Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running costs for BMW 335i (E92)

• 02-06-2010 9:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭

I'm looking at a 2006 BMW 335i E92, auto. Any owners on boards.ie? Can you give me an idea of typical running costs, service costs per annum. I do on average 12k-14k miles per annum.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Enigma IE wrote: »
    I'm looking at a 2006 BMW 335i E92, auto. Any owners on boards.ie? Can you give me an idea of typical running costs, service costs per annum. I do on average 12k-14k miles per annum.

Cheers.

Bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭MarkN

Tyres very expensive if 19s.

Never needed mine serviced - ask or call BMW with the reg to see if the fuel injectors were replaced (common fault). I'd imagine an oil and filter in a BMW dealer (just as an example) would be around 500 quid. Cheaper up the North or in Bavarian. Oil and filter for an M3 in a dealer is 600+ as an example.

Rarely saw 400 kms out of a tank in Dublin only driving - low 20s MPG probably a realistic figure but on motorways not bad.

Ran an E92 M3 and an E92 335 for probably roughly the same time (14/15 months each) and petrol aside, can't say one was much higher to run than the other.

Tax about 1300 per annum.

An expensive enough car to run if your 12-14k per annum is old miles, if not, then it won't be too bad.

Stay away from dreamers like this, I sold an M3 for nearly the same price that was a year newer and a far more desirable car.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/335-335I/201018197912440/advert?channel=CARS

MarkN wrote: »

An expensive enough car to run if your 12-14k per annum is old miles, if not, then it won't be too bad.

Cheers for the info Mark, exactly what I was looking for. Why do you mean by 'old' miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

I'd imagine an oil and filter in a BMW dealer (just as an example) would be around 500 quid. Cheaper up the North or in Bavarian. Oil and filter for an M3 in a dealer is 600+ as an example.

Your kidding right ? How much oil does it take, considering you can get LL04 approved oil for ~50quid for 5L and an oil filter is about 20quid. Im guessing 10L will do you so that 100 quid for oil and 20 for the oil filter, 10 for air filter.

Tyres and petrol costs are going to be high + any suspension work is generally expensive - bwm parts cost a fortune ( just paid 30quid for a foot long piece of rubber hose at the dealer!!)

Very much not kidding. I know the M models take a different type of oil but it's still robbery.

Should be a bit cheaper for the 335. Lovely smooth engine though, great power delivery but a very refined engine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭macjohn

lots of owners over on bmw-driver.net,
    seems a good site, I haven't joined yet it but it seems to be mainly populated by very knowledgeable bmw owners who are interested in bmws and lots of practical advice being given out

Not all bmw parts are hugely expensive and servicing costs have come down.

For the service costs it depends which one is due, the full one is that bit more expensive.

It is a judgement call when buying a 4 year old car - if you get a car with a full service history, then do you want to keep up that? Lots of independent bmw service places like AC motors (who gets lots of positive feedback) and BMWcare in the west but their prices have really crept up to near the main dealer prices and I think they are too dear at this stage.
    If it is 4 years old when you buy it it depends on how long you intend to keep it, if 3 or 5 years then potentially 7 or9 years old when you are selling it so to my mind what is important is that it was regulalry serviced and mainted (keep receipts) rather than where it was serviced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Can you service a 335 by yourself? Is it really that complicated? I understand that owner who pay €xxK for an E92 335/M3 probably don't like getting their hands dirty, but need it really be that expensive?

Anyone who pays €500 for an oil and filter change has way way way too much cash and very few spare marbles knocking about me thinks.

Maybe people have an insured warranty or want a full service history or yes, have more money than you or Joe next door so they pay the price for reassurance because the cost isn't an issue for them, the FSH is.

Not every member of the public wants or knows how to service their car.

Maybe people have an insured warranty or want a full service history or yes, have more money than you or Joe next door so pays the price for reassurance because cost isn't an issue for them.

Don't make assumptions regarding my income or financial status please old chum, you don't know me :)

Edit: I wonder what you had written that was edited ?

Then again, a friend of mine has a lot more money then me and a 650i, he's never shown any inclination to service his car himself. He does spend the equivalent of servicing the car on model trains though :rolleyes:

That said, owning a 650i proves he has some style.
    Don't make assumptions regarding my income or financial status please old chum, you don't know me

I don't think he meant it quite that personally.

Confab wrote: »
    Can you service a 335 by yourself? Is it really that complicated? I understand that owner who pay €xxK for an E92 335/M3 probably don't like getting their hands dirty, but need it really be that expensive?

