Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

United Front

• 09-06-2010 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭

Lads / boys / guys / chaps / ladies even. On reading some of the latest threads it's very apparent that some people rub others up the wrong way.

I'm all for taking the pi$$. But we're a minority group, probably not really 'understood' by the majority of peeps on this site. Pointless infighting and bickering probably doesn't do the PR thing any good at all.

Would we not be better keeping it reasonably together, intelligent and on topic, showing ourselves in a better light? These forums are public after all.

Trying to 'prove' who's better / more knowledgable or whatever comes across as a bit of a pi$$ing competition.

Argue the toss by all means, just not by being an arguing tosser.

This is not meant or directed at anybody specific, as we all have our moments, I just sincerely believe we'd better serve our common cause if we laid off each other a bit.

Or just flame me. (I dunno if that's even still in use but I'm old).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Hard to have a united front when a certain poster is causing problems by continously giving incorrect and stupid advice and when he is corrected he wants to get back on topic even when he is more often than not the one that took it off topic in the first place.

I could go on but what's the point when certain Mods want us to leave him alone despite the fact he seems to be seriously lowering the tone here with his silly utube videos of women with guns.

He seems to know something about every topic that comes up here and every thread you read he's there talking ****e.

If anyone corrects or even challenges his opinions, they now risk being accussed of "cyber bullying" :rolleyes:

So to answer your question,a united front .............. not likely :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Hard to have a united front when a certain poster is causing problems by continously by giving incorrect and stupid advice and when he is corrected he wants to get back on topic even when he is more often than not the one that took it off topic in the first place.

I could go on but what's the point when certain Mods want us to leave him alone despite the fact he seems to be seriously lowering the tone here with his silly utube videos of women with guns.

He seems to know something about every topic that comes up here and every thread you read he's there talking ****e.

If anyone corrects or even challenges his opinions, they now risk being accussed of "cyber bullying" :rolleyes:

So to answer your question,a united front .............. not likely :(

Hmmmmm............. I wonder who bunny shooter is talking about:confused:

Just to add ......................

a certain poster here does rub me up the wrong way and I have now put him on my ignore list as tbh I can not be bothered reading or looking at any more of his childish and imature ****e !

My 2 cents worth :D

Now back on topic :P

Also I will still continue to be an argumenative git so be warned :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭pajero2005

Don't know but as soon as Bunny's mate Tackleberrywho finds out about this they'll be hell to pay:eek::eek:

Nobody puts Bunny in the corner!
    :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

I don't know "who" your going to get to "tackle" that question .... Ha ha .:D

Actually I find the bickering Very entertaining to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

give it a rest bunny it's becoming tedious ! there are others who feel the same way about lagomorph assasins too;)

landkeeper wrote: »
    give it a rest bunny it's becoming tedious !

About as tedious as your aversion towards semi-auto rifles :P

I refer you to my post above and my reference to my ignore list !
    landkeeper wrote: »
    there are others who feel the same way about lagomorph assasins too;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Well that's my Ban Ki Moon moment finished. One thing for sure, youse have more than one thing in common.

Maybe there should be a 'shooting' beers night. That'd sort it.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭gunhappy_ie

Lads / boys / guys / chaps / ladies even. On reading some of the latest threads it's very apparent that some people rub others up the wrong way.

I'm all for taking the pi$$. But we're a minority group, probably not really 'understood' by the majority of peeps on this site. Pointless infighting and bickering probably doesn't do the PR thing any good at all.

Would we not be better keeping it reasonably together, intelligent and on topic, showing ourselves in a better light? These forums are public after all.

Trying to 'prove' who's better / more knowledgable or whatever comes across as a bit of a pi$$ing competition.

Argue the toss by all means, just not by being an arguing tosser.

This is not meant or directed at anybody specific, as we all have our moments, I just sincerely believe we'd better serve our common cause if we laid off each other a bit.

Or just flame me. (I dunno if that's even still in use but I'm old).

Where is this eutopia that you speak of .... ? or better still what number cloud did you fall out of ?

