Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A question of ethics

• 04-06-2010 7:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭

So you drop into Spar on your way home to get a roll. The roll has always cost 4.25, now though the regular deli person isn't there so the manager takes charge, makes the roll and slaps 5 euro on it. Upon reaching the check out you notice it and decide to go back and point out the mistake, however, become distracted and put a can of coke in your pocket and say fcuk him. After all he did completely attempt to rob you in the first place.

You now pay for your roll at the inflated price. saving a total of what would be normally 25cent in total for roll and can of coke. Would you feel bad?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I wouldn't do it in the first place, because I'm not a scummer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

+1 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Jay D wrote: »
    So you drop into Spar on your way home to get a roll. The roll has always cost 4.25, now though the regular deli person isn't there so the manager takes charge, makes the roll and slaps 5 euro on it. Upon reaching the check out you notice it and decide to go back and point out the mistake, however, become distracted and put a can of coke in your pocket and say fcuk him. After all he did completely attempt to rob you in the first place.

You now pay for your roll at the inflated price. saving a total of what would be normally 25cent in total for roll and can of coke. Would you feel bad?

Maybe it's people like you robbing that means the roll even costs 4.25 in the first place (let alone €5).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

lol, sheltered life you have to consider that scummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Taking something without paying for it is stealing.
    I'd just point out that the roll usually is 4.25 and not pay 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Mate you robbed the place. You could have just left the roll there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

PLEASE PLEASE, JEEEZ....

Ponce people of the innernet you must realise that I myself did not steal anything. Imagine a place to broadcast it such as AH boards.ie if I did! :rolleyes:

PLEASE PLEASE, JEEEZ....

Ponce people of the innernet you must realise that I myself did not steal anything. Imagine a place to broadcast it such as AH boards.ie if I did! :rolleyes:

Well then, answer your own question. Would you feel bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

What an utterly ridiculous hypothetical situation.

And WTF? "Become Distracted" ?

SV wrote: »
    lol, sheltered life you have to consider that scummy.

You don't consider robbing a 'scummer' act? This wasn't accidental, it was done with intent to get back at the obvious emotional damage that the extra 75 cent on the roll did to the OP. Aw. I mean what could you have bought with that saved 75 cent.............................um.............................hmm.

EDIT: So hypothetically it's still a scummy thing to do. Tell that to 'your friend'. Or your 'hypothetical situation' or whatever you want to call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

The AH bandwagon

I hope you die you are directly funding the drugs trade ect ect judgemental over reactionist post fingerwag fingerwag! Hitler started off stealing cans of coke and he was the biggest "scummer" of them all. Your worse than Hitler.

On Topic

Id call the manager a robbing cnut and ask for my money back unless he finds out how to work his till.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I bet he was one of those gimps that count butter or mayonaise as a topping :mad:

I fully endorse your stealing Jay D

Insurgent wrote: »
    Well then, answer your own question. Would you feel bad?

I just think it's very funny, didn't realise people would get so wound up over it :D

I couldn't really care one way or the other but i have been known to drive a hard bargain in shops of all sorts and I would not have got far from the deli counter as I always check the price as soon as I get my item handed to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

€4.25 is a joke! In some Spars they sell them for €2.

chin_grin wrote: »
    This wasn't accidental, it was done with intent to get back at the obvious emotional damage that the extra 75 cent on the roll did to the OP.

Thank Thank you professor obvious.

I'd love a breakfast roll now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

€4.25 for a roll????:eek:

Why were you shopping there in the first place???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So lets get this right... One is willing to risk a getting a shoplifting record, a stain on your character (and by effect on your familys name), a blemish on your record that might lead to you being not allowed into another country via a visa application, a stain on a job application that requires a Garda check and some people talking (for ever) about you locally behind your back ...and all over a can of coke that one wanted to rob?

An clear act of stupidity and a sad indication to a possible ever ongoing low mental capacity of the character doing it.

