Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever witnessed a crime?

• 03-06-2010 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭

I have. A pretty serious one too.
    Three years ago on the 11th of April i was walking to work with my dad whom i work with. My brother was waiting outside the shop as we had the key's. As i went to open the shutters a car came speeding around the corner pulled a handbrake skid, turned around and pulled up in front of a jeep that was parked not two feet from me. Two guy's jumped out of the car and started screaming " Get out of the fcuking jeep, out of the fcuking jeep" The two guy's that were sitting in the jeep didn't move, and the other two guy's continued screaming at them and then there was two loud bangs.Bang! Bang! "Out of the fcuking jeep" followed by another two loud bangs. It was a very surreal situation because nobody on the street really realised what was going on until the second set of shots were fired, at which point the street erupted into pure panic.
    Myself dad and bro just legged it in more or less blind panic. And then it was over just like that, whole thing didn't last more than 30 secs.
    Turns out the jeep was a cash in transit van for filling up ATM's. It still amazes me the total lack of regard the two scumbags had for human life, they had just put two rounds in the driver side window and the windscreen at 8 in the morning on a busy street in Dublin and all for a few quid.
    Anyway to finish up they didn't get anything, the two guy's in the jeep didn't budge and the glass was obviously bullet proof, so back into the car the scummers jump and off they go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

you lost me at hello OP.
    weiland79 wrote: »
    Myself dad and bro just legged it in more or less blind panic.

bet you impress all the ladies with this story so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Hundreds, and maybe thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

I have witnessed a crime recurring weekly on Liveline, if you consider ignorance to a serious degree as a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I've seen dozens of crimes: assault, illegal drugs, public drinking, drunk & dangerous driving, etc.

I'm sure everyone one on here has seen some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

First person that makes a silly comment about paragraphs has the ghey.

No returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Yes. Yes I have witnessed a crime. A few crimes actually.

I saw Crystal Swing on the Late Late Show.

Then there was the time many years ago that I saw Boyzone on the Late Late Show when the overly tattooed one thoughtfully grabbed his crotch for the nation.

And last but not least I hurt my eyes & ears a few times when I stumbled upon various interviews with Jordan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

oh hai

Deleted ghey comments about paragraphs before stovelid could quote me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I've been watching Oireachtas Report for a few months now, and I think that qualifies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

I've seen a lot of illegal drug use over the years. A lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Saw a man get stabbed...
    Saw an old woman get punched in the face then get her bagged robbed...
    Saw a hit and run....
    Saw a bookies get robbed at gunpoint...

But this was all on crimewatch, so in answer to your question... No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

I've been drinking by the canal. Serious crime. Come and get me in the joy.

Yes. Called the gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

genericguy wrote: »
    you lost me at hello OP.

bet you impress all the ladies with this story so...

Yes and there was me thinking that i had honed my reflexes to a razor sharp point after sitting on my arse and watching 24 every year for 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Ever watch the Dail in action?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

There's been some criminally bad threads in AH of late. (Not this one)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Saw a petrol station being held up by 2 guys with knives and a hammer. Got a great view of it seeing as the knife was being waved in my face while the guy with the hammer told me to open the ****ing till

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Ive seen many a crime but it was me commiting them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Yes laods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

grew up in coolock...yep seen one or two!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Hundreds, and maybe thousands.

Is your real name Jessica Fletcher?

And do people mysteriously die when you're around for you to then help the police solve the crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I have. A pretty serious one too.
    Three years ago on the 11th of April i was walking to work with my dad whom i work with. My brother was waiting outside the shop as we had the key's. As i went to open the shutters a car came speeding around the corner pulled a handbrake skid, turned around and pulled up in front of a jeep that was parked not two feet from me. Two guy's jumped out of the car and started screaming " Get out of the fcuking jeep, out of the fcuking jeep" The two guy's that were sitting in the jeep didn't move, and the other two guy's continued screaming at them and then there was two loud bangs.Bang! Bang! "Out of the fcuking jeep" followed by another two loud bangs. It was a very surreal situation because nobody on the street really realised what was going on until the second set of shots were fired, at which point the street erupted into pure panic.
    Myself dad and bro just legged it in more or less blind panic. And then it was over just like that, whole thing didn't last more than 30 secs.
    Turns out the jeep was a cash in transit van for filling up ATM's. It still amazes me the total lack of regard the two scumbags had for human life, they had just put two rounds in the driver side window and the windscreen at 8 in the morning on a busy street in Dublin and all for a few quid.
    Anyway to finish up they didn't get anything, the two guy's in the jeep didn't budge and the glass was obviously bullet proof, so back into the car the scummers jump and off they go.

