Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with J90 ! Have a listen.

• 10-06-2010 11:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭

Myself a Joe at Nutshed Studio have just finished a track with a great Cork band J90.

Our own PMI plays the accordion or something with them.

We have a version of the track up at -

www.myspace.com/nutheadsproductions

The finished article was mastered by Richard at Wav who did a blistering job giving it a wash n wax.
    This is an unmastered rough.

I think they should get good Radio play with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

sounds good - good production .

band wise ;
    the singers voice sounds like an accountant whos a part time musician

hate the megaphone effect

overall sounds like a show band single to me
    - like something gina dale haze would do a bit twee and a bit "lets do a single "

probably get loads of rte airplay

that evora band a good though - really like that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Myself a Joe at Nutshed Studio have just finished a track with a great Cork band J90.

Our own PMI plays the accordion or something with them.

We have a version of the track up at -

www.myspace.com/nutheadsproductions

The finished article was mastered by Richard at Wav who did a blistering job giving it a wash n wax.

I think they should get good Radio play with it.

Nice work... a definite radio friendly vibe. I'm tappin' my feet as we speak! Where are they from?... they sound way too happy/commercial for an Irish band :D(that's a compliment)…

... now, if you could just turn up the drums a bit… :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭bedbugs

Very 80s sound. Maybe not in good way. Can't really see it doing well or getting any significant radio play. If I heard this on the radio, I'd turn it off. Deffo couldn't see someone like Phantom playing it -but I'm sure that's not the market they're after. Maybe one of the regional stations, like CKR etc

But I hope it does well for the lads' sake. Horses for courses etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

bedbugs wrote: »
    Very 80s sound. Maybe not in good way. Can't really see it doing well or getting any significant radio play. If I heard this on the radio, I'd turn it off. Deffo couldn't see someone like Phantom playing it -but I'm sure that's not the market they're after. Maybe one of the regional stations, like CKR etc

But I hope it does well for the lads' sake. Horses for courses etc

I don't think it's really aimed at a Phantom audience Bed ! Fair points though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭PMI

Hi lads, thats the gareth mannix track that paul and joe added to as a work track so not close at all to finished one.

from this version its been completely re-recorded megaphone low fi etc.. all gone and then mastered with richard at wav sounds huge on the official one :)

cant let ya hear official one yet as wanna keep it tight till release on 25th and let the 4600 facebook fans and my space lot get 1st attack on it :)

going for track 2 release within the month :) and track 3 in Oct ;)

ALSO: if anyone is up for a fun night out, drink etc.. we're in the academy Dublin on the 16th prob be a fun enough night, very rare we play dublin as there isnt any cash there anymore :D

Cheers for listening

Ed

www.facebook.com/j90music

PMI wrote: »
    Hi lads, thats the gareth mannix track that paul and joe added to as a work track so not close at all to finished one.

No that's our one, but a draft version ..

is it? O Ok... so fed up hearing it ive lost track :D haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Nice track, is it an original?

It definitely has an 80s feel to it.

Good work.

Nice track, is it an original?

It definitely has an 80s feel to it.

Good work.

Yes - they wrote it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭woodsdenis

Yes - they wrote it.

I like it . Good work young man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

I like the Evora track on that page

Im guessing I cant get you guys to buy it now youve heard :) haha

ClutchIt wrote: »
    I like the Evora track on that page

Thanks -

Yes Clutch, I think they have the potential to be great.

Lazy bunch a feckers though .... Isn't that right Alan ?

woodsdenis wrote: »
    I like it . Good work young man

Young Man ? ;)

Im guessing I cant get you guys to buy it now youve heard :) haha

Do we get a discount?:D

Ya sure... so anyone up for the academy gig then? this wednesday 3 other acts on before us ?!? should be a cool night.... we closing the show :)

von shakes, jupe, gypsies of the autobaun and then J90 after party type thang ?!?

come down if your not busy would be cool to meet some of the dublin lot :D

Ya sure... so anyone up for the academy gig then? this wednesday 3 other acts on before us ?!? should be a cool night.... we closing the show :)

von shakes, jupe, gypsies of the autobaun and then J90 after party type thang ?!?

come down if your not busy would be cool to meet some of the dublin lot :D

The Music Production Summer excursion;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

gypsies of the autobaun :D

Great lads, I taught three of them in the band, James, Niall and Dan, I also recorded them last year. They have a really cool 'KOL' sound!

dav nagle wrote: »
    Great lads, I taught three of them in the band, James, Niall and Dan, I also recorded them last year. They have a really cool 'KOL' sound!

Might be a different J90 Dav ?

Not J90 Paul but ''Gypsies on the autobaun''

looking forward to hearing them all.... we have people flying from cork and kerry to see us, thats dedicated for ya....

hoping for a half decent night :) if some of you do head up come say Hi :)

Best of Luck to the lads today as they release 'Take Control' on Downloadmusic.ie and iTunes ....

