Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Jude Classic

• 09-06-2010 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭

Strange to see three Europeans leading the betting in a PGA Tour event. Harrington back in action after a short injury lay off, McIlroy also playing.
    I've gone for Tim Petrovic e/w (70/1 Bet365), coming off a top 5 last week and 6th a couple of weeks previous.

Tee Times

Betting (PP)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Aidric wrote: »
    Strange to see three Europeans leading the betting in a PGA Tour event. Harrington back in action after a short injury lay off, McIlroy also playing.
    I've gone for Tim Petrovic e/w (70/1 Bet365), coming off a top 5 last week and 6th a couple of weeks previous.

Tee Times

Betting (PP)

Great selection for this week. Managed to get 80's with Powers when they priced up.

My preview available here

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Just 1 for me this week,will haveanother stab on Saturday
    Heath Slocum @33/1 €10 win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I always pick 3 guys for if have bet. Going be my first bet this year on Golf (which is my best sport betting wise)

Tim Herron 100/1
    Paul Goydos 100/1
    Billy Mayfair 150/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

a little off topic, but I always wonder why people dont use betfair for backing outside golfers.

to give you an example,
    tim herron is 309/1
    billy mayfair is 449/1

and you can very easily lay them off.

I dont work for betfair or anything but the differences in prices is astronomical and I'd hate to see people pulling out these golfers and not getting paid properly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭SEORG

Robert Karlsson 66/1
    John Sendon 66/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I always pick 3 guys for if have bet. Going be my first bet this year on Golf (which is my best sport betting wise)

Tim Herron 100/1
    Paul Goydos 100/1
    Billy Mayfair 150/1

I went with Goydos too, good price given his recent performances there.

a little off topic, but I always wonder why people dont use betfair for backing outside golfers.

to give you an example,
    tim herron is 309/1
    billy mayfair is 449/1

I dont work for betfair or anything but the differences in prices is astronomical and I'd hate to see people pulling out these golfers and not getting paid properly!

personally it's because i prefer to deal with bookies over the counter,reason for that,the fact that when i open an account on line i end up backing on everything,i have come to the conclusion that my addictive personality doesn't suit having a handy on line account to do silly bets at home
    i admit i'm too impatient to have an online account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

heavyballs wrote: »
    personally it's because i prefer to deal with bookies over the counter,reason for that,the fact that when i open an account on line i end up backing on everything,i have come to the conclusion that my addictive personality doesn't suit having a handy on line account to do silly bets at home
    i admit i'm too impatient to have an online account

understood! I know that chronicle bookmakers (under sporting emporium on anne street) offer spread prices and you can walk in and do your bet and get your docket.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Harrington -2 through his front 9, 3 off the current lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

to give you an example,
    tim herron is 309/1
    billy mayfair is 449/1

I do and have got some great prices remember backing Ames for players championship few years back and got him at 124/1 when he was best price 80/1 with bookies.

Just at moment I dont want back on internet cause trying save few bob and only trying bet in small amounts. But agree betfair has some great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

understood! I know that chronicle bookmakers (under sporting emporium on anne street) offer spread prices and you can walk in and do your bet and get your docket.....

Its not a chronicle anymore and you can only back things on a touch screen i.e. give your money to an agent in return for a ticket that goes into one of the machines! you can lay on these machines but the prices are terrible and cant do it in running!

there are also PCs with access to betdaq only because of the Desmond link!

Basically it's useless!

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Harrington -4 thru 15, t4
    Westwood -7 thru 13!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

Licksy wrote: »
    Harrington -4 thru 15, t4
    Westwood -7 thru 13!

amazing what a fella can do when he consistantly puts the ball on the fairway

a lesson there for all.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Birdied his 16th as well, now -5, t3

Solid opening 65 from Harrington, just two off the current lead of Westwood. I hope they feature some of McIlroys round on sky tonight.

McIlroy putting a good round together, currently on -4. -7 still leads it.

Harrington playing rubbish, +2 thru 11.
    Petrovic leading on -8. ;)

Harrington has double bogeyed two par 3's. Back to -1 now.

Big bomb from Harrington shooting +4, 8 shots off the lead now. McIlroy is only four off and might do well on the weekend. The only advantage for Harrington is he'll be out early tomorrow and might shoot low, most of the low rounds have been shot early this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 historyoflime

One or two under from Rory today and, unless someone starts firing birdies late on like what happened yesterday, he should be nicely placed heading into the final round.

Really impressed with how he's bounced back almost immediately after dropping shots at 1, 2 and 7.

He's putting really well, too. Solid from inside 10 feet and holing more than his fair share of long ones, aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 historyoflime

Typical. Just when I finish typing, he misses a 10 footer for birdie...

reckon it's goin to be car crash tv tonight,Robert Garrigus leadin by a couple,i can't see him holding on,predict he shoots a 74

Ya, never won a PGA event on tour since turning pro in 1997. I'm hoping Tim Petrovic can do it cause I backed him. Karlsson has been solid and another 66 from him could take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Reckon someone has a 63 in them near the top of the leaderboard but it won't be Karlsson or Westwood.

There is a heat advisory in effect for today and no wind so I think it could play a huge part against the Europeans. Plus no European has ever won this event.

Hopefully it will be Petrovic but the local lad Micheel is also worth considering.

In_tuition wrote: »
    There is a heat advisory in effect for today and no wind so I think it could play a huge part against the Europeans. Plus no European has ever won this event.
    It was intense yesterday as well. Garrigus being interviewed last night said the bottom of his bag was melting near the end of his round.
    It's so hot out there, the bottom of my bag was melting when I put it down on the asphalt path.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Don't rule out Brian Gay.

Him or Petrovic winning and I'd be one happy son of a bitch.

Jaysus, the lads are melting out there. Petrovic has bombed unfortunately.

Aidric wrote: »
    Jaysus, the lads are melting out there. Petrovic has bombed unfortunately.

lucky Tim Herron isn't playin,boy he can sweat

i could be wrong and i hope i am,great shot there,seems like a top bloke

Red faces all round. It must be brutal trying to hold energy levels in this humidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

hate saying this as I really like Westwood but looks like he has choked a little again, I know he wasnt leading and Garrigus has played great golf but even still, everytime he gets himself into a winning position he mucks it up on last few holes !!

It has to be effecting him mentally at this stage

:eek: please don't.

As a golfer yes but apart from that he's a no no.

very good...:D:D
    yes as a golfer

Garigus in the water on 18. Should have enough cushion to see it out.

Oh dear. Maybe not.

jesus wept i am cringing here looking at this, feel for the guy thats a blow up
    can he hold on ???

That third shot in to the trees was a fúcking shocker. His caddy should have had a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Huntelaar

Just looking at this on shot tracker...... why did he hit his third over the water to the left?

yeah in fairness it was an absolute shocker, reckon i could have hit it better with me eyes closed, should have taken his driver and smashed it off tee

Anyone lay him on the 18th tee? :pac:

that was his killer, should have taken an iron and put it in play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Huntelaar

Yeh I do but I'm not watchin it. I'm lazy and don't wana go downstairs!

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    that was his killer, should have taken an iron and put it in play
    Yep, all he had to do was hit it up to the right edge instead of trying to home in on the pin.

Do you not have sky?

Do you want a link to view it?

jaysus i wouldnt inflict that on him ha ha

LOL gotta love his demeanour.
    I'd say sweat wasn't all he had in his pants standing over that three footer.

Shot of the day.

They can't be serious?

yeah what stupidity
    And if that wasnt bad enough he has to play the 18th all again ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Do you not have sky?

Do you want a link to view it?

ive tried myp2p.eu without any success

id love a link if you have one

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Anyone have a link?

Karlsson to take it imo.

who is the money on lads ?
    i reckon westwood

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Great tee shot from Garrigus now - incredibly unlucky! Golf can be cruel.