Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking car off the road

• 07-06-2010 7:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

This might sound like a stupid question but anyway.

I want to take my car off the road at the end of june. My car tax is up at the end of june and i dont see the point in renewing it (cause im going back to college and can live without the car). So i have the form to fill in and bring to the guards but when do i get it done? Before the end of the month, so they wont be expecting payment of me? Or can it wait until july (if it can wait until july, would they expect me to pay?).

As is it is, i have been risking it for the past four months without nct but going around for july and august without tax is a bit much. If im stopped at all, im sure to get done. Anyone know what thay can do do to me? What's the fine like if i was stopped?

Just taking it off the road alone would save me €150 for july. €30 a week in petrol and €35 in insurance. So i think i want the €150 for college instead. And if i didn't take it off the road, how much can i add to fines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Don't know if you saw this already: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/travel-and-recreation/motoring-1/motor-tax-and-insurance/motor_tax_rates

€60 fine for failure to display a tax disc, I'm sure it's a lot more if the car is not actually taxed. If it's out by more than 2 months they can impound the car. They often turn a blind eye to no NCT (especially with the backlogs now) but there's something else wrong with the car e.g. no tax they're more likely to do you for no NCT as well, which can lead to a court summons, fine, penalty points, etc. (not sure on specifics)

Basically it's not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Don't know if you saw this already: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/travel-and-recreation/motoring-1/motor-tax-and-insurance/motor_tax_rates

€60 fine for failure to display a tax disc, I'm sure it's a lot more if the car is not actually taxed. If it's out by more than 2 months they can impound the car. They often turn a blind eye to no NCT (especially with the backlogs now) but there's something else wrong with the car e.g. no tax they're more likely to do you for no NCT as well, which can lead to a court summons, fine, penalty points, etc. (not sure on specifics)

Basically it's not worth it.

she said that she won't be using the car. so...fully off the road.

OP, i would just leave it. Just don't drive it. You'll be sent reminders, but as long as you dont drive the car, you should be grand. I've left cars for months without being used and untaxed, and when you want to put it back on the road, just go into a garda station and get it declared off from end of june to whenever. then tax it as normal. simples!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

ottostreet wrote: »
    she said that she won't be using the car. so...fully off the road.
    And if i didn't take it off the road, how much can i add to fines?

No she didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Just taking it off the road alone would save me €150 for july. €30 a week in petrol and €35 in insurance. So i think i want the €150 for college instead. And if i didn't take it off the road, how much can i add to fines?

....I see your dilemma, but, out of the 150, how much will you spend in the interim on buses/taxis, etc? Subtract that from the 150 and then see how much you're really saving.........150 for 3 months 24/7 transport is cheap, tbh..........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....I see your dilemma, but, out of the 150, how much will you spend in the interim on buses/taxis, etc? Subtract that from the 150 and then see how much you're really saving.........150 for 3 months 24/7 transport is cheap, tbh..........

There's the thing, i can easily walk to work. Its a 40 minute walk so it can be done. So can really do without the car at this stage. So as another user said, i just take it off the road and let them send me the forms and do nothing about them? Didn't know it can be that easy. Thought there might be a catch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

when not in use dont park it on a public road when the tax expires

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Confab wrote: »
    No she didn't.
    I want to take my car off the road at the end of june.

i took it from the OP that she WAS taking it off the road?

it must be parked on private property when you have no tax on it. if its on the public road the garda can still impound it and fine you for no tax, non display of tax and then hit you with the impound fees.

and then even when its in the garden you must have some sort of insurance on it iirc as it can still catch fire, vandalised and spread to neighbouring homes and cause damage to a third parties properyty or injury somebody. im not 100% on how you go about that but i heard a while back that somebody was pausing their insurance with quinn as they were going travelling and quinn insured it in their garden for low money but with the basic amount of cover.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

You don't have to have it insured while it's off the road but if you think you may be using it again in a few months / live in a rough area / going away, it's sensible to take out 3rd party, fire & theft just incase!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Yawns wrote: »
    You don't have to have it insured while it's off the road but if you think you may be using it again in a few months / live in a rough area / going away, it's sensible to take out 3rd party, fire & theft just incase!
    I'd like to see the basis for the assertions from other posters that a car off the road needs to be insured?
    I have an old car that was recently taken off the road just sitting in my driveway and its not insured. There is no legal requirement (AFAIK) that mandates that cars held on private property need to be insured.

Yawns wrote: »
    Max Power1 wrote: »
    I'd like to see the basis for the assertions from other posters that a car off the road needs to be insured?
    I have an old car that was recently taken off the road just sitting in my driveway and its not insured. There is no legal requirement (AFAIK) that mandates that cars held on private property need to be insured.

as i said in my post that i wasnt 100% sure but maybe the guy took out the policy for safe keeping as if it caught fire and damaged anything else, you the owner would have to pay out of your own pocket.

my mates car was torched in his front garden in finglas south 2 years ago and he couldnt claim off his house insurance for the damage to his neighbours property and they had to claim from his car insurance policy.

i didnt say its a legal requirement but its something you should look at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

kceire wrote: »

and then even when its in the garden you must have some sort of insurance on it ....

Seems to me that you were sure, you said "must" not that it would be a sensible idea.
    kceire wrote: »
    as i said in my post that i wasnt 100% sure but maybe the guy took out the policy for safe keeping as if it caught fire and damaged anything else, you the owner would have to pay out of your own pocket.
    I know that, and if someone torches (or steals etc) a low value car, then i'm willing to take the hit.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Seems to me that you were sure, you said "must" not that it would be a sensible idea.

I know that, and if someone torches (or steals etc) a low value car, then i'm willing to take the hit.

yeah sorry, thats fair enough, it does come across like that in my post. didnt mean to sound so "sure".

My mate had a 2004 A4 so wasnt such a low value car, we dont know the value of the car the OP has, but even if its only worth €100, if something happens then your liable to pay the damages on it, ie. my mates neighbour had nearly 7k worth of damage done to her hone with the windows, guttering, hall door and fron facade damage, i certainly wouldnt wana be paying that out of my own pocket no matter what the value of the car is.