Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost Best Moments Vote

• 10-06-2010 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭

So I got the idea from the Lostipedia forum where someone is after getting lists of peoples favourite moments and making a top 30 list of them.

http://forum.lostpedia.com/official-top-30-lost-moments-t61085.html

Thats the link if anyones interested. So I just wanted to get the ball rolling and see if anyone has any ideas on what way to do it e.g pick 20 moments, number 1 = 20 points, etc

Personally I think something like that format will work, just have to decide if it's a Top 50, 30, 10 , whatever. What do eh think?

So is their enough interest to do this? A thread like this was always going to come up (and an episode one will most likely follow eventually) so who wants to know the Boardies top moments of lost?

Should the Pilot Opener be counted as one scene? 20 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    PsychedelicMadPatrickThe Gnomegustavojd83Joe_DullKevskipjjk90James FordeAlso Starring LeVar BurtonAldebarantok9uncleoswalddon ramoMayor Adam WestTheSpecialOne!MAVERICK!tonyob2alabandicalfilmfan 20 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

No
    Yeah good idea for a thread alright. I think the format you suggested would work well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

No
    Ok as long as the majority agrees anyway.

I'd like to have at least 10 people voting on it. Come on lads, any more opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

No
    I'd definitely be up for this and the format seems good

No
    Ok I'm going to stick with this format.

Everyone will pick 20 scenes.
    1 receives 20 points, 5 receives 15 points, 10 receives 10 and so on...
    Instead of posting your top 20 here, PM me. That way we'll keep it a surprise
    Once I've calculated all the votes I'll decide if it's a top 30 or so... Basically every scene voted will get mentioned to some extent.

Now We won't start until I have at least 10 people making lists. Once i do we'll make a deadline of maybe 5 days or so to have the list completed and sent.

So send a reply with this list in it and add your name on if your interested.

edit: Actually just post and I'll add you to the list

Candidates ( :D )
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

Cool idea. I'm up for it so you can add me. If anything, it will give me a good excuse to go back over the 6 Seasons of Lost.

No
    This is going a lot slower then I thought. Are people too lazy to make a list or is their only a few visiting the Lost Forum now that it's over?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I think a top 20 is too much tbh. Leave it at a top 10 or top 5. While there are definitely 20 moments that i absolutly loved, i'd be hard pressed to think of them all without looking at someone else's post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Kiith wrote: »
    I think a top 20 is too much tbh. Leave it at a top 10 or top 5. While there are definitely 20 moments that i absolutly loved, i'd be hard pressed to think of them all without looking at someone else's post.

This would put me off to be honest, there would be too much variety in choices to find clear winners like, if it was five or ten then there would be a better chance of whittling down specific scenes

Oh and im in :)

No
    I really want to keep it at a top 20 tbh. That way it'll take longer to reveal and means more great scenes to remember.

A top 10 is too limited imo for a show like Lost

GAAman are you in for a top 20?

Klith just look at the thread i posted at the start just to see the scenes they have chosen so far. probably at the top 15 at this stage. Even the honourable mentions are great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,731 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I'd like to contribute too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Sure I'll do it but I'd say the lack of interest is just purely the forum is dying, it's the inevitable result of the show finishing!

No
    Candidates
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815
    GAAman (?)
    paddyirishman85
    cooker3
    Sad Professor
    Aldebaran

2 more at least anyway..

Your probably right cooker3.. I was waiting a few weeks until the finale finally sunk in and everyone had finished discussing it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

You can count me in as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

No
    Sounds like a good idea, count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I wouldn't mind doing it :)

No
    Candidates
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815
    GAAman
    paddyirishman85
    cooker3
    Sad Professor
    Aldebaran
    Daysha

1 more so I think.. If anyone here is friends with some of the other Lost fans on Boards give them a shout. Guaranteed when we've finished the voting a few will be in here saying they wished they had been around for it

Sorry yeah i am in :)

Edit i love the way we are candidates :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

It's up to you, tok9, but I think you should give it another week and see if any more people sign up. I don't think the forum is dead just yet, people just aren't checking it as regularly. For a top 20 list to work we really need more than 10 lists.