Yes, no & no :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

I'd imagine an oil and filter in a BMW dealer (just as an example) would be around 500 quid.

It's half that price in a certain BMW dealer just off the M50 at the Finglas exit at the moment.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Don't make assumptions regarding my income or financial status please old chum, you don't know me :)

Edit: I wonder what you had written that was edited ?

Well it's a pretty general assumption that was made and unless you're the wealthiest man in the world, it's a fair one.

The guy asked for service/running costs on a 335. He didn't ask what it would cost to do himself so what you or anyone else thinks about dealer or any garage service costs Vs DIY it's probably of zero interest.

Simply added in a line which is why it was edited, very defensive person eh!

For a prestige car like this, it would be my preference to have a fully documented, BMW dealer stamped service history - mainly for resale purposes later on. That of course, comes with inflated dealer prices.

I'm thinking now I will let this car pass, thinking about all the running costs combined, it just wouldn't be the most sensible thing for me to do right now.

Cheers lads.

Anyone who pays €500 for an oil and filter change has way way way too much cash and very few spare marbles knocking about me thinks. .

the €500 was just put out there, it is not an exact quote from a dealer, they do all sorts of service packages and a high end like a 335 may even have some time left on its service package.

Edit post crossed with Enigma. Fair enough, but as I say may not be as expensive as some here claim, have a look at the specalist sites and give a few dealers a ring to get a feel from service prices. A 335i is not about being sensible!!! :-)

macjohn wrote: »
    Fair enough, but as I say may not be as expensive as some here claim

Prices may have dropped in the last month, if not, the prices mentioned here are pretty much on the money.

Worth shopping around though.

Prices may have dropped in the last month, if not, the prices mentioned here are pretty much on the money.

Worth shopping around though.

Yip, that is my point well worth shopping around and knowing which service is due to compare like with like.

Well it's a pretty general assumption that was made and unless you're the wealthiest man in the world, it's a fair one.

The guy asked for service/running costs on a 335. He didn't ask what it would cost to do himself so what you or anyone else thinks about dealer or any garage service costs Vs DIY it's probably of zero interest.

Simply added in a line which is why it was edited, very defensive person eh!

I said nothing about DIY, but I wouldn't say it's cheaper up North if the €250 price is correct :)

The €500 oil and filter change or the €250 oil and filter change ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

6.5 litres of Castrol Edge 5w 30 apparently. Still a long way off €500! Goes to show the mark up dealers have on premium models.
    What's the bets that an Audi A6 with the 2.0 TDi is more expensive to service than a Skoda Octavia with the same engine?

RoverJames wrote: »
    I said nothing about DIY

This thread isn't actually all about you. Other people have mentioned other options including doing it yourself.

You won't get an M3 (and probably a 4 year old 335) seviced for 250 in a BMW dealer. When you read these offers they regularly start off with prices for 4 pot models.

From Joe Duffy's website (they don't even mention E90s):

Oil Service
    €143* for BMW 3 Series E46 4 Cylinder models.
    €163* for BMW 3 Series E46 6 Cylinder models.
    €173* for BMW 5 Series E39 models.

Front Brake Disc and Pad Replacement
    €285* for BMW 3 Series E46 4 cylinder models.
    €295* for BMW 3 Series E46 6 cylinder models.
    €315* for BMW 5 Series E39 models.

Inspection 1
    €239* for BMW 3 Series E46 4 cylinder models.
    €269* for BMW 3 Series E46 6 cylinder models.
    €289* for BMW 5 Series E39 models.

They're not too clear here either.

Combat the rising costs of motoring with Joe Duffy.

We guarantee to price match all Specialist and local Dealer quotes for all servicing and repair items* for the brands that we represent.

We only use Genuine Manufacturer parts fitted by Manufacturer trained technicians who understand the performance engineering of your car. Having your vehicle serviced at Joe Duffy will also protect the resale value of your vehicle by maintaining your full dealer service history.

So if you have a competitive quote from a local Specialist or local Dealer, click on your vehicle brand below and contact your local Joe Duffy Dealer today.

Finally, if you trust Joe Duffy to service your car properly, that's your own decision. There's a few horror stories on BMW Drivers about Duffy's and Murphy & Gunn seem to come out top :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭986s

Currently running a 335i having owned it for approx 2 years.
    Servicing is very reasonable I find- about 260 euro for an oil service if I remember correctly. Hard to judge total service costs because of the computer based servicing which I dont like- I prefer the old once a year job.
    Tax on a 2007 for me is 1293 euro which is also not the best.
    Must respectfully disagree with MarkN on the fuel economy- I dont drive like a granny and my average over the 2 year period would be around 27mpg rising to 32-33mpg on motorway runs. This translates to about 350 miles on a full tank of petrol. This would also compare very well with others with 335i's on e90 post other sites etc.
    Overall am very pleased with the 335i even better than a Boxster S I ran for about 3 years as well.

