Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2010: Maths Paper 2

• 09-06-2010 5:37pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I wanted a thread, discuss here and dont make another one plzzz! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

Ah I'm sure they didn't MEAN to make a second Irish thread :pac:

So... theorem predictions. No way in hell I'm learning them all so an idea would be nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

Pythagores'(or however you spell it) theorem might come up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

deise_girl wrote: »
    I wanted a thread, discuss here and dont make another one plzzz! :pac:
    I wont I promise :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Blue_Seas wrote: »
    Ah I'm sure they didn't MEAN to make a second Irish thread :pac:

So... theorem predictions. No way in hell I'm learning them all so an idea would be nice :D

Ahh yea I know he didnt, just messing round :)

Ive been hearing a bit about the pythag theorem tbh also one of those circles ones..
    For the big theorem Im hoping for the equiangular :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I'm in the same position as I was before the pre's unsure of what theorums are! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Basicly 10 proofs that you need to learn off for JC HL Maths paper 2

decisions wrote: »
    Basicly 10 proofs that you need to learn off for JC HL Maths paper 2

Yeah but that leads onto further questios like what are proofs... Noway am I learning all 10 I'll give a whack at Pythagoras but that's it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

my grinds teacher said somthing about the circle theorem with the line im gonna learn both just incase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Jaygee

Do we need to know deductions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭bevan619

DylanS09 wrote: »
    Pythagores'(or however you spell it) theorem might come up!

It's very likely that it will come up in some form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

bevan619 wrote: »
    It's very likely that it will come up in some form.

It comes up every year in some form...
    Just not as a full question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭bevan619

DylanS09 wrote: »
    It comes up every year in some form...
    Just not as a full question!

That's what I'm saying. You might as well learn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 lolzNato

Is it me or has the paper 2 become easier over the past few years? oh the joys of geometry and trignometry :pac:

lolzNato wrote: »
    Is it me or has the paper 2 become easier over the past few years? oh the joys of geometry and trignometry :pac:

Just from doing exam papers the years further back seemed harder but I thought the same about Irish untill today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 JonnyM824

lolzNato wrote: »

Yea my teacher said since 'round 2003/04 they've just kept gettin' easier... Thank GOD :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Bump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 lolzNato

Welll... after paper 1 today i feel very confident about this, hoping to get a good mark, wasnt sure before hand :cool:

Will Area And Volume Be like previous years with cones ect? cause we now get the formula's and the Maths Pre in Area and Volume i thought was hard =P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

I really hate the triangle theorems. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭mista_2k10

Ive done really bad in paper 1 :(, so would it be possible to get a C or a B if i do really well in paper 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

mista_2k10 wrote: »
    Ive done really bad in paper 1 :(, so would it be possible to get a C or a B if i do really well in paper 2?

Same here. Failed P1 miserably. Thought I knew most of stuff that comes up in P1, but then I opened the exam and everything flew out of my head :(

I think if we do well in P2 then C is a very possible result, but don't think a B is possible (depends how bad you did in P1, e.g. I think I got no more than 30%).

gonna learn 5 theorems tonight the 2 parralellograms ones The 2 circle ones (bisect a chord and The one which is 1+4=2(2+5) cause there tipped to come up and ofc the pythagoras theorem which ever teacher in the coiuntry is convinced it is coming up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 AlanL

subz3r0 wrote: »
    Same here. Failed P1 miserably. Thought I knew most of stuff that comes up in P1, but then I opened the exam and everything flew out of my head :(

I think if we do well in P2 then C is a very possible result, but don't think a B is possible (depends how bad you did in P1, e.g. I think I got no more than 30%).

same happened to me but im quite good at P2 so hopefully i can still get a B.
    Pythagoras and a diagonal that bisects the area of a parallelogram are likely to come up as they haven't for a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

I love paper 2. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

Tommyrawr wrote: »
    gonna learn 5 theorems tonight the 2 parralellograms ones The 2 circle ones (bisect a chord and The one which is 1+4=2(2+5) cause there tipped to come up and ofc the pythagoras theorem which ever teacher in the coiuntry is convinced it is coming up

I'm not actually learning the circle one about the chord being bisected, or the opposite sides and opposite angles parallelogram one, simply because they came up last year...
    Surely that means they won't come up this year...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Same...love statistics and trig...plus for a lot of other questions it's just fill it into the formula...hopefully q's 3 & 4 aren't too confusing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

So do I! It's weird, most other people think it's much harder!
    Yay!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 coolyourjets

People are saying that the geometry question this year will be easy because last years one was really hard nd loadza ppl in the country got it wrong oh ye nd i lov the geo nd trig questions aswell there so easy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

Tommyrawr wrote: »

1. What theorem is 1+4=2(2+5)?
    2. Be careful with predictions? Remember what happened with the leaving cert English paper 2? Everyone thought Kavanagh would come up? And guess how many people were crying when they left the exam??:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

O.L. for me. I dropped after the mocks. Good luck everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Glee_GG

1. What theorem is 1+4=2(2+5)?
    2. Be careful with predictions? Remember what happened with the leaving cert English paper 2? Everyone thought Kavanagh would come up? And guess how many people were crying when they left the exam??:(:(

Kavanagh did come up! it was Boland that didn't wasn't it?! i get your point anyways though! but nearly all the predictions for the geography paper were true so you never know! *fingers crossed!* hope we get phytagoras coz ive learnt that so well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,344 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

for ol maths paper 2 are all the formulas that we need (ie-length,area,volume etc) in the formula book given out by supervisior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Jaygee

This years paper 2 is most likely going to be harder then other years. Since we have the log tables now they have to balance it out by making the paper harder.