...A definite "No". I will be teaching my 4 children its not (or ever) worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I once stole an accordion from a blind monkey, but you? Pttw, you sicken even me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

become distracted and put a can of coke in your pocket and say fcuk him.

Did he become distracted in the process of putting it in his pocket and saying fuck him? :confused:

The one and only time I ever shoplifted was back when I was 17. A friend who had light and experienced hands took me into every shop on Henry Street and showed me how easy it was. Reached Pennys at the end, each of us with two full plastic carrier bag, went in and decided to nick one of those Peruvian type knitted hats for a friend. As she was slipping it into her bag she told me to run. I ran to the front doors on Henry St and she went out the side entrance that was there at the time. Nothing like that movie moment of a security guard's hand on your shoulder on a crowded street to bring you back to your senses. She could have got away but came back when she saw me caught.

We were brought into the office and the manager looked in our bags and asked us had we receipts. She pulled out a bus ticket and waved it at him. He decided because of our out-of-town/culchie accents that we were pretty harmless, read us the riot act in triplicate and let us go - keeping our purloined goods. We justified his confidence in us because I never robbed again and she became a pillar of society and has donated millions to the Irish people. I have always been grateful to that man for not going through with the process as he was fully entitled to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Wouldn't feel bad in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I would have torched the place on my way out...
    Robbing bastards.
    It's for moments like that why I keep a petrol tank and a flare in the boot of my car.

Cnunting Manager wanting an extra 75 cent :mad: :mad:
    They'd need to use dental records to identify him.
    [/AH, recession empowered keyboard warrior response]
    My anger management therapist says i'm making great progress....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I would have torched the place on my way out...
    Robbing bastards.
    It's for moments like that why I keep a petrol tank and a flare in the boot of my car.

Cnunting Manager wanting an extra 75 cent :mad: :mad:
    They'd need to use dental records to identify him.
    [/AH, recession empowered keyboard warrior response]
    My anger management therapist says i'm making great progress....

Only several degrees??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

i have been known to drive a hard bargain in shops of all sorts

How do you "drive a hard bargain" when you're not even prepared to point out the mistake ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Imagine a place to broadcast it such as AH boards.ie if I did! :rolleyes:

Prudent. The Gardai have brought many a soft-drink can thief to jusitce by monitoring AH. Loose lips and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Hypothetical question here,

Say you were in a furniture shop and a duck with three legs peeled and orange with a gravy boat. Would you plait your pubes and form them so the make the shape of Henry Hippo.

Not saying I ever did it myself, just a moral question.

Thank Thank you professor obvious.

You're you're welcome. And it's Captain Obvious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Not strictly an AH answer but what would do in a situation like this, I leave the item down , ask why there is such an increase in the space of 24hrs and ask what else has been inflated to that degree loud enough for other shoppers to hear but without making a scene , refuse to pay for it and leave.

Simple

* Under no circumstances would I rob anything as small as a can of coke , if your going to get labelled a thief , rob the fcuking till.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Hypothetical question here,

Say you were in a furniture shop and a duck with three legs peeled and orange with a gravy boat. Would you plait your pubes and form them so the make the shape of Henry Hippo.

Not saying I ever did it myself, just a moral question.

No because I keep my pubes hygenically trimmed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dazd_N_Confusd

Don't mean to hijack the thread but I have a similar story (not really) that also involves Spar. So I was on the bus coming back from Limerick with my team and we stop into a Spar (or maybe Centra, can't remember). I'm getting a tin of Pringles, a bottle of water and a bottle of coke. Dude behind counter says I can have a free Mars bar with the bottle of coke. Was naturally surprised at this so I pay for the other stuff and take a Mars bar. Realising I don't like Mars bars I check out the price of a Mars and Snickers and see they're both 75 cent so perform the auld switcheroo when no ones looking. I tell a few of the lads on my team and they laugh saying I'm a pikey etc. My justification (although it's not really a justification because I would probably rob more often if I could get away with it) was that the item I exchanged was of the same value. But they pointed out that it wasn't the Snickers that was included in the offer.

