Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50m PR60 shoot MNSCI next weekend

• 07-06-2010 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭

Any of the usual suspects planning on heading to Midlands next Sunday, 13th June, for the 50m PR60 Prone Shoot?

Hope to make it along myself, seeing as I missed the DURC 50m Open yesterday - Shame on me!:o
    BTW Congrats to IRLConor on his win at that (Or was it Baldy who pipped him in the end?:D). Clarification needed!!:rolleyes:;)

Nice new firing points set up down in MNSCI - New side-walls, target boards, astro-turf downrange, baffles, floor nicely levelled and re-screeded, firing-points marked clearly, etc. - A huge difference and a major improvement! (BTW Well done and major fairplay to the lads who carried out all that work - and continue to carry out more improvement works - all voluntarily and in their own spare time! Trojan and oft-time thankless - but you know who you'se are, so give yourself a clap-on-the-back, a certain DS9-nomered boards poster!:D;))

Looking forward to it - And hopefully won't need a mid-detail smoke-break this time!:o;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Will not be partaking in the comp myself, but will be in attendence over the weekend as a spectator.

Quick question there dCorbus. Is it a Sat & Sun comp or just Sunday? I believe there is a 3P on Saturday and Prone on Sunday. I could be mistaken.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

AFAIK ezridax, It's 3P on Saturday and Prone on Sunday.
    Won't be taking part in the 3P myself (Haven't tried that one just yet!;))
    will be in attendence over the weekend as a spectator.

A quiet and unassuming, rather than jocularly garrulous, spectator, one hopes!;););):D

dCorbus wrote: »
    A quiet and unassuming, rather than jocularly garrulous, spectator, one hopes!;););):D

Correct.

Will be doing "crowd control" or more to the point noise control. Have the Wavin pipe all polished and the first sign of noise ............ :D;)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

I find a hurley round the back of the shins trumps a wavin everytime!:D:rolleyes:

But a good idea all the same.

Teach the pups some respect!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Should be there, will help score targets and the like if anyone wants a hand.

BTW Can't seem to find the online detail-booking facility for this on the NTSA website - Or am I losing my marble?

Do we need to pre-register for this event?
    Will be doing "crowd control"

What, keeping the hoards of screaming groupies and shooting-sports fans away from the competitors enclosure? Ah, if only.........:D

Well we don't want a repeat of the infamous "streaking" event of 2008. :D

Fans ala the "Happy Gilmore" style.

My apologies, i seem to be taking this thread waaaaaayyyyyyy off topic.

Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭FLOYDSTER

Sorry guys I'll miss this as I'm off to shoot the ISSF match at Bisley on Friday and hopefully qual for the second stage on Sunday!!(Sat gonna be a very relaxed day, some food and beer!!)
    Was looking forward to a shoot at Midland too!:(, deffo next time!

Any results from Sundays shoot?, was totally shattered after Saturdays 2 x 60 shot matches at Dungannon!;)

That's a pity, floydster.

IRLConor needs the competition - Can't have him winning everything you're not in!!!!!:D:D:D:rolleyes:

Best of luck in Bisley!:cool:

How did Dungannon go for you gents?

This is all too good - Too many competitions and shooting events on each and every weekend. Too much choice! Whodda thunk it!?

Well, let's hope the conditions next Sunday are more favourable than those we experienced two weeks ago in ECSC - Jesus, my first 50m outing and it was tough!

