Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans in Dublin - Where to watch The World Cup?

• 02-06-2010 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭

I just want to say that I did read the sticky about 'no Soccer related threads', but you understand that I dont want to talk about soccer, only the pubs and bars where to watch. :)

Does anyone know of any bar in Dublin city centre where England fans will meet up and enjoy the World Cup 2010 games together?

I know there are always a lot of English people in Temple Bar, but it would be good if me and a couple of my English mates knew where to go before-hand.

And also I don't wish to cause offence to anybody who hates the English, at the end of the day we just want to enjoy the match with a bit of craic, and we promise to drink Guinness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Charisteas wrote: »
    And also I don't wish to cause offence to anybody who hates the English,

What about people who hate soccer?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dublin forum?
    All the best OP. Hope ye enjoy yourself there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Lansdowne Road?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Popcorn bag status: opened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

At home behind drawn curtains with a shotgun at the ready lest the neighbours hear you! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Hard to say. Offhand I know of no English ethnic pubs.

Although some statistics will show that about 50% of Irish people support England in these competitions, they do so quietly, at home, apparently.

In the pubs anti-Englishness abounds. So you may not be comfortable with that, and if you colonise a pub with your mates some idiot ,or two, will come in and support the other side. Thats ok, if it remains fun I suppose. up to you. You could go around to people's houses, as another option.

Its not you, it's us. Personally I would support any team from "these islands".

mike65 wrote: »
    At home behind drawn curtains with a shotgun at the ready lest the neighbours hear you! ;)
    Well if he shouts "SCORE!!!!" - the neighbours will probably think he's giving the wife one. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

And also I don't wish to cause offence to anybody who hates the English, at the end of the day we just want to enjoy the match with a bit of craic , and we promise to drink Guinness!

Sorry, cant have it. Thats reserved for us Oirish folk.

is it a big bucket of salt you have there?

Rub it in why don't you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I just want to say that I did read the sticky about 'no Soccer related threads', but you understand that I dont want to talk about soccer, only the pubs and bars where to watch. :)

Does anyone know of any bar in Dublin city centre where England fans will meet up and enjoy the World Cup 2010 games together?

The George, I think. Maybe the Norseman as well.

Nodin wrote: »
    The George, I think. Maybe the Norseman as well.

The Front Lounge loves well 'ard English men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Lansdowne Road?

Its only just been renovated from the last time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

Biggins wrote: »
    Well if he shouts "SCORE!!!!" - the neighbours will probably think he's giving the wife one. :D

I expect better from you Biggins! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

most pubs will be showing the games .... just be prepared for some ignorant drunk who wants to start a fight !! (he may not even tell you he wants to start a fight and could possibly hit you to start the fighting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

In one of your own homes, we don't like your type around here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I dont agree with it but you're asking for trouble in a dublin pub to be shouting for england.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

What "world cup"???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I know there are always a lot of English people in Temple Bar, but it would be good if me and a couple of my English mates knew where to go before-hand.

Messer Maguire's always seems to have a noticable English presence for some reason. Maybe an alternative to Dublins English ghetto?

Also, be sure to strut up and down O'Connell St in your red jersey chanting the theme to "The Great Escape" with your mates in the unlikely even England win a game. We love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Go to the Wool Shed on Parnell St.

Probably the best sports bar in the city, but make sure to get there early as it gets quite full for matches, especially the World Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I suggest one of those trad pubs :)

Rylan wrote: »
    I expect better from you Biggins! :P
    I'm saving my "better" for the wife later. :o

SCORE!!!

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm saving my "better" for the wife later. :o

SCORE!!!
    Back of the net!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

England v France Final.

England to win with a blatant hand of god by John Terry all the way from the half way line.

Theirry Henry dies due to getting Kicked in the head by his own foot.

Carlsberg dont do world cup finals.. but if they did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭dublincelt

And also I don't wish to cause offence to anybody who hates the English, at the end of the day we just want to enjoy the match with a bit of craic, and we promise to drink Guinness!

UK Embassy in Ballsbridge would be about the safest place.

Failing that try somewhere on the Southside, Dun Laoghire (Kingstown to the locals) or Blackrock! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

RMD wrote: »
    In one of your own homes, we don't like your type around here :pac:

speak for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Synnots on Stephens Green might be alright I'd reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There're are going to be roars of laughter, and loud cheering, but it won't be from the English fans.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

You would be best of to watch it in one of your houses OP.