So, am I a pikey like the OP or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

possibly... i mean the mars bars could have been on offer because it was coming close to their use by date? so the deal was to get rid of stock and increase sales of coke or whatever it was! I wouldnt worry to much about it, you were told you were allowed the bar so they wont have lost any money of they were the same price, the other story the staff had no clue about the missing can of coke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

The one and only time I ever shoplifted was back when I was 17. A friend who had light and experienced hands took me into every shop on Henry Street and showed me how easy it was. Reached Pennys at the end, each of us with two full plastic carrier bag, went in and decided to nick one of those Peruvian type knitted hats for a friend. As she was slipping it into her bag she told me to run. I ran to the front doors on Henry St and she went out the side entrance that was there at the time. Nothing like that movie moment of a security guard's hand on your shoulder on a crowded street to bring you back to your senses. She could have got away but came back when she saw me caught.

We were brought into the office and the manager looked in our bags and asked us had we receipts. She pulled out a bus ticket and waved it at him. He decided because of our out-of-town/culchie accents that we were pretty harmless, read us the riot act in triplicate and let us go - keeping our purloined goods. We justified his confidence in us because I never robbed again and she became a pillar of society and has donated millions to the Irish people. I have always been grateful to that man for not going through with the process as he was fully entitled to.

???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

crime doesnt pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I probably wouldn't have robbed it, but I don't see it as a heinous crime to have done so.
    The righteously indignant here need to go look up the shoplifting thread from a few months ago. That'll give you something to really be het up about. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Insurgent wrote: »
    I'd love a breakfast roll now.

Are you David McWilliams' breakfast roll man ? :D

On topic, yeah nothing wrong with that kinda stealing. Sean Quinn owing a bank 3thousand million he has a 20% in is a bit dodgy but stealing a can is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

OP, ever considered a career with Fianna Fail?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

I ordered what was advertised as a "chicken salad bap" out of spar the other day,and it was just onions and onions and a strange grey meat.

Now that would justify robbing the place.:pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Biggins wrote: »
    So lets get this right... One is willing to risk a getting a shoplifting record, a stain on your character (and by effect on your familys name), a blemish on your record that might lead to you being not allowed into another country via a visa application, a stain on a job application that requires a Garda check and some people talking (for ever) about you locally behind your back ...and all over a can of coke that one wanted to rob?

An clear act of stupidity and a sad indication to a possible ever ongoing low mental capacity of the character doing it.

...A definite "No". I will be teaching my 4 children its not (or ever) worth it.

Fear by consequence is no virtue, that's how most religions work. Also, no way you would get caught.

OP, wouldn't do it, but for the right reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Fear by consequence is no virtue, that's how most religions work. Also, no way you would get caught.
    OP, wouldn't do it, but for the right reasons.
    You have a point (Fear by consequence is no virtue) but it is also a deterrent.
    Its plainly wrong and as the saying goes "Two wrong don't make a right"
    Also there has been many cases where kids/teens have been caught.
    Some of them have been made example of by shop managers/owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭skepticalone

Am playing devils advocate here but ......what if the usual deli girl was deliberately undercharging the handsome op for his sambo every day cos she thought he was a cutie? and in fact the manager was charging the correct price? deli staff do this all the time example my darling 5 yr old always wants a sausage lattice roll from the hot counter at my local dunnes , and cos hes a cherub , the usual girl ALWAYS gives him 2 marked down as one ...now , how about if i complained that the price was wrong when the manager served me ? me thinks the lovely deli girl be fired .............