I would love to see shooters unite.... however if we cant even get people to unite afainst that shambles of a government out after (insert no of years here) years of there neglect for the people of Ireland..... who are you kidding if you think shooters will ??

Think you might be misunderstanding the sentiment of my post gunhappy ie.

I'm with you but I'm only talking about us, shooters. Be it paper, balloons, live game whatever, people who know guns/firearms and aren't freaked at the very mention of the word.

Let's be sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

implied-facepalm-implied-facepalm-demotivational-poster-1259858393.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭gunhappy_ie

I'm with you but I'm only talking about us, shooters. Be it paper, balloons, live game whatever, people who know guns/firearms and aren't freaked at the very mention of the word.

Let's be sensible.

sorry no i got it ... just migrane from the f**King truck outside with the reverse beeper on for the last 20 min.

no matter what forum you go on you will find bickering, trying to get one up.... or what ever you want to call it.

Sparks wrote: »
    implied-facepalm-implied-facepalm-demotivational-poster-1259858393.jpg

PMSL ;)

You people are class.

Bringing clique to a new level.

You people are class.

Bringing clique to a new level.

Now who took your sweets :confused:

Pegged them out myself. It's looking cliquey when no matter what you say you're made out to be a dope.

And yeah. I do a good enough job on my own.

The facepalm wasn't aimed at you DH, but at Bunny...

...and it's not a bad sentiment, it's just that it's not worked for our community for the last sixty years by my count (and I've no reason to think it worked before that either). The 2% rule, amongst other things, just kills it everytime.

The facepalm wasn't aimed at you DH, but at Bunny....

:eek: really :p

Well recently the 2% rule doesn't look a great option either :(

Yeah, but the recent issues have been with 0.002% or so, rather than all the 2%...

Well if the 98% were kept informed by the 0.1998% maybe the 0.002% wouldn't have gotten away with it ;)

Just my 2 cents worth can we please get back on topic please :p;):D

Ah the cut, thrust, parry and feint. Did someone mention self loading rifles?

**** it the wife's back from bingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

2z8x3lv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

:DPMSL
    This place has been getting a wee bit like Wisteria Lane lately, all the same!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

dCorbus wrote: »
    :DPMSL
    This place has been getting a wee bit like Wisteria Lane lately, all the same!:p

Touche, although the fact you know the name mean you wantch it ;)

Terri Hatcher may be over forty but she still is a Cougar ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

This is the part that annoys me! When I ask a question on boards I do so hoping to hear of the experiences other people about the issue or whatever. I will already have looked up google to find as much info about an issue first so somebody coming on and giving an answer which IMO sounds like bull**** is pointless!!

If I had nothing better to do I could easily look up the answer to every question here on boards and answer it for them as if I knew about it :rolleyes: but what is the point in that!

And whatever meaningful info and experience this certain poster can sometimes have will often be disregarded by the people who think he is just talkin ****!!

Thats my two cents!:D

To sum up most of us and our attitude to fighting evil, righting wrongs, and setting the world firmly on its moral axis ;):rolleyes::D:p:

duty_calls.png

(Thanks to sparks for "allowing" the theft of this!)

Why, oh why, can't we all just get along:D?
    avp-tether.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

lol
    this is classy stuff

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Have to thank Rovi as the inspiration for this one.

Don't be shy. Sing along now .........................

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

Why cant we be just like the Waltons, the way it was back on Walton's mountain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

I'm with you but I'm only talking about us, shooters. Be it PAPER, balloons, live game whatever, people who know guns/firearms and aren't freaked at the very mention of the word.

Let's be sensible.

Jaysus, will ye just leave the feckin paper alone !!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

thedragon wrote: »
    Why cant we be just like the Waltons, the way it was back on Walton's mountain.

This here is more like Shameless,crossed with the Simpsons and Family guy.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

This here is more like Shameless,crossed with the Simpsons and Family guy

Na, more like Desperate Housewives (for all the bitching) crossed with American Dad (for all our other proclivities)!:D;)

Guns Don't Kill People - American Dad

Or for the full version auf Deutsch oddly enough, but sounds strangely more effective!:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

since we're all cotributing 2 cents,
    there are some posters on this site, whom I 'm sure have shooting sports best interest at heart but are actually so afraid to say the wrong thing in case they give a negitave impression to the non shooting public who might accidently stumble into the forum and draw the conclusion that we are all a bunch of "gun tote hillbillies", that they must be permanently on sqeeky bum time
    phew......
    try and say that in one breath:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

4gun wrote: »
    since we're all cotributing 2 cents,
    there are some posters on this site, whom I 'm sure have shooting sports best interest at heart but are actually so afraid to say the wrong thing in case they give a negitave impression to the non shooting public who might accidently stumble into the forum and draw the conclusion that we are all a bunch of "gun tote hillbillies", that they must be permanently on sqeeky bum time
    phew......
    try and say that in one breath:D

I hear ya, now where are the Kandoo's?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

It can be the source of such information and points of view, but lately with some of the crap that has been going on it is losing its appeal very fast.

We all have different experiences, points of view and outlooks on things and it can be so interesting to see other fellow shooters have handled the same situations.

For my own part I have no interest in the who is in what association or which organisation is the best. To me all they do is divide and strangle our sport to keep a certain few on an ego trip, and the higher up the ladder the worse the ego is.When we needed them most to unite and work for the lads on the ground who actually do shoot it was like a bad run of monty pythons the peoples liberation front a lot of talk with no results.

I can only go on personal experiences when it comes to shooting, what I found best and what worked for me.Like most ordinary lads i have done a lot of rough and clay shooting. I know a little about a lot and a lot about very little. I have been shooting for a dram over 20 years. At a height I was rearing 600 pheasants and 500 ducks, with another lad looking after a second pen with 600 pheasants.

I like this forum, but of late it has become a very unfriendly place( we would nearly get a better reception off the animal welfare forum than in here) which is a pity, we all had to start somewhere an despite what we may think we dont know everything or have the right to take the moral high ground on others.

I think we need a day out on the range, dust a few clays, the bit of slagging off and bragging rights,along with a little wager as to who buys the first beer. A bite to eat and realise that we all have one thing in common and that is we are all shooting folk who need to get our feet back on the ground and back to what matters most, the enjoyment of our passtime.

homerhop wrote: »
    It can be the source of such information and points of view, but lately with some of the crap that has been going on it is losing its appeal very fast.

We all have different experiences, points of view and outlooks on things and it can be so interesting to see other fellow shooters have handled the same situations.

For my own part I have no interest in the who is in what association or which organisation is the best. To me all they do is divide and strangle our sport to keep a certain few on an ego trip, and the higher up the ladder the worse the ego is.When we needed them most to unite and work for the lads on the ground who actually do shoot it was like a bad run of monty pythons the peoples liberation front a lot of talk with no results.

I can only go on personal experiences when it comes to shooting, what I found best and what worked for me.Like most ordinary lads i have done a lot of rough and clay shooting. I know a little about a lot and a lot about very little. I have been shooting for a dram over 20 years. At a height I was rearing 600 pheasants and 500 ducks, with another lad looking after a second pen with 600 pheasants.

I like this forum, but of late it has become a very unfriendly place( we would nearly get a better reception off the animal welfare forum than in here) which is a pity, we all had to start somewhere an despite what we may think we dont know everything or have the right to take the moral high ground on others.

I think we need a day out on the range, dust a few clays, the bit of slagging off and bragging rights,along with a little wager as to who buys the first beer. A bite to eat and realise that we all have one thing in common and that is we are all shooting folk who need to get our feet back on the ground and back to what matters most, the enjoyment of our passtime.

This could well be one of the best posts i've seen here in a very very long time.:)

Anybody else up for trying to organize a "boards range day"?

