Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford lad makes U.S. Open

• 09-06-2010 10:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭

Before I start, Justin Rose & Rickie Fowler failed in their attempt to make it into next week's U.S. Open after losing out in qualifying.

Rose is 33rd in world golf rankings but the cut off the U.S. Open Top 50 was at the end of May. Joke imo.

Meanwhile, Kevin Phelan, a young Waterford lad who was born in NY but moved to Waterford when he was 3-yrs-old, has qualified after making eagle on his final hole.

Story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

That is crazy about the cut off point alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭NoelAPM

Fair play to him! Takes serious balls to eagle the last under pressure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭seven-iron

first time to california never mind first us open haha.

and @ 500/1 a € will be going on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Kevin actaully qualified with 4 strokes to spare so eagle on the last was a nice bonus to help him top leaderboard.

http://usga.usopen.com/2010/qualifying/hobe_sound.html

He has been living in Florida for 7 years now. He was a member of Waterford Castle when he lived in ireland. Plays off +2 last i heard.

I see Mark Murphy tried and failed at the same venue.

Incidently no mention of Kevin on http://www.irishgolfdesk.com/ but Murphy is.

Wonder what flag the USGA will have against his name next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Must say my husband won the DHL Junior World Championship in 1995 and he is a clare man born and bred. It was on sky sports and he was even in The Star. Only a couple of the lads he won went on to play golf in some major tournaments and another is a presenter on tv in the uk.

He has now started our 10 year old lady golfing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Wonder what flag the USGA will have against his name next week.

He is Irish (as far as I am aware) so I'd assume an Irish emblem.

Must say my husband won the DHL Junior World Championship in 1995 and he is a clare man born and bred. It was on sky sports and he was even in The Star. Only a couple of the lads he won went on to play golf in some major tournaments and another is a presenter on tv in the uk.

He has now started our 10 year old lady golfing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Only one Keano

In_tuition wrote: »

Fair balls to him. Go on the deise! Crazy though that Justin Rose didn't get an automatic exemption after winning the Memorial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

I don't see what the big deal is in Rose not getting qualification for the US Open.

All these pros know exactly what tournament wins and top X finishes get exempt for any futures tournaments. No matter how they decide on what players actually play, someone is going to have a gripe either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Only one Keano

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    I don't see what the big deal is in Rose not getting qualification for the US Open.

All these pros know exactly what tournament wins and top X finishes get exempt for any futures tournaments. No matter how they decide on what players actually play, someone is going to have a gripe either way.

So you're saying the guy who wins a PGA Tour event in a world class field less than 2 weeks in advance of the tournament starting should not be exempt. Come on that's rubbish!

It not saying the pro's don't know the rules/criteria but am saying the rules/criteria are wrong and should be changed.

Read the below article which looks at it from both perspectives but backs up my view:
    U.S. Open minus Rose raises questions about who should get exemptions

By Doug Ferguson, Golf Writer - AP
    1x1.gif
    1x1.gif

DUBLIN, Ohio -- When it comes to the U.S. Open, winning the Memorial doesn't mean jack.
    No one can appreciate that like Justin Rose.
    RELATEDComplete coverage of Monday's U.S. Open qualifiers
    Cowboys QB Romo quits U.S. Open qualifying, returns for practice
    Complete coverage of the 2010 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach

He shot a bogey-free 66 in tough conditions at Muirfield Village for his first victory on American soil, beating the strongest field so far this year among regular PGA Tour events and getting endless plaudits from tournament host Jack Nicklaus. He moved up to No. 33 in the world. The next day, Rose couldn't finish among the top 15 at a U.S. Open qualifier to lock up a tee time at Pebble Beach.
    Fair? Few things about the U.S. Open are ever fair.
    The humor in all this came from his wife, Kate, who couldn't help but notice that Rose most likely will be exempt for the U.S. Open next year through either world rankings or money lists. He just can't play in the one that starts next week.
    "How screwed up is that?" said Ben Curtis after he qualified at the Columbus sectional. "How do you not get the 30th-ranked player in the world? It just blows my mind."
    But it shouldn't. The U.S. Open is supposed to be the toughest test in golf, not have the toughest field in golf.
    "I keep saying this until I'm blue in the face," David Fay said Tuesday as he drove to the Curtis Cup. "It's not the best field in golf. It never pretended to be. It's the most democratic championship. In a perfect world, we wouldn't have special exemptions. But if you can keep half the field open to qualifiers ... that's why we have 9,000 entries."
    That's what major championship golf used to be all about.
    The most famous example might be Ben Hogan winning the Masters and U.S. Open in 1953, then having to qualify for the British Open in the summer before he could win the Claret Jug at Carnoustie. Two of the last five U.S. Open champions -- Michael Campbell in 2005 and Lucas Glover last year -- earned a spot through qualifying.
    Still, this one doesn't pass the smell test.
    Kenny Perry won the Memorial two years ago and didn't play the U.S. Open because he didn't want to. Perry never liked Torrey Pines, and he sure didn't like the idea of a 36-hole qualifier at age 48. In that case, no one felt terribly outraged.
    This case has the attention of the USGA. Fay said he expects USGA officials to review its U.S. criteria after the champion is crowned at Pebble Beach, although he offered no promises what they would do, if anything.
    "Anytime we don't sit down and try to learn, then we're nuts," he said. "We'll definitely be exploring that."
    But it's not the simple. It's not always that equitable.
    The reason the USGA's cutoff for top 50 in the world is a month before the U.S. Open is to figure out how many spots should be allocated for 13 sectional qualifying sites across the country. For the U.S. Open, college kids should have every right as a PGA Tour player.
    Even so, it's easy to make an exception for the Memorial, which typically has one of the best fields in golf on one of the top courses, is run by the greatest name in golf (Jack Nicklaus) and is played just two weeks before the U.S. Open.
    The USGA can alter its criteria to find a spot for the Memorial champion without causing any problems. Remember, Bo Van Pelt and Bill Haas were among the players who could have been exempt from qualifying had they won because it would have been their second victory since the last U.S. Open.
    The Masters saves room for PGA Tour winners until the very last week, although it never has a full field. It rarely has 100 players. The British Open takes the leading player not already eligible from among the top 10 at the two PGA Tour and European Tour events before the British Open.
    It can be done.
    Considering what Nicklaus means to the game and the prestige with which he runs the Memorial -- not to mention that he is a four-time U.S. Open champion -- the USGA should offer an exemption to the Memorial winner.

It not saying the pro's don't know the rules/criteria but am saying the rules/criteria are wrong and should be changed.

Great comment and that's the issue everyone has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Great comment and that's the issue everyone has.

Rules changed to what ?

Rules changed to say if anyone wins a european event or pga event in one calendar year, then they're exempt to play all majors in that year and the next year ?
    Rules changed to say that ONLY the top 150 players will play the Majors ?
    Rules changed to say that ONLY top 100 players will play the Majors, and there will be 50 spaces free for qualification ?

My point is, no matter what way they decide to do it, will be wrong for some people.

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    Rules changed to what ?

Rules changed to say if anyone wins a european event or pga event in one calendar year, then they're exempt to play all majors in that year and the next year ?
    Rules changed to say that ONLY the top 150 players will play the Majors ?
    Rules changed to say that ONLY top 100 players will play the Majors, and there will be 50 spaces free for qualification ?

My point is, no matter what way they decide to do it, will be wrong for some people.

I agree it's a sticky one...when was the last time Rose was top 50 in the world. What about the fella who's top 50 all year and the week of the cut off he goes out to 51. Someone is going feel hard done by somewhere, at least the criteria is set at the start of the year for everyone to see.
    It's unfortunate for Rose as he is good enough to be there and will be next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

I wonder does the fact that 3 majors get played in the US give the yanks some divine right (in their own head) to decide how the qualication should be set up

they all know the rules and sometimes it even suits a guy not to tee it up on a particular week

p.s. I couldn't have been any happier when Kenny Perry lost last years masters after not travelling to play the open and many other majors I personally wouldn't have liked to see him win over those who do........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Delighted he has qualified i am sure his dad John is absolutely thrilled to bits fantastic achievement.

soundsham wrote: »
    I wonder does the fact that 3 majors get played in the US give the yanks some divine right (in their own head) to decide how the qualication should be set up

they all know the rules and sometimes it even suits a guy not to tee it up on a particular week

p.s. I couldn't have been any happier when Kenny Perry lost last years masters after not travelling to play the open and many other majors I personally wouldn't have liked to see him win over those who do........

Well it's not exclusively a "yank thing". Criteria is different for all 4 isn't it?
    I would say there are lots of differences that the USGA,USPGA,Augusta National and the R&A have. I suppose to give them their dues they have got a lot closer in working together in recent years and have gone more international.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 truebluechippy

i know the guy and his dad very well.he was born there the family moved back to waterford and then after years here the father sold up his companys here to move them back to the US because he thinks they will have a better life there.He has a irish passport or well did the last time he was home.

Fair play to him he alway put in the time on the range even as a very young boy.And his dad spared no money in getting him lessons and coaching.

Fair play.

Never assume with Americans.

http://www.usopen.com/en_US/players/bio34258.html

one week to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

He stayed at home to boost Ryder Cup chances. I was disappointed he didnt go but Kenny Perry is a ledge!

Well it's not exclusively a "yank thing". Criteria is different for all 4 isn't it?
    I would say there are lots of differences that the USGA,USPGA,Augusta National and the R&A have. I suppose to give them their dues they have got a lot closer in working together in recent years and have gone more international.

thanks,I'm fully aware the criteria is different for all majors,
    but are the usga uspga and augusta national not U.S. associations,

Aha Shake wrote: »
    He stayed at home to boost Ryder Cup chances. I was disappointed he didnt go but Kenny Perry is a ledge!

whatever it suited his ryder cup plans ;), he's a choker in my eyes, who knows he may have won despite himself not liking the places

failed to play torrey pines too in 2008 cause he didn't like the course,it didn't suit him.....boo de boo hoo

thanks,I'm fully aware the criteria is different for all majors,
    but are the usga uspga and augusta national not U.S. associations,

Yeah but they're chalk,cheese and something else ;)

All I said in the first post was they were 3 from the US;)

Phelan has a very late draw, 10.31 P.M Irish time on Thursday night.
    Second last group on the first tee.
    Off at 17:01 irish time on Friday.
    Playing with J.Preeo and M.Silvers.

Playing under the stars and stripes by the look of it.
    Also quoted in top U.S betting not top Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 bluestripe

Looks like he's playing under the Irish flag after all: http://www.usopen.com/en_US/players/bio34258.html

Best of luck to him in any case!

ya correct being announced onto the tee as Irish,he said himself,

Thats good nice to see they've made the change :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 truebluechippy

yeah would of been very surprised to have seen him play under the usa flag.

just hope he makes a good account of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Kevin Phelan has achieved the very difficult task of qualifying for this year's US Open..... for the second time,well done Kevin.

http://www.irishgolfdesk.com/news-files/2013/6/5/phelan-patiently-biding-his-time.html

A quick edit: if you don't know or follow the above, Irish Golf Desk, you are missing out. I know its been said before but Brian really knows his stuff and is always on the ball regarding the Irish golf scene..