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Biggins wrote: »
    You have a point (Fear by consequence is no virtue) but it is also a deterrent.
    Its plainly wrong and as the saying goes "Two wrong don't make a right"
    Also there has been many cases where kids/teens have been caught.
    Some of them have been made example of by shop managers/owners.
    Might be a deterrent to some, not to me anyway.
    Just have seen people steal things for over a decade from little shops like this, never a word said. I walk out of a shop sometimes forgetting to pay, rarely, but nobody stops me and I go back. Same with bringing things in and out of shops that could have been bought there...or if I just say at a counter, 'I had that with me' nobody ever questions it, or if I just say nothing but shake my head and not give it to them. I'm sure people get caught, dunno how in places like spar though is all I'm saying! Did see somebody get caught because thy brought in a rucksack and started filling it with beer and tried to walk out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Is it ethical to steal?

Well, it's not legal, but being ethical is also not the same as following the law. The law often incorporates ethical standards to which most citizens subscribe. But laws, like feelings, can deviate from what is ethical. Pre-Civil War slavery laws in the U.S., and the apartheid laws of South Africa are grotesquely obvious examples of laws that deviate from what is ethical.

The question remains then - what is ethics?

Ethics is two things. First, ethics refers to well-founded standards of right and wrong that prescribe what humans ought to do, usually in terms of rights, obligations, benefits to society, fairness, or specific virtues. Ethics, for example, refers to those standards that impose the reasonable obligations to refrain from rape, stealing, murder, assault, slander, and fraud. Ethical standards also include those that enjoin virtues of honesty, compassion, and loyalty. And, ethical standards include standards relating to rights, such as the right to life, the right to freedom from injury, and the right to privacy. Such standards are adequate standards of ethics because they are supported by consistent and well-founded reasons.

Secondly, ethics refers to the study and development of one's ethical standards. As mentioned above, feelings, laws, and social norms can deviate from what is ethical. So it is necessary to constantly examine one's standards to ensure that they are reasonable and well-founded. Ethics also means, then, the continuous effort of studying our own moral beliefs and our moral conduct, and striving to ensure that we, and the institutions we help to shape, live up to standards that are reasonable and solidly-based.

So, is stealing from a shop ethical, when one can afford to pay for the goods? I would have to say, no.

Do I give a f*ck that the OP swiped a can of Coke? Again, I would have to say, no.

Ethics do not simply correlate to laws as you say, they are merely a good basis for the mass population to follow and should constantly change to reflect better understanding. If I don't agree with a law, after thinking it through, I just don't follow it. So is taking from another unethical yes, in this circumstance definitely. What about to keep your child alive or <really dramatic scenario here> ? :pac:

I never said that ethics correlate to laws. I even stated that laws can also be unethical. And I also stated that "it is necessary to constantly examine one's standards to ensure that they are reasonable and well-founded. Ethics also means, then, the continuous effort of studying our own moral beliefs and our moral conduct".

As you basically shadowed the same point with "they (ethics) are merely a good basis for the mass population to follow and should constantly change to reflect better understanding", I would take it that you didn't even bother reading what I wrote.

You didn't understand what i wrote, the 'as you say' was agreeing with you. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

ethically, i don't really have a problem with what the OP did is talking about.
    but i would never do it in the first place, SO not worth the risk. even just the embarassssment of being caught! but as well if they did decide to make an example of you and all that, and i was refused a visa for the rest of my life because i nicked a can of coke? and didnt even get to drink the frickin coke?
    i'd shoot myself.

You didn't understand what i wrote, the 'as you say' was agreeing with you. :confused:

If you had started the sentence with "as you say", there'd have been no misunderstanding!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yes it is ok to redress the balance of a €5 ganky roll. Feckin rip off piece of ****, I hate Spar. Yeah I would go elsewhere but there are no other shops within a 2k radius from my job. Shower of bastards, the lot of them. And cowboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

Kasabian wrote: »

* Under no circumstances would I rob anything as small as a can of coke , if your going to get labelled a thief , rob the fcuking till.

ya mean if your going to get labelled a thief rob at leats a million, if you get away you've a good chance of a fresh start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

I have walked out of the shop with a roll forgetting to pay but I just kept walking :P

I have a friend who always steals things. Dosent even put it in his pocket just walks right past the till with it in hand. Never been caught guess they just assume he came in with it

And spars are a rip off severs them right