How do you know that is was "just a few quid"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭weepee

Ive seen killings, bombings, shootings, bits of people, street fighting, riots, hijackings, joyriding, robbery, J walking. It becomes the norm after awhile.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Yeah a few times. I remember a brutal one though

We were on holidays in East England about 6 years ago, near Hull city, we were staying with our aunt in her house by the coast. Twas a lovely place, 2 minute walk and you'd be on a beautiful beach.

Annnyways around lunchtime we were out the back and suddenly we heard two really loud bangs. We thought it was the farmers a few minutes away from us, but we ran out to the front to check it out. Then didnt we see two men in boilersuits armed with shotguns running out of a house, hopping into a van and driving off.

We rang the police, they came 5 minutes earlier. They called us over to the scene to get an account of what happened. We managed to remember their licence plate, I peered over the policemans head and there was the door to the house open, with a body lying half inside half out, with their head blown off. The place was cornered off and well covered, but we were just about in the line of sight. It was horrific.

THEEEEN sure didnt UTV or whatever they call it, as well as Sky News come to us a few hours later looking for us to get an account of what happened.

Some holiday!

Yep, I saw Thierry Henry robbing the Irish a place in the World Cup.

Fart wrote: »

Unless they were finished going around to all the ATMs, there must have been a few grand. The shocking part is the fact that they did not hesitate to kill the driver and passenger who were just doing their job. Thankfully the glass was bulletproof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Seen loads of drunk people drinking in the street. Last week outside the RDS before the Ireland game I saw a guy walk past two Gardai drinking a can of cider!

I'm pretty sure I saw a bouncer assault someone in Temple Bar a few years ago. This guy was kicked out of a pub in the afternoon on a Saturday. The guy was standing up to the bouncer throwing him evil looks to which the bouncer also stood his ground. Without provocation the bouncer grabbed the guy in a headlock and they had a bit of a fight. Didn't last long but it was kinda uncalled for putting the guy in a headlock.

Fart wrote: »

Well actually thats a good point. A friend of mine owns a spar shop with a ATM machine in it one day the lads came in to fill it up. When they had finished and gone my mate noticed something hanging on the machine.
    He went to check it out and it turns out that they had left a money satchel with over 50 grand in it.:eek:
    But in saying that it's all only a few quid when someone could have died. Namely me.

Seen loads of drunk people drinking in the street. Last week outside the RDS before the Ireland game I saw a guy walk past two Gardai drinking a can of cider!

You'd think the Gardai would get a can each, what with their paychecks and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I saw Tony,Sylvie and Paulie shoot Big Pussy.

He went to check it out and it turns out that they had left a money satchel with over 50 grand in it.:eek:

did they ever recover this 50 grand? or did it magically vanish after your friend made the discovery;):p

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Saw a guy park illegally in a disabled space once. Bit his leg off.

did they ever recover this 50 grand? or did it magically vanish after your friend made the discovery;):p

No unfortunately they came back after a few minutes and my mate handed it back. Oh the party in vegas we could have had.:(

Saw a guy park illegally in a disabled space once. Bit his leg off.

My mam did that once. I gave a 30 min lecture after getting her to move the car. I think the lecture was punishment enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭amybabes

living in sydney, was in a bar in kings cross last year and one of our housemates+his friend (their last night in sydney) was getting trouble on the door not being allowed in, but one of the bouncers punched the friend full force into his face instantly breaking his nose......blood everywhere. My housemate put his arm around his friend to stop him from hitting the cement and was walking away when two of the bouncers attacked him for intervening......kicked him full throttle into the stomach and ribs and face.....he was crawling away from them down the street and they kept following him......well away from the door of the bar. A passer by stopped a police car up the street but nothing was done.
    Only for the people queing outside the door stepped in i'd say they could have easily killed him. Dislocated jaw,2 broken teeth, broken nose, black eye, cracked ribs....... and he was a groomsman at his sisters wedding 6 days later

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I saw a teenager get stabbed to death. Worst Christmas ever. :(