All you need is one person to say the wrong thing at the wrong time in the wrong spot and all hell could break loose.

Most people would enjoy taking the p!ss especially if England are losing a game........but all you need is one drunk kicking off and your night could be wrecked.

celticbest wrote: »

All you need to one person to say the wrong thing at the wrong time in the wrong spot and all he'll could break loose.

Most people would enjoy taking the p!ss especially if England are losing a game........but all you need is one drunk kicking off and your night could be wrecked.

This is true. Perpetrator most likely to be a celtic fc clad scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

All you need to one person to say the wrong thing at the wrong time in the wrong spot and all he'll could break loose.

Easily avoided if they dont go into a pub full of nackers

Most decent irish people can behave themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I think the more rugby minded pubs in Donnybrook area would be a good shout as rugby fans have a more mature attitude towards England. Playing England in the 6 nations and English clubs in the Heineken Cup every year help this. The Woolshed in Parnell square is a pretty multinational place so you may have some fellow fans there. Its a shame you cant just walk into any pub and support your team in this day and age.

snyper wrote: »
    Easily avoided if they dont go into a pub full of nackers

Most decent irish people can behave themselves

exactly, not all irish people are scumbags ffs.

Woolshed and Messrs as already suggested probably your best bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Send 'em to rip-off Temple Bar or maybe to a pub on Marlborough st :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

My advice is simple - whatever pub you are in... if England are losing, don't rip up the seats & throw them at Irish people like you did last time you guys were over in Landsdowne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/pubs-investigated-for-link-to-ira-1554109.html

Any of these fine public houses should do nicely, be sure to wrap the union jack around you as you walk in.

Pauleta wrote: »
    I think the more rugby minded pubs in Donnybrook area would be a good shout as rugby fans have a more mature attitude towards England. Playing England in the 6 nations and English clubs in the Heineken Cup every year help this. The Woolshed in Parnell square is a pretty multinational place so you may have some fellow fans there. Its a shame you cant just walk into any pub and support your team in this day and age.

Rugby has a completely diiferent type of supporter, when has there ever been trouble from English rugby fans in Ireland.

The last time English fans came here to support soccer they wrecked landsdowne road.

Yes he should be able to go out and enjoy the game but it just a fact of life the an English football supporter has to be careful here, as I said it just take one person to kick of and wreck a good night out.

in relation to other posters comments, just because you support Celtic doesn't automatically mean you hate the English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

in relation to other posters comments, just because you support Celtic doesn't automatically mean you hate the English.

No, but wearing a Celtic jersey in public does make you look like a knacker.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

At home.

Mister men wrote: »
    At home.

who do all those trophies in your sig refer to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

No, but wearing a Celtic jersey in public does make you look like a knacker.

:p

I'd be far more ashamed to wear say as an example a Liverpool jersey, how many people did there fans kill in and around football grounds compared to say........Celtic supporters??????

Your opinion may be that Celtic supporters are scumbags but let's not forget that they have in the past received UEFA's fair play award for there fans, they have travelled all over Europe without any trouble including England.

I'd be far more ashamed to wear say as an example a Liverpool jersey, how many people did there fans kill in and around football grounds compared to say........Celtic supporters??????

Your opinion may be that Celtic supporters are scumbags but let's not forget that they have in the past received UEFA's fair play award for there fans, they have travelled all over Europe without any trouble including England.

We're talking about the confused ones in Dublin who choose to go round wearing a Scottish teams jersey, not the native supporters of the club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Behind closed doors and in the privacy of your own home would be the best place for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Temple bar should have a large number of English over from Stags. Plus no Irish go there so it should be grand.

To be honest the vast majority of places will be grand. Most people won't say boo to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Front Lounge loves well 'ard English men.

The Front Lounge is a gay bar?!? Well that explains something at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

DKZ wrote: »
    Behind closed doors and in the privacy of your own home would be the best place for you.

Jaysus he wants to watch a soccer match, not have sex with a blow up doll!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

You promise to drink guinness? How very nice of you.

The Front Lounge is a gay bar?!? Well that explains something at least.

worldcup facepalm