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Excellent mate only back from hols and seen this fair play as you know if ya need anything from th barrel i'm happy to help

considering ive not submitted to any search engines, its a rather good start

Gonna bulk up the resources section, try keep on top of the news and hopefully get some writers in who love their darts to write little bits on the results of events etc / keep events section updated.

Also could potentially have a section where we try to improve my game by Ten points by trying different darts / flights / stems etc alongside reviewing some unique sets of darts (no point in reviewing every set of darts, nominal differences) but thinking of going down that kind of route, potentially giveaways too.

Just got to get enough content up that it becomes a staple for darts readers

Anyone interested in helping, PM me or email admin@irldarts.com

considering ive not submitted to any search engines, its a rather good start

Gonna bulk up the resources section, try keep on top of the news and hopefully get some writers in who love their darts to write little bits on the results of events etc / keep events section updated.

Also could potentially have a section where we try to improve my game by Ten points by trying different darts / flights / stems etc alongside reviewing some unique sets of darts (no point in reviewing every set of darts, nominal differences) but thinking of going down that kind of route, potentially giveaways too.

Just got to get enough content up that it becomes a staple for darts readers

Anyone interested in helping, PM me or email admin@irldarts.com

Just an idea m8, but why not ask Willie o connor or Mick Mc Gowan to keep a darts blog of some sort... It is always good to read about pdc events from a players angle.

Dicie wrote: »
    Just an idea m8, but why not ask Willie o connor or Mick Mc Gowan to keep a darts blog of some sort... It is always good to read about pdc events from a players angle.

This is a great idea, I would definitely be interested in reading something like that.

No harm in asking, i don't see them too often unless they are at players championships or event's im at, but if anyone knows any of these guys to talk to or contact i can easily set them up an account

it will be as simple as "go to site -> log in -> add new post -> write about their experience -> publish" i will clean up everything after its published, add a picture etc.

STD Ste
    and
    KingP35

have put themselves forward to help.

If they pick a section they would like to cover (i find its better if you have an interest in it) i will scratch them pieces off the list

anyone else wanting to help, jump in, say what you would have an interest in covering and we'll make it happen, set you up with an account etc

So the start of this has gone quite well

We've tracked the professional game where possible. published results from the BDO, INDO, Players Championships when we got them.

We have STD Ste interviewing a series of darts players for the site

Ive been reviewing 2 items donated to the site for review by 501 Darts
    The Diamond Dart Sharpener Tool
    Target Flight Punch

Opinions, Feedback.

Going to be looking for people to cover their local league for us come september, even if its a weekly supply of results and the fixture list so we can get it all up on the site and if we get results we can build a table. Hopefully make a good reference for a load of leagues

Dicie i see on a few forums you post up events and exhibitions over on forums

Any chance you want to do that for IRL Darts? you seem to have your finger on the pulse

Dicie i see on a few forums you post up events and exhibitions over on forums

Any chance you want to do that for IRL Darts? you seem to have your finger on the pulse

it really depends what she looks like.....

M8, anything u need a hand with say the word... U can see my post on irish darts updates on TSOD forum..

yeah i saw that and it got me thinking that your spotting all the main events and the likes, and if you did a post on each new one like the forum posts it leaves me open to do other news items and the likes

Ok m8, show me how and i will do it... Thou it seems that there aint alot of comps on around, my phone goes 4 or 5 times a week with comps on somewhere...

if you go to

http://www.irldarts.com/wp-login.php?action=register

you can register for an account, once i see it i'll make it an author account so you can write articles. So lets get you signed up and i'll talk you through anything you need to know once logged in

if you go to

http://www.irldarts.com/wp-login.php?action=register

you can register for an account, once i see it i'll make it an author account so you can write articles. So lets get you signed up and i'll talk you through anything you need to know once logged in

DOne.

ok upgraded your account

so if you log in now you will see a load of option along the side, Add New Post etc

Any questions let me know, maybe add me on Facebook and i can explain stuff via FB Chat
    name is Aidan Cuffe looking slightly shocked in my picture

saw your first post

gave it a more relevant title, and removed some of the caps, i'll remove more of them later

You can limit the excerpt seen on the main front page by clicking the button to the left of the ABC button, choose how much text to show on the front page and click that button

i did it for you on that one. you'll pick it up as you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gladiator180

good site alrite, i do agree with that, however i thought the interview with mr mc closkey was a right piece of horse manure...i must admit it did give me a good laugh tho

Why you not like the interview? it was candid, came across as a bit of banter

i thought it was great

Why you not like the interview? it was candid, came across as a bit of banter

i thought it was great

Well, my own opinion is it is good to see a player actually speak out regarding the INDO and there out of touch ness as regards irish darts..

A INDO singles event that attracts 29 players... These players are ment to be the cream of Ireland,maybe if the indo gave players what they wanted, theye wud have entries in the region of 80 to 100 players at these events, but then this wud not suit some of the players.

Its a dirty dirty circle. All thanks to the backward thinking of the INDO. But there happy in the ignorance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gladiator180

we all know what the INDO are like..some of the facts in the interview were false..and some of the things martin said could well be pick up as arrogance...calling other teams ''ordinary''...''lesser players''..maybe if he travelled to the players championship instead of the INDO events he wouldnt have the problem of playing as he states ''lesser players''...good players in donegal or the north?

What facts were not true, if Martin was the one saying them it's not our fault, we're only reporting what he said in the interview.

It was a candid interview and he was candid back to the interviewer. The lesser players comments is understandable tho. When you play Stage Darts, your playing darts on adrenaline. It might not be his best choice of words but it is infinitely harder to get yourself motivated to play well when its a less important match or players of a lower standard (which by definition they are as they are not playing at BDO level or on TV so its not inaccurate really) i would consider myself a lesser player than anyone BDO or PDC even when im playing well, but playing well in the Players championships i can give anyone a game.

It's not arrogance, i know Jacko Barry struggled to get himself playing after the Grand Prix and other TV events. They are a different beast to floor play

we all know what the INDO are like..some of the facts in the interview were false..and some of the things martin said could well be pick up as arrogance...calling other teams ''ordinary''...''lesser players''..maybe if he travelled to the players championship instead of the INDO events he wouldnt have the problem of playing as he states ''lesser players''...good players in donegal or the north?

I suppose the problem with the lesser counties is thou m8, they only have 1 county to select a team from, donegal have 7.

What facts were not true, if Martin was the one saying them it's not our fault, we're only reporting what he said in the interview.

It was a candid interview and he was candid back to the interviewer. The lesser players comments is understandable tho. When you play Stage Darts, your playing darts on adrenaline. It might not be his best choice of words but it is infinitely harder to get yourself motivated to play well when its a less important match or players of a lower standard (which by definition they are as they are not playing at BDO level or on TV so its not inaccurate really) i would consider myself a lesser player than anyone BDO or PDC even when im playing well, but playing well in the Players championships i can give anyone a game.

It's not arrogance, i know Jacko Barry struggled to get himself playing after the Grand Prix and other TV events. They are a different beast to floor play

I have to say your wrong. There is a true saying, results back up statements.

What do you mean what i said was wrong? i dunno what your getting at

If you mean that i wouldnt give anyone a game because i finished low on the rankings then i would say that over the course of the players championships this year i have had some rotten draws and been a bit unlucky in parts. I have in the last 2 player championships and in the All Irelands proved i can beat good players, in the games im losing i'm not getting bashed. I feel that in the past 4 months i have progressed as a player and really think that next years players championships i'll be among the top 32.

Thats my personal belief

If you mean that i wouldnt give anyone a game because i finished low on the rankings then i would say that over the course of the players championships this year i have had some rotten draws and been a bit unlucky in parts. I have in the last 2 player championships and in the All Irelands proved i can beat good players, in the games im losing i'm not getting bashed. I feel that in the past 4 months i have progressed as a player and really think that next years players championships i'll be among the top 32.

Thats my personal belief

Draws even out over time... This i know for a fact. I had 1 board in abbeyleix, M Mc Gowan, O Caffrey, G Grey, S Mc Cardle, to name but 4 of what was on the board... A stinker they call it..

If you dont believe you will make the top 32 next yr, then turning up is a bad idea, so your right to think positive, im sure everyone going will think they will be in the top 32, but the reality is, there will be only 32 out of the 200 odd players that play in these events there come finals day. This game is all about self belief, i sppoke to possibly one of Irelands better players about this same thing last night, and his exact words where, if you dont believe, dont bother trying... So, yes your right to believe.

But the facts are, if you can compete with any one in the irish players championship, you should not be worried about the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭dyno180

Thats my personal belief

what has any of the last thing u have said anything to do with what has been discussed... noone was even talking bout u..they were talking bout marty going to players champs... and to correct what he said..donegal beat kilkenny 7-5 not 7-3... he named half of kilkenny team and said if u take them away they wud be ordinary..same sould be said if u took all NI players off of donegal team and if he did come to players champ he wudn be winning 4 games to win the tournament..win 4 to win board maybe

dyno180 wrote: »
    what has any of the last thing u have said anything to do with what has been discussed... noone was even talking bout u..they were talking bout marty going to players champs... and to correct what he said..donegal beat kilkenny 7-5 not 7-3... he named half of kilkenny team and said if u take them away they wud be ordinary..same sould be said if u took all NI players off of donegal team and if he did come to players champ he wudn be winning 4 games to win the tournament..win 4 to win board maybe

Well, i played 1 lad from kilkenny on sunday and he is far from ordinary, and he wasnt named by martin in his piece. He wud grace any county team..

Never said i was worried about the draw, i said i got some very tough draws and had to on top game from Game 1. Some players coast through round 1 and 2 and hit top gear at the right time.

i dont know why this is a debate about my ability tho.... of course i feel i can give everyone in the players championship a game, if i didnt why would i turn up, as you said

but you were also the one who told me i was wrong!

So i dont get what your after in this conversation, i'm wrong to state i feel i can give anyone a game, but i'm right to think i can give anyone a game

...whaaa?

Never said i was worried about the draw, i said i got some very tough draws and had to on top game from Game 1. Some players coast through round 1 and 2 and hit top gear at the right time.

i dont know why this is a debate about my ability tho.... of course i feel i can give everyone in the players championship a game, if i didnt why would i turn up, as you said

but you were also the one who told me i was wrong!

So i dont get what your after in this conversation, i'm wrong to state i feel i can give anyone a game, but i'm right to think i can give anyone a game

...whaaa?

No, your wrong to make a statement that your results cant back up... If you can give anyone a game, then why even mention the draw???

At the end of the 6 events the ranking table doesnt lie.