It would be great to finally put a few faces to names on here:cool:

Maybe, with a bit of planning we could make it a charity event? A small entry fee, a few prizes from various gun shops/sporting outlets? Nothing too serious, just something for us all to meet up and "shoot the s**t!!" All proceeds to a charity of the winners choice:)

I'd be willing to talk to R.F.D's in my area looking for sponsorship.

Just to get the ball rolling I was thinking something for all calibers
    ( partly because I only shoot a .22wmr and a 12 gauge shotgun) On the day we could see what the turn out is like and orginase groups for various calibers?

Foxing cal for .22wmr, .22swift, .22hornet, .223 etc out to 100-150 yards?

Deer cal for .22-250, .243, 25-06, 30-06 .308, 6.5 x 55, etc out to whatever distance would suit ye guys (as ye can tell, I'm not a deer stalker just yet:o:p)?

And depending on location, something for the clay busters on here?

Just an idea, but any interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

It's a brilliant idea, so get MNSCI up for hosting it so we can do everything on site, have a big barbecue, and get to know one another. It's been suggested a good few times before, but if someone is up for running it, I'm more than game.

I'm not a member there (or any range) so I wouldn't know where to start regarding a venue but would be more than happy to try organize the prizes, entry forms/ dates or anything else involved.

I'm up for this, I think it's what the sport and this fourm needs at the moment and would be more than happy to roll my sleeves up and try organize it (albeit, with a little help)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

don't forget us .22lr shooters too. lol

pajero2005 wrote: »
    Well now I'd put ye (us) in with the fox caliber, or maybe a "bunny busters group"?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

There's a multiple discipline shoot and BBQ in Hillop on the 19th if it's a days shooting and a munch ye're after -

plenty of clays rifle and small stuff so something for everyone- no fullbore rifle though

See the upcoming events thread in target shooting for the flyer and contact details

it's already happening - nothing to organize - all ye have to do is turn up and make some noise - be sure to let them know if ye're coming though to be sure there is enough food

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

aaaaa isn't nice to see everyone getting along :D:D

An open forum will always attract opinion and comment that not everyone will agree with 204 vs 223 vs 243 etc etc. Air rifle shooting vs real rifle shooting;)

Its the lack of civility that troubles me. ;) especially as everyone can read the posts. There is few rules in life that saves most people from embarrassment and i dare say a good thumping that seems not to matter on internet forums

"Be nice"
    "Think twice, ink once"
    "if you have nothing useful to add say nothing"

and always remember there is

""Someone somewhere that does know more about your hobby than you think you do"

Have a nice day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Darr

have to agree that my liking of boards is less then it used be , well I belive that boards has done a fair bit of damage as well to us as collective group ... you never know who is looking on here and reporting back to others !!! .. also just because you (think you)know something dont feel you have to post it !!

anyways the majority of people here are fine and as it was mentioned about a shoot .. why not bump the numbers here , I belive there is a clay shoot as well but not sure if on the same day and I dont know about small bore .

Charity Competition An Riocht, Castlemaine, County Kerry on the 26 and 27 of June 2010, all are welcome.

Please read the link below, Battens Disease is a very serious disease; it is devastating for the children and the family.

http://www.medhelp.org/lib/batten.htm

Please support this very worthy cause, contact Paddy O'Mahony at An Riocht.

would be nice to actually get a large turn out to this Im sure , you may remember the parents on the late late show a few months back who's 2 children suffer from this disease

anyways we are going never know might see some there
    Dar

Great post by homerhop TBH

+1 on the idea of a Boards.ie shooting range day:cool:

In the meantime: Fear not, fellow 22lr shooters - Help may be at hand. As mentioned before, Bunnyshooter, Clivej, and myself (on the sidelines) have already been working on something interesting for 22lr shooters. The Course-of-Fire is worked out and we're now looking for a venue and a time-slot. So, plans are afoot!:D (We'll get there eventually!;))

In the meantime, you can do no worse than head up to Hilltop on the 19th. Was at the last one and it was brilliant! Fairplay to B'Man and the lads!;):)

Or head to Castlemaine on the 26/27th and support the charity!

Maybe a new thread to throw in some ideas for a boards.ie range day?