Reports were that it was handy enough, just very hot. You'll get a lot worse than that!

it was handy enough

If you'd be practicing previously in a sauna perhaps!:rolleyes:

Ah here, it was what? 26, 27 degrees? What happens when you're asked to shoot a World Cup in Camp Perry in June, it's ten degrees beyond that and you're thinking nothing less than 597 will do? Heat isn't something you need to be worrying about in Ireland. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Heat isn't something you need to be worrying about in Ireland. :p
    You wouldn't say that if you'd trained for the Bisley matches with Matt. Take WTSC's range in summer, close all the doors, turn on the central heating and space heaters and shoot a full match in full kit at ~35-40C :D

Sparks wrote: »
    You wouldn't say that if you'd trained for the Bisley matches with Matt. Take WTSC's range in summer, close all the doors, turn on the central heating and space heaters and shoot a full match in full kit at ~35-40C :D

Good, because sometime you might have to do it elsewhere! :p Train and shoot in everything, from hot enough to near pass out to cold enough to need hot water to unfreeze yourself from the firing point after shooting, dead glassy calm to howling maelstrom. No point turning up to a world cup bitching that your training has never reflected the conditions!

Amen to that!
    (And we used to do that because the range in Bisley would be that hot...)

Ah here, it was what? 26, 27 degrees?

Ah, it was the f***in' humidity that got to me, not so much the temp TBH.
    What happens when you're asked to shoot a World Cup

Oh come now, I'm sure when the phonecall arrives for me to do that, I'll have a couple more rounds under me belt!:rolleyes::D
    to near pass out to cold enough to need hot water to unfreeze yourself from the firing point after shooting

Well, that one's well sorted!;)
    dead glassy calm to howling maelstrom

that too!;)
    No point turning up to a world cup bitching that your training has never reflected the conditions!

a. Who's bitching - Just whinging!
    b. What World Cup?
    c. When World Cup?
    d. Who's complaining about World Cups?

Tis a long way from World Cups, I be at!:p
    let's hope the conditions next Sunday are more favourable

Ok, let's hope they're less favourable then? Happy now?:p;)
    Jesus, my first 50m outing and it was tough!

Just a personal comment - I did find it bloody hot and sticky - It was hot and sticky - Some chaps even wore shorts, indeed! - So for me, it was a tough shoot to start with. TBH I preferred the wind, the cold, and the rain!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

dC what are you shooting in this comp?? Could I compete with what I have???

Going off thread here................ but only briefly. Surely others have noticed the return off a certain Lil Miss Sparkles.

"Princess Sparkles: The Revenge!"

WTF :D:confused:

Miss Princess Sparkles!:D PMSL
    dC what are you shooting in this comp?? Could I compete with what I have???

Hey clivej, it's a NTSA (ISSF) discipline 60-shot Prone competition shot with the .22 single-shot target rifles (e.g. anschuetz, etc.) and open-sights, with the Jackets, Slings, Gimp Suits, and all that jazz, at 50m.

So, unless you've gimped up and gone all olympicky since I last saw you, the competition wouldn't suit your current .22 set-up:D, but if you're around the range make sure to stop by and say hi and see what it's all about. Should be some great shooters there! (Myself excluded from that definition:o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

So, unless you've gimped up and gone all olympicky since I last saw you, the competition wouldn't suit your current .22 set-up:D, but if you're around the range make sure to stop by and say hi and see what it's all about. Should be some great shooters there! (Myself excluded from that definition:o)

Try out http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65998236&postcount=3

Also NASRPC smallbore sporting rifle, benchrest rifle and gallery rifle coming up in ECSC on Sunday July 4th.

B'Man

Ooooh, nice thread hijack, b'man!:p:D

Was over in the MNSCI today putting some final touches to the place. The lads were there getting the targets set up and all the wiring, etc ready. Any idea of numbers for either day or both?

See that. Back on topic and a valid comment. I don't hear a thank you ......................... :p

Are the electronic targets from Rathdrum being used, did you happen to notice? ezridax

Wouldn't have a clue about numbers myself - but I know of at least 3 who'll be there!
    So that's first, second, and third sorted if no-one else turns up ;):D:rolleyes:

But seriously (?), I'd say there should be a good turn-out for this.

Hope i'm not talking out of shop here.

No. They are using the electric, auto feeding, single paper target systems. I doubt thats their proper name, but i'm calling them as i see it work.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

clivej wrote: »
    Could I compete with what I have???