No
    I suppose your right SP... Just a bit eager to get going :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

I'll contribute a list. I'm still mourning and reluctant to let the show go, so I'll take any excuse to revisit it.

No
    Candidates
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815
    GAAman
    paddyirishman85
    cooker3
    Sad Professor
    Aldebaran
    Daysha
    TheManWho

Ok basically everyones top 20 must be P.M to me by the 2nd of July.

This gives plenty time to think of a top 20 and for others to join in. Depending on the amount of people voting I might need a bit of help with the whole counting process. Anyone up for giving me a hand if needs be?

tok9 wrote: »
    Depending on the amount of people voting I might need a bit of help with the whole counting process. Anyone up for giving me a hand if needs be?

Sure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

No
    Do we have to have our top 20 moments in order of preference?

No
    Do we have to have our top 20 moments in order of preference?

Oh ya.. otherwise the voting system i suggested wouldn't really work.

So your top 20 favourite scenes in order.

I kind of said yes without thinking it through too much but now I have to do it, going to be bloody hard!

I did out a long list the other night of about 40 scenes. Only took me about 15 minutes. Narrowing that list down and ordering it is going to be another matter, however. I suspect I've probably missed a few as well.

Try browsing through Lostpedia's episode guide if you struggling to recall memorable scenes.

Oh it's not coming up with the scenes I have issue with. I could do 100 without barely thinking about it. It's what not to include and ordering that will kill me.

No
    Well lads I got into thinking about my favourite scenes and decided to go through all the seasons. I've got over 100 of them and I said I'd post them up here for anyone who is struggling to remember some and also so people can add a few more. Not exactly in Chronological order but close enough i hope. :D

That said if people want to figure this out for themselves, I'll spoiler it if eh want.

Season 1

• Pilot Opener
    • Backgammon
    • End of Tabula Rasa – “Walk Away”
    • Locke in a wheelchair reveal
    • Jack “Live together, Die Alone”
    • Sawyer shoots a polar bear
    • Jack & Locke “This place is Special” White Rabbit
    • Jack finds Adam & Eve
    • End of Confidence Man – “I Shall Not Walk Alone”
    • Sayid hears the whispers
    • Ethan wasn’t on the plane
    • Jack saves Charlie
    • Locke in Hospital/ Banging on Hatch
    • Locke - “They’ve attacked us”
    • Boones Death / Aarons birth
    • Boone’s Funeral
    • Numbers on the hatch
    • Jack & Sawyer talk about Christian
    • Artz blows up
    • S1 Ending- Boarding Oceanic 815/ Looking down the hatch
    • Raft sets sail
    • Monster pulls Locke down a hole
    • Jack & Locke “We were brought here for a reason” Exodus
    • The Others take Walt

Season 2

• S2 Opener- Hatch Introduction
    • Shannon sees Walt
    • Jin towards Michael and Sawyer “Others, Others”
    • Jack & Desmond “What are you running from”
    • Jack & Locke Push the button
    • Orientation Video
    • Hurley hands out the food
    • The Others pass Eko & Jin
    • Ana Lucia shoots Shannon
    • Tail section crashes in the water
    • All Oceanic 815 survivors reunion/ Rose & Bernard
    • “There’s a new sheriff in town”
    • Michael talks to Walt on the computer
    • Tom Friendly “Light them Up” / Line here
    • Eko meets the monster
    • “My name is Sayid Jarrah and I am a torturer” Sayid to Henry Gale
    • Henry Gale "You got Milk"
    • Map on Hatch door
    • Henry Gale found out
    • Michael Kills Ana Lucia & Libby
    • Desmond crashed Oceanic 815
    • Desmond turns on the light/ turns the fail safe key/ we found him
    • The statue’s foot