Regards

986s wrote: »
    Servicing is very reasonable I find- about 260 euro for an oil service if I remember correctly. Hard to judge total service costs because of the computer based servicing which I dont like- I prefer the old once a year job.
    Tax on a 2007 for me is 1293 euro which is also not the best.
    Must respectfully disagree with MarkN on the fuel economy- I dont drive like a granny and my average over the 2 year period would be around 27mpg rising to 32-33mpg on motorway runs. This translates to about 350 miles on a full tank of petrol. This would also compare very well with others with 335i's on e90 post other sites etc.
    Overall am very pleased with the 335i even better than a Boxster S I ran for about 3 years as well.

Regards

Ah, first hand info is worth more than gold, you've finally answered the OP's question :D

Confab wrote: »
    Ah, first hand info is worth more than gold, you've finally answered the OP's question :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Chiparus

My wife has one ( 2007 conv.) great motor, but it drinks a bit.
    No service yet
    There was a problem with the battery as the seals allowed water in and this corroded a wire from the alternator- BMW refused to cover it under the warranty so it cost a fair bit 700 euro as far as I remember so beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I really don't understand how anyone could think that an oil service for those prices is reasonable.

The M cars take 10w60 castrol TWS. 600 is very steep for a service - its kinda funny actually cus my E39 (523) now qualifies for the "value service(oil)" which is €173 - but they specifically say that it doesnt include M powered cars. Now I know the M powered stuff is a bit more sporty but is it really that different to service.

Still as Mark says - most ppl dont want to mess with the oily bits and probably want a FSH, so dealer is the only way to go unfortunately for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭CaraFawn

voxpop wrote: »
    The M cars take 10w60 castrol TWS. 600 is very steep for a service - its kinda funny actually cus my E39 (523) now qualifies for the "value service(oil)" which is €173 - but they specifically say that it doesnt include M powered cars. Now I know the M powered stuff is a bit more sporty but is it really that different to service.

Still as Mark says - most ppl dont want to mess with the oily bits and probably want a FSH, so dealer is the only way to go unfortunately for them

The 10w60 would only be a few extra euro compared to the one BMW normally use for non M models, 0w30, but that certainly does not bring the price anywhere close to 500. For 500 euro you can probably get filters, sparks, fluids changed, tire pressure done. Even at a BMW dealer if you really want to...

M are special cars, but sometimes people think because they are special they need to overcharge, even when the part is the same on a M and non M, many after market companies would charge more just because it is a M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Driving a 335i I for several years. 26-35 MPG depending ( actually get better with a engine tune), computer averages 27 ATM. Service about 250 euro per year depending on what need doing. Tyre about 1200 euro for all four corners on the dreaded run flats on 19''. Faults so far....injectors x 1. software update for slow idrive apart from that rock solid. Look out for the long crank which is the HPFP going and cracked 225 or 230 alloys.

Great car, I drive long distances in it and its a fab motorway muncher. Tax is a hassle and the depreciation has been grim but cracking motor and a bit of a sleeper. A 2006 should be around 24-30k depending on spec. Dont get one without idrive and nav.

CaraFawn wrote: »
    The 10w60 would only be a few extra euro compared to the one BMW normally use for non M models, 0w30, but that certainly does not bring the price anywhere close to 500. For 500 euro you can probably get filters, sparks, fluids changed, tire pressure done. Even at a BMW dealer if you really want to...

M are special cars, but sometimes people think because they are special they need to overcharge, even when the part is the same on a M and non M, many after market companies would charge more just because it is a M.

I'd love to see this "if you wanted to" stuff backed up (not saying you can't but if it's possible and garages are all discounting servicing then they'd be shouting about M car servicing). Is it from Internet sites or someone with an M car going into a dealer and getting a quote. I'd also love to know how a member of the ordinary public could get all that work done for 500 without knowing the service manager of a BMW dealer on an M car. You're rarely lucky to get your car washed by a main dealer after a service.

To give 3 variations on price, Murphy & Gunn quoted €700 plus for an oil and filter, Frank Keane's between €500 and 600 and Bavarian were €400.