Take the scope off your CZ452 and only attach the sling at one point (or ditch it altogether) and you could probably compete. It'd be bloody hard, but you could do it if you really wanted.

If the range rules permit, anyone can borrow my gear for any detail I'm not shooting on (so long as I get it back in the same condition :)).
    ezridax wrote: »
    They are using the electric, auto feeding, single paper target systems. I doubt thats their proper name, but i'm calling them as i see it work.

Gehmann target changers. The same setup is used in the Sinclair range on the Isle of Man and in a few ranges further afield. They're pretty useful to shoot on and they're a hell of a lot nicer than having to shoot 3 x 25 min details and change the cards in between.

IRLConor wrote: »
    Gehmann target changers. The same setup is used in the Sinclair range on the Isle of Man and in a few ranges further afield. They're pretty useful to shoot on and they're a hell of a lot nicer than having to shoot 3 x 25 min details and change the cards in between.

Cheers for clearing that up. :)

I was at the last match when they used the full electronic system. Good system but took a long time to set up. These seem to be easier to get ready and use. Haven't seen them in action (in comp) before. Every day a school day i suppose.

No prob.
    I was at the last match when they used the full electronic system. Good system but took a long time to set up. These seem to be easier to get ready and use. Haven't seen them in action (in comp) before. Every day a school day i suppose.

In terms of usage, they're about as easy as the electronics provided you remember to wind them on at the right times. The only real disadvantage is the lack of instantaneous scoring. Given that the other option is 3 x 25 min details on 6-bull cards, I think I can live without that! :)

And on a small scale, scoring can be very quick. In the Isle of Man, watching the stats office work industriously, scoring targets for ninety prone shooters and maybe twenty 3P shooters (thirty diagrams for each prone shooter, sixty diagrams for each male 3P shooter and thirty for each female 3P shooter) is quite shocking, the dedication that goes into a monotonous, laborious task like that. I've offered to help out on sunday with scoring targets and the like anyway, so hopefully scores won't take terribly long to sort out for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Well electronics aren't designed to be moved from place to place on a one or two day basis. They stay in situ or are in place for a major competition lasting a week or more.

Gehmann boxes are good but can be very problematic. One of the major faults with them is that the targets (fanfold, perforated) can break at the perforations and the whole range has to stop while they are repaired with sellotape :(.

Generally you need to avoid reversing the feed more than a couple of inches as this usually results in a break. Then the motors can stop running for no apparent reason and you always have to have at least one 'hospital' bay for when that happens.

The targets are also quite expensive at €110 per 1000 and that's before you ship them. Unless you order thousands, the shipping costs can be as much as the targets themselves.

btw, booking for Saturday and Sunday is now open on the NTSA website. No paypal payments this time as it's not an NTSA competition.

Thanks rrpc

I see it's a DFST organised event - Thanks to the lads!
    Take the scope off your CZ452 and only attach the sling at one point (or ditch it altogether) and you could probably compete. It'd be bloody hard, but you could do it if you really wanted.

Good point, IRLConor - Hadn't thought of that when replying to clivej earlier. Although, I think clivej's CZ452 doesn't have open or iron sights (I may be wrong on that, although mine doesn't), so your generous offer might be an option for him:
    If the range rules permit, anyone can borrow my gear for any detail I'm not shooting on

Fair play to ya!

Also, anyone who wants to get in contact with me, I'm sure we can arrange something to sort them out too.

If the range rules permit, anyone can borrow my gear for any detail I'm not shooting on

Fair play to ya!

If anyone's thinking about it, please PM me ahead of time so I can tell you whether or not the kit will fit!

Going off thread here................ but only briefly. Surely others have noticed the return off a certain Lil Miss Sparkles.

"Princess Sparkles: The Revenge!"