Jaygee wrote: »
    This years paper 2 is most likely going to be harder then other years. Since we have the log tables now they have to balance it out by making the paper harder.

yeah :( especially the geometry and volume questions! not the rest of them though because theres not really any info in them on theoroms or stats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,344 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Glee_GG wrote: »
    yeah :( especially the geometry and volume questions! not the rest of them though because theres not really any info in them on theoroms or stats!
    hate 2 b doin hl.all the formulas for ol r in the log book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 coolyourjets

hate 2 b doin hl.all the formulas for ol r in the log book
    This is the first year higher level gets to use the logbooks:cool:Thank god:D

Set values for sine, cosine and tangent of 30, 60, 90, 120 etc degrees are also given in the logbooks.
    Biggest tip for the exam is to use the logbooks and even if you can't do the question, write down the formula!
    There is nothing that isn't given as I'm aware of, you just need to know what formulas to use on the questions.

I am also predicting a proof of Pythagoras' theorem ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 JonnyM824

My mate told me that he saw on the internet that No.4 or 6 might come up for constructions... And also it's between No.4,6,7 and 10 for the theorems.. So just warning yis, if i were you i wouldn't be putting all my eggs in pythagoras' basket! Hes the most tipped to come up but, you never know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 457babe

I've no theroms learnt :eek::( Any suggestions if i could one learn 3
    Which 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Blue_Seas

Do deductions ever come up? Should I bother learning them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

457babe wrote: »
    I've no theroms learnt :eek::( Any suggestions if i could one learn 3
    Which 3?

I'd say you should definately learn the Pythagoras Theorem, and then some 2 easy theorems of your choice :)
    Blue_Seas wrote: »
    Do deductions ever come up? Should I bother learning them?

Yea I was wondering that as well. I think they might ask them, so no harm to know them just in case, especially if they are pretty straighforward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Vivara

These are the only examinable theorems. Deductions cannot be examined.

1. Vertically opposite angles are equal in measure.

2. The measures of the three angles of a triangle sum to 180°.

3. An exterior angle of a triangle equals the sum of the two interior opposite angles in measure.

4. If two sides of a triangle are equal in measure, then the angles opposite these sides are equal in measure.

5. Opposite sides and opposite angles of a parallelogram are respectively equal in measure.

6. A diagonal bisects the area of a parallelogram.

7. The measure of the angle at the centre of the circle is twice the measure of the angle at the circumference, standing on the same arc.

8. A line through the centre of a circle perpendicular to a chord bisects the chord.

9. If two triangles are equiangular, the lengths of corresponding sides are in proportion.

10. In a right-angled triangle, the square of the length of the side opposite to the right angle is equal to the sum of the squares of the lengths of the other two sides.

The theorems which have been predicted to come up are (most likely first):
    • № 10
    • № 6
    • № 7
    • № 4

Those are the ones I would learn if you were stuck for time. Probably № 10, № 6 & № 7 if really stuck.

Hope this helps,
    Ed.

Lads I cant do this.. I dont know my theorems well, I can do f all in area and volume and my proving of congruency is shíte :(
    Im also terrified how theyre gonna ask the Coordinate Geometry since we have the forumlas.. They'll probs ask everything in a real backarse way :(

*Takes deep breaths*

Lads I cant do this.. I dont know my theorems well, I can do f all in area and volume and my proving of congruency is shíte :(
    Im also terrified how theyre gonna ask the Coordinate Geometry since we have the forumlas.. They'll probs ask everything in a real backarse way :(

*Takes deep breaths*

If they ask me a load of question on axial and central symmetry in the coordinate geometry questions i will freak because they confuse the crap outa me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

*Takes deep breaths*

Relax!
    Okay.. now using the marking schemes and exams papers, practise!
    And the theorems, well the first few are easy enough.
    And you won't be asked last years ones (unless they're mean!), so just try to at least grasp an understanding of the others :)
    You'll be fine.

Relax!
    Okay.. now using the marking schemes and exams papers, practise!
    And the theorems, well the first few are easy enough.
    And you won't be asked last years ones (unless they're mean!), so just try to at least grasp an understanding of the others :)
    You'll be fine.
    <3

Okay Lads... Theorem predictions?

<3

Okay Lads... Theorem predictions?

Both the parallelogram theorems, theorem 7,8 or 10 :D

Not theorem 5's parallelogram surely! It came up last year like!

M&S* wrote: »
    Not theorem 5's parallelogram surely! It came up last year like!

Then theorem 6 but you may need to know theorem 5 especially if they ask questions on parallelograms :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭RML

Good luck to everyone who is doing Maths Paper 2 tommorow!:D