Op I'd put the MPG somewhere between 986, Fitz and my quotes because they all seem to vary slightly.

edit post crossed with previous now out of context

Murphy & Gunn quoted €700 plus for an oil and filter, Frank Keane's between €500 and 600 and Bavarian were €400.

Jebus. It's a BMW, not a Ferrari or Bentley or even a feckin' Phaeton, they're shocking prices for an oil & filter change. That said, the owner is contributing hugely to the VRT pile and the petrol duty pile, so fair play to all who deign to pay those prices, I tip my hat to you.

It is quite funny though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭CaraFawn

I'd love to see this "if you wanted to" stuff backed up (not saying you can't but if it's possible and garages are all discounting servicing then they'd be shouting about M car servicing). Is it from Internet sites or someone with an M car going into a dealer and getting a quote. I'd also love to know how a member of the ordinary public could get all that work done for 500 without knowing the service manager of a BMW dealer on an M car. You're rarely lucky to get your car washed by a main dealer after a service.

To give 3 variations on price, Murphy & Gunn quoted €700 plus for an oil and filter, Frank Keane's between €500 and 600 and Bavarian were €400.

Op I'd put the MPG somewhere between 986, Fitz and my quotes because they all seem to vary slightly.

I do not have any quote off hand, I just provided general experience feedback, but seriously 700 euro for an oil change is outrageous and is really mocking people.

Changing oil on a M car is no different that changing it on a 316i period.

The M car still use a 12 euro filter, and what? About 6.5l of oil.

You can get 8L of 10W60 of eBay, Castrol TWS, for like 120 euro for example.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/8-litres-Castrol-TWS-Motorsport-10W-60-Engine-Oil-/110539235837?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item19bca6e1fd

Even at 150 euro/hour (Dealer rate roughly?) that should bring the total to 300 euro maximum. From an indy, 250 top!
    Now if any BMW technician takes more than an hour to change oil on a car...he probably won't stay long working at a dealer.

Now to comment on the fact it is better to do service at the dealer, there is absolutely no particular reason to do so.
    Having BMW stamps in the service book does not make the car keeping a better value.
    Service history is important for sure, but for general health reasons, not for resale value. In that regards any good history from genuine garages that used the proper procedures and parts will do (Read reputable indy).

Anyway, BMW only provide a 2 years warranty on parts.
    Most of the manufacturers that actually make parts for BMW (Mahle, Behr, Sachs, Bosch etc...) actually do provide much better warranties than BMW themselves.

So personally servicing a car at a dealer (BMW or not, same story with others) does not make sense to me.
    It provides no added value.

My 2 cents

Would we all stop argueing about the cost of an oil service, MarkN is the only one here with experiance of a e92 m3 so lets take it that he knows what he is on about. My last oil service on the 335i was 180euro from a main dealer.

My last oil service on the 335i was 180euro from a main dealer.

Value-added servicing eh? I take it they sing to the filter as they put it in the car and pre-warm the oil. The old filter is probably carefully cleaned and sent to a nursing home to recover :D Then the whole car is subjected to a three-part acapella harmony to ensure smooth running :p

I'd imagine an oil and filter in a BMW dealer (just as an example) would be around 500 quid.
    Heroditas wrote: »
    It's half that price in a certain BMW dealer just off the M50 at the Finglas exit at the moment.
    986s wrote: »
    Servicing is very reasonable I find- about 260 euro for an oil service if I remember correctly.
    Driving a 335i I for several years. 26-35 MPG depending ( actually get better with a engine tune), computer averages 27 ATM. Service about 250 euro per year depending on what need doing. .
    Would we all stop argueing about the cost of an oil service, MarkN is the only one here with experiance of a e92 m3 so lets take it that he knows what he is on about. My last oil service on the 335i was 180euro from a main dealer.

Mark imagines the oil service on a 335i to be €500, two people (one of them you) have posted to the contrary :) A third chap claims it to be about €250.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Not sure why people are having a go at MarkN, from what i can see he is about right

I have an 08 335D and an oil and filter service at the end of March cost me €431.04 (including a car wash;))

I didn't shop around but I can tell you for definite there is no way that I would ever consider doing it myself. I also deliberatly chose to use a dealer to have a dealers service history as I think it might cost you a bit extra but it certainly won't harm your resale value. Better have a BMW stamp in the book than not in my opinion

if you can't afford an extra 100-200 a year then you shouldn't probably own the car in the first place IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Just to add that i had to wait nearly 3 weeks to get a service so either an awful lot of people are getting dealer services or there is only 1 (very busy) mechanic at the dealership i use

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Not sure why people are having a go at MarkN, from what i can see he is about right

I have an 08 335D and an oil and filter service at the end of March cost me €431.04 (including a car wash;))

I didn't shop around but I can tell you for definite there is no way that I would ever consider doing it myself. I also deliberatly chose to use a dealer to have a dealers service history as I think it might cost you a bit extra but it certainly won't harm your resale value. Better have a BMW stamp in the book than not in my opinion

if you can't afford an extra 100-200 a year then you shouldn't probably own the car in the first place IMO

I think the point ppl are making is the outrageous markup BMW are adding just because its an M powered car. So you take the labour,parts and oil - and still end up with ~250 quid - so bmw are adding another 250 for nothing (well a dealer stamp, so not nothing - the stamp must be in gold or something)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Lol and here was me thinking if you cannot change the oil yourself (something incredibly basic in car ownership terms) you shouldnt be driving anything performance orientated.
    If you do it yourself you a) Know whats going on in your engine by the quality of the oil and b) Know the oil was actually changed, there have been frequent reports of dealers "forgetting" to change the oil as part of a service.

You are literally burning money, as mention, for this "gold stamp".
    I'd also love to know how a member of the ordinary public could get all that work done for 500 without knowing the service manager of a BMW dealer on an M car.
    I dunno why he said you could get it all done at a BMW dealer for that price (obviously you cant, they have their M Pricing and thats it) but you could of course do the things mentioned (Oil, Plugs, Oil Filter, Fluid topup etc) for around EUR200 yourself, using OEM parts in an afternoon. Cheaper if you use alternative (and likely better) parts.

Two people have gotten modern, expensive Bimmers serviced in dealers for €250. Other Bimmer dealers charge €500 or in the case of M models €600. Huge variation in Bimmer dealers prices, unless of course folks don't read their receipts and more is being done for the €500 and €600 than the oil and filter.

If someone decides not to be ripped off that may not be due to them not being able to afford it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Lol and here was me thinking if you cannot change the oil yourself (something incredibly basic in car ownership terms) you shouldnt be driving anything performance orientated.

If you do it yourself you a) Know whats going on in your engine by the quality of the oil and b) Know the oil was actually changed, there have been frequent reports of dealers "forgetting" to change the oil as part of a service.

You are literally burning money, as mention, for this "gold stamp".
    Yes and no. I can change my oil, but I really don't need the hassle. It suits me better to do what I do well and pay other people to service my car, grow my food, knit my socks etc etc.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Anan1 wrote: »
    Yes and no. I can change my oil, but I really don't need the hassle. It suits me better to do what I do well and pay other people to service my car, grow my food, knit my socks etc etc.:)
    Maybe just me but I love changing oil, its not hassle in the slightest. Its like a time capsule, you open it up and think of all the miles the oil has seen, what the quality is like, anything weird going on there, what it smells like, ponder if Semi-Synth vs Fully Synth is better, consider the correct thickness for the time of year etc.

As car maintenance goes, its one of the easiest and most rewarding jobs.

Every time I bring the car in it get a standard diagnostic probe, I am sure that ties up a machine for 20 minutes. I am looking at the last receipt....oil and filter, standard scope, - 180 euro + vat. Thats from Bolands in Waterford. Got 6 spark plugs done for what I though was a very reasonable 240 euro also. These cars were 80k new, expect to shell out a fair bit every year to keep them tip top. There is no value service for the e92 at the moment I think.

The diagnostic and service algorithm for a M car may be more involved, and as it should be on a highly tuned, 8 cylinder car costing upwards of 110k new.

Like anything else really, some enthusiasts like having a nice, sporty car, others like working on them. Doesn't make either one more of an enthusiast, just different sorts of enthusiasts :)

Anan1 wrote: »
    knit my socks etc etc.:)

You have a person to knit you socks !!:eek:

Enigma IE wrote: »
    For a prestige car like this, it would be my preference to have a fully documented, BMW dealer stamped service history - mainly for resale purposes later on. That of course, comes with inflated dealer prices.

I'm thinking now I will let this car pass, thinking about all the running costs combined, it just wouldn't be the most sensible thing for me to do right now.

Cheers lads.

Cheers again lads. As I said in quoted post, it's a prestige car and that comes with all the associated costs, tax, insurance, servicing, tyres, fuel, wear and tear.

Regardless of whether a service costs 250-500, it doesn't really matter. All of the other associated costs combined mean the car is unfeasible economically at this moment in time.