WTF :D:confused:

Yeah, turns out Boards' other admin doesn't think that "Conor's trained monkey" is an appropriate nickname :D

He might, if it were referring to you. :p

Wouldn't be accurate enough though :D

Yeah, "trained" doesn't really fit. :D

Nope, because "trainer" might be more appropriate :D
    And I just know we can work an organ grinder joke in here somewheres...

Heh, heh, heh, Brilliant.:D

Remind me not to p**s that guy off. :eek:

rrpc wrote:
    Well electronics aren't designed to be moved from place to place on a one or two day basis

Kinda guessed as much judging from the last match i saw them being use on. Good system though and especially liked the fact that you could sit in the canteen area, have a coffe and watch live updates of the scores on the big screen. Would be super to have a set up like that for fullbore.

A larger version of the same system can be used for centrefire stuff at much longer ranges. The day Midlands put electronics in place at 50m and 300m, there'll be a few phone calls made. First, to MNSCI, to join. Second, to a credit union, and third, to every maker of fine Swiss centrefire rifles to see who'll cut me the best deal on a standard rifle and a prone barrel and action. :p

.............The day Midlands put electronics in place at 50m and 300m, there'll be a few phone calls made. First, to MNSCI, to join. ...........

The day i win the Euromillions, i'll post the installation date. You can all form a queue at the gate. :D

Any scores on the doors??;)

Joe O'Donohoe won it with 586, Conor took second on 578 and Tony Cogan came third with 571. Turnout wasn't high, which is a shame, because the range is absolutely smashing, really top notch setup now. It's challenging, but flat, enclosed, and with the Gehmann boxes makes a really serious scoring range for the south of the country. Can't wait to shoot there myself. Thanks to the Defence Forces Shooting Team for running it. Hopefully the next match there will have very high entries. With all the work done, it'll be thoroughly well deserved.

Really well organised by the DF lads! Mucho Gracias!

Well done, Joe, Conor, and Tony! Went home with some VERY nice medals in fancy-shmancy timber boxes - very tasty indeed!

Congrats to Ray Kane on his win in the 3P - I heard it was a gruelly 4 hour trial of endurance!

Even though, I'm down in Midlands pretty much every week, I have to say that the improvements made to the 50m range recently and over the past week in particular are outstanding. They're a credit to the lads and one particular poster on here (take a bow, mr. ezridax) for cracking the whip and making those dawgies do some work!!:D;) Well done!

Next 50m PR60 will be in Midlands again on the 11th July. Looking forward to that!

Congrats guys!!, I hope to make the next one, really looking forward to it!;)

I've never shot this discipline of target shooting, but enjoyed watching the lads shooting. In some harsh conditions (at times the rain was torential) they done better than others with scoped rifles. Impressive. Met some lads from here and was good to put a face to the names.

The range is slowly taking shape, but if i may, while the work done is a credit to the club i would like to personally thank J.P. Craven for "commsioning" the work and allowing alot of latitude to accomodate both the ISSF style and Benchrest style range. He has dedicated more than any other in terms of time and work to keep all smallbore target shooters happy.

As dCorbus mentioned the next shoot is on the 10th and 11th of July and i'm looking forward to meeting the same lads and some new ones on the weekend.

Ez.

Now I do not want to be seen to be taking the shine off such glowing comments about the shoot and it's host

All praise where it is due to MNSCI for putting this event together but I think that you will find that the ranges in
    • ECSC,
    • Dublin Rifle Club,
    • Rathdrum Rifle & Pistol Club and
    • Fermoy Rifle Club,

to name but a few, have all made whatever changes were necessary to allow both NASRPC and ISSF smallbore rifle events to take place over many years.

The NASRPC affiliated clubs, as Smallbore Benchrest and Sporting Rifle NGB, have been holding Benchrest and Prone Rifle events throughout the country for over 10 years now.

The NTSA affiliated clubs, as ISSF NGB, have been holding the PR60 stuff for about the same time.

It is a very good thing to see MNSCI join the fold and cater for the different disciplines also - long may it continue.