Will it chart ?

Released today and already No.2 in the Downloadmusic.ie chart !

Nice to see a Boards member doing well ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Robin Ball

Good sounding tune lads, nice work to you all...

Cheers lads, we have moved numbers behind the scenes in one day that im amazed at....

hit 37 in top 100 itunes chart in 7 hours.... number 2 in download music chart in the same time, we cant estimate amazon or itunes sales to be honest :( so we are aiming hard for next sundays chart ?!?

And that was day 1 :) eek...

now another 6 nights of gigs and promo girls :)

wish us luck or text music 5952 m to 57501 or itunes and get your self a copy ;) I will reward ya at some music production xmas party or something :) haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭alan kelly

Great stuff... Fair play..

Great to see a band doing so well here in Ireland, well done J90.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Cheers lads, we have moved numbers behind the scenes in one day that im amazed at....

hit 37 in top 100 itunes chart in 7 hours.... number 2 in download music chart in the same time, we cant estimate amazon or itunes sales to be honest :( so we are aiming hard for next sundays chart ?!?

And that was day 1 :) eek...

now another 6 nights of gigs and promo girls :)

wish us luck or text music 5952 m to 57501 or itunes and get your self a copy ;) I will reward ya at some music production xmas party or something :) haha

For the record, I texted m to 57501 (what 99p after all?) and nothing happened....

I probably screwed it up, but if there's a more complex set of steps I'm meant to be following it, I couldn't sort it out... either way you (probably) got my money! ;)

ha, you screwed up thats all...

its:

music 5952 m then send that to 57501 and download direct to phone :)

please note the spaces between music and the m ;)

if you want to download to PC instead just text music 5952 to 57501 and it will send you a code to download from www.downloadmusic.ie :)

its also on itunes for all you iphone/pad/pod guys :)

Cheers

Ed

ha, you screwed up thats all...

its:

music 5952 m then send that to 57501 and download direct to phone :)

please note the spaces between music and the m ;)

if you want to download to PC instead just text music 5952 to 57501 and it will send you a code to download from www.downloadmusic.ie :)

its also on itunes for all you iphone/pad/pod guys :)

Cheers

Ed

ahhh...

Ok will do the PC route in the AM!

Cheers will return the favour when yours goes up...

did balcony tv today too was fun :)

Cheers will return the favour when yours goes up...

did balcony tv today too was fun :)

Thanks man!

We're doing BTV soon enough. Was it reasonably cool?

Its small enough really.... just bit of fun, dont think anyone would get much from it :)

RTE is better ;)

Its small enough really.... just bit of fun, dont think anyone would get much from it :)

RTE is better ;)

Is Fair City RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭splitrmx

I wonder how much that SSL Duality cost:

http://www.solid-state-logic.com/news/article.asp?ID=119&T=M

splitrmx wrote: »
    I wonder how much that SSL Duality cost:

http://www.solid-state-logic.com/news/article.asp?ID=119&T=M

It was about 160k as I recall - That was a good week!

Ironically the bulk of the mix was done in my bedroom through an Audient Sumo .... Great bus compressor on that.

Hey all offically in at No: 24 tomorrow but sold 70 in one night tonight so sales are increasing to hopefully push top 20 next week :)

In on rotation on most stations and is sounding PHAT !

Hey all just thought I would share the new vid with ya.... ENJOY !

hope to be back on here soon but gigging every night of the week at the mo so will catch up soon :)

http://www.vimeo.com/13126225

Hey all just thought I would share the new vid with ya.... ENJOY !

hope to be back on here soon but gigging every night of the week at the mo so will catch up soon :)

http://www.vimeo.com/13126225

I hope there's no turbulence as those seats don't seem to be bolted down!

Congrats on the success of the new single!

ha yeah they are bolted down, they are serious massage seats.... :) couldnt move um if ya tried :)

cheers

ha yeah they are bolted down, they are serious massage seats.... :) couldnt move um if ya tried :)

cheers

Massage chairs? I'm afraid to ask more...

UPDATE: J90 and Paul Brewers Production stayed in top 30 this week :)

We dropped 6 places from 24 and held 30 mainly cause 2FM are not playing it :( pity !!!

Are Today FM ?

havent heard it but some people apparently have ?!? I havent so dont believe it myself !!

Fm104 is the latest with Spin

Just put the Mastered Version up on our MySpace.

Have been hovering around top 10 on spin south west top 30 and a few other stations, then top 5 etc... and last night Hit number 1 in spins top 30 :D

A Number 1 Record you say ?

Well No:1 in Spins top 30 above eminem and katie perry etc.. by the listeners :D

We have also been asked to appear on The Red Rooster breakfast show on Red FM this Friday. we will be having a chat and will be playing a few songs, you might get a sneek preview of our next release :) Cheers J90: www.redfm.ie we should be on between 8:30 and 10am :)