Season 3

• S3 Opener - Book club/ Oceanic Crash
    • Locke’s Dream
    • Smokey kills Eko
    • “Kate Damm it Run”
    • Desmond looks for Widmore’s approval
    • Desmond recalls the events before being hit across the head
    • Jack is visited by Cindy and the Kids
    • Sawyer teaches Jin English
    • Hurley & Charlie jump start the Dharma Van
    • Mikhail pushed into the sonar fences
    • Locke thrown out the window
    • Nikki & Paulo buried alive
    • Monster stopped by the Sonar fence
    • Juliet sees her sister alive on the monitor
    • Desmond’s Flash of Charlie in Catch-22
    • Sawyer Kills Anthony Cooper
    • Ben & Locke at the Cabin
    • The Purge
    • Ben Shoots Locke
    • Charlie tells Des about his "Greatest Hits"
    • Jack about to jump off the bridge
    • Locke about to Kill himself then Walt appears
    • Hurley saves Jin, Bernard and Sayid with the Dharma van
    • Charlie Death
    • "We Have to go back"

Season 4

• Jack points the gun at Locke and pulls the trigger
    • Sayid is working for Ben
    • Locke puts a grenade in Miles mouth
    • Des/Penny Phone call
    • Sayid & Des meet Kevin Johnson
    • Michael tries to kill himself
    • Rousseau and Karl are shot
    • Alex Death
    • Somkey is summoned by Ben
    • Ben confronts Widmore “You broke the rules”
    • Jack sees Christian/ smoke detector goes off
    • Claire sees Christian
    • Locke is born/ Richard Visits
    • Locke’s dream of Horace
    • Hurley Ben moment outside the Cabin
    • Ben Locke & Hurley at the orchid, Kate & Sayid captured by the others, Sun & Aaron on the freighter and Jack & Sawyer going to the Orchid
    • Oceanic 6 arrive Home
    • Locke & Jack "It's a place where miracles happen"
    • Freighter Blows up
    • Ben turns the wheel
    • Locke was in the coffin

Season 5

• Hurley tells his mother everything
    • Sayid kills the 2 intruders- Dishwasher kill
    • Arrow attack
    • Locke meets young Widmore
    • Jin’s Alive/ meet young Rousseau
    • Locke turns the wheel. “Say Hi to my Son”
    • Ben talks about doubting Thomas
    • Ben Kills Locke
    • Richard & Sawyer conversation
    • Jin finds Kate, Hurley & Jack
    • Sayid shoots young Ben
    • Hurley & Miles talk time travel
    • Ben is judged by the monster
    • Faraday is killed by his mother
    • Locke/MIB reveals he is going to kill Jacob to Ben
    • S5 Finale Opener - Jacob & MIB
    • Jack & Sawyer fight
    • Jacob “revives” Locke
    • Juliet falls
    • Locke was in the box
    • Ben Kills Jacob
    • Juliet hits the bomb

Season 6

• Island Underwater
    • Oceanic 815 lands
    • Jack & Locke meet at LAX
    • MIB/Locke & Ben "I want to go Home"
    • Ben’s Apology/ “Weirdest funeral I’ve ever been at”
    • The Numbers assigned to the candidates in the cave
    • Sayid stabs the MIB
    • Sundown ending “Catch a falling star”
    • Jack & Richard with the dynamite
    • Ben & Ilana “I’ll have you”
    • MIB smashes the wine bottle
    • Sawyer asking why doesn’t MIB turn into Smokey to go to Hydra Island
    • Desmond “Remembers”
    • Desmond “ I want to show them something”
    • Desmond runs over Locke in the FS
    • Desmond talks Sayid out of killing him
    • “John Locke told me to stay”
    • Sayid, Jin & Suns Death
    • Jack & Locke talk about Locke’s accident and his father in FS
    • S6 Finale opening of the survivors on the island and in the FS
    • Jack Fights the MIB
    • Locke "Remembers"
    • Ben & Locke outside the church
    • Jack's Death / Church

Candidates
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815
    GAAman
    paddyirishman85
    cooker3
    Sad Professor
    Aldebaran
    Daysha
    TheManWho
    Dudeitshurley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭dudeitshurley

thought i already posted on this 1 but looks like i didnt, ill do it as well tok

Few extras which I didn't see (Although might be missed them).
    Desmond reading the letter from Penny in my mutual friend, hearing Locke banging on the hatch and turning on the light. I also believe this was the first use of the Desmond Penny music which makes it worthy alone!
    Oh and from the same episode Locke "I was wrong"

Desmond telling Charlie he has to die in FBYE

You also forgot the reveal of Locke in the coffin!