B'Man

Now I do not want to be seen to be taking the shine off such glowing comments about the shoot and it's host

Then don't, B'man!:D:p
    All praise where it is due to MNSCI for putting this event together but I think that you will find that the ranges in
    • ECSC,
    • Dublin Rifle Club,
    • Rathdrum Rifle & Pistol Club and
    • Fermoy Rifle Club,
    to name but a few, have all made whatever changes were necessary to allow both NASRPC and ISSF smallbore rifle events to take place over many years.

No one's disputing that. In fact, if you check back over any of the previous Prone shoot or NTSA target shoot threads, I think you'll find, in all cases, that credit and thanks was duly given to the organisers and the ranges in question. More recently, ECSC have been thanked profusely and given much kudos for their new range and firing points (and rightly so). Likewise Rathdrum RPC for the use of their range and in particular for providing the electronic target systems for the various competitions.

I'm not sure what the intention of your post was - but a brief review of other threads will indicate that all of the above have been thanked and praised whenever they've hosted or organised an event.
    The NASRPC affiliated clubs, as Smallbore Benchrest and Sporting Rifle NGB, have been holding Benchrest and Prone Rifle events throughout the country for over 10 years now.

Of course that's 100% correct, B'Man - Just not sure what, if anything, that has to do with this thread - Other than a blatent, and not-so-subtle, plug for the NASRPC ;) and some attempt at a thread hi-jack, you thread-bandit!:D:D:rolleyes:
    It is a very good thing to see MNSCI join the fold and cater for the different disciplines also - long may it continue

The MNSCI joining the fold? Come now!:confused:
    They've been catering for different disciplines for quite some time now, as well you know. There's been NTSA / Smallbore Prone events held in Midlands for quite a while AFAIK.

So let's just give credit where credit's due - and not make this thread some kind of arena for shooting organisation oneupmanship!

TBH it's sometimes nice to be able to give credit for good and hard work put into events, regardless of who is running or organising it. Let's not forget that this was, at the end of the day, a DFST event - and the lionshare of the credit should be accorded to them for a job well done.

(Oh, and in case anyone's wondering, i.e. those who don't know me, I don't personally represent in any way shape or form the NTSA, the NRAI, the MNSCI, the NASRPC, the LRRAI, the VCRAI or any other organisation / range / club / acronym etc. for that matter - I just like to give credit where credit is due - and to thank those who I believe deserve it - including those clubs and organisations who I'm not a member of, but who have been welcoming and helpful to me enjoying my shooting.)

:cool:

I'm not looking to hijack any thread - apologies if I gave that impression - I just felt that the previous post gave a false impression that this event was some in some way resurrecting these sports when they are very well represented by many clubs already

MNSCI has been flying the flag - along with An Riocht, for fullbore rifle for a long time - when I said 'join the fold' I was not aware that they did PR60 before - my bad - bottom line is that the more clubs that support all the available disciplines the better - it's about the sports after all - not what goes on in specific clubs

hope that clears it up

B'Man

Thanks B'Man
    bottom line is that the more clubs that support all the available disciplines the better - it's about the sports after all - not what goes on in specific clubs

100% Agree with you there!

TBH It's amazing to see that in trying to find a free weekend in August / September to organise an informal shooting event, there is pretty much not one week that goes by without either an NTSA, an NASRPC, or an NRAI event being held - that's in addition to us just trying to get on with some trigger time just for the hell of it (and not even taking into account any other events arranged by other clubs and acronyms!:D)

Sitting on my desk here beside me, I have a calender with only the shooting events / competitions I'm hoping to take part in - And, bearing in mind, I only shoot F/TR and 22 Prone at the mo., there's pretty much something on once or twice a fortnight up until the end of September! Now, that's incredible!

If I took up pistol (as was planned) and TR and Gallery.....A divorce would be on the cards, but there'd be no spare time to worry about it!:D;)

Long may this continue, and it's great to see so much activity on the cards, from all quarters!:D

:cool: