Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been done out of money by take-aways?

• 05-06-2010 1:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

recently I got an indian and was done out of money, I had a few tins in me, was hungry but when I checked the change he had shorted me a lot of dosh of which I handed him a 50 note. It was an Indian take away.

do you feel safe getting these take-away deliveries to your door and if not, why not? have you ever had a bad experience with a take-away delivery? please do tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Onesimus wrote: »
    recently I got an indian and was done out of money, I had a few tins in me, was hungry but when I checked the change he had shorted me a lot of dosh of which I handed him a 50 note. It was an Indian take away.

do you feel safe getting these take-away deliveries to your door and if not, why not? have you ever had a bad experience with a take-away delivery? please do tell.

Chinese was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

do you feel safe getting these take-away deliveries to your door and if not, why not?

Me can not count moneys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

Well....ok.....um...... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Never.

They always staple the receipt to the bag, at least the Thai / Chinese place I use does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Thanks to my '50 squids stapled to a rubber band' invention, I am 'up' 13,543 euro & (somewhat remarkably) 20 cent.

I actually order food & throw it out twice a day some days, just to make a few bob.

If you made a habit of counting your change after financial transactions you wouldn't have that problem!

Indian or no indian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Why wouldn't you feel safe getting a take away delivered to your door? :confused:

Surely you'd go and collect it if that's the case..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I had a few tins in me
    I think this is your problem.

Drunks are terrible at managing money, large or small.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Why wouldn't you feel safe getting a take away delivered to your door? :confused:

Surely you'd go and collect it if that's the case..

come on man, noone ever knows whats happening to their food right? so why wouldnt we feel a bit shaken?

Victor wrote: »

Ok Dr.Phil I get the message lol :D

come on man, noone ever knows whats happening to their food right? so why wouldnt we feel a bit shaken?

What are you on about now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I was done by my local off licence earlier. Shortchanged a tennar only noticed when I got home. I'll be in there when they open in the morning I tell you.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    What are you on about now?

well when I said a bad experience with a take away I meant did you ever have something go terribly wrong with it? the food I mean?

Well if you're that worried-make your own food from now on! Unless you think someone's messed with food in the supermarket...

Oh,and it's woman btw :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

There are no wimmins in AH. Everyone knows this.

Well if you're that worried-make your own food from now on!

come on now, wo-man get in the kitchen and make me some food :pac: that remark if made in the pub and your presence would certainly get me a slap I tells ya!!!
    Unless you think someone's messed with food in the supermarket...

Paranoia sets in!!!

Sorry Wo-man :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Pics or .. ;)

well when I said a bad experience with a take away I meant did you ever have something go terribly wrong with it? the food I mean?

Yup, i make the same mistake everytime!

I pick up the phone!

FearDark wrote: »
    There are no wimmins in AH. Everyone knows this.

Welcome to AH where the men behave like men and the women behave also like men!!! :pac:

I pick up the phone!

When sober? :P

come on now, wo-man get in the kitchen and make me some food :pac: that remark if made in the pub and your presence would certainly get me a slap I tells ya!!!

Ah,you know me so well! :pac:

You'd definitely be paranoid about your food after me making you somethin to eat anyway :D

When sober? :P

Yup!

What you should do is get one of those touch-screen phones. Ever tried to navigate your way around one of those after a few beers? Impossible!

You'd have no chance of ordering Take-Away from Native Americans!

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Pics or .. ;)

You, shush! :)

Ah,you know me so well! :pac:

You'd definitely be paranoid about your food after me making you somethin to eat anyway :D

Well I doubt the phleming tart would go down a treat dont you? :D

yes I've got crappy spelling but leave me alone I'm ignorant :pac:

Yup!

What you should do is get one of those touch-screen phones. Ever tried to navigate your way around one of those after a few beers? Impossible!

You'd have no change of ordering Take-Away from Native Americans!

Let me guess your the first cousin of Billy Connolly? :pac:

I don't geddit. Did i just unintentionally steal a joke from Billy Connolly?
    Victor wrote: »

Is there an echo in here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I remember that once when I was at a friends house we had a large order of pizzas, and I had to deal with the money. It was a lot, but being me, I had the change worked out before the guy came.

Guy came, shoved a bunch of notes and coins in my hand and ran off.

Counted it in 2 seconds - €15 missing.

Belted after him to find him already at the gate - the little ****er was half-running.

Ran after him, he turned around and had the €15 ready to give me - said it had been a mistake. Bollix it was.

The only reason I didn't ring Four Star to report yer man was I didn't want to get my friend in trouble with them - he's a good customer, and uses them all the time.

I don't geddit. Did i just unintentionally steal a joke from Billy Connolly?

Is there an echo in here?

because your post was funny, I thought I'd make that comment that you must be a first cousin of his, the idea being that comedy runs the in the blood and blah blah...

@Victor, wow you must be on the tinnys as well :D what are you..second cousin the billy the Pirate? does Polly wanna Cracker?

The only reason I didn't ring Four Star to report yer man was I didn't want to get my friend in trouble with them - he's a good customer, and uses them all the time.

In trouble with them? It's not a bloody school!

I used to work for a pizza place. If you'd have rang us with that complaint you'd have got a serious amount of free food (well, your friend would have)

because your post was funny, I thought I'd make that comment that you must be a first cousin of his, the idea being that comedy runs the in the blood and blah blah...

Why thank you very much!

Connolly is just a stage now, his real name is Billy Stuffins........ which ironically sounds like an American Take-Away Pizza place

do you think they do it because they know people on a fri sat night will be on the bev?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't know, I hadn't thought about it! They probably have the dirty ******* *****, them communist ****** have probably been stealing ****** my money all along the **** eating **********.

Why thank you very much!

Connolly is just a stage now, his real name is Billy Stuffins........ which ironically sounds like an American Take-Away Pizza place

nah billy stuffins sounds like a bad version ( albeit irish one ) of KFC :pac:

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't know, I hadn't thought about it! They probably have the dirty ******* *****, them communist ****** have probably been stealing ****** my money all along the **** eating **********.

*singing* ABCDEFG I come from a council estate so let me be :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

In trouble with them? It's not a bloody school!

I used to work for a pizza place. If you'd have rang us with that complaint you'd have got a serious amount of free food (well, your friend would have)

To be honest there is always the chance that if the guy was well-liked he would have been able to escape punishment, and possibly gotten his friends to sabotage any future pizzas that my friend ordered.

It wasn't my house, so it wasn't my reputation, so it wasn't for me to take even that small risk.

To be honest there is always the chance that if the guy was well-liked he would have been able to escape punishment, and possibly gotten his friends to sabotage any future pizzas that my friend ordered.

It wasn't my house, so it wasn't my reputation, so it wasn't for me to take even that small risk.

the above is what scares me * hides behind can of heinekin*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Wooden Jesus

nah billy stuffins sounds like a bad version ( albeit irish one ) of KFC :pac:
    Sounds like a bad porno name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

La de da mr 50 quid note, no recession for you, flippin' bigshots! have ya nothin' smaller? :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I just had a chipper charge me a euro less than advertised and throw some extra peperoni on a pizza, I was very happy.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Usually grand for me, no stories!