No
    cooker3 wrote: »
    Few extras which I didn't see (Although might be missed them).
    Desmond reading the letter from Penny in my mutual friend, hearing Locke banging on the hatch and turning on the light. I also believe this was the first use of the Desmond Penny music which makes it worthy alone!
    Oh and from the same episode Locke "I was wrong"

Desmond telling Charlie he has to die in FBYE

You also forgot the reveal of Locke in the coffin!

I meant that whole sequence from reading the letter to turning the fail safe. Great scene

tbh FBYE has a load of really good scenes. I put in 2 scenes from it but now that i think about it i could have included the time when he meets charlie in it and the scene where eloise says your not supposed to buy the ring. So many great moments.

Can't believe i didn't have Locke in the coffin. Was sure i did for some reason.

I also have a lack of comedy in my list but I just thought some of the comic moments wouldn't really make the top 20.

Lost really has so many great scenes

I meant that whole sequence from reading the letter to turning the fail safe. Great scene.

I also have a lack of comedy in my list but I just thought some of the comic moments wouldn't really make the top 20.

Lost really has so many great scenes

If I remember there is quite the gap between him turning on the light and turning on the fail safe. I class them as 2 separate scenes personally but sure tis all semantics. Both are awesome.

I agree with you re the comedy, I've found Lost funnier than some sitcoms. It has some genuine lol moments.

No
    cooker3 wrote: »
    If I remember there is quite the gap between him turning on the light and turning on the fail safe. I class them as 2 separate scenes personally but sure tis all semantics. Both are awesome.

well I looked at the entire scene there. 6:25 altogether. Everything is kinda revolving desmond going to use the fail safe. There's also the bit where John says "I was wrong"

I was hoping to have it all as one scene but I'm not sure now. What do others think?

I'm also wondering about the final scene. When do people think that should start? From when Jack and Christian talk or from when Jack meets everyone in the church?

Me being a big Jack & Christian fan would love to have both scenes together but it's prob 10mins altogether..

Jesus this is hard.. I've got 21 definites in my top 20 and the list is growing :D

well I looked at the entire scene there. 6:25 altogether. Everything is kinda revolving desmond going to use the fail safe. There's also the bit where John says "I was wrong"

I was hoping to have it all as one scene but I'm not sure now. What do others think?
    I think you are cheating. :p

There is several scenes in there. I wouldn't even call it a sequence. A scene is set in one time and place. Desmond's breakdown and turning on the light is a flashback. Then there's Desmond trying to stop Locke from not pressing the button. Then there's the scene of him going down to the failsafe and telling Locke's he'll see him in another life. Then there's him saying "I love you, Penny" and turning the key. All separate scenes. You could maybe string one or two of them together, but not all of them.
    I'm also wondering about the final scene. When do people think that should start? From when Jack and Christian talk or from when Jack meets everyone in the church?
    Technically there are 3 scenes there:

- Jack and Christian talk
    - Jack is reunited with his friends
    - Jack dying in the jungle

The last two are intercut with each other though, so it's okay to list them as a single scene. But Jack and Christian is definitely separate.

No
    I think you are cheating. :p

There is several scenes in there. I wouldn't even call it a sequence. A scene is set in one time and place. Desmond's breakdown and turning on the light is a flashback. Then there's Desmond trying to stop Locke from not pressing the button. Then there's the scene of him going down to the failsafe and telling Locke's he'll see him in another life. Then there's him saying "I love you, Penny" and turning the key. All separate scenes. You could maybe string one or two of them together, but not all of them.

:(

Thought people would say that. btw Locke stops pressing the button, throws the monitor then we see desmonds breakdown and turns on the light
    Technically there are 3 scenes there:

- Jack and Christian talk
    - Jack is reunited with his friends
    - Jack dying in the jungle

The last two are intercut with each other though, so it's okay to list them as a single scene. But Jack and Christian is definitely separate.

Now I'm at 42 definite scenes in my top 20... :)

So one last question does the opening scene include Jack waking up in the jungle to him running around the wreckage of Oceanic 815 or is it 1 or the other?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

So one last question does the opening scene include Jack waking up in the jungle to him running around the wreckage of Oceanic 815 or is it 1 or the other?

I'd say the opening scene would have to be taken in its entirety. It doesnt work well seperated into a few different scenes.

I'll try and do my top 20 at some stage over the next few days.

Two scenes. One runs into the other. The second scene begins with Jack arriving on the beach. But you could include the revelation of the plane wreckage as being part of the first scene.

No
    Ya thats grand really anyway.. the scene for me would be Jack running through the wreckage

I think it's ok to include the John Locke "I was wrong" bit with the hatch implosion..

Edit: The hatch implosion came
    12th
    in the Lostipedia list and they start the scene from after the flashback to him turning the key so thats the scene set in stone for me :D

Jesus this is hard enough as it is without it turning a big debate about what constitutes a scene!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

No
    I'll do up a list as well - should be a laugh...

No
    • “My name is Sayid Jarrah and I am a torturer” Sayid to Henry Gale

I've actually mixed this scene up although thats a good one too. I meant the one where Sayid says he would know about the woman he loved if it were true and Locke opens the door for Jack and pushes the button just as the hieroglyphics come on.

Candidates
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815
    GAAman
    paddyirishman85
    cooker3
    Sad Professor
    Aldebaran
    Daysha
    TheManWho
    Dudeitshurley
    CaptainNegative
    shezmagic

Just keeping the list updated for my own reference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

Have been lurking here for the last month or two, so may as well contribute something, however belatedly. Count me in.

Edit: Not too bad, have roughly 20 definites from that list so must pop over to Lostpedia for a re-cap

Jesus, I just put together a list without filtering or ordering it and I ended up with of all numbers 108 scenes!
    I also have a huge bias to later seasons which I guess means I am forgetting ones from earlier seasons or giving more weight to later seasons.

This only gets harder..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

No
    Done and done...

No
    Well only 4 days left to get your votes in lads. So far I've gotten 3 lists which include 50 scenes.

Also I'm adding a poll to the thread about the opening scene. Imo it should be counted as one scene as there is no real break up in the scene and it all runs through the same time.

Candidates
    tok9
    gustavo
    Psychedelic
    irish_stevo815
    GAAman
    Mayor Adam West
    cooker3
    Sad Professor
    Aldebaran
    Daysha
    TheManWho
    Dudeitshurley
    CaptainNegative
    shezmagic
    bucks777
    uncleoswald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭bucks777

you can add me as a candidate too...will get cracking on my list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

No
    Of course the opening sequence is one scene, it follows Jack from the jungle to the crash site. Also some 'scenes' can of course be more like sequences, such as Ethan's reveal.

I'll try and knock together a top 20 to.

• Ben confronts Widmore “You broke the rules”

Oh this reminds me, can we do a vote for the most ultimately
    pointless scenes ever...?

Of course the opening sequence is one scene, it follows Jack from the jungle to the crash site. Also some 'scenes' can of course be more like sequences, such as Ethan's reveal.

I'll try and knock together a top 20 to.

Oh this reminds me, can we do a vote for the most ultimately
    pointless scenes ever...?

Pointless as in boring or pointless as in promised a lot but failed to deliver?

I never understood the big deal about Ben's "rules". I'm pretty sure I said this at the time, but I always thought the "rules" were just a personal code that Ben claimed to have about not killing innocents. He pretty much told Michael this a few episodes earlier. And he wouldn't kill Widmore because he was an Other. I never read anything more into than that.

Also, Ben didn't say Widmore "broke" the rules, he said he "changed" them. Which kinda precludes them from being laid down by the island or whatever which is what everyone was thinking. I dunno, I just never thought it was significant.

But there's no doubt that Widmore as a subplot was kinda dropped in the 6th season and then hastily wrapped up. I think the writers just decided they drifted too far off the main story with it.

But there's no doubt that Widmore as a subplot was kinda dropped in the 6th season and then hastily wrapped up. I think the writers just decided they drifted to far off the main story with it.

I think they made that decision in the fifth season to pull back as they made a lot stock over the fake plane crash which got really sloppily wrapped up when Widmore told Faraday. The lack of Desmond seemed to reflect it as well. Season 6 was a continuation of that as well.

Btw was the restricted use of Desmond due to the sexual harassment claim that got made as it seems to roughly correlate between when Cusick didn't feature much on screen?