Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor tax - grace period?

• 10-06-2010 1:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Just happened to notice my tax was up at the end of May, tbh can't afford to do it until next week. I usually don't let it run over but a lot of people say that you have until the end of the following month (ie: June) to get it done, and just to back - tax it.

Is this an urban myth or is it for real? Can someone please confirm for me? I need to do a bit of travelling in the interim and wouldn't like to fall foul of plod!

Cheers,

Tony

You should be fine for June, the online code will work for the month of June, after that you will need to backtax for June and then pay another either 3, 6 or 12 months. Most guards are happy enough if you seem genuine and the car is NCTd. If it's not NCTd and clearly a bucket they may suspect you do not intend to tax it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Most Gardai will be fine, but parking wardens generally won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

My tax usually runs over by a couple of weeks and in ten years Ive never been cautioned despite going thru countless tax/insurance checkpoints.

I always thought it was an official thing but from reading another thread it turns out its not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I always thought there was a grace period too, but as pointed out in a thread recently, that's just for non use period I think.

I was stopped before at a checkpoint and was asked about the tax as it was a few days into the next month, I said "sure I have until the end of the month" thinking at the time I was right, the garda said "yeah I know but get it sorted soon anyway" :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

Sorry for going off topic, but is there a grace period at all for parking in the city centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

sxt wrote: »
    Sorry for going off topic, but is there a grace period at all for parking in the city centre?

What do you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭mp3kid

If youre in a car park Id say youd be fine, but on the street i wouldn't chance it.

I'm not sure, but I do recall hearing that there is a 15 minute grace period to allow you to get change/get a ticket etc. I'm not sure if this applies if you have a ticket in the car and you are on your way back and are 10 minutes late though? I've heard of clampers waiting at cars for the time to tick over. I have seen wardens pass cars, take a note of the reg and time and then come back later to ticket.

Also, I think on some tickets it will say "vehicle first observed without ticket at XX:XX" then on another line "vehicle clamped at XX:XX"

Best to start a new thread for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

cormie wrote: »
    I'm not sure, but I do recall hearing that there is a 15 minute grace period to allow you to get change/get a ticket etc. I'm not sure if this applies if you have a ticket in the car and you are on your way back and are 10 minutes late though? I've heard of clampers waiting at cars for the time to tick over. I have seen wardens pass cars, take a note of the reg and time and then come back later to ticket.

Also, I think on some tickets it will say "vehicle first observed without ticket at XX:XX" then on another line "vehicle clamped at XX:XX"

I think he/she means does the months period of grace apply to the wardens in the city centre?

draffodx wrote: »
    I think he/she means does the months period of grace apply to the wardens in the city centre?
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

There is no grace period. None. All there is is potential leniency on the part of the enforcing officer.

The same applies to the parking question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

oh no sorry i should of written a new topic so as not to confuse ,i was way off the initial topic sorry. I was referring to if you had a ticket that was paid till 12:30 for example ,would you be given any leaway. Thanks for the answers. No need for a new topic

RoverJames wrote: »
    You should be fine for June, the online code will work for the month of June, after that you will need to backtax for June and then pay another either 3, 6 or 12 months. Most guards are happy enough if you seem genuine and the car is NCTd. If it's not NCTd and clearly a bucket they may suspect you do not intend to tax it.

With that in mind, what would the situation be here (if stopped by gardai)

My brother has repaired his car after a timing belt failure, and had it declared off the road etc.

But in the mean time, the tax and nct has expired.
    So the car cant be taxed without a valid NCT and it cant be NCT'D for about six weeks :eek: (backlog permitting).

Its the only car he has and needs it for work - and intends to tax and nct the car as soon as he can get the documentation to the tax office.

mp3kid wrote: »
    With that in mind, what would the situation be here (if stopped by gardai)

My brother has repaired his car after a timing belt failure, and had it declared off the road etc.

But in the mean time, the tax and nct has expired.
    So the car cant be taxed without a valid NCT and it cant be NCT'D for about six weeks :eek: (backlog permitting).

Its the only car he has and needs it for work - and intends to tax and nct the car as soon as he can get the documentation to the tax office.
    He'll get the car NCTd within 48 hours if he puts the time in online looking for a cancellation, and it can be taxed before the NCT.

OSI wrote: »
    A. Who says he can't tax it without an NCT... Of course he can

B. If he keeps an eye out for cancellations he'll get one in days rather than weeks.
    Anan1 wrote: »
    He'll get the car NCTd within 48 hours if he puts the time in online looking for a cancellation, and it can be taxed before the NCT.

I just text him, didnt believe me at first, But "Motors" knows better :D - He's off to Nutgrove in the Morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....I don't know why people just don't read the tax renewal notice that comes in the post. It says quite clearly, you can tax it using that form, or online with the PIN no, within the month following the expiry of the current disc. I fail to see how that could be any clearer.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....I don't know why people just don't read the tax renewal notice that comes in the post. It says quite clearly, you can tax it using that form, or online with the PIN no, within the month following the expiry of the current disc. I fail to see how that could be any clearer.
    That doesn't exempt you from the requirement to display a valid tax disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

That doesn't exempt you from the requirement to display a valid tax disc.

That, I understand, and that is a distinct separate offence. If stopped on the 20th of a Month, say, when the disc expired on the 31st of the month previous, you can tax it in the 22nd, and the only prosecutable offence is 'display'. This is because you tax it retrospectively.

In the main, when dealing with GTC, you will find you're dealing with human beings.......and most have the cop-on (sic), to spot the outright dodger's from the rest.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Do you automatically get the form?

My car is just out, 2 days in case anyone wants to know, but I haven't got a form or code to do it online.

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Do you automatically get the form?

My car is just out, 2 days in case anyone wants to know, but I haven't got a form or code to do it online.
    I've always got the form in the post a good month early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I've always got the form in the post a good month early.

I bought the car in December and taxed it in January so I just want to tax it for a few more months and was expecting a form to come out.

Money is tight so I can only do it for 3 months :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Most Gardai will be fine, but parking wardens generally won't.
    Yeah I was fined 2 times on consecutive days for out of tax.

oh no sorry i should of written a new topic so as not to confuse ,i was way off the initial topic sorry. I was referring to if you had a ticket that was paid till 12:30 for example ,would you be given any leaway. Thanks for the answers. No need for a new topic

Whoo I understood ya right :D did my post above answer your Q?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Op if you have a blue disc your ok but if you disc is red from last years issue it could draw the guards attention. As roverjames said if everything else is ok youll be grand;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

SARASON wrote: »
    Op if you have a blue disc your ok but if you disc is red from last years issue it could draw the guards attention.
    Fail.

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

Thanks for the replies :)

It's one of those things I always wondered but was afraid to ask lol

Regards,

Tony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

ahal wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies :)

It's one of those things I always wondered but was afraid to ask lol

Regards,

Tony.

Good rule of thumb is that if something is illegal theres no grace period :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RossDonegan

Any free way just to see if a car is taxed ??

Stekelly wrote: »
    Good rule of thumb is that if something is illegal theres no grace period :)

... but then again in Ireland nearly everything is illegal, depending on application.

http://www.motorcheck.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

One more thing for the OP

I wouldn't risk taking your car up North as if you get caught you' will get no grace and end up with a pretty hefty fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RossDonegan

ahal wrote: »

thanks but that costs ??

I just want to see if a car is taxed or nct'd for free ??

Basically to know it's still on the road.

Oops ... I could've sworn that Motorcheck or Cartell used to display tax expiry, but clearly not. Hmm. Of course, ahem, a 'prospective purchaser' just might get the right person at the end of the phone in Shannon if they were *ahem* checking out a car ...

Tony

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Have a look on the windscreen? :confused: